Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Köln Altstadt This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Holzmarkt 47, Altstadt-Sued, 50676 Cologne, Germany

#83 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2397 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facility in our room. Shower a bit dodgy. Ten minute walk to the main tourist areas.

    Well priced. Nice size room. Close to the Chocolate Museum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV and lights stopped working and had to call reception for help. Small mold patches on bathroom wall between tiles. Not enough wet towel holding possibility for 3 persons.

    Most comfortable bed with two fluffy and amazing pillows. Large room, good location, parking garage under hotel, close to downtown on foot, great system for keeping luggages at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information at reception about the wellness facilities.

    Room was very clean. Room was decorated in modern trend. Towels were white and clean and soft.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel holds an extortionate amount against your card on check-in as a guarantee, whereas in the UK this is usually a nominal amount or 1p, just ensuring they have your card details in case you cause damage or 'do a runner'. Make sure you have more money in your account than the cost of your rooms, as they will 'hold' more than the cost and the guarantee won't work if you don't have enough in your account. This led to problems with payment on checking out too as they had taken so much against my card that the clearances couldn't take place quickly enough to allow me to pay the correct amount myself. My friends had to help me out.

    Well located and really clean. Staff spoke perfect English which was really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very expensive (23 EUR), close to busy road/bridge making a lot of noise. Airco is not cooling sufficient, but open window means a lot of noise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services Housekeeping services

    Internet speed was very slow. The services was so bad. House keeping services so poor. For asking anything you should go to concierge directly!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in so slow and made by completely incompetent staff. they had to made an upgrade because of their reservation system however at the check out, they wanted us to pay for the upgraded room. Even the upgraded room had old furnitures.. so-called spa area is very bad. nothing works properly. in the room a lot of technical failures, some of the lamps do not work. constantly a lot of waiting time for lifts!! I had to walk by the stairs a few times to my room at 4th floor because of long waiting to get a lift.. It is definitely not a quality hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironing service Sauna closing time 17:00 Before checkin they charged my credit card almost twice amount of my reservation price. I have to pay again the price when i checkout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too warm (in April) despite leaving the window open during the day and having the air conditioning on full during the night. There were no working English TV channels.

    The service on reception was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size and well furnished. The bathrooms are modern and clean with good toiletries. The breakfast selection is comprehensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception I was over charged by 592 euro when I rang to resolve this issue it was very difficult to get to speak with somone. During checkout I knew the receptionist was incompetent and was proved right. Also the hair dryer in our room blew up so to speak while in use . The user was shaken and slightly burned her fingers while one of the receptionist s replaced the dryer we asked that she inform the manager also but never heard back despite also mentioning it again at checkout customer service could be better as it is a lovely hotel

    Room breakfast nice hotel overall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely unpleasant experience. There were frequent power cuts and the reception didn’t seem to care about our situation. We asked if we could be moved to a new room but the unfriendly staff wouldn’t honour our requests. My 6 year old had to sleep in the dark and we couldn’t wait to get the hell out of this hell of a hotel. Breakfast was expensive, parking was expensive, the towels stank and the hotel didn’t even make an effort to pacify us after our ordeal. Well, if anyone is going to book this hotel, just avoid room 539.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked hotel for 5 nights, but want check out after 4 - hotel ask fee (~1 night price); No boiler in room; $300 deposit for 5 nights;

    Very good breakfast; City center;

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could be cleaner. There were leftover stains at the carpet and the curtains. The bathroom was also moderate for a chain hotel like NH.

    The hotel has a convinient location which is 15 min walking distance to the Köln Dom. The breakfast was better than I was expecting and the staff was helpful during the check-in and check-out. The bed was exceptionally comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi didn't function well enough to work. Fitness center only opens at 7 am, too late for a day at work.

    Location in the city center and near the Rhine is excellent. Nice restaurant, very friendly and helpful staff. Most of the rooms are facing one of the streets surrounding the hotel. It's best to book a room to the inner court.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell of drains in bedroom which eventually disappeared but had to keep windows open and cleaner used air freshener to help disguise smell. Couldn't move room because hotel was full.

    Great location, large rooms, very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially I was given a smoking room that the guy in the reception claimed to be a non-smoking room even if it clearly was not. Any non-smoker can identify the smell. After complaining I got a proper room. The room was clearly over priced but probably reflect the market situation in Cologne.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old style minibar, no free water neither water boiler/coffee machine. Basic fitness center.

    The room was plenty of space and clean. The sauna was nice. The service was nice. The free wifi option works fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking fee is really expensive, the staffs always clean room in the morning before 10, and when you check in, the receiption will tell you the room still not ready, you have to wait to 3 pm, unless you upgrade your room type

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was very big, but a little lack in quality: The fried eggs were sopping in oil and the fruit was not super fresh. The rest was good, and a wonderful selection of teas

    Very Good bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite expensive for what it offers. The heating system was not working at all and it could not be fixed for our 2 days visit which was over the weekend. We were offered a small heating fan which was obviously not enough for the room and it was very loud. The sauna was not heated enough and the steam bath was broken. In short we were only provided with a roof and hot water for this money..

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free Wi-Fi wasn't great.

    I booked the NH Hotel because of its proximity to my meeting venue. Although it is very close to the off-ramp from the Severinsbrucke bridge noise was not a problem. Breakfast was very good. Pleasant 20 minute walk from the hotel to Cologne Hauptbanhof / Cathedral

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very hot, even with the air con on cold, the hotel prices for the ISM were 400 euros higher than 2017, breakfast there wasn’t a lot of choice same produce each day. Bar area isn’t big enough and the staffing is poor. Pricing in Cologne itself for the ISM show has got out of hand is pricing people out of coming to the show

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar food to order at the no menu or information. Asked for a Irish coffee. I got a shot of Baileys on its own and a standard coffee on its own

    Room was spacious and just he right temperature

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise could be heard in the room making it difficult to sleep. Room was too warm. Parking is expensive.

    The room was very hot and there was no way to change the temperature. Parking is expensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. Cleaners were rude however paid for late check out but still wanted to rush us out the room even though we told them

    Excellent value nice room and bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    New hotel located not far from Altstadt and close old Köln harbor in a quite zone of the city. The room were very wide and comfortable, especially the bed, and the bathroom was clean and fully equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle in the room. I'd brought my own tea bags and porridge and couldn't use them.

    Location for Chocolate Museum & Christmas Markets was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room

    Didn’t have the breakfast but the bar was good and all the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/ coffee making facilities in room. When having shower, no bath mat or equivalent to put on floor of bath, so making it very slippery & no handle to grip.

    Spacious & warm room, close to river, short walk to city centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel pre-authorized the exceeded accommodation payment 2 times on arrival (still pending 1 day after check-out). Plus I have a pending invoice for the accommodation. Hope to get my money back one day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is normal for a hotel to take a small a mount from a credit card as a hold for any incidentals. They took over $1300. It was an error by on staff member. To rectify they should have revered the amount. The poor trading of the staff and their attitude to me was disappointing. It was eventually rectified after 5 days.

    Good position. The bar mean I the bar was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could've been a temporary glitch, but the free internet was kind of slow.They do however, offer a "premium" hotel wifi. But that's with an added charge.

    Breakfast spread was good. Staff was accommodating. The space of the room and the location was good. If you're taking a cab from the Koln HBF, you just have to make it clear that it's the Hotel just 1.4 Km away. Just saying "the one on Altstadt" could be confusing for some as they could assume its on the other side of town, apparently with the same name.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website said that on Sundays it is possible to check out later, at 5PM, but in the hotel I was told I have to leave at 12, which was slightly inconvenient as this is not how I had planned.

    Very good quality for a good price - as expected from an NH Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower curtains were clean, yet are in general outdated for modern hotels.

    Friendly staff, great breakfast, big room, close to city centre. Sufficient wireless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel is very old , very old fashion rooms unfortunately no shower cabin but only curtain !

    10 min walking distance to train station 20 min walking distance to messe located just opposite of chocolade museum!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hotel for the short sray business travellor but try and get breakfast included as 24.5 Euros otherwise is way out of acceptability. You can get a nice Dinner meal in the restaurant cheaper than a continental breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It takes rather long time to check in and check out, especially for this kind of chain hotel. You would expect the staff are well trained and very efficient. The underground parking is really small.

    The room is very spacious. The bed and pillows are super comfortable. The hotel is showing its age but nevertheless still well equiped. And the city centre is well within walking distance. After several rounds of German beers, it's easy to get back to hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price had increased from initial booking, as I had to pay the Hotel directly rather than at the time of reservation. No logical explanation as to this increase as exchange rate has stayed fairly constant. On arrival an amount in excess of £155 was charged to my card without any explanation that this was to cover both the cost of my stay and any additional charges I may occur in the bar or restaurant. I had to enquire later that that day and upon departure before being assured that this would be cancelled and the actual cost charged to my bank account. Noise from aircon and fridge were both excessive and not of the standard expected from a modern hotel.

    Great location, by the Chocolate Museum and overlooking the Rhine. 15 minute walk to the main station, Cathedral and shops. Breakfast choice and availability was very good. Room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unprofessional reception. As they said, they consider the special requests as a wishes and they don't care about wishes. Even that we didn't ask them for free !!!

    Spacious but old rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. We stayed 5 nights in this hotel the Air condition was not working for the 4 nights and everytime we complain and they reveused to fix it specially the guy at the receiption his name dominik he dont want to help he just says all our rooms the same .. and when other staff lady called "Brenda" if I am correct with the name she was sooooo kind she send someone and they fix it on the 5th night thanks alot for her. 2. The location of the tram seve. Is not near by as they say it is hard to go to as we have to take stairs then some rounds to get to. 3. The pillows was tourble it should be diffently replaced. 4. The towels was having some bad smells.

    The location of the hotel was good near the rhine river and chocolate muesum. The room was large enough

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful, they included the breakfast buffet at no extra charge. What a buffet it was! So many choices and food was all very fresh... We loved this place, would certainly go back again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi connection could have been faster.

    I had a splendid view to both the Köln Cathedral and river Rhine from my room. The breakfast was excellent, especially the coffee machine and I appreciated the huge variety of breakfast options in general.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the secure car park was €17 a night which is the same as a car...i felt it was too expensive.

    Very friendly staff and transport to the city centre is easily accessible. Hotel is super clean and get modern.Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told we didn't need to reserve parking however hotel car park was full when we arrived.

    Lovely spacious room. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact that the standard rooms did not come with tea making facilities, this was only available in the superior rooms that were available to upgrade to at a cost, the garage across the road did a good coffee on our way back after a day out. The room did not have air conditioning and the fan it did have might just as well not have been there. We had to take the option of cooking or having the window open and, that posed a whole new set of problems with the road and tram noise and the noise from the play park that was situated below our window. We also booked a double room and were provided with a double bed and 2 single duvets as a double duvet was not available.

    The bed was comfy and the shower was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were comfortable but was bit short (no enough space)., the room was big enough and comfortable. really liked the hotel and the facilities in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow elevators, so take the stairs

    Good breakfast, near to old city center and Rhine. Parking in car parking of the hotel @€17 or for free from 6 P.M. to 9 A.M. on the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put water and chips on the table and it looked like a "welcome snack", but you have to pay it!

    Excellent breakfast, good options for vegans (soy milk, nuts, fesh fruits and smoothies), great tea selection. I had my little dog with me and they didn't charged me extra!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower and, specially, the shower curtain belonged in a budget hostel. Corporate feel with no charm.

    Spacious room and bathroom. Relatively central and very quiet. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi is very bad. Air conditioning was not cooling the room (it was 35°C outside). Couldn't open the window because of street noise. The staff gave me a incorrect bill (amount was lesser than what I paid); luckily I noticed it and got it corrected.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice, clean, large and silent room. Good Breakfast, many options. Free natural flavored water in the reception. Helpful staff. Walking distance to some of the main attractions of the city as well as good restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel bar was supposed to close at 1am (which some might find a bit early, even on Thursdays), the bartendress didn't hide how annoyed she was by our drink requests at 00:30. Even in a cheap room, the bed could be a little wider, I felt like it might have been only 80 centimetres wide, which wasn't too comfortable.

    Very friendly and charming receptionist! Hotel room was acceptably tidy, a little small, but incredibly cheap; especially considering the amazing location right across from Cologne's chocolate museum, and only a short walk away from the nice pub area near Rhein river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing I did not like was the location. There is not much in the way of restaurants or shopping within walking distance of the hotel.

    This was a very nice hotel.My room was large,clean,and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bills were not properly done, mistakes in them and we have problems to get 2 sepatared bills with 2 different names and adresses. Reception stuff only follow their basic protocols and they are not effective solving problems. Moreover, they do not attent the request we did in the reservation and we had to insist. In summary, reception stuff could be improved.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con a little confusing

    Excellent breakfast, did not use the fitness centre, no tram stop near to the property, nice walk along the rhine to get to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Long waiting time for the elevator and taxi arrival during exhibition period. When the exhibition ended, all went back to normal!

    The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacey. The bathroom & amenities are alike. Breakfast was very good with sufficient selections. Good location by the Rhine river and short walking distance to the historic center, the Dom, shopping streets, bars & restaurants. This was my third stay in this hotel which I believe has one of the best price/quality ratio in the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its a overrated to expensive hotel, with two lifts that will take you 10minutes waiting time. Then the big surprise came at check out. Apparently the city of Köln doesn't like foreign guests the hotel has to charge you a €20 city tax a night that came as a surprise at checking out. The understaffed reception staff offered a declination form of 6 pages at check out. (at checkin would be a lot more easy). It took us 20 minutes to check out any how.

    Its a big hotel in walking distance of the Old Köln city centre, it has a nice garage with hardly enough space (as many guest arrive by plane).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As with almost all hotels my wife have stayed in, there were no grips in the bath/shower to hang on to for those who require this, and there was no non-slip mat for the bath/shower floor

    The room with a view - fantastic panorama of old Cologne, with cathedral, spires, bridges and the Rhine itself; friendly, helpful staff; comfortable armchair and plenty of space in the bedroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fitness and sauna are open only in evening hours. That was a bit surprising. So if you plan to visit Jim in the morning - forget about it.

    The breakfast is really good, rooms are nice, clean and spacious. Convenient location next to the river. Everything inside rooms and shower was new and well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The keys to the room repeatedly stopped working which was frustrating having to get them recharged. I don't know if this was something that I was doing wrong, perhaps keeping them close to my phone or something, I don't know. But it was frustrating nonetheless. The staff were, however, always very helpful in fixing this. I would recommend buying the breakfast ahead also as it is incredibly expensive to purchase there (more then double the price when purchased with your booking). I would have hoped that there would have been a small kettle along with a tea and coffee set, which there wasn't. However I am sure I could have just asked for it and it would have been supplied had I really wanted it that bad.

    The room was large and very comfortable and the bathroom was also very good. The staff were very friendly and able to help with all of our problems and any requests for things I had forgotten to bring or needed and brought it straight up to the room. The location was very good also being only a short walk along the river from the train station and near several restaurants and bars. We did not pay for the view, which to me wans't a problem. But looking at where the hotel was I'm not exactly sure of what the view would have been of. The hotel had a small gym which was good, if small. I didn't not try the saunas, but they looked clean and reasonably sized when I walked past. They also gave away free bottles of water and energy drinks in the gym which was a really nice touch for your workout which I appreciated. The breakfast we only took once and it was great with many well cooked foods.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We paid full sum of booking during booking months ago. When we arrived hotel, they requested 250,00Euro pre-payment for possible use of mini bar or extras, although we used none of these services. This is not ethical and most probably they do not ask this sum from guests who do not come from booking.com.

    There was a lot of noise in 1st floor (room we stayed in) that was coming from some apparatusus within hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NH KÖLN ALTSTADT can learn from NH hospitality elsewhere, ie Barcelona, or Budapest. The staff at reception, breakfast and corridors never smile od greet warmly guests, but seem preoccupied by themselves.

    NH KÖLN ALTSTADT is nicely located on the Rhine river, while being close to the centre and motorway exits. For motorists, the parking is very useful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance of parking slot was hard to find if you missed the sign on a small board placed right after the traffic lights.

    Hotel is conveniently located in the city center with easy access by car. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We DID get two twin beds as advertised, but they were pushed together and difficult to separate. A little too 'Gemuetlich' for these bros...

    The room was very clean, comfortable and attractive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got single beds instead of a double despite the fact that we requested it and the mattresses were really uncomfortable.

    The room was very big and the coffee maker was impressive. Really nice bathroom

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - very expensive as was the parking. Stayed in the NH in Frankfurt a few weeks earlier & the room had tea/coffee facilities this room didnt.

    Great location, staff friendly & hotel generally clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very slow WiFi, hotel did not honor the late check out , they told us we had to get out at 2pm, while they write checkout is available for free until 5pm

    Room was OK and clean, a bit old

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms, expected more from the facilities, breakfast very expensive. Luggage handler was very rude.

    Perfect location, right next to christmas markets.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I booked this Hotel I requested a wheelchair accessible room with a shower. This hotel does not have any double wheelchair accessible rooms which of course was totally useless for my self and my husband. The Booking.com system really needs to be more accurate and there should be the facility for a disabled customer to book confidently online. As it was in this case I had two options, try and find another hotel room somewhere in Cologne (which even the hotel staff found very difficult) or try and make do in an ordinary double room which had an in- accessible bathroom with no separate shower. As we arrived in Cologne late afternoon we opted for staying at the original Hotel but I was not able to use the bathroom fully for the entire length of my stay. This situation is not acceptable and I must hold Booking.com very largely to blame for this situation occurring. The Hotel were very apologetic but said that they had not received the full and correct information from you. I have several pending hotel bookings made through booking.com still to come but once these have passed I shall not in future be using Booking.com as I cannot trust this happening again.

    The staff on reception particularly were extremely helpful and the breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a twin room and were told on arrival the hotel never guarantees you will get your preference so my travel collegue and I were given a double bed and basically told that I need to speak to booking.com as it wasn't their problem !! Also the sauna and steam room were broken

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very poor. I managed to connect once during my two day visit. Not acceptable for such a high standard of hotel.

    The bed was fab! Room was spacious and comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows should be changed because they are very uncomfortable and they should put coffee in the bar! No electricity power socket nearby bed is a bit annoying to charge your phone overnight!

    Great hotel, spacious and clean with welcomed staff! Food was delicious, steak and hamburger with baked potatos is just great!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the lady in the bar who was serving very miserable and not quick to serve us, also the room we had a bit noisy from road traffic.

    The hotel it self was excellent the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms a little stuffy even with aircon on & road noise disturbing at night with windows open. Possibly could be better if room is facing away from river. Not deal breakers and we would stay again.

    Location, comfortable bed, good bathroom & bath/shower!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If airco is advertised then I expect it to work properly. It didn't while we were there. We've stayed at 2 NH hotels now and I found them both a bit dingy if I'm honest. However, Rafael was so attentive that if we ever went back to Cologne we'd probably stay there again because he gave us his email address and told us he would take care of us if we ever went back. We really liked that!

    We'd like to thank the front desk manager Rafael for his understanding attitude regarding our disappointment with the poor functioning of the air conditioning on a very warm humid day and the fact that we had no electricity in the room for an hour and a half when a power failure affected the floor we were on between 00:00 and 1:30 am. Thanks to Rafael we left the hotel happy that someone listened to our concerns and made us feel important.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Köln Altstadt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: