Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of a&o Berlin Mitte This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Köpenicker Str. 127-129, Mitte, 10179 Berlin, Germany

#545 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2479 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception and bar staff very slow. At peak time only one person working at the bar for drinks/ snacks. For such a big place more staff is needed or a better system. We had a room booked for 3. We were given the sheets and had to make up the 3rd bed ourselves (even though we arrived late in the day)

    Close to train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.2
    Poor location, noisy, not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel Quadruple Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny especially for four people. It was so noisy ALL night- we hardly slept between the noise and the lack of air circulating. It was so hot that we had to leave the window open. The price is too high for the room. I would not stay here again.. Spend a little more money and get a place with a better location, less noise, and perhaps a fan or some air conditioning.

    This hotel/hostel is off the beaten path. It is within walking distance of two different train stations but isn't really near anything. There is a small store nearby where you can purchase beverages. Moderately comfortable bunk beds. No frills at this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny as well as the bathroom where there was literally a space for one person to stand, you couldn't even close the door when sitting on the toilet, it was literally microscopic. It is basically not a hotel but a dorm, everything feels pretty old and used. The worst part was 45 minutes queuing for the check-in. It's not a rocket science to figure out that on Friday night you will have a load of people coming and appoint at least two receptionists. Anyway, just as a suggestion for future. I'd say for the price we paid we expected it to be just a tiny bit better, but overall it's ok if you don't plan to stay in your room but to explore the city.

    The location is probably the only point we enjoyed about this place; it's a short walk from the metro and only 2 stations from Alexanderplatz. Also, the room was quite clean except the floor. We appreciated the fact that toiletries and towels were provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Not a good stay, won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains in the room, disinterested night staff and we checked out early due to finding bed bugs. Always had great experiences at other A&Os across Germany but this one was awful

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    This hotel is being renovated and we were lucky enough to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are a light sleeper this hotel isn’t for you - the road is very noisy and the number of students/young travellers that stay here means that there’s a lot of drunken shouting in the early hours.

    This hotel is being renovated and we were lucky enough to stay in one of the new rooms - they are basic but great value for the price and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Not far from S-bahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to cover the beds for children (we got sheets and bed linens on the reception). Not so big problem during the day, worst when you come with children in the night.

    Not far from S-bahn. Not far from centrum. Shower and toilet were separated. Enough lights and sockets, also for USB. Family room = 2 rooms with toilet and shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    We were coming back from Krakow, Poland and stayed one night in Berlin. We had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in one of the best neighboarhood of Berlin. A lot of grafitti on the walls around the property.

    The price of the hotel for 3 adults, the location near the Ostbahnfof train station and subway. Also the breakfast was good for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location close to train station, Berlin Wall and close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be noisy at night during warmer months with road noise as you need windows open due to no air conditioning.

    Great location close to train station, Berlin Wall and close to cafes and restaurants. Cheap accomodating n in refitted rooms with bunks for kids and two singles pushed together as a double bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Try looking for some other place, seriously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms look shabby and not that clean, no showers/toilets in the corridors, just the ones in the room (1 per room and very tiny), no sockets, you have to pay 3,50 euro (!) for the bedsheets. No kitchen, no fridge.

    Um, the location is great, close to the underground, also the clubs, like KitKat, are in a walking distance (5 mins). Not sure if there is anything else to really like. One handsome Middle Eastern guy works at the desk, so it was nice to be checked-in by him lol.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Private rooms are nice and spacious, but loud environment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, even the private spaces had a hostel vibe when it came to noise levels. My room had a view over a courtyard between two buildings, and people were being really loud at night until late. Also my neighbours were extremely loud until about 4AM.

    A&O Mitte is a hostel/hotel format with both shared and private rooms - I was staying in the latter. The room was very pleasant - spacious, clean and comfortable. I also enjoyed the location, between Mitte and Kreuzberg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Good price for Berlin center. Near good public transport options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    School trip time of year - tons of groups. Room street level - a bit noisy. Nice cafe's across street.

    Nice location in artsy area. Great graffiti. Bronze stolperstein's nearby in sidewalks. Good price for being inside Berlin. Nice walk to metro, canal, video game museum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    The staff in the reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms were not as in the picture and not well cleaned. Same staff woman in a ponytail and glases, that insist on comin in early every morning of my stay to "check the room" barged in every time. Making alot of noise for and failling to respecting us sleeping and generally rude when spoken to. Shape up!!

    The staff in the reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Mold in bathroom, bad trained service people and high price. Better find another accommodation!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service people are not trained well. They seem to be overchallenged by some requests. Most of them could cope with foreign languages that well. Worst of all there was mold in my bathroom. I complained about it twice, but they didn't clean it or were unable to get rid of it. In my opinion mold is a no-go for every accommodation for health reasons regardless pricing. Not happy at all, so better go somewhere else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay for a Berlin on budget trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Some of the corridors were under construction as we arrived. Thankfully the staff changed our room after booking us into one of those corridors - The design of the lobby does not match the design of the whole hostel

    - Price - Fast check out - Staff is friendly - Location is pretty good - The lobby is very nicely decorated and is fun to hang out in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    all in all its a value for money for berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location was good only 7 minutes from 2 different metro stations .also i liked the bedroom furniture a lot except from the beds which in my opinion were not good quality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Ok, but won't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The website leaves the impression that this is a (low budget) Hotel. It isnt, its a Hostel. It has been loud outside all night. Rooms are very simple.

    Rooms are clean. Value for money ok. Location good for clubbers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Spacious, clean, quiet and sunny rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff barely speaks english and are not that helpful wifi worked horribly

    Spacious, clean, quiet and sunny rooms. Great and big lounge area, ideal to unwind after a day exploring the city. Yummy and varied breakfast with nice pastries, fruit, dairy products and delicious bread selection The surrounding neighbourhood is super cool, packed with bars and local cafes. There are some really nice parks nearby. The hotel is also quite close to train and metro stations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Cheap accommodation. Great if you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms are run down, we were part of a large booking and some of them weren't great. Customer service at the bar was very slow and it was cheaper and much quicker to buy drinks for the shop next door.

    This hotel/hostel is in a very good location. The bar area is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Not bad, because we don't stay a lot in the hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy, really tiny bathroom, thin walls, renewal at the neighbor room, the door of the corridor is so noisy, kind of dormitory feeling...

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice and modern lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is additional charge for bed linen. I think most of the people booking hostels around Europe do not bring sleeping bags with them, therefore the bed sheets should be included in the price. If not, the additional price for them should be clearly visible when booking the place.

    Nice and modern lobby. Clean bathrooms, rooms are big enough. Good breakfast - bread, jams, cheese, ham, vegetables, fruits, musli, milk, coffee, juices..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    I did not like it because the price which they showed me on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like it because the price which they showed me on Booking.com was not the same with they asked me at the property, besides, it was supposed to be paid in cash but they withdrew from the credit card

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall it was ok for a 4 days visit, a bit noisy but for this amount it is acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not pay attention to the other noisy guests during the night so we had to wake up several times to loud neighbours.

    Cosy bed and good Wi-Fi connection. Close to Alexanderplatz, good public transport infrastructure fromthe nearby train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very noisy sometimes and the room didn't have shutters

    The bed was very good and comfortable. Also it has two different places for the wc and the bath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    The beds and linen were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel Quadruple Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Elevator was broken and we were on the 5th floor. Inside door handle was broken, but it was fixed quickly. The walls are very thin, so a lot of noise could be heard. The Pictures of the room did not match what we were shown on the confirmation email.

    The beds and linen were comfortable. Staff fixed Problems within 1 day. it is very cheap and you get what you pay for. good security with Access Cards preventing unwanted Access on floor Levels as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Location, temperature, clean enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive for its services, extra small size of room, micro bathroom, a bit noisy. I stayed there 2 years ago, the price is more than 1/3 up since then and the room was extremely small.

    Location, temperature, clean enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    The reception area was so chilled of an evening to just sit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were so uncomfy, rooms were tiny in comparison to pictures, I’ve been in caravans with bigger bathrooms than the one we had.

    The reception area was so chilled of an evening to just sit and have a drink at the bar area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff lovely, very nice with my little girl. Excellent value for money. Having read some less than favourable reviews I was worried. There was no reason to be. Great location for getting around. 2/3 mins walk to the U-Bahn, 10 mins from the train station, 20 mins walk to East Side. Despite it being no frills it was lovely and clean, great shower and given the large groups of young people, quiet and chilled out. Beds were comfy too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Bed was very comfortable, the shower was an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was quite small - my friend could not close the door and use the toilet at the same time, and she is only just above average height for a woman.

    Bed was very comfortable, the shower was an excellent temperature and pressure, and the location was within walking distance of several public transport stops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    3.8
    berlin is very nice, A&O mitte was horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    almost everything...horrible place to stay ! we arrive at 13h and we never get a hello by the person at the receiption, worst welcome ever and it take 30min just to get answer ! the first three morning we got wake up by the cleaning lady at 8Am event if the door was look event if the check out was clearly indicate 10Am. for the two last we have let the do not disturb on the door in order to sleep. The other thing was the construction! every morning they were drilling in the room next to us by 9AM. Not clean once because she never come back after she pass at 8Am so we had to buy paper toilet, etc. Room to small and dirty !

    the only good thing was the localisation and the guy at the bar wo was very kind, but once again it depend on who was working

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    Cheap but reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms Dusty, tap running in bathroom, fire alarms not connected

    Pretty quiet, comfortable, good reception area with coffee/bar. Easy access too Alexanderplatz on foot or by public transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    A value-for-money option for people on a limited budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and the bathroom tiny - but adequate.

    Good value for money for a clean, cozy room not too far from public transport. Facilities were very basic, but adequate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    4.6
    Such a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. The lamp was filled with dust. Bed was really uncomfortable, we had to sleep on quilt to avoid strings. Bathroom was so small, was not able to move with the doors closed. Last but not least, they asked for extra charge other than shown in Booking and I had to pay. Their system is full of flaws. You can see people who are not related with the hotel and looking for trouble in the lobby. I didn’t feel safe since cops were showing up every night. Long story short, I would never stay here again.

    The location is technically good. But no S and U bahn stops in front of the hotel. I have stayed in better places in Berlin.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.5
    Will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel Quadruple Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit unenthusiastic, felt like they didn’t want to serve you.

    The foyer area was lovely- lots of space and very modern. Our room was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have any complaints. The house next to the hostel is a bit frightening at night to walk pass by, but it's not the problem of the hostel.

    We stayed in a twin room, which was really spacious. We had new towels and bed linen without any additional payment. The bathroom was clean. The surrounding area was quiet. It's quite close to the city centre and most tourist attractions, also to the Ostbahnof, which made it easy to reach the airport and vice versa. Free wi-fi. There were no lines at the check-in. The staff was friendly. Overall, we were completely happy with our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Noisy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All nights other guests produced a lot of noise. It was terrible. As result we waked up a few times. It was really worst experience that I ever have.

    Close to the East Railway station and all main city attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is near the centre (Alexanderplatz is 15 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is near the centre (Alexanderplatz is 15 minutes on food) and the station Ostbahnhof. The location of the place is the reason for me to recommend it, because it is also near many classic Berlin bars. The room was clear, and the staff was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    Not exactly what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some towels had stains. The room was very small - I read some reviews and did not pay attention to it. Still, when we checked in, we were stunned to see so little space. The bathroom is not even small. It is tiny. I would say that the price is too big for such room.

    Reception works non stop and assisted us with any inquiry. The heating was good. The room was clean, breakfasts were also good - several types of juice, coffee, bread and jams, honey, butter, cheeze, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    Good because we don't stay a lot in the hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel Quadruple Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small, in photos it doesen't seems so small like the real one, staff a bit absent

    Beatiful hall where all can meet new people, and good breackfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    Reception area is really nice, they are clearly renovating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was made up of two singles pushed together which is fine but one mattress was really nice memory foam and was one horrible and you could feel every wire through.

    Reception area is really nice, they are clearly renovating the property which is good because the corridors and rooms are dated . The room was a large with plenty of tables and storage space. Maid came in every day to clean the floor. There was a hairdryer,hand wash and shower gel provided. Location is brilliant. Overall, a good place to crash whilst exploring the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Location is really good, in 2 stations you're in city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel Quadruple Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room didn't have balcony, hard for smokers, there was a sign on the door that your stuff isn't secured(we haven't lost anything), room was a little bit small for 4 people.(I recommend to pay 4ppl fee if you are 2-3), 5€ for bedclothes

    Location is really good, in 2 stations you're in city center, clubs are enough close to get there on foot. Clearness is acceptable, nice reception, fast wi-fi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    There are NO hairdriers!!!! I had to lose 2,5 hours just waiting my hair to dry!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are NO hairdriers!!!! I asked at the reception, but they told me that they do not have! I had to stay at the hotel 2,5 hours just waiting my hair to dry!!!

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice and clean place close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that really disappointed me was a luggage room. While checking in, I was assured by the receptionist that I can store my suitcase on the last day for free and pick it up later in the evening when convenient. But it turned out that there wasn't one, they only had lockers in the reception area. I was willing to pay(~ 4€), but the machine was out of order. So an other receptionist in a quite irritated tone informed me that she couldn't help me and there was no place for my luggage. She also told me that there was a train station nearby where, she thought, were lockers as well. She didn't bother explaining me and other couple how to get there or suggesting another help. I've visited a bunch of hotels and hostels, what can be simpler and easier than having a room for luggage? Especially in case of situations like this. So I had to move my heavy suitcase to the train station(~15 min) by myself. I think it would be wise to have a back up plan for your guests.

    Very nice hostel almost in the center of the city. I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that cleaners make up the room every single day. There are private lockers in the rooms, so you can store you stuff and be sure that it'll stay safe, but I guess you have to rent locks(I had my own). 15 minutes walk to the Berlin Wall, subway station is also very close by. Bed linen is for an extra pay(3.8€).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    The lounge was nice if a bit noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel Quadruple Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the room,it was too small and even though we had booked a bed and two bunk beds, in the end the reservation changed and we got a four single-bed room. Also, I find it ridiculous that we had to pay so much money for that room and the bed sheets were still excluded from the original price, so we had to pay extra for that. You'd never see anything like that where I come from, no matter the price of the room. I understand that it was around New year's but the price was ridiculous for a two-star motel.

    The lounge was nice if a bit noisy. I also liked the piece from the Berlin Wall that was in the inner yard. There was always hot water and the room was always warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.8
    Péssimo
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Hostel Quadruple Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst hostel/hotel I’ve been, the staff is not helpful, there is no space for the luggage on the room, the bathroom is too small and it was very smelly. The lightning in the room is very bad, it’s difficult at night and the individual lights in the beds doesn’t work. If the person laying in the top of bunk bed moves, the whole bed moves together. The elevator is very dirty and the location is awful! It is located next to the Berlin wall ( East Side Gallery ) but also very close to a area that looks like a drug point. I’m never coming back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First they gave us a room that I didn’t fit in the bathroom. I’m 1.80m tall. Then the beds where the worst bed I’ve ever been for the price I paid. They didn’t clean our room, just some days they change the towels. There is no safe box in the room and to put our things away on a safety they charged us 8€ the whole day. We payed for a hotel room, it seemed to be a hostel.

    The breakfast and the transport access.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    I had a wonderful experience staying at A&O Berlin Mitte and I'll definitely recommend it to friends
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected my room was a single bed, not a twin, but it didn't really matter :)

    The staff were all very nice and helpful. Definitely would go for another experience with A&) ;)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    Clean fit for purpose not comfort lounge area is big and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to leave bags after check out even though the leaflet said bags would be kept at reception for free. Minimum amount of paid lockers available they were full and we had to bring our luggage despite being told on arrival they could be kept when questioned staff said there was nothing they could do and that leaflet was generalised to all A and O accommodation it just didn't apply to this branch. Hotel rooms are TINY! Advertised as 5 mins walk from train station closest one is 10 mins

    Clean fit for purpose not comfort lounge area is big and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.0
    Close to underground to link to rest of city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, bathroom was so small you couldn’t close the door when using the toilet!! Walls extremely thin! Could here people next door snoring!! Could be worse I guess! ;)

    Close to underground to link to rest of city!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    German quality at a fair price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom very tiny (the size was mentioned but didn’t payed attention so I was shocked) and the bads not so confortable.

    There is a very big lobby, esthetic and friendly. The whole hotel/hostel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was rich and diverse. WiFi is working everywhere unexpectedly good!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.0
    I will never stop here and advise no one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable, it seems like a bad student hostel. Cheсk out at 10 am. At 8 am, several drills began to drill outside the window. At 9 am, somebody knocked on our door and looked (the staff have the key), we have rebelled. After half an hour they knocked again and looked inside again. Communication didn't happen, we emotionally expressed our claims, but the woman behind the door said nothing, did not apologize, closed the door and left. At the reception they did not deal with our situation, they inertly apologized. We felt threatened all morning. Even dressing was scary, because at any moment, anyone can look into the room. I will never stop here and advise no one.

    The room is spacious, even big for this cost. At the reception you can drink tea even at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Great value for money in a convienient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There weren't many bars/restaurants close to the hostel so had to travel a bit for dinner. Also a lot of school groups were staying in the hostel who were very noisy. However, using ear plugs at night meant that you couldn't hear them :)

    A great hostel. New and modern and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. It's located close to public transport. For the price it's wonderful value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.3
    5-7 minute walk to the Heinrich Heise Straße Ubahn station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some renovations going on when we were there. They were changing the dining area and renovating some levels. The workers smoked with open doors so the smoke came right into the building and one morning we woke up with smelling cigarette smoke. It was supposed to be non smoking. The toilets down stairs were not well cleaned. Just very dirty.

    We really liked our stay in Berlin. There were so much to do but to short time to do everything we wanted to do. We had a recervation for a window seat at the fernsehen turm which we enjoyed very much, the view is amazing. The room was really nice for the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.2
    Expect the location, nothing else was as advertised.
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst experience of my life. We arrived at the hotel at 01.00 am and we had to wait 20min in the cold for someone to open the door. The hotel was full of people smoking marijuana near the room windows. Then we did check in and went in the room. It was not as in the pictures. It was super small, not clean, insects in the bed, the main door had a hole m the door handle was broken and the bathroom was way too small. After we asked for another room we opened the door and we found two people in the room. We scared the couple at 2.00 am in the morning. Apparently, the system was broken. At that point, we wanted to leave but it was too late and they offered a new room and barely slept the first night.

    Expect the location, nothing else was as advertised.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    2.5
    A truly unpleasant experience! Booking.com should investigate and remove!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire place should be closed and rebuilt. Horrible physical plant and unfriendly, cold staff. A true dump!

    Nothing the place is a dirty, unfriendly dump!!! Don’t stay there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    It was a good stay with a comfy room, mostly helpful staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that we couldn’t get any answer for our question about how to reach to the hotel. Because that no one described us how to go we lost almost 4 hours trying to find the hotel.

    I liked the heat and size of the room, hotel’s location and internet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Location is perfect, especially for tourists who want to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is perfect, especially for tourists who want to visit clubs. Tresor is literally 2 minutes away. Place is clean and cozy, staff is great, everyone speaks English, which was really helpful. Room has a mirror with light on top, which makes a great make up corner. :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.3
    Decent enough value for money but do not expect too much. It is designed to be low budget.
    • Solo traveller
    • Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a hot iron prior to arrival and was assured there was one. When I arrived there wasn't one which was a major inconvenience as I had a job interview the next day. Ordered a vegetarian lunch pack and was given the meat option.

    Heating came on quickly, good selection of breakfast items

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.6
    I had bed bugs bites from the second day there, which were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had bed bugs bites from the second day there, which were really ugly.( initially i thought it was food allergies but then my roommate had the bites as well) It was dirty on the corridor carpets, and on the floor we stayed on, the 8th floor, it was really smelly. also the fact that the cleaning staff uses the same unique elevator of the building with all the garbage bags. was very unpleasant. The pillows and blankets underneath the sheets were really dirty as well. Otherwise the hotel is well positioned, you arrive immediately at the East side gallery and at the Oranienstrasse. Some 1km to the subway

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    Bog standard hostel - very basic, not too awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and shower were small. Only 2 coat hangers in the wardrobe. Very basic facilities. Corridors extremely noisy so if you want somewhere to get a full nights sleep, bring ear plugs. Curtain made from thin paper so very bright in the morning. Area was OK, not the nicest street but Berlin in general looks grim with all the graffiti so not out of place. We walked in all directions from the hostel and were OK (young couple). Never felt unsafe but never felt totally safe!

    Price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.0
    The radiator not work ... so I little cold in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed for 5 days never changed toweling and bed sheets only the garbage passes. the radiator sometimes work only the one. I inform them at the first day and they told us they would come to make it that never happend. staff very rude and does not speak English. a lot of noise from the building you're renovating

    The hostel is so close to the club KitKat and Tresor. The breakfast is good but too short.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.3
    Ok, but I would recommend it for young people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit rundown area around the hotel, I would not recommend it to a family. Breakfast is not served after 10 AM, and check out is also at 10 AM. It would be better to have both options available until 11 AM. It was quiet and not many people there now, but I woke up to a snooring from the room next to ours, so it´s too easy to hear your neighbours.

    Good price. And quite good breakfast, not included though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    Nothing was working in the kitchen (no microwave, no water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing was working in the kitchen (no microwave, no water heater, we used a pan to heat water), were only available 2 cups! I told the recepcionist about the stuff was not working and she did like they didn't know about it... And the kitchen was sooooo dirty. Avoid this place if you need a kitchen. I think for same price you can find greater places.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Perfect stay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personaly I didnt mind anything, but I wouldnt recomend to family people

    It is perfect for young and outgoing people who don't mind the noise of other youngsters. The room was clean, the bathroom was good. The location is great for discovering what the beautiful Berlin has to offer

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    Business visit in Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were not perfectly clean (but acceptable) and rather minimal and small. Smaller than expected from the pictures, but closer to what you would except from the price.

    Good location and good price compared to other places nearby. The WiFi was working well and otherwise there was everything needed, but not more than that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.6
    clean but very unfriendly staff and overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hotel Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's way too overpriced for what you get!!! There was construction work in the building. It was very loud and really we should have been warned. Staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. Not very organised and certainly not welcoming. There was always a long queue at the reception. I wouldn't consider to stay there again as there are other much nicer and friendlier youth hostels.

    the room was clean and the be done was comfortable. The location is fairly central.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.2
    Would rather stay elsewhere, will never return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel 6 Bed Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are rude, guest kitchen doesn’t have adequate facilities, looks like it never has been cleaned, pictures on the website are fake

    Cannot fault the location, bike rental across the road very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    Good for price, just unsafe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However, it is situated next to a massively derelict area, making it feel very unsafe. Only suitable for groups not a single person.

    The location is very close to the centre and attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.3
    Authentic hipster experience, nearly as good as prison
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel 6 Bed Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dislikes: Yan’s briefs, rubber bedding, too many towels, The wide selection of bed sheets, Chris Ryan’s vest, Eddie’s snoring, Stosses use of tester aftershave, surrounding area too picturesque & not ‘hipster’ enough. Locals too quiet, would have benefitted from more screaming people.

    Likes: 2x toilets, crazy screaming locals,Chris Ryan’s vest, ‘hipster’ reception area that was themed as a building site, the rooms ‘prison style’ decor, chrisfishmoose, keeping Yan awake, politely greeting Yan, 5 flights of stairs, the fashionable sticky floor & the cleaners bravery.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    Good wifi signal, Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel Quadruple Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon our arrival the receptionist gave us 4 door keys that didn't match the door of our room 2 of us went down to reception to fix the problem the receptionist told us that the problem was fixed and we went back to our room and door problem still persisted for the second time we went down again to the reception and we was told that someone was going to come to fix the door of our room the handyman came and opened the door and told us that door is broken and told us to tell the receptionist that we need to change the keys after the hassle our room was changed when entered the room we found no bed sheets.

    Good wifi signal, Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Good location, right in the center of Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Hotel Family Room - 2 Adults + 2 Children (up to 17 years)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't leave our luggages for a couple of hours more after the check-out No fridge in rooms

    Good location, right in the center of Berlin Good value for a good price Very nice staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    The staff was helpful and kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 5 eur charge for bed sheets and towel and the the price of the breakfast (because of that I did not take it there). None of the small light spots we working in my room (1324).

    The staff was helpful and kind. The temperature in the room was perfect. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    The hostel is a good option in Berlin considering the price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Hostel Quadruple Room with Bunk Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrive in the hostel (friday night), the receptionist informed there were no bath towels for us and they communicated they could give us small towels free. However after a long trip usually we’re really looking for a shower and a towel. Ir’s a small incovenient.

    The hostel is a good option in Berlin considering the price we paid for 4 people. Walking distance from the U-bahn, S-bahn e bus stop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location, 10-15 minutes from the city center by U-bahn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much noise coming from drunk teenagers. In the second night of my stay, somebody knocked at my door at 2 am, just for fun. Don't accept a room on the first floor of the hotel.

    Good location, 10-15 minutes from the city center by U-bahn + close to some of the coolest clubs in Berlin :) Clean sheets, towels and soap. Coffee in the morning + a pool table for fun with new friends

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.9
    location is really bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hotel Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is really bad. everywhere is min 25 min with bus or ubahn. luggage storage is not free (4euro) and cages arent big (just one bag). i asked that before my vacation and they didnt inform me. also they dont give towel for shower!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Quite cheap and a fast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to give me a sheet and a towel, and the blanket was not my size, everytime I wanted to cover my shoulders, my feet were out.

    I liked that they were willing to give the bed I booked, despite I arrived very late. Very fast service and friendly stuff.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse a&o Berlin Mitte traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: