Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Nicolay 1881

Uferallee 7, 54492 Zeltingen-Rachtig, Germany

#7 of 7 hotels in Zeltingen-Rachtig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is vegan which, when one is not even vegetarian, takes a bit of getting used to (we only ate breakfast, but one notices the difference).

    Welcome was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid over 100 euros, then I think the hotel should have a good internet and an up to date TV set. There was no internet in our room, although the description should be in all rooms. In the corridor outside of our room there was internet which worked unintentionally. TV was a 17 inch thick tv that I have not seen since the beginning of 2000 century in Poland. There would also have been a pool in the hotel, but it was not expected to be operational. Neither the internet, the TV or the pool is crucial for any day's vacation stay. Had the manager shown fasting and some form of apology, the shortcomings could be overlooked. But unfortunately, the Senior Manager had not gone any course in customer satisfaction. my low grade.

    Overall a good hotel, but...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some courses on the dinner menu are a bit quirky but non the less very well presented. Some standard German food courses would be a good to appeal to a wider clientele. Great service though!

    This hotel is a little gem! A little behind the times with regard to facilities but massively made up for this with excellent personnel service from the staff who made our stay absolutely memorable in the best way. Bigger hotels could learn a few lessons from hotel service like this hotel. We loved it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I especially want to thank the staff for its kind help. I unfortunately could only arrive in the middle of the night. Although the reception was already closed the hotel staff did its upmost best to make sure that I could check in. I really appreciate this and for me, this willingness to help, is already by far enough a reason to recommend the hotel. Moreover, the price-quality ratio is very good and I greatly appreciated the breakfast buffet. The buffet also comprises a wide variety of vegan products.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel was historic, it has lost its character during earlier renovations.

    Close to wine fest and walking paths through vineyards over the Mosel. Nice breakfast spread.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well below expectations and promises. No balcony despite statement on booking confirmation. No swimming pool (broken for months, and will not be repaired as per owner's words), despite stated on advertisement! No Wi-Fi except in main lobby, and low performance

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't take a room with river side - it's awfully noisy in the night because of the cars. If to close the window - is very stuffy. Actually rooms are old and wet smell is everywhere. There were also spiders in our room. But the most ugly thing is that the administrator took double price for the child breakfast - from me and from my friend with child of another room; and lied to us that one should give the money back to another (we paid separately). Haven't expected that Germans are lairs!

    The rooms for two persons are really big; and the ceilings are high. Bathrooms were renovated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really comfy bed. Great to have so much food to choose from as a vegan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing I can think of

    Location, staff, food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great vegan food , friendly staff. After dinner the chef goes around all tables for a chat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb view of Mosel. Vegan food was brilliant, and I'm not vegan. Staff great. We stayed in suite which was huge

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike

    An extensive breakfast and nothing was too much for the waitress

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small TV

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot drinks possible in room

    Good breakfast and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor TV reception in room

    Superb vegan food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tv had bad reception. shower water temperature fluctuated

    superb vegan food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes internet was slow.

    We stayed at this hotel a couple of times with our dog. The staff is always really friendly and attentive. As we are vegans, this place is a real gem: it offers many vegan options for breakfast (selfmade spreads, fruits, salads, soyghurt and soymilk, just to name a few :)). The hotel-restaurant "Weinstube" is 100% vegan and the cook is one of the most creative vegan cook I have experienced! That's why we would go back there any time! Plus: they have their own-grown mushroom culture (you have to try the mushroom platter)! On several sundays they also offer a vegan brunch and, since a couple of months, there is a vegan "fastfood" lunch restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and committed staff. Excellent vegan food with great variety. Nice big room with everything one needs. Flexibility on breakfast hour. View on Mosel. Easy parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Weather

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very unstable wireless

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Outdated furniture but one might argument that this is part of the Mosel-experience

    great staff, very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. There was a perfectly acceptable alternative to the vegan restaurant menu available.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi-Fi was so slow it was unusable.

    Very friendly and pleasant Hotel right by the river in beautiful surrounding vineyards.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor Wi-Fi

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super friendly staff! The vegan food was delicious.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: