Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of CALMA Berlin Mitte This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Linienstr. 139 - 140, Mitte, 10115 Berlin, Germany

#163 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1415 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bare minimum of facilities - no telephone in room, only German stations on TV, no fridge, etc Not a place to get ill. We reserved a couple of nights for €75 per night but had to stay on due to illness, and the price rose to €476 per night.

    Generally pleasant staff, excellent location, spotlessly clean and everything looks new, pleasant public space, large bedroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, Staff, Modern Room, free coffee from 12:00 to 19:00, clean and cozy room, all the stations are directly near the hotel and must-see places are in 15 mins of walking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was very awkward and sassy when I asked what the early-check out time was. Not sure if she was trying to be funny or sarcastic. Either way, I found her attitude rude. The room is TINY. There isn't room for a table and barely space for the one chair in there. Bathroom size and shower was okay, but the remainder of the room was so small, we could barely walk around it. The electrical outlets were also placed in odd places, where you'd have to leave your phone on the floor while it's charging or right above your head while you're sleeping. The courtyard has a tendency to echo even when people are trying to be quiet. The scrape of a chair sounds like construction work. You'll have to sleep with the windows closed.

    This hotel is very close to public transportation. Everything is within walking distance (if you can walk a mile). The neighborhood is pretty clean, quiet, and safe, even at night. The room is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the fact that this is like an apartment hotel, the courtyard access gives the hotel a boutique-y feel. Outside seating when the weather complies, is a really nice touch. The breakfast was excellent. I also liked the fact that the espresso/cappuccino machine is available at all times to guests - a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find, no 24 hr reception , had to leave d key outside and difficult to get in back in case you left something as no one after 10 pm . Better to book other hotel

    No Good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come after 10.30pm tell immediatly the hotel since there is no one at the front desk from 10.30pm

    Nice bedroom, calm area in the center. The breakfast is good. The bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - It was a bit noisy in early morning as our room is facing the street instead of the inner garden, so I could hear people saying morning to others... Maybe can try to request quiet room if you are sensitive to noise (for me it is ok as I can go back to sleep easily).

    - Our Room is big & spacious for 2 people (we booked the M room) - Enjoyed a lot with their free coffee/tea during 12pm-7pm - Staffs are helpful - Location is close to a big street with lots of restaurants, also it is within walking distance (15-20 min) from the Museum Island, & also close to S & U bahn stations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in our room and also a little fridge.

    Great location with easy tram and S stop nearby. 5 minute walk to museums island. Staff were extra helpful in helping with transport tickets and dinner recommendations. Excellent breakfast and good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect stay for a family with kids! Staff provided us with a baby bath which helped us a lot, we traveled with 2 kids: 6 and 1 y.o. I highly recommend the place, great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water temperature in our shower was unstable.

    Large, clean room. Perfect for our family of five. Close to subway, tram or bus to other parts of Berlin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free tea and coffee from 12-7, the reception/dining area was very quaint and tastefully decorated. The rooms were basic but nicely designed and had everything you needed. They were very clean too. Shower was excellent. The neighbour hood was safe and the staff were helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs more power outlets. Could add more comfort if there is a small seat that would allow laptop use. (We don't like sitting on a bed.) Slightly pricey but actually competitive.

    Very pleasant staff. Clean, uncluttered, elegant, and quiet room. Really nice bathroom. Very nice lounge for relaxing and working; free coffee in the afternoon. Good wi-fi. Good location. Walk to transit. We truly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was spacious and comfortable. One of the cleanest places I've stayed at, and the reception staff was very friendly. The location was great to explore Berlin from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is super picky and maybe specific to the room, but the only outlet I could find was far away from the bed and it was a single outlet. It was also a bit cold in the room but to be fair, the weather was extraordinarily cold. Under regular weather conditions the room would probably be sufficiently warm.

    Very nice hotel. Well-located, clean, with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was a bit small and it took quite a bit to get to it, had to pass through several doors. Breakfast was nice, but maybe somewhat overpriced.

    Location, really good free coffee, clean and comfortable room, the overall vibe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 115 for 2 people was shockingly small you should be ashamed of yourself!!!! Reception staff couldn’t cope with a group coming in Breakfast was way overpriced for continental

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slight issue. The unpleasant odour we encountered each time we returned to our room (213)and which seemed to accumulate in the bathroom when the extractor fan was not switched on (it quickly cleared when it was.) This came I think from the drain in the shower so I think management would be advised to look into this as it could put people off what was otherwise a very nice room. We stayed for three nights and were charged up front on arrival. Not a problem, but it could have been, and is normally not the case at the many other places we've stayed.

    Just about everything. Less than five minutes walk to the nearest metro station (U7) Orienburger Tor from which you could easily and cheaply access other parts of the city and both airports. Located in a pleasant residential street with shops, bars and restaurants to suit every pocket and culinary taste nearby. Situated in a quiet courtyard. Light, airy building with modern reception area and pleasant café/lounge area. Friendly, welcoming, efficient reception staff. Spacious, light, modern room with big windows, and comfortable duvet covered beds, overlooking courtyard. Bathroom also spacious with good sized, modern, walk in shower. Everything spotless. We felt very much at home and would certainly aim to stay there on our next visit to Berlin.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hipster art - yeah, I know it's Berlin, but it's ugly. We were given a bigger room but it only meant a lot of dead space. NO CLOSET, no dresser, nothing, just a sort of open cubby area with 4-5 hangers. Shower stall had no perforations so very slippery.

    Bed was very comfortable, everything was very clean, area was great with lots of restaurant and shopping options (cheap to expensive). Staff was efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking page clearly stated that check-in was possible until 10pm. But I arrived at 6.45pm and there was nobody at reception. So I had to take a key from a letterbox. This wasn't much of a welcome. I was also concerned that there is a security issue at the hotel, with nobody present from 6.45pm until 6am the following morning. They need sort this out.

    The hotel is well located. But check in & security are problems.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room layout - see above.

    Room was clean, but a little cramped. Two single beds shoehorned in with sockets for chargers etc above the bed rather than by the desk. Could not switch on the TV - despite it being such a nice big one - probably batteries flat in remote - I was there too late to demand them be changed. Did not have time for breakfast, but it looked good. Best features: Clean and very quiet. Did not hear a thing all night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are a bit simple, with quite small showers.

    Excellent value for money, and a great location in the middle of one of the loveliest neighborhoods, while being in the calm side street. Great to have coffee and tea for free all day long.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They turned off the heater after cleaning, so we always arrived to a cold room.

    The location was close to many restaurants and a bakery with cheap breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filled with cigarette smoke even though it was supposed to be non smoking

    Well designed rooms and reception, comfortable and clean, free coffee/tea in the afternoon, central location close to eateries and convenient connections to metro

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My other half emailed the hotel as it was my birthday and they said they would sort out a cake and a bottle of champagne however on leaving the hotel they charged us for this!!!

    The staff were okay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi tended to drop out in our room but appeared stronger downstairs. The shower had a tendency to leak due to the design and shower curtain but the water was hot and the pressure was strong!

    Based in the centre of trendy Mitte, this is a great spot to base yourself to bar-hop neighbouring streets and grab some dinner, or utilise the great public transport links to see other parts of the city. There are tram and U-bahn stops just a few minutes’ walk away. The hotel is new and modern, the room comfortable and warm (for us travelling in late autumn). We didn’t have breakfast at the hotel as we chose to venture out but the complimentary tea and coffee available in the afternoons was a great meeting spot with our friends. I’d stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air-condition so summer could be hot.

    NIce place near the center with good restaurants in walking distance. Very helpful staff. Would recommend the stay for a night or two.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought breakfast was nice but perhaps a bit expensive at €13 each. Double beds were very small for 2 people. Shower (in our 2 rooms) was in the main room and not the bathroom so privacy could be an issue for some people if you're sharing with friends.

    Excellent location. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything. Maybe the breakfast being a bit expensive, but there's no lack of options to eat close by.

    Great location, cosy room and the staff is very nice. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To bad they do only dry clean.

    1. Very nice area with many different genres cuisine around. And they open late. 2. The bed was so comfortable that relieved our sore bodies after dancing at the nights and walking at the days. 3. Breakfast in the hotel was good. We like it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately I decided to opt for the smallest room since I was arriving late and leaving early. What they don't show in the picture is that there is not a separate bathroom in the room - but rather a shower corner, and the toilet which at least had a closing door. It was incredibly small. It's not so much more for the bigger room so you should go for that - I would have if I knew it didn't have a normal bathroom. Also wasn't the cleanest place I've been. Parking is pricey and on the street, where it seems there is a high probability of your car being vandalized. Park in a garage.

    The hotel is lovely, in a nice part of town. Staff were very friendly and professional. Decor looks good and it has a courtyard so quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some street noise early in the morning, since we left a window open to the street side (not a very busy street though).

    Very comfortable room, lots of space. Very good location, within short walking distance of the Berlin Wall memorial location, the Brandenburger Tor, the Reichstag, the museum Insel, etc. Many choices for a place to eat as close as the corner of the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    for my preference the bed is too hard but it's okay and the pillow is too thin so it could be better, a small refrigerator would be really nice during summer :)

    the location is within walking distance to museum island, and to other tourist destination such as Reichstag and Brandenburg Tor. It's really clean. the room is big for 3 adults 1 toddler and 1 baby, they even gave us separate crib for the baby which is really nice. They clean the room everyday and change the towel. and just 2 minutes walk you can eat at the famous Indian restaurant (Amrit) or if you don't like it you can find other restaurants or bakery shop nearby. Definitely back to Calma if we go back to Berlin. Since we don't have enough of Berlin :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double room was comfortable and the bathroom clean. There was no A/C but it never got too warm (in July). The location allowed us to explore Mitte and get to other places quickly via the underground around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During one of the mornings, there was noisy construction outside (out of their control).

    The place is clean and the staff were very friendly. We were able to check-in a couple of hours early. The location was great and we were able to walk to all the attractions except for the East Side Gallery. There were also fans in the room which was very nice considering it was very hot when we were there. They also realized it was my birthday and offered myself and my partner 2 glasses of sparkling wine, which made my day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I disliked about the hotel. But I should point out that I booked an economy double room. It could sleep two people. In theory. In reality it's a single room. But it was fine for me as I was travelling alone.

    The hotel was in an excellent location near the Oranienburger Tor U-bahn stop and within walking distance of Museum Island, and yet in a lovely residential area of Berlin that still has a pleasant historic character and lots of little shops and restaurants without being overrun by crowds or tourists. The location alone justified the hotel for it's rare to find a property that was within easy walk or short metro ride from the main tourist sights (Museum Island, Unter den Linden, Brandenberg Gate and Checkpoint Charlie) yet located in an attractive area primarily inhabited by local Berliners rather than tourists. Most of central Berlin around Checkpoint Charlie and Unter den Linden has been rebuilt following the war and reunification but felt institutional and lacked personality and even amenities, so despite the plethora of hotels down there, I would not suggest staying in that area, which is why it was a pleasure to discover the CALMA and its neighborhood. Near the hotel (between the hotel and the Oranienburger Tor station) is an intersection that has around 7-8 little restaurants encompassing a range of cuisines from falafel to Thai to Vietnamese to Indian and Mexican, among others. Most did not have particularly high tripadvisor reviews, but one place did, and I can recommend it: Pho, a little Vietnamese restaurant squeezed between the other restaurants. It was excellent and very reasonably priced. If you walk eastwards from the hotel, you are in a more upmarket residential area and there are many small coffee shops and cafes and restaurants. I can recommend Ben Rahim for his excellent coffee (third wave) and it's only 10 minutes walk away. I would be happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no reception after 22:30. Our internet went off on last night and there was no one to fix it.

    Very clean hotel, lovely staff. Our room was very spacious and bright. It was near to many top attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not modern - you still have to open the rooms with an actual key, whole building is closed by 10pm. No phone in the room, no room service. This is more for people looking for relaxation and quiet, than for business travelers. Cost of the room per night was too high (only took it because of proximity to the office)

    Breakfast had also plenty of options for vegetarians. Free and fast Wifi (which is becoming a rarity in most hotels in Germany)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very very tiny room. The room always smells food because of the restaurants around. Breakfast not strong but a lot of bakeries within walking distance.

    Good location and calm neighbourhood. Clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room i was staying in was perhaps small for a double room. As i was traveling alone the room i considered cosy and adequate.

    Excellent location near public transport, comfortable rooms that were cleaned everyday. Very helpful, informative and friendly staff- who informed me on how to get to places outside of Berlin.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel breakfast is expensive but good cheaper options very close

    Great location, central but quiet, and helpful staff. Room nice and light with everything you need. Lots of local restaurants and cafes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • CALMA L
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was facing the street and therefore was very noise. I did request a quiet room though. Breakfast was expensive but very basic. Staff was Ok but not particularly welcoming as they seemed too busy

    Great location. Clean hotel which to me was important

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Perfect location near the heart of the city. U-bahn, S-bahn, tram in the vicinity of the hotel. Tegel airport is 20-30 minutes away by bus and U-bahn. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious, and light, the breakfast was very good (it wasn't included in our booking, but we chose it anyway, it was worth it). Everything was superb!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great staff! Great Breakfast! Nice room. I just missed a desk in my room. This Hotel is located in the centre of Berlin and you can reach all interesting Points by walk easily. You can also get a voucher for parking in the closer area for 15 € a day what I really appreciate (even though the parking Situation in the centre of Berlin is not comfortable at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room looked like it was an after thought and created out of spare space from a storage closet and seemed like an after thought. My room was 215 near the elevator. My shower was behind my front door, my double bed was no more the 3 steps from the enterence and I couldn't walk around the bed because of the 5 cm gap between the bed and the walls.. for the 2 nights that I spent there and the fact that it was only myself, it served its purpose, but I'm Annoyed at the fact that I still paid good coin for a closet space.

    Location was great for us to site see..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    very clean and quiet, fantastic location! had a really nice rest after arrival and checked in earlier than it supposed to be( cuz the room was ready) will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 20 nights

    No fridge in the room - if you are spending more than a couple of days, it can be a bit frustrating; expensive Breakfast.

    very good localization; very nice and helpful staff; clean and functional.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to change room the second night as there was a leak in the bathroom and a bad smell PLUS a very noisy neighbour in the room next door who kept me awake until half past midnight. Very thin walls. Also no shampoo, no shower hat, just soap in the shower.

    It was modern and bright and well located

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unhelpful. We also had an evening flight so didn't arrive until late. We were told if we arrive after 10:30pm we wouldn't be able to check in!!!! This wasn't stated in our confirmation

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall the room was too minimalistic in my opinion. 1-2 more towels would be very much appreciated, as well as at least 1 complimentary bottle of water. Also, there was no socket next to the bed... The bed linen were not worth the money of the room but rather hostel style quality.

    Top central position and good price, rooms facing an internal courtyard, thus very calm. Our room had a great big window, which could be opened. Breakfast good and at a fair price compared to other hotels!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small, you can barely move. It was freezing at night although I turned the heating up to the maximum.

    The location is great and the hotel room is newly renovated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • CALMA L
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee and tea facility in room would have made the stay complete for me and my partner. We stayed when the weather was quite cold and having the access to a hot drink on our return from a long cold day site seeing would have been perfect.

    Very settled and relaxed atmosphere, helpful staff. Very clean and a nice large room. The location of the hotel was fantastic for us as we like to walk.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The economy room has a great bed and bathroom with shower but lack refridgerator and safe.

    Quiet, inexpensive and very clean hotel with helpful staff. Great breakfast. Lots of small inexpensive restaurants, the cabaret "The one" and small art galleries in the area. Walking distance to the city center. Tram and subway within 100 meters so you can take bus 128 and then subway from the Tiegel airport. I arrived late and they have a system to give you a key even if the reception is closed if you let them know you are late. Overall it's really great value for money!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful sounds in the night. People running in the corridor and banging doors of other hotel guests. Sounded like somebody was being raped. People yelling. Reception was closed and nobody picked up the phone when I called to the number of hotel to get someone to help. Later in the night somebody called back from that number which was very strange because reception was closed anyway. So no good sleep in this hotel. I didn't feel safe when the hotel had no control who visited the hotel and didn't care what happened in their hotel rooms. My experience was so bad that I was still shaking in the morning and I was happy to leave the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking a room the photos were not from of the room I booked. Room we got was smaller than we expected and wanted.

    I enjoyed the cleanliness and deco. Near by stores and restaurants. Overall a really good stay with a really lovely surprise on my birthday! Beds were comfy, shower was alright, little extra pressure would've been super thought.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Frankly, Nothing at all

    Absolute peace and guiet, right next to the city centre, friendly staff and spacious room for my three friends and me..Couldn't have asked for more...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel was about 3 minutes walk from the nearest metro station which was very helpful, especially in winter which is when I don't want to walk too much in the cold. I liked the design of the room, the space was a bit small but was enough for two. But the room was clean and the staff super helpful which made my stay very worthwhile.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was very low, as winter travelers we found our room to be very cold all day and night. They close the reception at 10:30 pm so if you have a delay and get there after that time is better you let them know in advance. The location is close to the underground, yet not so easy to find since it is inside a kind of garage door not so visible.

    Nice space in the room ideal for families, nice bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet is very slow, so I just to keep the "calma" and I didn't find a tv channel in english, french or Spanish... so I have to go to sleep very early.

    The staff was super friendly, the room was very neat and spotless, the deco is very minimalistic and plain... it makes the hotel very calm. the location is very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a loud noise in the room like water dropping. So loud it woke us up. We told the staff and hope for the next people that it will get fixed

    Otherwise everything was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was lovely and comfy and everything was beautifully clean. We didn't eat breakfast but it looked good. The staff were friendly and we were given a free upgrade for my partner's birthday - fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff courteous-but not friendly. Sometimes seemed to feel like I was intruding on their space by asking for something. Staying in the rooms is like staying in a rather minimal Ikea showroom bedroom. Need to add something to room to make it more comfortable. Also, TV did not have English speaking stations (unless I missed them).

    Quiet. Good location. Clean. Satisfactory breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS Single
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small. The shower was so small it was hard to reach your feet. That didn't matter so much because the soap/shampoo combination dispenser was so watery. Once in a while the water turned scalding hot so you need lightning fast reflexes to move out of the way only there wasn't much way to move to.

    Clean, quiet, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting on the Internet is rather clamsy with diff login details for each device, meaning phone, laptop of each person, otherwise worked well

    Basic, but renovated and clean. Even the pull out sofa was pretty comfy for an extra person in the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location very near to historical sites and two minutes away from the nearest subway station connecting you to anywhere you want to go in Berlin.The room was modern, clean and quiet-just what one needs.The staff were always smiling and ready to offer help and advice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Arrived before 23:00, but reception shuts at 22:30 and no answer on out of office telephone number(s) displayed on front of hotel door. Luckily I had another number which did work as routed to a related hotel. 2. Personal toiletries were thrown away after first night of a two night stay - I was travelling light so left nothing other than my toiletries in the room after the first night. Disposable replacements provided for second night and small sum equivalent to replacement costs paid in compensation. 3. Breakfast only provided if requested the night before.

    1. Location. 2. Quality of free WiFi connection. 3. Comfort.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was lacking

    location is great, metro/tram station is 3 minutes away staff helpful and friendly, rooms are spacious and very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast seemed overpriced. A little splash of colour to offset the grey/white decor would be nice, but that's just personal taste.

    This hotel was a great choice for me - light, cosy, comfortable and quiet, yet close to all the central attractions. Also affordable. Easy late night entry.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not a major deal, but noise in courtyard was easily heard at all hours with cigarette smoke coming up into open windows (no aircon)

    Great location close to U and S trains, good vibe with lots of quirky cafes, bars and shops.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Calma XS Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise till late at night on the corridors and on the inner yard at early morning. The room had no airco, so with 30 C during daytime the room got pretty warm.

    The location is very effective and in view of that the price is probably okay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma XS
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the value double room. The room was ok but very small and only had a double bed. Being in Berlin is about getting out in the city so we found it acceptable, but wouldn't book this small a room again.

    Clean modern well located hotel. This was a return trip and the standards have remained high.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all

    Bright spacious room and very welcoming stuff. Close to metro and main railway station. Very nice area around with plenty of cafes and supermarkets.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One name: CINDY - Worst service at hotel EVER! When I saw two beds and I told her I reserved a double one she told me that <that was a wish>!!! The next day I asked for extra toiletries (because there were only for one person the first day) and she unwillingly told me that <that was a gift> !!! In the end she did give me some, because I insisted...plus changed my un-changed towels (I had to throw them on the floor apparently, but there was not written anywhere...) She was very rude -she reacted as if she was doing us a favor!!! Of course the sheets were not changed...because it was only one day...but then again it is supposed to be a 3star hotel... Also....a proper key for the room (what happened to cards??? It is supposed to be renovated...) that you sign a charge of 150 euros if you lose it!!! (and we asked for 2, imagine...) Same charge for smoking in a non-smoking room but I guess that is fair. Needless to say that there was no A/C just a small fan.... The yard...nice but SO noisy....people having breakfast in the morning and laughing, incredibly annoying.... Last but not least, we booked a *comfort* room - apparently for Calma this means handicap room.... (the special toilet and all...)

    It was acceptably clean. Quite new in general. Ok-ish location, pretty central.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Calma M
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was clean and overall the rooms were clean, however, the floor in the room was not vacuumed! It would have been very easy to do given that it was a wooden floor. The breakfast is fine but overpriced at 9eur per person even in this area, especially when there are many cheaper and delicious alternatives just a few steps away.

    Comfortable bed, spacious room, nice modern decor, clean (for the most part), updated and quiet. Top location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no air conditioning so the room was very hot in July. Also lots of outside noise from nearby apartment block

    Staff were very helpful, room was comfortable and it was a good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Calma S
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The people noise that came up to our room from the courtyard below, This went on until around midnight & started again somewhat early in the morning.

    It is obviously a relatively new property & we did appreciate the high standard of the fittings etc in our room.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse CALMA Berlin Mitte traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: