Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Nikolaiort (former Hotel Nikolai) This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kamp 1, 49074 Osnabrück, Germany

#12 of 34 hotels in Osnabrück

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 862 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not good! They were wafer thin. Being an apartment it would be good to have washing machine.

    Great location. Parking under the complex, discount given. Breakfast was really tasty and had a good selection including hot food, sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You pay extra $5 for 24 hours of wifi - but you definitely don't get your money's worth, you can't connect to anything. I did manage to get on a couple of times just long enough to check email, but was SO slow

    Breakfast was great - wifi sux, you pay extra for it and you'll be lucky to be able to send one email. I thought I booked room for 2, they never said a word when 2 of us checked it.....only one towel in the room (should have been first clue), but didn't hesitate to charge me extra when we checked out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although Parking is mentioned, and I had specifically requested parking in the booking, on arrival I was told that Motorcycles are not allowed to use the parking area.. Very, very poor as they could have messaged days before.

    Good location in town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a faintly unpleasant smell when entering the room, coming from the bathroom. I purchased the room wifi, which turned out to be a waste of money. The signal was very poor, and when connected was slower than the dial up service I had 20 years ago. No good if you need to use it for business.

    Great central location, and with a car park underneath (at a reasonable rate). Easy enough to find with their satnav directions. Big comfy room and bathroom. Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not free in rooms but OK in common area.

    Spacious rooms and very clean. Great breakfast buffet.Friendly helpful staff. Overall pleasant experience , would book it again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street was quite noisy very early in the morning (a bus lane and garbage trucks)

    Elevator from the parking garage to the reception. Excellent breakfast. The room was really big and comfortable. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was confusing. What to pay, how to get in and out etc. Would like fridge in room as we arrived late and had our evening meal picnic with us. As we have 4 kids under 12, fridge would have helped with the cold beer wine problem. As always tea and coffee in the room would be very very welcome. The price quoted on booking.com ended up more as we have to book 2 rooms for 4 children and 2 adults. Given the size of the rooms they could also offer a proper family room for larger families that would be very welcome.

    Flexible regarding arrival - because we called to say we would be late - very flexible with breakfast - loved the fact that no smoking room but still chance to get a coffee and smoke outside on the terrace. Kids - and we have 4 - were very welcome and relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know where to park that's it.

    More than enough space for the family, very clean and well equipped. Reception staff helpful and friendly. Late check-in, but reception lady was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two small points: our room was very hot when we arrived as it had the afternoon sun shining straight on it, and the lack of WiFi in the room.

    We have stayed at this hotel once before. The staff are very friendly and helpfull, we had the same room as last time, which was spacious with comfortable beds and with a modern bathroom, including good shower. The location is brilliant, right in the centre of the city, which has a lot to offer visitors. Parking is easy, underneath the hotel. The WiFi was good in the public areas. Excellent buffet breakfast, you can make your own fresh orange juice! The hotel owns a restaurant nearby where you can have a good "Bavarian" based meal at a reasonable price. Would like to stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception open in limited time every day. I rented an (the?) apartment (room 1A). The living room and bedroom are seperated and not in same level (10-12 steps) and not suitable for handicapped. This is not stated in the booking!! Not a problem for be - but would have been if my wife had been with me. The living room are situated very close to the road where a lot of busses passes every hour = lots of noise!! There are no television in the bedroom - normally not a problem, but for business trips is it different - at least for me. I prefer to wake to the latest news. Appartment seemd a bit worn out. But much worse: Wireless internet is non-exitsting in this apartment!! The signal is too weak to connect. It is one of the things I look at when booking the room as I had to work in the evenings. Confronting the receptionist the second night with my problem she told me that this have been a problem for a long time but could't do anything about it. If I had to work, I could work in the lobby area and complain to the manager the morning after. So I did. The suggested solution was to change room to a place where the wireless signal "normally" is better. But no guaranties. I chose to check out and found a hotel with an internal wi-fi intead...

    Location in the centre of Osnabrück is perfect. Breakfast is good. Staff is nice and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was essentially a 2 bedroom apartment, separated by stairs. We had to rearrange some stuff for our young kids. It was also right on the street so it was a little noisy.

    Parking was underground under the hotel. The location was easy to get to via GPS and there was plenty of restaurants and shops within a couple blocks. The breakfast was very nice with a fresh orange juice squeezer. The breakfast staff were very accommodating to our young kids.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the family room for 3 adults and we were amazed that it was a little flat. Living room and desk with a TV downstairs and 3 beds and bathroom upstairs. Really nice surprise.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was right on the street & near a party/bar area - so it was quite loud quite late. I'm luckily a good sleeper & they provided ear plugs (in the bathroom), so it was ok for me. But my sister would have had a cow! No wifi in room - which can be a big issue if on a business trip. Luckily I have Telekom so I could use a hotspot for free.

    Everyone on staff is so nice!!! Good breakfast - they even made me a whole carafe of decaf. Central location easy to get to main train station with bus. Modern rooms, clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Very much in the center of the city. Very safe location. Large, clean room with large windows. Extra comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was booked into spacious aptmt 1A. No Wlan/WiFi at all. Only in Cafe. Stuffy, no aircon no vent/fan. Windows to street level, so can be tilted, not stay open. Very noisy neighbors and pedestrian walk-throughs. Architekts and costruction work discussed for hours directly in front of the guestrooms in wee morning.

    Everything basic met expectations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free internet, no free parking.

    Excellent breakfast. Comfy room, very clean, and even though the window was overlooking the street, it was very quiet. I like the contemporary, colourful feel of the hotel (I've stayed there in two different occasions).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Einzelzimmer - Dusche & WC auf dem Korridor zur alleinigen Nutzung
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no WiFi available in the rooms in the third floor. For WiFi, you would have to pay 5 Euros a day, while people in other floors get it for free. So I used the WiFi outside in the corridor of the second floor. Since this corridor is not bounded from outside, it is cold and dark there (there is hardly any lights on the corridors). I booked a room with a seperate toilet/shower. Unfortunately, there is no sink neither something to hang up my clothes while having a shower in there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hard narrow bed. Too warm winter duvet for August. All the staff didn't speak English. No free wifi in the room, it should've been free, considering the hotel cost in general. Lots of the breakfast food was gone a whole hour before closing.

    Hotel was in a central location in the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extra bed for our 12 year old son was terrible: an open folded coach which was of terrible quality. In addition there is hardly any wifi available except next to the reception. The wifi that you can pay for (to have it in your room) was of very poor quality.

    The location is great and the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minor point - WiFi was a bit "patchy"

    Friendly and helpful staff. Brilliant location in the middle of the city. Very spacious room with well appointed bathroom. Parking was easy to find and underneath the hotel so very convenient. Excellent buffet breakfast. Would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Einzelzimmer - Dusche & WC auf dem Korridor zur alleinigen Nutzung
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free wi-fi in the rooms. Very sad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to comunicate with personel. Could help that they spoke english.

    The bathroom was new.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Einzelzimmer - Dusche & WC auf dem Korridor zur alleinigen Nutzung
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpfull

    Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free WIFI was only available near the cafe which in fact did not connect. After I asked to have their router reset it was working.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no free wifi, no fridge

    in the middle of the town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful and nice. Room well equipped for families. I recommend as an option.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi had to be purchased.

    Breakfast could be purchased for an additional 5 euros and it was so worth it. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would be nice, bedroom was super warm.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was upstairs so not toddler friendly.

    Good breakfast and location, Big and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have appreciated free internet in our room.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extra pillows

    A terrific breakfast - sets you up nicely for the day

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No free wifi

    Location, right in town, just walked everywhere,all the shops etc. are just here, room size, breakfast, staff, carpark.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    room cleaners

    Location, staff, the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No WiFi in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed blankets too bulky, small room but most of all NO FREE WIFI

    nice breakfast, shower

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 9 am was no more bacon, sausage... Left and wasn't replaced or replaced with two pieces at a time.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No A/C Poor Internet coverage

    Great Location! and friendly staffs Many restaurants near by with walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pillows could be improved, or extra pillows provided. Small fridge in room would have been nice.

    Location, breakfast and friendly staff. We travelled with our 2-year old who can sleep with us if no extra bed available so we didn't book for baby cot or extra bed. Upon arrival we were given a very big room/apartment as that one had a third bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    My room on 1/F was quite noisy, especially in the morning or at night. Room on 3/F seems to be old and not cosy. Difficult to park near the hotel, and have to pay 10EU per day for underground parking. Funny structure of the hotel, could get lost on the street.

    Room quite big and comfortable. Located in the city centre, close to shops and restaurant. The Bavarian restaurant belonging to the hotel is a must-try. Rooms on 1/F seem to be renovated, you can still smell it slightly. Lateron we moved to a triple room on 3/F which was not renovated but huge, 2 stories high, with bedroom upstairs and huge living room with kitchen cabinets downstairs. Funny experience.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    My room on 1/F was quite noisy, especially in the morning or at night. Room on 3/F seems to be old and not cosy. Difficult to park near the hotel, and have to pay 10EU per day for underground parking. Funny structure of the hotel, could get lost on the street.

    Room quite big and comfortable. Located in the city centre, close to shops and restaurant. The Bavarian restaurant belonging to the hotel is a must-try. Rooms on 1/F seem to be renovated, you can still smell it slightly. Lateron we moved to a triple room on 3/F which was not renovated but huge, 2 stories high, with bedroom upstairs and huge living room with kitchen cabinets downstairs. Funny experience.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At Saturday night the people in street below were noisy, but that occurs in more places worldwide. The balcony blocked a lot of noise! The access of the Hotel was difficult to find. We could not make tea/coffee in the room.

    We had a room with a lot of space and a nice balcony. The staff was friendly and breakfast was OK.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea and coffee making facilities or room safe. Hotel access was a bit difficult, with heavy suitcases, via a stepped walkway. Some traffic noise early in the morning due to the hotel being situated on an island in the main road. WiFi was expensive and unreliable.

    Very clean, comfortable and modern hotel in a good location for visiting the town centre and a short bus ride from the train station. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was good with a wide and plentiful variety of choices. The complimentary bottle of water was a nice touch. Nice sized room.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi and parking are extras, so add this in consideration when booking.

    The room was really nice, modern and clean. Bathroom was fresh and new. The cleaner did an excelent job, everything sparkled.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The spiral staircase of my room wouldn't be good for someone with heavy luggage or a mobility problem.

    My room had a really interesting layout: a spiral staircase from the door to the room, one totally enclosed small balcony and one large open deck/balcony. It had a pleasant view of the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for and received a room without carpeting due to allergy . Staff very helpful and attentive. Great breakfast even including freshly-pressed orange juice.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really difficulty to find, does not exist on our sat nav. Go into central part of town and park in the nikolaij parking and the hotel is above the parking house

    Great location and a nice room

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Appalling internet strength. Staff did their best to solve the problem but with no result. Ruined my stay, couldn't work online effectively or get travel information

    Staff excellent, room pleasant, breakfast choice good

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No stop for the bath so only shower possible, all connections between reception, restaurant, rooms are outside (covered but not heated)

    Location, excellent breakfast, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to report .

    Attention to detail , the staff went to great lengths to deliver our wishes and the cleanliness and location were top class . If you have the chance , eat in their sister restaurant which is very close by .

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. We had no complaints.

    Basically Everything. The staff were very helpful and amenable, the breakfast was unbeatable, the room was perfect and clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was super, hotel in centrum, very nice city.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An room under the roof is hot with nice weather.

    The Hotel is in centrum from Osnabruck.and above the parking garage.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would have been welcome

    Good central location, comfy spacious room, good choice at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No fridge No wifi

    Good breakfest Silence

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No free WIFI.

    Though relatively small room, but good enough to stay a couple of days. Very clean room, good shower, and excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The underground car park can be very busy

    Location was right in the center of town, great for shopping

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    The location the breakfast convenience of the car parking

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast perfect

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location staff very modern

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room on the street side

    Spacy room Bathroom Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No free wifi.

    Great location. Parking right underneath the hotel. Good breakfast. Value for money and excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decoration in the room is a bit depressive. Not really a problem though.

    Good location. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location and excellent breakfast. Good size of the room.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was more like a suite, even had a kitchenette.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No waterboiler and no refridgerator in the room.

    The welcoming and the help received from the staff, the location, the size of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entrance difficult to find. Access to room via lobby, which was difficult to open.

    Very good breakfast. Architecturally interesting building.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very hot during visit, was unusual but could have done with more fans or air con

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No kettle in the room

    Central location right next to pedestrian precinct

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pleasant city, nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedside cabinets need drawers.

    The whole experience was gemutlich

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Easy to park the car. They recomended a fantastic Bavarian style restaurant

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: