Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schwarzensteinweg 81, 45289 Essen, Germany

#6 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 502 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After a strong shower, the hotel roof was leaking and the lobby was almost flooded in water. Anyway, this is a matter of technique but the hotel service, because the hotel staffs were keeping on working calmly.

    The rooms are decorated like in an old castle. The hotel staffs are friendly with perfect service. A very big breakfaast buffet with many different dishes. We are very satisfied with everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff made a mistake when charging for my meal. That evening not experienced staff.

    Positively surprised by the interior and the furnishings. Very chic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the fact that they had electric vehicle charge stations so I could charge my electric car overnight. This should be something Booking could offer as a filter in the app and website.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication between Booking.com and hotel: the hotel indicated that not all data gets transferred. We had to pay extra for the child bed (which was offered free of charge via booking.com)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was hard to find. Our gps took us to a road but it was closed. Had to go a long way around to cross the river. Then a drive along these narrow roads and neighborhoods and then you finally arrive. Already at the parking you get the reward! What a place!! A very nice hotel with fantastic rooms that seems to be different all of them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is way overpriced (25 for a schnitzel, while the average price for a good schnitzel in Germany is about 15 euros). Toilet is separated from the room by a loosely fitted glass sliding door. A lack of privacy that we do not appreciate at all.

    Good clean hotel. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked a newly decorated room but they did not gave us this kind of room but an old design one, only because they told we arrived at 20.00, they should have gave us a better room like the one we booked even if it cost more..

    the dinner and breakfast at the local restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms had a slightly-odd medieval style, but it worked. Price was not cheap.

    The swimming wall wonderful, the staff super helpful and friendly. The hotel really put an effort in to make you welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is ok and good quality products. whatever we offer service people manage it fastly. atmosphere of hotel feel like camping in a forest everywhere is green and bird voices are excellent. ms.patricia if i remember her name so sorry very helpful to manage our booking confusion. and we love her efforts. all friendly staff thanks. swimming pool is also good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old, waited a long time for coffee at breakfast and had to ask a few times to fill the breakfast buffet

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast good beds

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very good price/comfort value. Would not hesitate to select again, when travelling to Essen. Nice and calm surrounding, building and rooms in very good condition, easy parking, all services and amenities just impeccable and more than worth the price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was old style, I assume I got one of the rooms that were not renovated.

    quiet and green environment, service in the bar and at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception was sometimes OK, sometimes a little distant.

    staff friendliness, particularly in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Lovely atmosphere and very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location. Nice and clean room. Great view of the garden. Beautiful surrounding. Exclusive restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing !!

    Great hotel, nice pool, super garden. I didn't had dinner there but breakfast was royal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very nice accomodation. Good price. Nice personal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is my 3rd stay in this hotel. It seems like I always get a room with a view into the courtyard of the hotel.

    The interior is very nice, the bathroom is perfect

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We knew the hotel was not central to Essen, but the distance was a little larger than expected for us. A free pass for all the public transport made that inconvenience less of an issue. Next time I will definitively stay here again, but I will consider tenting a car too.

    The facilities were spotless and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The food of the restaurant for dinner and breakfast were superb

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower was small and the furniture was not modern at all. The room we had last year, was a lot more comfortable. The restaurant is very expensive and exclusive, not fit to visit with a small child

    Very good breakfast and nice atmosphere. Child's cot was in room, when we arrived. Parking lot directly in front of the hotel always available.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The restaurant is one of the top table in Germany... but make sure the chef is in when you book!

    As a frequent business customer, it was my first visit with my family. The hotel service and equipment are outstanding. When confronted with my first desillusion at their wonderful restaurant (the chef was off...), the management reacted beautifully.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcome at reception was at most lukewarm, as was receptionist at checking out. When we commented on the Country hotel photo's on Booking (which look marvelous) and our room facing 3 walls (which was horrid), she raised her eyebrows and commented that not everyone can have a nice view!! BLOOD on the bathroom wall, and another unpleasant dark brown spot near the shower. Had immediate stomach problems after enjoying dinner in the restaurant. My husband, who had a different choice took only one bite of my plate and also had "rumbling" in the stomach. All in all a disappointment and would not recommend. Have stayed in many lower * hotels in Germany with excellent service and food, so, in our opinion, not worth the 4*.

    Hotel has been recently redecorated, and has a modern feel to it. The rooms are of good size and the bathroom is modern and convenient. There is an on-site restaurant and a swimming pool, which is an added bonus. Nice bar area. The hotel is however not situated in the country, but more in a small village outside Essen surrounded by houses etc. From the outside the hotel does not have much country charm, and inside the reception area is not very welcoming. We booked this hotel for a pleasant evening and night out after a Trade Fair in Essen, but were disappointed with the atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I would enjoy my stay with my girlfriend, but who in this hotel decided to create toilets in the room with a glass wall? With a big hole on top of the door? Why? Imagine a young couple and when you would like to have your time in toilet you can not! Because smell will be going into room, noises! Awful! I had to visit toilet in the lobby! Will not recommend this hotel to anyone traveling as a couple... very bad and sad experience for this price!

    -located in the nature, very beautiful

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    receptionist wellcoming

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good plain hospitality with super modern bedrooms and facilities. Generally a fine hotel, also lovely grounds.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -----

    everything was nice. It's not often that the hotel delivers what they say they will on adds...

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to dislike.

    All good.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent Wifi, very nice hotel,pleasant staff. Recommended.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Service was Slow during breakfast

    Swimming pool And location

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Everything was great

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Mintrops Land Hotel Burgaltendorf traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: