Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mittelweg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Mittelweg 59, Harvestehude, 20149 Hamburg, Germany

#84 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 738 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The décor is old fashion, that is very true and in many other cirumstances I would have find it overwhelming, specially in the bedrooms but Mittelweg Hotel has its own quirky signature, its own character and that old fashion feeling just becomes inviting and charming. The building is located on a prime location, a fine district, so close to the outer Alster lake, and if you are a walker you will find very pleasnt to walk to town from the hotel either on the side walks where very big trees cover the streets while admiring the many amazing houses or by just going to the lake which is a few minutes walk and take the nature path all the way to town, absolutley stunning park and viwes.    We had a three persons bedroom looking at the garden, the beds wehere comfortable, we had a living room too, the room and toilet were spotless. There are two lovely terraces, highly recommended to use time and sit there to rest and absorb the atmosphere, german spring can be a lovely thing. The garden is beautiful and must not be missed. The breakfast area is really charming and they take great pride in their service and how they present the area to the guest, the selection of food was perfect for us, north europe style so we are used to it.   Our welcoming receptionist, I think his name was Till was extremley helpful and easy to communicate with. He left a very good imprssion on us with his attentive and friendly manner as we had lots of questions. Check out was smooth and well done.   For only 10 euros a day we were allowed to park our car inside the property, so we used public transport at times, extremely efficient and affordable to get in and out the city, the buss stop is really close to the hotel. Overall, money well spent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not much.

    The staff excellent, friendly. Breakfast room stunning. Outside spaces, especially upper terrace, lovely. Room, bed and bath quite comfortable. Location very convenient to Klosterstern U1 train, Aussenalster walking paths, and restaurants. Harvesthude is a very stunning part of Hamburg. Highly recommend Hotel Mittelweg for a relaxing stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was pitifully tiny a´la Tokyo and, importantly, the promised wireless internet did not reach the room. This is serious for a hotel announcing "free internet" which was one of my selection criteria. It would not cost much to purchase a signal amplifier - very simple to achieve customer satisfaction if that is considered meaningful.

    Basically everything working, mostly friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The requested wake-up call never materialized! Luckily no problem.

    The building and environment have plenty of character. The bedroom was roomy and well-equipped, despite being on the top floor and having a narrow doorway. The hotel furnishings have a domestic feel (the Christmas decorations rather over the top!). The breakfasts offer an extensive range.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is a little outdated and not so modern but very cute.

    The biscuits by the reception. Feels like you live in a castle. Breakfast was good with fruit and pastries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We checked the official rates from the hotel and same came at euro 336 for two nights incl breakfast, for the most expensive rooms (spacious etc) and we paid euro330 two nights incl breakfast. We got a very very tiny little room on the 2nd floor and have sent request to the hotel to explain same which however remains as of yet unreplied. We have the feeling that we were placed in a room which never would costs this amount if we booked directly, but due to the booking came through Booking.com - they (the hotel management) put us in a cheap, tiny room at the nearly most expensive fee. Further the hotel does not have an elevator which was quite inconvenient for us, nothing stated on the webpage as to this. The access to the room was restricted with our luggage from 1st to 2nd floor, all in all dragging down the overall experience. We would never book nor recommend this hotel to anyone due to their silence.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel says no pets but in reality I have found out I could bring my pet on request. No hot dishes at breakfast, very basic variety.

    Overall impression - everything is very well kept in one style (royal). The Location is great - near to the Aussenalster lake and with a bus stop next to the Hotel. The blonde guy serving the breakfast was extra attentive to all the guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am struggling here to find anything negative to say. Sorry

    The location was fantastic: a five minute walk from the suburban train, a bus stop virtually outside with regular buses to the town centre. In one of the most desired parts of Hamburg, five minutes down to the Alsterpark! The decor is unique with the feel that you have stumbled into a private house: antiques, paintings, books and knickknacks. The breakfast buffet is stunning with everything you could possibly ask for with real china and amazing service. A boiled egg automatically brought with your coffee. An immaculately kept smoking terrace with a view of the beautiful back garden of this villa from the late 19th. century. Double sofa in my room, 38, and excellent, friendly housekeeping!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift! Might be a problem for some travellers.

    Everything felt like luxury. Beautiful. Public transport also very accessible. I highly recommend Hotel Mittelweg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower head wasn't working properly - but as soon as we asked, they changed it, so a positive point really.

    Lovely room, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast with lots of fresh fruit. Quiet location, but easy and fast to get to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed could have been a little firmer, as could the pillow.

    A comprehensive choice of breakfast foods: cold meats & cheeses; cereals; fruit, fruit juice; cake! Attentive, prompt and courteous service at breakfast. Helpful Reception staff. They agreed in advance to letting us leave our bag as we were arriving early and leaving very late. The very best aspect of this hotel is its setting in a sort of Kensington/Holland Park area five minutes from a large lake with sailing boats etc. A very sophisticated setting. You can walk by the lake all the way into the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Travelling alone, I booked a single room, and the amount of space was just adequate, no more. (However, I would pick this hotel over a dull hotel-chain one anytime, because of its character and the quiet location.)

    Hotel Mittelweg is in a quiet and pleasant part of Hamburg, close to the Alsterpark, 10 minutes walk to an U-Bahn station (Klosterstern). It has great character, with charming traditional furnishings, old prints and paintings on the walls; an impressive main staircase leads to a landing with comfortable sofas and armchairs. Breakfast is well above average with enough choice to satisfy anyone and hotel staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of an elevator to the upper floors was a real inconvenience since we had large, heavy suitcases filled with clothes for our cruise. The upper floor bedroom was rather stuffy and needed a good airing out.

    The location, with the bus stop only a few steps from the front gate, was very convenient. The room on the lower level with an extra sitting room and lots of natural light was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hotel's traditional style and love to detail. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Located perfectly in a quiet neighbourhood but close to public transportation. We will go back there for sure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is public, which is bad. Rather would prefer privat wifi with code, much safer. Bathroom lacks shampoo and bathsoap and mending kit.

    Location, staff very friendly. I 've got a bad Noro infection and spend one entire night in the bathroom. The next day couldn' t get out of bed and reception lady called the room to inform, how I was doing and send up a thermo bottle with thee and biscuits, very very thoughtfull. Reception also calls 5 minutes before breakfast time ends, if you don't show up. Liked Sambo a lot, the little terrier, 9 yo, who was badly bitten by neighbour dog, but still gards bravely the hotel. Also a big compliment for Julius, who is very helpfull erverywhere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fabulous hotel, very cozy, nicy and romantic. Within quick reach to metro and bus stations. Very quiet and beautiful district. Personnel very attentive and friendly. Will add this hotel to my most wished in Hamburg!)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the night the new installed heating was giving a lot of noise

    Very beatiful surroundings and nice cousy rooms Friendly personnel View on the park during breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    (Schreibe auf Englisch so dass alle verstehe.) I'm German, live in the same area. Had to stay there for 4 days. Extra small room. My open luggage couldn't fit anywhere, I had to put it on the bed. Then cleaners removed it to a place where it was impossible to open. Incompetent receptionist. (One of them only, others were lovely) He is the older one (over 60, I believe) He was confused with the fact that I booked via booking.com. I refused to pay the culture tax and had to show my ID card to convince him that I'm indeed local. He refused to take my credit card and forced to pay with EC card or cash. I insisted and asked if it's forbidden. He naturally had no real reason to explain himself. He said "he did not want to discuss" Woww, of course, you don't discuss Mister. I pay as I wish. Finally, I paid with my credit card. They also charge your credit card 10 cents. Don't forget to take it back! Breakfast was mediocre. Only plus is the location.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were the traditional square shape with very little inside. Not quite enough tables in breakfast room.

    Ornate, period interior. Beautifully maintained.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a grand old property, but the bedroom is very much in need of being brought into this century for facilities.

    Beautiful gardens and total peace at night. Great location, lots of trendy restaurants near by.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free bottled water

    warm comfortable room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price a bit high

    nice decor. good ambience. good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi !! The weak hotspot didn’t work ... Breakfast not very rich and fresh

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tacmx shouldve been included in the price we got from booking.com it wasnt

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a very good breakfast in such a very cosy old villa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy because of the roadside room I had, bathroom had some hairs of previous visitors

    good breakfast, cosy rooms with enough space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great historic atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    All was OK

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually no smoking at all, smoking rooms are not available

    Nice old town house, beautiful renovated and nice garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building was undergoing renovations and we were waken by the work related noise.

    Room overall was comfortable and well appointed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rather weak wifi signal in the room. The connection was relatively slow, but stable.

    Nice and comfortable room. Rich breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serene location near the lake and a faultless breakfast to start your day. Ideal for a quiet weekend. Well connected to city centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast were good and the room fine. Parking place nice that we could park in the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no elevator to thid floor

    Clean place very nice and comfortable, nice and big garden, the stuff and person over there by the name of Julios were great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was too small

    The quiet position in elegant part of town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WIFI signal in the room at all

    The nice location and decoration style.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, clean, cosy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiny rooms; very uncomfortable soft beds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a nice hotel with a comited lovely staff. The breakfast !!!! It's worth to stay at the hotel just for the sake of the brekfast !!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely setting. Friendly staff. Delicious breakfast. Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet color

    Classical style dwelling

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location and style of the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi access

    Friendly, helpfull staff Quiet location, nice neighbourhood

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was quite cold during the stay and I would put on the central heating in the shower/toilet. This was switched off every morning when the cleaning was done.

    The whole ambience of this hotel is awesome and the special furniture and table settings at breakfast and decor are just special.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was too soft for me, but I slept well :-)

    Everything was great, very kind people, the service was excellent, exclusive breakfast, room was huge and clean. I felt like in my grandmother's house, not like in hotel. Home atmosphere, ideal hotel for older people and families with children.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They billed city tax twice for me, and it took a lot of time and efforts (with booking.com assistance) to refund one payment back.

    Quiet, not far from the center, reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    smoking allowed in lobby, and bathroom was very small and the toiletries were just a bar of soap and a generic shampoo dispenser. (no lotion or conditioner)

    easy access to places I needed to go, sheets were soft and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They tried to deny me payment with credit card despite their online assurances on booking.com that they had this facility. Upon insistence and asking for the manager, this option suddenly appeared. However, when I came to check out and pay, a local tax bill was requested in cash. They stated it was impossible to include this on the credit card bill. Again, upon requesting to see the manager this option suddenly became reality. Poor level of honesty and communication.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    That I felt like if I made a noise, it would disturb other guests. There's a TV, but it is so quiet that if you turn it on, you can hear it down the hall. Also, there was no wifi offered.

    I liked the updated bathroom and the breakfast. The female staff members were really friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One small thing - no mini kettle in rooms to make cups of tea (a must for me), but I asked and was given one for the length of my stay.

    Beautiful building and gardens, good location, great breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Group

    this hotel is very small but you have all necessary things. It's like small sweet home. It located on a very beautiful quiet street close to the center of Humburg and small park nearly lake.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing Hamburg residence of the previous century with beautiful interior decoration and friendly staff.However, room very small and no elevator to reach to third floor, which can be a problem when carrying heavy luggage.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast was amazing in variety and quality. Charming "old world" style hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really old fashioned décor - carpet on the walls. Bathroom was so small it was untrue . Breakfast lady was not so friendly Not that cheap

    It was on a bus route nice area and was really clean reception staff friendly It has character which might not to be everyone's taste

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel needs to fix the drainage pipes in the bathrooms

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    An old beautiful hotel located in a nice neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast

    Nice location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely room and great staff

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect.

    Lovely atmosphere. Feels like you are in an old English residence rather than a three star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    quite and elegant atmosphere, yet easy access to University and Dammtor station.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no tea making facilities.

    The room was spacious and clean and comfortable. Bathroom lovely.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would have preferred a room lower down!

    The old-fashioned decor.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extra parking and culture fee Wireless?

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    closed parking in night time and sunday

    Location, room

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee making facilities

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small bed

    Location, warmth.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beautiful hotel breakfast room and garden.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Hotel Mittelweg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: