Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Niederländischer Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Alexandrinenstr. 12-13, 19055 Schwerin, Germany

#4 of 20 hotels in Schwerin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 402 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Over priced for the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a room on the lake and got a room on the parking lot The breakfast was not included and was not worth the extra 14€ per person There was no air conditioning There were only two plugs in the room and they were not at all near the bed or the desk

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    We got a nice room with the view of the lake, with very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing in the variety- not really adequate for 14 Euros... Also, our rooms were in different staircases so my parents had to cede their better room to us in order to retain access to lift.

    We got a nice room with the view of the lake, with very good facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated shower over the bath with no thermostatic control. Lighting in the room made reading difficult with dreadful bedside lights.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Fantastic location and generally pleasant ambiance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    a good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have appreciate more variety in fresh fruit at breakfast. But nothing really negative.

    Easy to find, good location, not too far from the castle. Parking (it was not supposed to be free but Idiscover later that in fact we didn't pay anything). Very good breakfast. Our room was on the front, with a view on the lake and I was afraid of the noise at night, but it was really quiet. Comfortable bed, fridge in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    A perfect location for a short stay in Schwerin
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dripping shower, hopefully fixed by now. The internet was a bit slow.

    Beautiful location, spacious room. The staff was very helpful. Very pet-friendly residence. This hotel is a very good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.1
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was not good. Furniture is getting quite shabby. Smoker's lounge open to reception area, so that everything reeked of smoke. Towels were really old. The breakfast could be better.

    The location was good. Parking was secure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.5
    Problematic...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not for the first time I was struck with how uncomfortable the beds are in this hotel. Once again I had mattress that was simply not up to standard. One of the worst nights sleep in a longtime, Hence my decision to move hotel after one night. The bottom line is that one goes to a hotel to get a reasonable night's sleep...

    It really is a lovely hotel and the staff was very welcoming but... (see below)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    This has all the charm of an old world hotel but needs a little refresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are dated and a challenge to sleep on if you are not use to it. Wifi, although it was free was spotty.

    Very central location. I personally like the charm of the whole hotel. We didn't have a view but the room was enjoyable to be in. They also offered us a complementary brandy, which we enjoyed in their beautiful but small lobby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    The staff were fantastic and very accommodating and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small problem with shower running on the floor outside the tub. But other than that no issues.

    The staff were fantastic and very accommodating and the room was very comfortable, large and clean. The bar and lounge area are very pleasant too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    A very traditional and rather upscale hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As before, the strength of the WiFi signal in my bedroom was rather weak, I do wish they could improve this.

    A very traditional and rather upscale hotel. My room was extremely comfortable and even boasted a huge armchair into which one could sink and read the night away. The restaurant is very good too and the staff are extremely welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay - didn't want to leave hotel room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room with a double bed, but was only given a single duvet. No pillows given, just very soft couch cushions. Breakfast menu on table only provided in German. Key to room was quite bulky and heavy, a bit annoying to carry around. WiFi spotty and often cut out, annoying when calling family on Skype

    Hotel ideally located for hbf station, central Schwerin and lakeside walks. Very beautiful room and hotel, very luxurious. Lovely lake view room. Quiet, secure, stored my luggage for me, sent postcard for me. Staff were always accommodating for my nonexistent German, despite sometimes limited English. Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Quiet large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You had to pay extra to use the safe in your room.

    Quiet large room.Comfy bed. Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clean.Bath room is large.Near the station,Face to the lake.Dom is near the hotel.Location is super.Beautiful town,!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful location overlooking the lake at the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location overlooking the lake at the heart of Schwerin

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    THE TV IS MUCH TOO SMALL FOR THIS HOTEL CATGORY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE TV IS MUCH TOO SMALL FOR THIS HOTEL CATGORY. THE STAIR CASE CARPET NEEDS TO BE REPLACES, IT IS BADLY WORN

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice location, great room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, great room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Good quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is pooring connection, breakfast not many options

    Near train station, easy to moving

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Great location and very nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was free but not very stable

    Great location and very nice hotel. Restaurant was closed so did not get a chance to review

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    A wonderful view from our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to leave

    A wonderful view from our room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.6
    The staff was friendly, curteous and helpful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was friendly, curteous and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    Exceptional view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional view!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Supper hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi very slow

    Supper staff and service minded

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Good enough to stay another night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smoker in the house.

    Breakfast selection is phenomenal, fresh, and varied.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    8.8
    Nice rooms and centrally situated in Schwerin.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The cleaning lady started 8 am to knock on our door and continued each half an hour.

    Nice rooms and centrally situated in Schwerin. Their restaurant was very good and the service was good too.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    8.3
    Definitely the location and the view on the lake.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast wasn't exactly worth the price. It was not bad, but for 14€ too limited in choices.

    Definitely the location and the view on the lake. Just a few min walk from the pedestrian zone with all the shops. Although there was a street right outside, it wasn't noisy. (I was there in winter with closed windows) The apartment was comfortable and had enough space for 2. Mattress was of a hard quality, which I like. A correction to my bill, which I requested a day later from my office via email, was done very fast. The hotelstaff was polite and helpful all the time.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    The hotel is located just a short walk from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only issue was the variability in staff attitude. One male desk attendant was being arrogant, pretending he didn't speak English but slipped up by using some English words halfway through his German charade.

    The hotel is located just a short walk from the train station. It looks out onto a lovely lake. The rooms are tastefully furnished and a good size. The restaurant is similarly appointed and the food was excellent and the prices were surprisingly low. The desserts were especially delightful.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful furniture, nice beds, excellent breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TVs should be bigger compared to the large rooms (we had an apartment). There were no batteries in the scales.

    Wonderful furniture, nice beds, excellent breakfast and coffee. Good and friendly and helpful service.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    Lake view;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negative experiences at all.

    Lake view; quiet; central; fascinating town. Fun and pretty room decor (but do make sure of a front room). Helpful, friendly staff. Best WiFi out of 8 hotels on this trip. Easy to get to with car.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.3
    Location is very nice, in front of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stay only 1night, the day was very hot, no air conditioner no fan... difficult to sleep(we were just unlucky, room is still nice)

    Location is very nice, in front of the lake. Nice classic decoration room. We were offered welcome drink but choice is only sherry, our teenage daughter is underage for drinking in native country... wish to have another choice.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.1
    The location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We booked 2 rooms, indicating to be closer due to children. Recepcionist told us to do that but they didn't read it!!!! The rooms were in diferent part of the Building and the quality and charmess of the rooms were too diferent, one was perfect (4+ stars) but the other was poorest (2-3 stars).

    The location of the hotel. The atmosphere of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Great location, within walking distance of historic town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although we know there can be no guarantee of getting a specific room, it felt a bit ironic that we requested a non smoking room on a higher floor but got a smoking room on the ground floor. Not even an apology for them not being able to accommodate our request. Breakfast was on the small side. One would think that scrambled eggs and such would be standard on a breakfast buffet at a hotel of this size.

    Great location, within walking distance of historic town center. Beautiful view of lake just across the street. Well kept historic building. Huge room. The bathroom was as big as the bedroom. Lady in front desk was very polite and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.7
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room v noisy and too hot-resulting in virtually sleepless night. Choose room carefully, do not accept those by lobby or outside bar. Evening meal limited and quite pricey

    Good value. Good breakfast. Clean and spacious. I was unlucky with room.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My husband and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The hotel is very clean, bedroom was large compared to many in Europe and was within walking distance to all the sites. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    7.5
    Good location close to center of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Insufficient pillows. Extremely small television. Soap and shampoo accessories not replenished during stay. Deposit required for older safe. Large and heavy key instead of modern card key. On several occasions nobody at reception.

    Good location close to center of city.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experience, but I would suggest that during breakfast coffee is given in cans rather than filling every cup individually. The latter leads to unwanted waiting time. The Wifi is relatively slow but reliable.

    Clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.2
    The location of the hotel, on the Pfaffenteich, is wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi in my room was very hit and miss, which is pretty unacceptable for any hotel these days. Also the breakfast, while adequate, at €14, was rather pricey for what it was. A short stroll into town will provide many cafes happy to provide an alternative at half the price.

    The location of the hotel, on the Pfaffenteich, is wonderful and it is an easy walk into town. The hotel itself is full of old world charm and has clearly been renovated with love. The staff were universally helpful, especially to a non-German speaker.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.3
    A charming hotel and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A charming hotel and room.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.3
    Location very good, wifi very fast, room quite big, bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Once have to wait for receptionist 6-7 mins to finish her call to get my room key!

    Location very good, wifi very fast, room quite big, bed comfortble!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.1
    Nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet connection was terrible. Not acceptable for business travellers.

    Nice room.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    3.8
    Heat was not working.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heat was not working. Front desk no help

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful, classic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    Beautiful, classic hotel. We really enjoyed the stay, everything was exactly like shown on Booking.com.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful old hotel in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff not very friendly or helpful. Hotel, although beautiful, has seen better days.

    Beautiful old hotel in a wonderful location

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.2
    fantastic location, terrific hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    fantastic location, terrific hospitality

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Attentive staff, superb location, great Fruhstuck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi in hotel a little weak in room far from the second floor router.

    Attentive staff, superb location, great Fruhstuck!

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    10
    The stairs in the entrance of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs in the entrance of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    Location and excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location and excellent restaurant. Parking also very good - and free!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    10
    Gorgeous room and excellent location with beautiful views of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gorgeous room and excellent location with beautiful views of the lake.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    Room, bed, staff, restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room, bed, staff, restaurant

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hotel Niederländischer Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: