Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel An Der Oper Düsseldorf This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Heinrich-Heine-Allee 15, Altstadt, 40213 Düsseldorf, Germany

#192 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1648 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    5

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many parts of my room needed repair. The shower curtain was disgusting. My 1st floor room overlooked an alley, where passersby would throw things up and through my open window. The cupboard in the entry to the room barely allowed space for my luggage to get through. The duvet cover was lumpy. I could go on...

    The price was ok considering what other hotels in the area charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi connection was terrible, it connected but it did not load any content on the phone or laptop during the three nights I stayed.

    Location is quite good, easy access to the train stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the location of the hotel is very good, but also noisy, who needs a quiet sleep is not for recommendation. The hotel is very dirty. The Internet sometime does not sometime work a little. The hotel is not even a 2 star, horror.

    the location of the hotel is very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During exhibitions the price rises up several times higher than usual, that was the most upsetting part of the business trip

    Good location, peaceful place of the city, a lot of places of interest nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complete absence of cleanliness and sicurity. the bathroom with mold on the walls, the curtain must have been to be white but were GREY! fitted carpet is very but very durty. AWFULL! Durty, very durty! no sicurity. My handbag was stolen in THE RECEIPTION! every rogue entered in the hall without problems and was not drived out. in the district: thieves and tramps, drunkards.

    only breakfast was good and close location to the metro. That is all!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's not Wi-Fi in the rooms and there's no mobile signal. Even next to the windows the reception is very low. Working from there is simply not possible. The Chokolate City Club is very loud during the weekend if your room is facing the back side of the hotel. Sleeping is almost impossible (~till 4am) There's no minibar in the room. Check-in took way too long.

    Location & Price Double-bed room was OK. Fast check-out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most dirty run down disgusting overpriced excuses for a hotel I have ever experienced Staff utterly unhelpful Lift a safety risk Blatant price gouging

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets were dirty and the furniture in the room was very much torn. The room and the bath were clean but the oldness of the room hide it. The furniture is way spartan.

    Nice and friendly staff. Very central location especially to shopping areas and to the old city. Very close to the U-bahn (subway). There are plenty restaurants and bars very near buy in walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is superb. My room (101) was everything I needed - it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Even had a balcony out to the main road. No noise from the busy road outside or surrounding area for all 3 nights, and very welcoming and helpful reception team. Yes, it is a bit dated, but the value for money is incredible. I didn't try the breakfast, so cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very worn down room. Not comfortable at all. I did not even want to take off my shoes. Having lots of experience in hotels I can say that this was by far the worst. If you have the chance to go to another place do it. There are plenty of better options in Düsseldorf.

    Good location in the center of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    wifi is fine in every room and floor that ive stayed in here . 3 stops from HBF on ubahn ..and handy for shopping or bars and food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was seriously run down, smelt of smoke, holes in walls, marks on carpets etc. General lack of amenities and could do with a complete refurb

    Location is absolutely excellent for the bars and restaurants around Altstadt

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests under us were extremley loud from 3 am on and there was no way to contact the front desk to compain unless we went all the way downstairs. Also, we asked for an extra pillow and they knocked to bring it to us and waited about a half second until they started unlocking the door and coming in the room.

    The location was perfect-right in the center of all of the Christmas markets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not tidy. My sink and shower were both broken as they were pooling water. The stopper was broken in a closed position in the bathroom. The shower wall was broken so water was flooding on the bathroom floor. My room smelled like smoke. When I checked into the room there was rubbish in the bin which makes me think either it wasn’t cleaned or someone was in there which is unsettling. If I could book this room again I wouldn’t pay more than €50 per night but I would not stay here again or recommend it.

    N/a

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No telephones in the room (5th floor) No information on how to use the TV (not simply turn it on) Black mold in the bathroom. Only plug in the bedroom was under the light switch(, not much use for trying make a hot drink, use hair tongs or charge tablets) need one over the table and a mirror.

    Good breakfast selection and plenty of it, but did run out of bananas one morning.Free Coffee in the foyer and will make fresh pot if required. Quiet rooms at the back, very noisy in the front. Ideal location for visiting the Christmas markets and old town. Close to station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony Door was broken, so we were unable to sleep in peace because of Noise our room was facing the road. It was not possible to change the room after 3 time complaining. No towels in the room. Room not clean. Staff very rude!!!!! To make it worst I was 20mins over check out time and they came 3 times with Security to kick me out of my room. Checked out on 21/11/17 morning the frontdesk girl is the worst. We never had a bad treatment from other German hotels but the staff at this hotel need to change. Worst hotel in Düsseldorf

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rest (besides location and breakfast) is nothing good to say. Hotel is old and requires massive renovation. Personal at the desk is trying to be nice, but very inefficient. Big mess in their system. I was sending them requests via Booking - no replies. You have to pay before you enter, meaning credit card is charged in ahead. For me that was not convenient as we were on the business trip and my colleague was supposed to pay with the corporate credit card. But he arrived later in the evening, so I was forced to pay with my personal credit card details. Then we had a to leave the hotel at 4am due to the early flight and asked to check out in the evening, so that we could just leave the keys at night and leave without dealing with an invoice. That was not allowed.

    Two things that worth of staying there - an excellent location and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirtiest property ever, unfriendly staff, bathroom filthy, carpets througout hotel and room filthy dirty. Worst experience ever. Checked out one day earlier due to TV not working for two days, dirty room, bathroom, smelly toilet and just overall unhappiness.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very old furniture, it was no renovation in this hotel a long long time. in addition it was no hot water and every time i need to wait 10-15 till smth will happen and it will be possible to take a shower with a hot water. but the location was perfect and the room was very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is small, furniture is old but for a small price that I payed I didn't expect more.

    Very close to Alstadt and easily reachable by metro - just 1 station from main train station. 24 hours reception allowed me to check in late and check out very early.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Décor, carpets etc. were all very dated and worn. There were holes in the wall. No tea/coffee in the room. Very expensive due to a concert in town and still charged extra for the breakfast. Not good value for money.

    Bed was comfortable and shower was good. Great location in the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite old and requires renovation.

    Great location, easy to find, close to metro, center and restaurants. Helpfull staff. Safe (right next to police station)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived the girl behind the desk was surly. The furniture would have been thrown away by the Salvation Army is was in such poor condition. The bed fell apart during the night - the screws holding it together fell out. Fortunatly I could fix it with the mini tool kit I travel with.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic. Not often the bathroom is more complete and inviting then the bedroom. Maybe my room was going to be refurbished the day I left. Decor was basic and no comforts. You sleep and leave. You don't spend time and relax in the bedroom. Great location but needs a make over. Would I stay again..if I really had to and were desperate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff,room was clean and the noise wasn't an issue. We were late down for breakfast and the lady offered to make me some extra scrambled egg,which I thought was very kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I stayed a whole week and didn't get hot water in the morning for the first 3 days. The staff told me every morning that it's going to be fixed immediately but still, it lasted for 3 days. Furthermore, the receptionist didn't even mentioned when I checked-in that the TV won't be working because the hotel where switching service provider. So no hot water for 3 days and no TV during my whole stay and of course, not discount or even breakfast offering in compensation !!

    Great location right within the heart of the city with on one side the old historic town and on the other side the more modern city. Walking distance to the main train station (or 3 stops by the subway).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty carpets. Old dirty rooms. No hot water in the morning. Very bad mattresses on beds. Staff hardly spoke English. Very expensive for what it offers. Misleading pictures on booking.com

    Very poor overall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, room, elevator, hallway, shower, smell in the room, bathroom, bed, cupboards. Place should be renovated in every aspect!!!

    Very, very dissapointing hotel !!! Paid too much for what you get. Hotel should be closed, cleaned and totally renovated in every aspect. Experience was very bad!!!!! No recommendation at all. Even a warming not to go there!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture in the hotel was very old. It looks dirty, stained carpets with many dirty spots.

    It is in the center of the city. It is closed to big shops and pubs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon so the room got quite hot in the afternoon. The double bed was two singles pushed together, not an actual double mattress.

    Location was perfect, just near a very busy downtown area with lots of bars, restaurants, even a brewery just down the street. Only a short walk to the riverside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked three nights . Beware -They charge your entire stay at check-in. We did not get the single bed we booked and instead got 2 twin beds. The TV was not working in the entire Hotel which they told us only after we asked why it did not work. The room was not clean. The staff explained that they only take the money and there was nothing they could do. On top of that we had to have booking.com negotiate a one night refund as the Hotel policy states you only get 10% of one night stay once you pay. We checked out after only one very uncomfortable night. I would not recommend this to anyone and would never stay there again.

    location only

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First impression was not very pleasant cos the photos and reality the reality turned out to be different. But after two hours we felt comfortable and enjoyed our stay. For such small money this hotel is quite excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the Discotek almost directly below my window, still open at 06.30 on Sunday, the state of the carpets(very old and very worn), no safe or telephone in room.

    The Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above it should be noted this hotel is about a night club

    Room was ok however it dies not state it is on top of a nightclub meaning for 2 nights we were unable to get sleep as the noise went on until around 6am

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms very dates, Wi-Fi non existent arranged earlier check in, however declined on the day by a very miserable male member of staff.

    Location superb Female receptionists all helpful and nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the Aldstadt district, needs refurbishing but clean rooms and comfy beds. Good for short place to sleep. Didn't have breakfast, chose to eat out instead

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately because of the location very noisy until 3 in the morning. No fan or aircon in a very hot room. No TV working and hairdryer in the bathroom did not work. First 2 nights no wi if in the bedroom which was only fixed Friday evening. Unfilled holes in the wall. No pictures or mirror in the small bedroom only in the bathroom.

    Nice reception area. Location good, bed sheets clean and shower very nice. Lady receptionist very pleasant helpful and friendly. The men not so accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in the area was expensive - but it is the Altstadt. It cost EUR 18.50 overnight at a nearby underground car park. Based on their information card, the breakfast looked a little too simple for EUR 12.90, so I bought it for half that at a local cafe. The door handle to my room was loose, and in general the door did not look very secure.

    Price is very good. Location is very handy to the Altstadt. Bedding and bathroom are very clean, and everything worked. Staff was was very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated with wallpaper coming off walls and tiles in bathroom scratched and chipped. The furniture was old and not fit to put clothes in. Smelt a little musty too. However my sons room on the other side of the hotel was more modern and pleasant so maybe they are updating room at a time but still feel my room was not fit to accommodate. Hotel itself is also a little dated with old carpets and numbers falling off doors.

    Location was excellent and bed was comfortable. They looked after our bags after we checked out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wall paper came off the wall, pictures/posters were removed with the bare nails still sticking out; computer in check-in area didn't work - personnel didn't care

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a funny stay! No telephone in the room, no aircondition. Very limited! At night, electricity goes and you do not know what is happening. When you open your door to the noise and the light as your room has no electric you face a man without clothes in panic or...

    The area, although it is very loud.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast seemed a bit pricey for me (which is why I didn't avail of it); it may be a bit hot during the summer, but it isn't too bad

    Staff were friendly and helpful (especially Ilies T.); location was great (just around the corner from the Old Town and 3 stations away from Düsseldorf Hbf + next to a Police Station); has the basics one needs for a good stay; wake up call was punctual

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have a 3Y.O. son. The hotel gave us a basic double room. When I asked them only an extra pillow for my son, they said me that there is no any extra pillow.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel has a wonderful location. You can go everwhere by walking in a short time. Staff of the hotel is very kind and helpful. Wifi connection is also cool. There isn't anything bad about the hotel. You can not find any hotel better than An Der Oper Hotel with the same price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy on the outside, and you can't close windows 'cause there is no AC so the room gets very hot . The water bottle they put in the room didn't have any price tag so we drank it thinking it was free but it si not, the receptionist was very nice and didn't charge it when we explained her, but just so you keep it in mind since it's quite expensive

    Very good located, good for the price, comfortable beds and clean bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smelly and noisy - a lot of noise from a club next to the hotel. For me was very difficult to sleep.

    Very good location, the hotel is situated exactly in the old town. A lot of restaurants can be found close to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was really shabby and dirty , carpets where disgusting and the slats on the single bed broken . Infact the bed was so dirty that i slept on the bed and not in it , furthemore with my head at the toe end as the bed was sloping to one side. The cupboard handle was also broken . I am surpised that this hotel is registered with Booking .com . The cancellation policy is very dissapointing as we needed to change one night with another Booking .com hotel and we still had to pay 90% of the room fee.

    The hotel is well positioned near the Rhine and train station .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Interior and rooms as 20 years ago. Looking old and too dirty. Service staff seems to be kind but each of them lives their own life,seems like no communication between them. They nod their head for your request but doing oposite things. Lots of misunderstanding and problems. We had 4 rooms booked but one of them was empty for 3 days as the other people were supposed to come later. The hotel knew and we were talking about this on a first days,when our people arrived it turned out there is already no room cos they sold it to someone, without any contact with us. Horrible. Ignorants. Nobody knows anything. We had to tell the same story to each shift and each of them were unaware of anything,looking like sleeping,no action,no reaction. Finally they have found 1 room in another hotel but it needed much time, effort, nerves and power. We were shocked - for such money it is unacceptable ...especially in Germany! Let the opinion to be a kick for improvement.

    Good was only location:close to U-bahn with easy access to other point of the city and Exhibition Centre. Also just some steps to the OldTown full of nightlife:) Breakfast-, not special but no complaint,enough and ok. Small calm room where you get what u need in the morning:)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very dated. No tea/coffee facilities in room, heating not working in room, shower/bath was a danger hazard, no English speaking channels on tv

    Breakfast, free WiFi, cleaning staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an unbearable odour. Our room was facing a nightclub that closed at 6am the sound of the music and people arguing, fighting and smashing bottles on the street was not appealing. The hotel made no effort to make us aware of this before we arrived. There was also a bundesliga match on the weekend we were there so the hotel was filled with fans, they kept us awake running up and down the hallways knocking on doors and screaming. Thought the hotel would have realized this and perhaps moved us to another floor.

    Great location, right next to altstadt and train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DO NOT GO THERE - BED BUGS !!!!! (room was also dirty and really noisy - my room was facing a night club, incredibly loud music from 10pm until the early morning!)

    location was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very overdated. Only the reception area is looking glamorous, the pictures of the hotel are very deceiving. Way to overpriced what was on offer. The carpets are filthy and stained with bleach all over. Not just in the room the staircase throughout. My room was on the 4th floor and when I got to door, the door was full of dust that was not cleaned until the first morning staying in the hotel. I stayed between Thursday night to Sunday morning. Friday morning (guess during the week) workman making a lot of noise not respecting guest's rest or privacy. Don't stay in the hotel during the week if one would like a well deserved rest and lay in in the morning. Weekend mornings were fine. On night I got there the receptionist was not helpful and lacked not understanding English. The internet was working only intermittently.

    The only thing to like about this hotel is its location. It's located opposite to the Dusseldorf Opera house and it's about 1 min walk from the 'Longest Bar' in the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is fine if I have to pay max 50 EUR per night and not 145 EUR, I know that the price was too high due to some events, but it's really not reasonable, specially that the photos didn't show how the place is really bad

    Only the location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old dirty carpet all around the property and in the room. No table to work. Two hangers in the closet. 180 euro per night. Unfortunately I had no choice.

    Staff and location are the only real value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are poor for the cost of a room. No coffee facilities in room. No ironing facilities, had to wait till last day to use iron in the staff office. Staircase is filthy, carpet is disgusting. Have to pay extra for breakfast when already paying €200 per night! Workmen started drilling and banging at 9am in room next door to ours. No prior warning.

    The room was modern and quite big. Location is good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is not even suitable for 1 star, I don't know how it has been rated as 3-star hotel. It is more like a Bed and No-breakfast.

    Great location and good for short stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't look refurbished for a long time, stains on the floor carpet. Drill holes on the walls. The tiles in the toilet are very worn out. Linen were clean. For 50€ I crashed one night, but I run out of the place the day after as soon as I realized what that was. I reckon it was cheap. So perhaps fair value for money, however it is a low level accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old hotel, not renovated Spiders in the room The paint from the walls was seriously damaged Funny smell

    Great breakfast Friendly staff Quite clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Washroom was clean but has a bad smell. Floor Carpets are worn out. Wifi signals were week in room.

    Location was excellent. Few steps away from food points and Shopping streets. A good value of money. Room was good and nice breakfast was given.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived the man on the desk was having an argument with one of his female staff. He curtly took my details etc didn't welcome me or instruct me how to get to my room or even sugggest breakfast, but instead went straight back to arguing. When the lift doors closed he must have started raising his voice - I could still hear him yelling when the lift stopped at the 3rd floor. The room was very basic and just passable but desperately needs some money spent on it - new carpet, a lick of paint, sheets that don't have holes (!), a bedside lamp that works, skirting boards that are actually attached to the wall, also, a bath tub with a plug ..surely this can't be considered too much to ask..! It's fine to crash for one night.. but it's a shame because it could be a lovely hotel!

    The location is great, right opposite Deutsche Oper.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's bars just down the road from the hotel with a rowdy crowd that can be heard well from your room. Once they close at 1am or so a nightclub directly outside the hotel opens until 7am. The music is loud enough to shake the room so I had no sleep. At 8am the cleaner will be going round with a vacuum and shouting on the phone. There's a mention of "The buffet breakfast is served daily" implying it's included, but it costs 10 EUR which is extortionate. The room was dirty, and the bathroom stank of pee. The bedding was clean though so I was willing to forgive this if it wasn't for everything else. WiFi existed but was slow and unreliable from my room. The mattress was around two inches thick, more like a mattress topper. I asked for a refund for the rest of my stay, aware that I only get 10% back because it's that bad. You would have to pay me a lot of money to stay there again.

    The bedsheets were clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking this hotel was my great mistake. I have made a check-in, put my suitcase to the room and went with my friends to the dinner. When I came back (2 hours later) the door of my room was opened. And all my stuff was stolen. I mean everything was stolen: my new suitcase, my cloth, my books, even my underwear... everyting. Only one sock was lying on the floor. I went down to reception, told about everyting. They called police (police could not do anyting). As I find out a little bit later two rooms were stolen that evening. I had no compensation from the hotel, except free breakfast. It is the first time in my travel practice!!! I was very disappointed, as you can imagine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stay clear of this hotel, was the worst experience ever! Very poorly managed, extremely disappointed. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls; the carpet was disgusting, dirty and stained. The bed was something else; it must come out of the ark. Srew holes on all walls and not to mention Bathrooms.... I've seen 3 rooms, one nastier as the other one. Stay away!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I have stayed here many time, it is now getting to look very old. Stains on all the carpets, wall are in desperate need of decorating

    Location and value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in the room full of spots and dirt from the years before. There was fungus on the walls in the bath, the paint on the walls in the bath was pealing off. I was wellcomed with a drain smell after having entered the room.

    The location was super, female staff was friendly, male stuff rather unprofessional. Big rooms. The Name of the hotel is gorgeous:)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tired hotel, 1970's bathroom, paint on wood, very thin carpets, screw holes on all the walls, wood chip paper even on the ceiling and foam bedup against the wall. It's a budget hotel with a much bigger price tag.

    Great central location to stations and old town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is bad except location. Dirty hotel and my room, old furniture, instable internet, no hair dryer. At reception nobody could help to get hair drayer. Strong smell of urine in the toilet. I will never return.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old inside and it looks dirty. But the beds are clean and with good pillow and sheets. The temperature in the room could be warmer.

    The location. It's perfect. In the center of Dusseldorf. Right the corner is pedestrian zone with lot of shops and cafes and just a few minutes to the river. Also on the other side is the shopping center with expensive brands. The stuff was excellent. The bathroom was clean with a lot of hot water. From station to the hotel was 10eur, and from hotel to the airport 27euro.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillow is poor.

    Location is perfect. Between Altstadt and shopping area. If you want go to shopping distance is 1 minute walk. Less than minute walk to Altstadt where you can find many restoraunts and bars. Nice breakfast, comfortable beds. Helpfull staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls were paper thin into the corridor. Couldn't hear anything from other rooms but you could hear the maids very loud in the morning and slamming doors constantly which made us unable to have a lie in.

    The location was excellent, right in the heart of everything good in Dusseldorf. Staff on the desk seemed friendly enough. The room was very big and had two different balconies.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't particularly friendly or helpful (e.g. they gave us an A4 printed out map that didn't help us navigate the city at all) and barely spoke to us during our visit. The beds were uncomfortable and the property was very run down (stained carpet, dirty walls, outdated decor). They also charged €10 for breakfast, which is a joke. They'd have to give me money to eat anything of theirs.

    Location was the only good thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was broken, which was okay for us on the second floor, but not very good for the men checking in at the same time on the fifth floor!

    Fantastic price for a good hotel. Spacious room with comfy bed and large bathroom. Staff were very helpful and nice. Perfect location for Christmas markets.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is tired ie.stained carpets , unpainted walls , holes in walls , lift broken . Generally the hotel neede s a major revamp. Room not cleaned well. Toilet paper not replaced. We have been to this hotel several times but this was by far the worst .

    Location .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was a mess, since the reception looks oblivious to us waiting there for about 30mins. You really have to make your presence known. Check-in really has to be 2pm. A few tips for future guests: 1. Lift was not working at the time of our stay - if you're carrying an unbearable amount of luggage, please request for a room on the 1st floor in advance. We had a room change to 1st from 4th floor as we are supposed to carry up 50 kilos of luggage. If your bags are light, I think higher floors are okay and manageable. 2. Late check-in - after waiting at the lobby we are welcomed to uncleaned rooms. The cleaners were apologetic about this and we saw that they tried to clean as quickly as possible. 3. And after all of these, the lights in the toilet were busted, and there is no technician available on a weekend so it was only fixed during our check-out. We had to use a lamp from the bedroom, which made bathing look more cinematic. LOL

    Good central location. You can take nice walk all the way to church, Old town and the big wheel and the museum of modern art. We're just 10min away from 2 Christmas markets - near Heinrich-Heine-Platz and Burgplatz.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the elevator was not working so we had to carry our luggage to the 4th flour . check out at 11:00am . no facilities inside hotel . the room was not clean .

    location was excellent .

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel An Der Oper Düsseldorf traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: