Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel National This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Luitpoldstrasse 37, 96052 Bamberg, Germany

#34 of 36 hotels in Bamberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 733 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    2.9
    We booked two nights but just stayed for one night, cannot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, from top to the bottom!

    We booked two nights but just stayed for one night, cannot be able to bear to sleep in a pigeon box while somebody called it as a three star hotel!! When we told the staff that we want to check out because the room is too small, Instead for offering a better solution such as “do you want to change to a bigger room?”the first meaning we got from the staff was “ok, you have to pay full rate for two nights”! Hardly believe how they got the stars from......

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Medium class hotel not far from center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, but it is called small room so i was aware od it. There is no door to the toilet, what's is not very comfy if there is 2 people in the room. The shower doesn't close fully and there is 20 cm space between the wall and the door- it's always Coldplay inside the shower and the water comes out.

    The breakfast was good and variated. Service was very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Could have been worse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to the sights was quite a walk. Only got wifi in the lobby, never in our room and the router was outside our door. Don't push the floor button in the elevator if someone is halfway in or they will be crushed, I know !

    Nice breakfast. Room off the street was quiet. Horror reviews from others did not happen to us. Room is basic. Close to train and bus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.9
    Horror stay. The worst hotel I've visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground parking un-accessible. We've parked on the street, in front of hotel. There were a few strange guys hanging around the hotel and a bar across the street during whole night. We got a room on the corner of the building (I think 2nd or 3rd floor) with creepy furniture (very old and broken). The balcony is still standing but very scary to walk on it.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    Kitsch little hotel, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the furniture was a bit old and clearly only for decorative purposes. With a child, a room with such furniture is a bit of a hazard.

    The reception staff was very nice and gave us another room when he found out we were four adults and that they have made a mistake in giving us a family room instead of an appartment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    2.9
    GRIM & GRIMEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best described as a low budget hostel with a 4 star price tag. Grimy filthy shower & dirty stained furniture

    Close proximity to the station is the only feature of this dreadful place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Totally worth a stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wall of the room is too thin that we could hear an old German couple next to my room laughing at the own conversation. Luckily they went to bed after 10 pm. The room is a bit too small

    the bed is extremely comfy and the breakfast staff lady was extremely helpful as well as a variety of breakfast choices. Perfect location with a 10 mins walk to a straight path to Bamberg Hbf. The walk from hotel to the main city center would take only 15 mins by walk. Not to mentioned about many cheap restaurant nearby, Chinese, Turkish ,Italian.. as well as a nearby supermarket!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Antique with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very old hotel which was very cool, but you could hear noises from other rooms.

    The breakfast had a large selection. The staff were super friendly and the hotel had character.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    A good stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the hotel is located on the main street, its noisy in night and early morning due to traffic, especially if its summer and you need to keep the windows open.

    The Hotel is well located and the staff is very friendly. They have option of paid underground parking as well as paid open parking option as well. We had to pay extra for the breakfast, but it was worth the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice and helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled heavy with cigarrets though no smoking allowed.. we were forced to open windows and go for a walk. The furniture is a bit old and walls are not tidy.

    Nice and helpful reception. Private parking lot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast with a large pot of coffee and enough hearty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didn't work the first night, and when it did work there was a poor signal in my room. Relied on The Cloud service. It's a healthy walk to the Altstadt (20 min or so) but not too bad; it's more convenient to the station.

    Good breakfast with a large pot of coffee and enough hearty options. Good service in there too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location, decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby and sleeping area of the rooms plus the breakfast room was updated, but the hallways and bathroom were outdated. The shower was about a one foot sunken basin that buckled under you when you stepped in, which didn't feel very safe. Otherwise, it was entirely functional.

    The hotel was perfectly adequate for one night in Bamburg. The location was within walking distance to the city center and old town. The hotel offered private parking at an additional fee. The breakfast buffet for around €9 was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The wifi was also pretty good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    4.2
    Not all rooms as pictured in the photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately since we arrived late in the evening we got one of the only rooms left - which was nothing like the remodeled rooms pictured in the pictures and was very small and was obviously a smoking room which smelled awful. Many of the fixtures in the bathroom were old and rusting and the linens, while clean, had old wine stains on them. When we asked about changing to a not smoking room the only option provided would have been to upgrade to an apartment for more than double the price. Peeking into the other rooms, many look as described in the photos here but be warned that there are many old rooms which are not.

    Close proximity to the train station, 15 minute walk from the historical downtown.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Good value, clean hotel in a secondary location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited lobby, more like A B&B than a hotel. Appears there is a bar but it was permanently closed. Fair bit if disturbance from the street and sadly a drunk guest on Friday night.

    Near enough the old town with secure, if tricky to enter, car park

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    5.0
    The location of the hotel is really close to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The employees were unfriendly. It was too cold in the room, so that you were frozen all night long. I stayed often in hotels in Bamberg and this one compared to the price was really the worst so far.

    The location of the hotel is really close to the train station

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    The staff was very accommodating and very helpful when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little uncomfortable and the pillows as well. Didn't sleep really well

    The staff was very accommodating and very helpful when asking for direction

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.9
    Great Price, Decent Location, Staff Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were okay, rather sparse in decor, but they did have a decent beds. The desk staff was abrupt, not really unusual for Germany, and as I repeated earlier had a don't bother us attitude at times. (Note that is a comparison of other places we have stayed at in Germany.) Our room had a half-roll of toilet paper when we arrived and when we asked for some to be put int he room when we left for dinner, they handed us two rolls on the return. Okay, but not necessarily expected.

    The National is located in a decent part of town with two good brauerei nearby for dinner and drinks. (Spezial & Fässla). It is a little bit of a walk to the old town area (~800m). The cost was great for a group of 4. The breakfast staff was fantastic and the desk staff was helpful though very abrupt with a little bit of can't be bothered attitude.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    4.6
    The staff was nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too small. The double bed was 1 single mattress and 1 kids mattress, forming one bed. It was not only small but also really uncomfortable. We could barely move in the room, since its a tiny room for one person and they booked for two.

    The staff was nice and friendly. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    7.9
    Well placed for the station and the town centr
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room's furniture was somewhat shabby. Although we had booked a triple room, there were only enough glasses for two people so we had to ask for extra. Also there was no spare loo roll in the bathroom

    Generally a good selection for breakfast, although on the last two days the bread choices were more limited

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice old hotel close to station and just outside old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large, old world style room on corner with rounded wall and small stone balcony. Nicely updated bathroom with two sinks. Didn't have breakfast but it looked pleasant. The hotel is close to the train station (but not too close) which means it is not in the old city but it is only a short walk and we found the transition from one area to another over the canal bridge was really nice each day. Around a fifteen to twenty minute walk each way until you reach the central tourist areas. Room was quiet at night despite being on a big street. Parking is very small under the hotel itself but convenient. Also the hotel is well located to get out of town on the roads. If you were driving to one of the many hotels in the old town it looked like a nightmare so this seems a big plus for the National.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel not too far from the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is on the corner of a busy street. Ask for a quiet room looking onto a quiet side street.

    Great breakfast buffet, very friendly and helpful staff, very clean, good WIFI, comfortable bed, street parking in a private facility for 8,50 Euros and garage for 12,50 Euros per night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable, Convenient and Complainingless
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the rooms were equiped with fan or air conditioner, it could be better sleeping and relaxing experience in the summer.

    The hotel locates at a very convenient place, five minutes walk to the train station and five minuntes walt to the old town. The service during my stay was warm and welcoming. For instance, the staff at the front dest allowed me an extra hour to pack things up and helped me to store laggages in the hotel. The room I booked was a mini double room, which in the afternoon the sun warmed it up. And there was no fan there, so staying in the room during summer days are not good ideas. Other othan than, there is nothing to complain about. The room was maintained well, clean tand tidy. The dispostion and design of the hotel are full of southern German characteristics, with suvinors displayed in cabinets along the corridor. In all, although my stay in the hotel was short, the experience was enjoying and pleasing. And I recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a nice, convenient, and buget travel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful and close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and close to everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    It’s a good choice to stay at National hotel, good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    National is very close to the train station, and close to the old town, with some lovely restaurants and a big supermarket.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    No air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's outrageously overpriced.

    Near the train station. Not far from the historic centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was fine

    Nice hotel near railway station and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    The shower is not comfortable at all -- it is getting wet...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is not comfortable at all -- it is getting wet all over the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls

    Location is very good. They keep everything clean. Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Bar/Restaurant hour of operations should be extended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar/Restaurant hour of operations should be extended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    The showers were really difficult, as when you opened them,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers were really difficult, as when you opened them, water tended to flood out into the bathroom. Really ought to be redesigned, I think.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Would recommend this hotel especially for location, train and flix bus station nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception was okay!

    Personal in the breakfast room was excellent, very observant very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Comfy bed Quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    I waited a bit more ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately loud noise at night from the street.

    Good location, nice staff, standard breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and historical area!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    Much better options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very noisy as it was facing street. To avoid noise we needed to keep windows shut and had a very hot sleepless night

    Nothing really

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    the holtel is classic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking fee charged. accommodation is old and narrow.

    the hotel place is quite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    loud room

    staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Old property, very charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old property, very charming Lady serving at breakfast, with short hair so friendly! Extremely polite and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    The staff is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Wi-fi is really slow!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wi-fi is really slow!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell in the room - smoke.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    A great weekend away, and a very good place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All staff were polite and friendly, hotel clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.3
    Close to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to railway station Easy walk to "Old town"

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Staff was great enjoyed our breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small but served it's purpose.

    Staff was great enjoyed our breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    4.2
    Work next to my room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work next to my room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.1
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    corridor was a bit noisy at night. Ask for a room at the end of a hallway.

    good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.3
    Nice position and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not so clean and very old and small bath

    Nice position and staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.3
    Check WIFI and breakfast prices before you book.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outrageous prices on wifi (5€ for 30 min?!) and breakfast (10€).

    Close to train station

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.1
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit cramped

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous-will definitely visit again
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything about the hotel, Our family room was so comfy and spacious.The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.9
    everyone was very friendly and helpful
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included in price

    everyone was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.3
    great price clean friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit small for a double but it was comfortable

    Clean friendly staff. Good price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    Perfect position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast quite pricey

    Perfect position. Good staff and nice room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need air conditioners in summer as the room was hot

    Food and breakfast: helpful and pleasant staff and location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    Just because the hotel is old, it doesn't means that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI was difficult to use and to log in, we didn't had a chance to login with our smart phone. And the TV sometimes messes up with a loud noise that comes and goes

    Just because the hotel is old, it doesn't means that it's bad. I was very well impressed with the suite corner room that comes with a balcony. Best hotel I've ever had.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.3
    The apartment room we had was spacious, on two floors,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit of a hike from the old town

    The apartment room we had was spacious, on two floors, bathtub, and two sinks. The most comfortable beds of our whole trip. Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    4.6
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very was VERY small couldn't walk normally without hitting something. Shower, toilette and sink are all together. After taking a shower all floor gets wet. Window facing back of the building only viewing pipes and walls.

    Breakfast. Located near center and train station.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    5.8
    Staff was great and check-in/out was quick and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi, black mold in the shower, paper thin walls, and the restaurant was closed.

    Staff was great and check-in/out was quick and easy. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.3
    Excellent facilities for families - loved the large 2 story...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent facilities for families - loved the large 2 story room so kids had there own space but we didn't have to book 2 separate rooms. Great breakfast also.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    6.7
    Location good, staff friendly, breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    For the price paid the rooms should be renovated. Disgusting old dirty sofa bed in room 305. Would not let a dog sleep on it.

    Location good, staff friendly, breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    6.7
    Good area of town, easy to get to, close to the train...
    • Couple

    Parking situation is very bad, you have to pay 12€ Each night to stay in the parking garage which only has a few spots and is open limited hours, or 8€ a day to park 100 meters away, in a small little parking lot, with 5 spots for the hotel. And you were lucky if you got one of those because the lot is shared with a auto detailing company and their cars are always cluttering up the lot. Then the street you have to walk From the lot to the hotel is not very lit, and can be a hassle if you have a lot of stuff. The rooms are also much smaller than what they seem in the pictures.

    Good area of town, easy to get to, close to the train station, good breakfast, pet friendly and very clean

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.3
    Good location for train station and city, staff excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a small double room, which was very small, with access to bed one side only

    Good location for train station and city, staff excellent, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    8.8
    The Breakfast staff was AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No coffee pot, or water boiler in room. Bathroom very outdated, with rust and mold in shower.

    The Breakfast staff was AMAZING! Food was delicious too. Location was perfect for wandering Downtown, and it was a block from Bahnhof. We had a family room which was spacious and clean, with a lovely balcony.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    5.4
    The heat was not sufficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The heat was not sufficient. We were freezing all night! Also we were told, upon arrival, that there was no car park left, even though we had written in advance to reserve.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The P garage could not accessed by cars in Passat og Audi A6 sizes - instead such cars were guided to out door P facilities a little away from hotel, same street although. No fridge in standard double room

    Breakfast was fine Comfy beds Nice service minded staff

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel with excellent staff in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely hotel with excellent staff in a great location. Easy walk into Bamburg and excellent for local breweries! Breakfast was very good too. Will visit again!

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    5.4
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffic noise was terrible all night as the hotel is on the main road. No Restaurant when said they did have one.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Location, excellent breakfast with a wide variety to choose ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no air condition in the rooms and in hot period it is not so pleasant

    Location, excellent breakfast with a wide variety to choose ,cleanless, the staf was very nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.3
    Close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We went to Bamberg just for one day. We arrived to the hotel at 2:10 PM, and expected to check in and go to visit the city. But we had to wait one hour and a half for our room to be ready. When we finally go the room, one extra bed was an unconfortable sofá, therefore a horrible bed with some broken parts, and a dangerous metal part outside the bed that we were advice by the housekeeper to take care of. The shower handle of the bathroom was not good at all.

    Close to the train station. Big room and nice breakfast. Kind staff

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    8.3
    free on street parking till 8am, great breakfast with lots...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the building is little bit old, the triple room single bed is a fold up bed, make lots of noisy. garage entrance is narrow, not easy for a big car.

    free on street parking till 8am, great breakfast with lots of choice. good wifi, spacious room, very big bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    10
    Located on a 4 minute walk to the train station and about a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My stay wasn't longer

    Located on a 4 minute walk to the train station and about a 10 minute walk to the Old Town, Hotel National gave me great value for my money. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and this hotel had the most varied and absolute best breakfast bar of any European hotel that I have ever stayed at. I also found that the early opening of the breakfast bar (6:30) extremely helpful should you need to catch an early train.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    7.9
    good breakfast and fast WIFI
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    hard to find a parking place

    good breakfast and fast WIFI

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    8.3
    Fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very bad parking, small place, expensive.

    Fantastic breakfast! Goed location. Big suite.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: