Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel My Poppelsdorf This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Wallfahrtsweg 4, Poppelsdorf, 53115 Bonn, Germany

#34 of 69 hotels in Bonn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 597 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to call for the code to check in automatically. I could have received the code anyway and avoid having to call the property in advance.

    I liked very much there was espresso facilities in the room and fruits at the reception. Plus the huge TV in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only improvement could have been a firmer pillow on the bed. That's a very small concern.

    Excellent breakfast with friendly staff. Fresh and clean room. Helpful receptionist who communicated well. I arrived outside reception hours on a Public Holiday and the instructions to gain entry were communicated well and worked well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody was there, nobody picked up the phone. It was just simply not possible to check in. I arrived around an hour before 21 pm. I only had good luck because another guest arrived at the same time and could help me. Next morning I participated in a World Cup, so it was really annoying. That was just the smaller annoying thing that they charged my card twice by mistake and now I have to wait for the bank to unblock the amount. The comfort, the breakfast was great but these bad experiences were enough for me to avoid this hotel in the future.

    Comfort, location, breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some small issues with the bathroom. The shower curtain could have been cleaner and the tub leaked slightly. We also heard a dripping noise during the night but nothing major. I'm sure it can and will be fixed promptly. Finally, the parking is rather strange. I could have not parked alone in the garage due to the sharp corners.

    Quick check-in, friendly staff, excellent location and a hearty breakfast which is included in the room rate. The rooms themselves are quite spacious, clean and pleasantly decorated (there's always a local touch). I have stayed here several times and it is always great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My phone chargers were very quickly taken from my room to the reception, when I called them from the return train. They allowed me more then week to take back from the reception my lost devises. The client can trust them so.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people came in late and made noise in the middle of the night but the hotel can't be blamed for that.

    Everything was clean. The room was simple but comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No toast or bread at the breakfast buffet, only rolls, black bread and crispbreads. Funny smell in stairwell. TV didn't work, except for 2-3 programmes - there was an explanation for this in the room, but the piece of paper seemed very old. Not very sound-proofed within the building.

    Efficient service, no frills. Basement garage, locked and pretty theft-proof. Location just off the main road, so no traffic noise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We arrived quite late and the check-in was very smooth, well it was possible to take the keys of the room in an automatic box at the entrance, with a code they have communicated to us previously. We just spent one night and it went good! The room was nice and clean. The day after the check-out was also very smooth. We very much liked the breakfast too. We recommend the place :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet could be removed, it just keeps all the dust and you smell it.

    It is quiet and comfortable hotel in a nice neighborhood, just 20 min walking distance to Bonn Hbf! Staff was all helpful, breakfast could be improved though. There are many restaurants, bars, cafes around as well as markets. It is also just 1-2 min far from the closest bus stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    We were happy with everything - quiet area where people can rest. Breakfast was excellent. Comfy beds. Closed parking lots are available for 10 Eur / night, but there are free places as well around, where we parked our car. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at night if the windows are ajar. Could be a bit of a problem during hot summer months since there is no air conditioning.

    Location is great, staff are helpful and friendly. Wifi was free and fast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproofing at all. Noise of neighbours (toilets, tv, snoring). Inebriated guests coming back noisily until middle of the night and no one to tell them off at there is no staff on the premises after 6 pm! I wonder how other solo travellers (male and female) feel about this but to me there are serious safety issues that management seem to overlook. Overall facilities and comfort way below par. Not for business travellers (couldn't even get an iron for my business attire!) nor couples. Budget travellers interested in partying probably

    Nothing. Cheap but no value for money. Positive review are beyond my understanding

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For our liking, the duvets were too thick, even without the heating on. We find this a common problem for us in hotels and would prefer to have the option of a 4.5 tog or similarly rated duvet if possible. The rather heavy chair provided was fine for sitting on but makes a loud squeaking noise if pulled across the floor. This can be heard in the room below too. A soft adhesive pad on end of each chair leg would solve the problem - we use these at home. Apart from these comments, we do not think there was anything we did not like.

    Very helpful staff. Easy to get to the city centre by bus or on foot. Very quiet location but in reach of transport and with shops and restaurants, if required, in the immediate vicinity. Nice to have a small balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing to improve, maybe additional fruits or vegan options for breakfast.

    The bed was indeed extra comfy, the hotel is in really good condition, everything is new and clean, and at the same time simple and perfect for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I was frustrated with was a checking process. Since I was arriving after 6 p.m. I've contacted the hotel and I received a special code I should use to get into the hotel late at night (they have it in the hotel policies that after 6 p.m. there are nobody at reception). When I get to the hotel I used the code I got by email and it didn't work. There was an notice on the door where you could call in case of any questions. I called there but the phone number was not available. There I was standing at front of the hotel at 11 p.m. at night alone in the new city with no way to find out how to get inside. I looked around trying to find other phone numbers or other instructions, but the number was the same everywhere and it was not working. Than I started google and looking through emails, trying to find any other phone number and likely found some other number. This time it worked. I hope you guys will fix it since I was lucky it was not a cold night and I had a working phone with internet, which could not happened with everyone.

    Location was good, it was quite and Bus stop is near by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception is not always open so you have to careful with the timing. You can ask for PIN code if you are arriving late, especially during the weekend.

    Very friendly and flexible reception.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parents stayed at this hotel twice before with our dog. Lovely hotel, staff and breakfast. Would highly recommend. My parents and I are definitely going to stay here again soon!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was adequate, but not outstanding. We muddled through.

    Quiet location within easy walking distance of Bonn City Centre with underground garaging facilities (additional charge). This is a hotel with "streamlined staffing", so guests cannot expect round the clock service. We arrived outside the normal hours and were supplied with a code for the room and the garage. It all worked perfectly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really clean and comfortable, and close to the centre. The breakfast was lovely, with fresh fruits, lovely breads, cheeses and meats. I really enjoyed my stay here.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor language skills from person checking us in. The room was very basic and not comfortable. Shower curtain mouldy, shower tap broken. No facilities for making tea/coffee.

    Reasonable breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Early check-out was impossible

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi could be better

    quiet for rest

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been a little bit warmer

    Almost everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in late via a complicated telephone plus key-cupboard method

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a good experience all round. There was nothing spectacular.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Couldn't fault anything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk was unmanned from 6pm. No warning. Hard to get to from airport

    Clean. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better youth hotel Very noisy Breakfast borderline Staff overwhelmed

    At least a room during fair in Munich below €200

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic but fine

    Room is decently comfortable, there are quite a few restaurants nearby, train station is easy to reach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Nice location bars nearby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable and good value for money. Location surprisingly easily reached from town and the UN.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality

    All was fantastic both staff and food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Instructions to open front door at night

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet is not working, no A/C in the room.

    The style of employees excellent. They are frendly & smiley. Thnx

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All was excellent. I will always use this hotel for my trips to bonn. Feels like home!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff were particularly respectful and really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were invited to use the garage, without being noticed this was at an additional cost. At 9.30 hardly anything was left at breakfast. They had to go to the bakery to get us some fresh bread. The eggs were gone, the fresh meet, fish and cheese were almost finished. And the coffee machine was empty.

    Nice location, very quite and though not far from the city center (easily reachable on foot via Poppelsdorf castle and the green "allee")

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Couple

    Way to breakfast through rooms with view of kitchen and utility supplies. I would recommend soft music in breakfast room instead of total silence. Coffee machine was very loud.

    Administrative staff, room, breakfast, location, price!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    There is no wifi. One can use the free wifi of Telecom for half a hour each day. Difficult to accept that I paid 60 euro/night without having internet connection.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet only free for half an hour a day, but one can opt to pay for a day, a week, a month.

    Personal breakfast service by Mr A. Zikri was great. Proximity to shops and restaurants, museums, Botanical garden. Short busride from Bonn central Station.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Un staffed reception most time. No laundry service available No wifi Small pillow Rediculously small duvet.

    It was the cheapest option. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stuff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed, bathroom too small and heating system moderately efficient

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was bad, it is not so clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    CLEAN, QUITE

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If there is not air conditioning, the room is stuffy and I can't imagine staying more than one night.

    Design of facility.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Single rooms available and quite large

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Too bad it did not have its own Wifi(it had hotspots though)

    The personal was really kind and helpful, the room was all nice and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No free Wifi and no front desk after 9pm

    Location

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: