Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ostseehalle Kiel by Premiere Classe This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lange Reihe 5, 24103 Kiel, Germany

#41 of 44 hotels in Kiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 845 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a night for our family (2 adults, 3 children). One would expect to get at least 5 beds to spend the night... NOT! Since they only have double rooms (which we didn't know in advance), they provided 2 rooms for us with only 4 beds in total. They noticed that there was one bed too short, but they didn't feel like informing us about this in advance. There were no rooms for 3 persons available, nor a baby bed that could be added in a room... Bad night for 3 of us...

    Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.8
    It was a really good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was angry and difficult. When we arrived she was on her computer and Phone and didn’t want to talk to us. She was rood too us and to other guests. We finally got the room key, and the room was ok. We got a code for the back door to lock ourselves in at night. The door wouldn’t open.

    It was a really good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Clean and tidy room but lack of service minded staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in and check out was a bit complicated since there was no staff at those times and I had to go to another hotel in order to check in and out.

    It was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    We will never order anything through Booking hereafter because of shortage of trust.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We don't like the way Booking run business. We had 3 overnight shorter stay in hotel. By the hotel they said we could get paid back for 3 overnight when we have informed Booking. Nothing happened.

    We liked the city and the honesty by hotel staff. They told us we could get back our money for 3 overnight. Just inform Booking. They will take contact with us. Nothing happened.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice clean rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in my room. The staff seem to go home at 22:00 and the guests are left to their own devices. Resulting in having to endure rowdy and loud guests without help from the hotel.

    The rooms were clean and location of the hotel perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.4
    Not for sleeping
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was so noisy I barely got any sleep. In my floor there were lots of people listening to music and smoking and talking and screaming very late. The walls are paper thin and my room wasn’t very clean. Also the blanket was very thin and the windows very thin so it was very cold in the winter.

    The hotel is right in the center and easy to get to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Satisfied. Fine room and so close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no soap for showering or your hands. And it was very load, when the cleaning staff started(really early) you could here everything.

    The room was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location and breakfast but service below standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was not what I had expected. I arrived late at night so had to check in at the Hotel Astor. I was given a key and a description how to get to the hotel I had booked. I had to let myself into the building without staff being present - not a welcoming start! Throughout my stay I perceived the staff as not very caring. Staff and guests smoke in the covered entrance way to the hotel and the smoke drifts into the breakfast room.

    The hotel is located in the centre in a side street. It's very close to shops and restaurants but pleasantly quiet. The breakfast buffet is very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    It was a pity that very lousy coffee was served (the rest of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a pity that very lousy coffee was served (the rest of the breakfast was good).

    It was a pity that very lousy coffee was served (the rest of the breakfast was good).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.3
    Because I arrived early, I was unable to check in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because I arrived early, I was unable to check in. The receptionist informed me that in case I arrived after 23h I could pick up the keys in a nearby hotel and that they would take my luggage to the room. I was asked to leave next to the reception desk my suitcase and was assured that there would always be someone at the reception and I had nothing to worry about. I called the reception at 22:25 to inform them that I was going to be late. However, there wasn't anybody available. After picking up the key and getting to my room, I found that my luggage was missing and there was no possibility of getting it from the reception. Next day I walk to the reception and took my suitcase and, of course there was nobody around, so I could just walk out without anyone noticing. Worst of all, the toilet was filthy and there were faeces rests, the shower head was also dirty, mouldy and hairs were attached to it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    As the name says, a basically-equipped hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no reception on Sunday and we only managed to find our way in with the help of helpful passers-by. There are several entrances, a fact that does not simplify the issue. Would have been good if some instructions had been communicated to us in advance. Except for the first evening, there was no internet access via the WLAN.

    As the name says, a basically-equipped hotel. There was a bed, a TV and a bathroom. The breakfast was OK without any variation between the mornings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.2
    one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever tried. Not good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, disgusting and smelled of smoke even though we asked for a non smoke room. There was a lot of noise from the hall during the night and drunk people tried to get into our room. The staff didnt speak a lot of english.

    The breakfast was good, and the reception people polite and helpful even though they didnt speak a lot of english.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.1
    Okay for a short stay, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's all in the name - a basic accomodation, okay for a short stay. Don't expect too much, and you won't be disapponted! ;o) Staff could have been more helpful - as it as, they were unable to print out a more detailed bill, just managed the credit card receipt ...

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.7
    Value for money, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom clean, but very worn.

    Breakfast was really nice, only cold dishes though. Good fresh rolls, rye bread, croissants, everything! Good beds! Wi-fi perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.1
    A nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed had a folded sheet that was comfortable to sleep. There was also a lamp that have no light.

    It's a simple and clean place to stay. Besides of most of the comments refer to a noisy location, during our stay it was really quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door made noise.

    The location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Spot on location for visiting Kiel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning so a desk fan wuld have been helpful but there wasn't any.

    Food clean room. Excellent friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    A budget hotel with a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready after the check in time. Filthy halls.

    Comfortable beds. Very good location near the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Just correct.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd floor without lift. No hair dryer.

    Propreté des chambres récemment rénovées. . Proximité des parkings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    cost effective. Great location. Neat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not so comfy. Need to be replaced.

    Cost effecive. Right in the citycenter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Curtains were damaged, bed sheets not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were damaged, bed sheets not clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Worth the price for staying in the main center of kiel
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the noise from the street

    Perfect ! in the main center and the brakfest very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.0
    Below average quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and doesn't have elevator

    The position

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    ja, men puderne var for store
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ja, men puderne var for store

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Budget hotel does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water takes ages to get to shower..

    Inner City location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful place downtown Kiel.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was weak.

    Excellent location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    To reach the room two stairs up was a Challenge for my 92...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To reach the room two stairs up was a Challenge for my 92 years old father. To have to check in at another close by hotel was a new experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    The location is good with nearby shopping and food amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower drainage slightly choked thus slow in draining.

    The location is good with nearby shopping and food amenities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Very basic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well represented on the Internet photos.Back packer very basic room but clean.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was located near shopping.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No kettle was provided in the room.

    The hotel was located near shopping. Plus point

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    3.3
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water n fridge . Inside the room is very stuffy ..

    Why there's no complimentary mineral water ?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    4.2
    Only book if non other hotel is available.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No basic amenities provided. Breakfast lack creative. Service below par.

    The location is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    3.3
    Run !!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the staff the facilities the food every thing was horrible

    Close to city center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.8
    Easy access to the hotel, even there were no personel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some inventory looked a Little bit worn.

    Easy access to the hotel, even there were no personel. Constant warm water when bathing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.0
    Fair price, comfortable and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But the walls are thin and there was a lot of noise from the other rooms.

    The room was very comfortable and the breakfast very tasty! :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.8
    Basic hotel for basic needs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Their detergents are probably ecological but they smell bad.

    Bed was OK

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    it is good for business, close to train station& bus connection everywhere, city, shopping and resto
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    clean and Close to everywhere

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Certainly NOT basic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    SUPERB breakfast! This is NOT a basic hotel in any respect: no frills would be better. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, Clean Environment and nicely located Hotel....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the friendly staff, nicely located in the downtown of Kiel and yummy breakfast on the 10th floor has make an exciting and memorable holiday in Kiel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor in my room was a bit dusty.

    Staff helpful and polite very accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    5.0
    Wifi
    • Couple

    Arriving after a long trip with luggage to a room in the 4th floor no elevator on the site it's mentioned only at the bottom of the page. It is really really basic just a good location.

    Wifi

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    3.8
    Newly renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Defects in hotel (reception computer breakdown, ...) not able to fix within 24h -lousy look: containers of old laundry stored in front of main entrance -rooms are scattered in other buildings around with outside entrance -in general too expensive for quality

    Newly renovated

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    6.7
    simple and practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very noisy at night

    simple and practical

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    5.0
    The breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel. Very basic with nearly no heating.

    The breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a walk-up building.

    Breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Great staff, very friendly and cooperative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great staff, very friendly and cooperative. Lovely breakfast. Perfect location !

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Clean and big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean and big rooms

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.9
    Location perfect to city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Didn't like the beds Quite old hotel

    Location perfect to city centre Clean Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    7.1
    the breakfast was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    it didnt have elevator and carrying the heavy luggage to the third floor was not easy at all.

    the breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    Comfortable, friendly and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, friendly and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Every think

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    6.3
    Good cheap accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Auto booking computer rejected 2 cards.got in with 3rd...

    Good cheap accomodation

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    4.6
    whole place is a little bit creepy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    whole place is a little bit creepy

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    5.8
    WiFi
    • Group

    breakfast

    WiFi

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    9.2
    no free car parking
    • Couple

    no free car parking

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: