Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Dessau This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Zerbster Strasse 29, 06844 Dessau, Germany

#3 of 6 hotels in Dessau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1303 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we didn't like was the bed. It was too low, too hard and the pillows were too soft

    We liked the hotel had 14 hour reception and we could arrive at anytime, we liked the price of our room and we liked everything in the room except the bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 1970's spangly lifts Wifi Bandwidth was poor. at 9pm at night it was next to useless but was OK at 7am the next morning. I guess people may have been streaming video in the evening.

    Nothing stands out as being outstanding. It is a very competant hotel but there is nothing of real note.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't that the staff was not friendly but aside from the young lady in the breakfast room the staff was just ok. Also it was cold in the room, we had to turn the heating on, it was on the lowest possible level, and we were there in december! There were only two small radiators and it took a long time to get cosy (and I am not a person that is easily cold). The bathroom did not feel clean, there was shower gel that had dripped down from the bottle and nobody had cleaned it away. The bottle did not drip constantly and it must have been there a while because it took a while to clean it. Also there was hair on the ground. I just feel if the bathroom is not clean it is clear that the staff did not do their job with care and I ask myself 'did they then change sheets, towels or were they just as careless in that regard?'

    The location is good, close to shops and restaurants (walking distance). The breakfast was amazing - a very friendly host, she was awesome - and a great selection, even smoothies and waffles, plus they made omeletts to order and their rolls were the best!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    long wait at check in and out, not working card terminal which made us wait extra 5 minutes with a tired baby, we paid cash in the end, no real apology for the inconvenience

    comfortable room, overall nice decor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred summer-weight duvets to the heavy ones supplied. August is summer, after all ...

    Spacious room with two good chairs and a table next to the window for good light. Very comfortable bed. Trolley for taking bags up to the room. Good underground parking. Wonderful lighting in the lifts! Superb breakfast!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dessau is not a tourist destination and there is little choice for accommodation. This hotel was absolutely fine for our overnight stay. We had a Superior double room. It was adequately furnished with a well equipped marble tiled bathroom and a small balcony. Parking was available in an underground garage. The reception staff were polite and helpful. The cost was reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing to complain about!

    As we expected to arrive late, we called to let the hotel know. The staff assured us that they would hold both the room and parking for us. We were well received and well taken care of, despite the late arrival. In the morning we were treated to one of the best breakfast buffets we have seen in quite a while. Everything was truly fantastic, right down to the make your own fresh waffle station! Both my wife and I were very impressed, and plan to visit the hotel again - soon!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management shoud be changed immediately. General Manager Claudia Schwalenberg can not be reached in weekends, even not by phone, and at the reception they are friendly but they don't have the right ability to solve problems. Most rooms don't have a regular ventilation system and they smell of sewer and cigarette smoke. Housekeepers should check with the reception which guests have checked out in the morning to avoid disturbance by knocking on doors before checkout time. Wifi connection should be better.

    Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything the whole hotel is pretty old, rooms are small, air condition literally stinks as hell, bed are really uncomfortable, the food in the restaurant leaves a lot of to be desired (no vegetarian options at all, maybe lettuce salad was the only one), during the night no one was at the reception, I've had to wait outside for 15 minutes and after all force open the door with other guests. On the top of it, this place absolutely do not deserve for 4 stars, I would say even 1 maximum 2. So sad that this kind of places are so overpriced and booking.com is helping the, to rip off people

    Apparently there was not so much what can be considered as a positive aspect of our stay. Everything in NH Dessau was really average, I would even say old and not renovated from a long time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a larger hotel in a newer building it didn't have much character. But everything worked well!

    Friendly staff. Good location. WiFi worked in the room. Discounted price was good value. Room a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Safe in the room didn't work. Expensive breakfast, go to the bakery opposite the hotel instead!

    Good location, everything was OK but nothing outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a strange smell in the bathroom, especially when the ventilation was off during the night.

    Very clean and quiet place, offering all the necessary equipment and comfort, friendly and helpful staff, fantastic breakfast included in a reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are stuck back in the late '90s to early 2000s. One has to get used to the parking situation: there's limited space with car parking lifts for two cars each, however, these are completely shut down. Still, the upper spot is available for parking. Funky smell in the bathroom which seemed to be coming from the toilets not being used or at least flushed in a while.

    Location is pretty much dead center of Dessau. The shopping street is right around the corner. Rooms are very quiet, you can barely hear the neighbor - even though there are (at least in some rooms) connecting doors between the rooms. Rooms are very spacious even for a standard single room. Breakfast offering was decent, though the breakfast restaurant was very contorted and coffee was quite watery.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant service was too poor. I ordered a meal and it was cold ( the meat was cold while the sauce was hot. when I complained the waiter just took the plate from me and re heat it bring it back and disappear ( too proud to say sorry)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a little dated - but not really an issue as it made a change from the predictability of the Holiday Inn clone hotels we'd been staying in.

    Very good breakfast (for price paid), comfortable bed, room was very clean and also quiet, bar prices reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are old. need renovation. Floor in the bathroom was not heated, heater is a lamp you turn on for short period. We arrived at 22:00 and kitchen was closed already. also hard to find food around the area.

    Location is very good. Reception was quick and welcoming. Breakfast had vast options and all was good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of water from shower is very hard to control.a little bit dangerous because of the hot water.

    Big and comfortable bed,clean room,friendly staff,breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive breakfast. For two persons 33,80€ it's too much.

    Hotel in the center of the city. Everything is within easy reach. It is very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air-conditioned would help,it was a very hot weekend 😎

    Every thing was excellent,a very happy and smooth running place to stay,will definitely come back

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities and staff were amazing. Secure bike area in underground garage. Breakfast was substantial and well presented. Location was central to town and near a quiet pedestrian mall.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was booking non-smoking room via booking.com, but tehre was available only smoking, despite that was noce and clean

    I was there already several times and as usual was fine.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website said it was air conditioned and the hotel did not have it

    ConVeneient and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quit but still in the center of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found hair on the ''fresh'' bed sheets!

    Super location, friendly stuff, nice hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no problems there

    everything was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No black spots.

    First Quality hotel. Good food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cold, even with the heater on.

    Cozy room and clean bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very comfortable and Pay TV for Superbowl free

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sauna could be hotter

    The breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because of a problem with our first room we were upgraded and had a lovely room for the rest of our stay. The breakfast was varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, gym.

    Restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, nice hotel, the best one in town. Professional and friendly staff at the reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very nice and serviceminded

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking and breakfast are expensive. There is street parking but only free 1900 to 0900.

    Good breakfast and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nice and spacious room with lots of extra's.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet was very hard to flush.

    The hotel is very well situated for visiting Kiez in Dessau Nord and the Bauhaus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt like a toilet. Very smelly. The whole second floor smelled bad.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too cold

    best breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice modern hotel. Very good value in a convenient location. Big room, good lighting, 2 chairs and a fridge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is fantastic! Nice room, very comfy and clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didn't work as good as it should

    Nice big clean room, friendly staff, super breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow free wifi, staff does not read special requests made through booking.com

    Good value, recommended. Nice brakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located and fabulous breakfaat

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure parking but €9

    Room was large and comfortable. Liked having two pillows. Fridge in the room. Good having two chairs.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The woman at the reception, she was one person to take care of everyone, and she was slow. And she spoke hardly English. And she told me at the beginning we hae to pay there, so I had to spend half an hour to find in my credit card statement that it was already taken from my account. And when I told her, she said, yes I also checked and "It is OK!"

    Cleanness

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just on the edge of the pedestrian area but secure onsite parking. Usual NH hotel with good size room, good staff and bar/restaurant. The difficulty with Dessau is the lack of restaurant options. The huge plus is the Bauhaus.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfriendly staff, unorganised, key cards unreliable, shower badly designed, stuffy rooms, no free parking, free WiFi slow.

    Breakfast had a good selection.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room and bathroom spacious, well-equipped and comfortable. Staff helpful and attentive though occasionally a little thin on the ground. Very good breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - slow service at breakfast - no A/c - I ask if I could eat on the terrace as the terrace is mentioned on the web site. Staff told me there is no terrace. - Smelly hallway - coffee making facility in the room would be appreciated

    check in /out = speedy and efficient

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sometimes difficult to control the temperature of the shower. The breakfast is too expensive

    Very reasonable price in terms of its facility and atmosphere. The staff including the putzfrau is wonderful

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. perhaps a little warm in the Summer with no A/c

    City centre location. excellent size of room. great bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Good evening bar and snack facitity,

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room service left something to be desired (forgot to clear away tray during the day) and there weren't enough sockets (only one spare one in fact) for plugging in computers, phone chargers etc.

    Cleanliness, breakfast bar, good food and wine ar dinner.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was too small

    Very modern

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean room, large beds, good location.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Douche en bad, kussens perfect!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ungeplanter Late Check out am Neujahrstag war kein Problem :)

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed, hot water and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner in the restaurant was just average.

    Very nice room. Efficient and friendly service. Quick check-in and check-out. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very spacious room and clean, very good position of the Hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff has very poor English, even at the hotel´s restaurant.

    Nothing in particular

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very well-run,modern hotel. Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brochures of Museum should be on show, rather than having to ask

    Close to Bauhaus Museum, good breakfast and tea to make to our own liking

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Breakfast and possibility of having breakfast until noon on Sunday - Late check-out possibility - Helpful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Central Location, Car Parking, Value for Money

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good for 1-2 nights with minimal things a person needs while traveling.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    air con in reception, non in room - contrary to info supplied

    good location

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bad smell in bathroom. Have no idea but it was from a ventilation.

    Comfortable room. Everything was good.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast fee is 16EUR/parson..very high cost.

    very clean room. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi connection wasn't really good.

    Very good room. A big comfort bed! Location.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: