Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NIPPON HOTEL Hamburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hofweg 75, Uhlenhorst, 22085 Hamburg, Germany

#177 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 452 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi did not work in our room even we explained the issue to staff, but they cannot solve the problem. They set up office network in guest room areas, but guest cannot be allowed to join it due to the security reason. Guest WiFi is not reachable from 3rd floor. They set up Wifi for hotel stuff not for visitor. If you like to explore the city via Metro, then you might find another hotel. There is no metro station closed the hotel.

    Our room was comfortable and clean which are the most important property for us. and also It is easy to explore the city from the hotel in general and the main city destinations are reachable with buses every 10-15 mins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the renovation, we got a very nice suite for a very decent price. The room is spacious, clean and fresh. Despite the renovation, there wasn't much noise. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the neighbourhood and the walk to the centre of the city was pleasant with a nice view along the lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we asked for double bed since the date of booking 3 months ago and the answer was ok we will provide . however on the arrival date they told us that the the hotel does not have double beds but only single beds. that's not true because the pictures advertising the rooms have double beds. in addition the fact that there is none at the entrance after 11 pm is dangerous because other people come drunk and they knock the doors. we had such incident one night somebody trying to access our room and didn;t know where to call for security

    we have received a renovated room. because of the renovation in progress, management offered as the mini bar contents free every day which is a very good movement. the staff were very friendly and the receptionist as well all of them. the location was excellent since with bus 6 in 10 minutes you were in central station. overall is a good hotel since all rooms are renovated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well equipped bathroom on the smallish side, japanese blinds didn't obscure very well

    Charming receptionist, well equipped room, clean and comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There where No internet, and the staff was unable to help with fixing the internet. The hotel was located far away from the City center.

    A lovely neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no Wi fi in the room and asked several times but the staff didn't believe me and my colleague. Breakfast was poor in relation with the price , I would appreciate to get some croissants ... there were no.

    room space , big room and it was clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were lacking, but ok for 1-2 night short business travel stay.

    Clean and comfortable hotel, ideal for short business trip. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite a walk to the center although there is a cheap bus nearby. Reception closes at 11pm which feels very early to me.

    The theme of the hotel was great,it definitely felt like Japan. The staff were all super helpful too,they went out of their way to do whatever we asked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing negative to say.

    Everything! The staff is really nice and helpful. The hotel is in a really good location. Really clean, cozy and quite. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My name was written wrong. They got mixed up with my Surname and first name. They wanted check my credit card because of mini bar.

    The staff members were friendly and I liked the Japanese style of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the inflexibility and non-availability of the General Manager of the Hotel (male); tried to cancel the reservation 3 weeks before Arrival--not possible to reach the General Manager to discuss; furniture old and not appropriate; Sofa with dirty spots on it; wallpaper dirty;plywood; and for all that: 138 EUR/per night (w/o breakfast)

    the staff was friendly the Location of the facility is good the bed was ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or restaurant available. Only breakfast. Tiny room. Location was not rich of things to do or to eat. Garage was not convenient and cost €12 a night.

    Japanese theme style was nice for a change.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not far from a centre and central train station. 7 stops by bus or 40 min by walking from Hauptbanhof. In the area of the hotel there are many restaurants, bars and some shops. The staff at the property was amazing, very friendly and helpful. We checked in earlier than 14.00 because our room was already ready. Money are value that hotel, but I don't think it's a 4 star hotel. In addition the hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an average accommodation not worth the cost. Doesn’t look like the photos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled really weird and the breakfast was not Japanese. Very boring breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent location. Shops and restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small, no bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air condition did not work, still heat on winter time though it was extremely warm outside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no lunch or dinner

    very clean, great service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lunch and dinner

    very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet doesn't work. To expensive for poor service. Paid almost 250eur for 1night !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not convenient bed and pillows for me. All the rest is ok.

    Clean, quiet, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel entrance is not stroller friendly, we had to carry it every time

    Very nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower screen seals damaged and allowed water to leak on to bathroom floor. Breakfast far too expensive.

    Room kept very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC was leaking and making noises all night.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was extremely clean and tidy. The staff were very pleasant and couldn't help us enough. The bed's were very comfy and the room had everything that we needed. The room was also available hours before the actual checkin time. Fantastic stay at this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After 11h the reception close

    Very quiet so clean never see so cleanest in detail. The staff is very helpful and nice. When i come to Hamburg i use only Nippon Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Every thing could have been perfect until the hotel charged us hours after we left for mini bar we did not consume, without informing us indeed! Impossible to talk to the manager. Very poor management. Pathetic. Did not get reimburse and did not even got an apology. We totally don't recommend this place!!! Even though the neighbourhood is very nice and it's quite easy to get to the city centre by bus. That's a shame but they handled so badly this situation they really don't deserve to receive any good publicity. PS: few more things: the tatami in the room smells awful, you need to ventilate all the time, but if you want to sleep with the window opened don't ask for a room on the street because of the noise!! Breakfast is over priced (15€ and no gluten free products!). Walk few blocks and you will have for less that 10€ great breakfast in nearby coffee shops.

    Stayed September 2015, traveled on business

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room smell of poor quality tatami and we had to open windows aftee coming back for ventilation

    Great position, close to the M6 bus stop and very close to the main river

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    Location is good, just outside city center but city (and railway station) easily reachable by regular bus service ( bus stop in front of hotel). Around the location several restaurants and shops. Interior very nice, all items modern and working nicely. Rooms are very clean. Friendly hotel personel. Top!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of restaurants and bars in the vicinity of the hotel

    Very close to the city centre, easily reachable with a bus that runs every 6 minutes. The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast not included.

    Location/the unique style

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Couple

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    view out back not inspiring!

    M6 bus right on doorstep

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Make room bit more colourful

    Comfortable stay and nice area

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel management sais its business wheras they could assist us as my girlfriend was sick and they denied early check-in

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse NIPPON HOTEL Hamburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: