Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Novalis Dresden 3 stars

Bärnsdorfer Strasse 185, 01127 Dresden, Germany

#96 of 106 hotels in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 554 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the outskirts of Dresden, however there is a bus stop nearby so if one doesn't feel like driving to the centre, tickets can be purchased at the reception (bus+tram to reach centre).

    The staff is very kind (the receptionist helped us book a local restaurant for dinner, where we had a delicious meal). The rooms are clean and the district is very quiet, ideal for relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not an expected double bed, but two single beds which was kind of disappointing, but besides the room was clean and decent for the price. Breakfast was really badly organised as we didn’t have a table to sit, so we had to take our food to the room. The were not many options to choose from (me and my partner ate vegans, so we didn’t expect much, but at least I’m used to a fruit table which they didn’t have.) No wifi If you don’t have a car it is kinda far from the city centre

    The hotel was comfortable and very decent for the price. We stayed just for a night, so we didn’t need much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady who made our check-in was not friendly at all, it seems that she didn't want to work. The lady who made our check-out never said hello in the morning. There was no wifi at all during our stay. The lady who made our check-in let us go to our room without advising us the codes to access the wifi so we had to go down to the reception desk. Then once in the room, it was impossible to access the internet so the same lady caled her facility manager who said it should be solved by the next day but it never worked. The room was not cleaned properly, we could see hairs in the bathroom on the floor. The room was dark and the cushions were not comfortable at all. And finally we could hear our neighbours talking. We are not the kind of guests to complain but this time we consider it important to inform other guests to choose this hotel. Avoid it!

    Breakfast was acceptable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking left, had to park across the road on the grass (hotel gave us a card to put in the window, so the business across the road would leave the car alone). Breakfast service was terribly slow. Limited quantity of some foods, and had to wait for some time. Never did get any coffee served, the couple at the next table gave us their left over kannchen. Breakfast crew was too small and there was too much work for them to do. On checkout those of us trying to check out were left waiting as the young lady at the reception was busy on the phone making reservation bookings. More staff needed at checkout.

    location was great, close to the highway for quick in and out, but close enough to city centre for tourism. The breakfast tasted good, even if there was not much and service was slow.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot! I had to ask for a fan and that helped a little, but we still had to wait for the evening to cool down enough to sleep. When we checked out, the guy at the desk wanted to charge me for the fan! I said no it should be free. He didn't argue Check out took awhile because he couldn't tell if I had paid or not. I told him I paid at check in but we had to wait for his supervisor. The whole staff seemed confused and unsure of what they were doing.

    The breakfast was great. The food was delicious and well presented.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no way to keep both of the beds together, there was no mini-fridge in the room, too expensive considering it's far from everything, no wonder I've been using airbnb these last 5 years.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi connection quality is so-so and it uses inconvenient system of individual passwords distributed on scraps of paper, which are given out per-device. Parking is not free (although there seems to be plenty of free public parking space in the neighborhood), and it gets pretty crowded (=hard to park) when the hotel is full. Breakfast is average and if you're not an early bird, you risk missing half of it. Twin beds drawn together instead of regular double bed (unfortunately, this seems to be East German standard).

    Staff is very polite and welcoming. The room is clean and spacious, lots of power outlets. Lots of nice little extras like elevator decorations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in the room even with window open, no aircon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, unfriendly Staff, bed comfort poor, Bathroom was too bad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No welcome drink provided on arrival. Covered parking was not provided and Open parking was charged by the hotel.

    Almost everything was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet in room very bad.

    Everething is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no!

    good prices !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered 2 single bads and it was 1 double bad. We can not resign because they push us to pay before we can see the room !

    Warm and quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi signal in the room..

    Helpful staff..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom, noisy rooms

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioner, no refrigerator as for 3 stars. Parking is too expensive- considering that hotel is far away from the center.

    Easy to find, clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you have to pay for the parking and it's quite an expensive hotel for what it offers

    great breakfast, clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi toooooooo bad!

    staff are very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didn't reach our room. Only drawback I can think of!

    Staff was absolutely excellent!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could have had more foods to choose from, for 9e

    Good beds, clean, good noise isolation, very good internet connection - one of best from many hotels i've visited.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Requested a double bed but were given two singles pushed together which slid apart in the night, also two single quilts so didn't sleep well. Room quite small, and no kettle. Car park got full very quickly.

    Excellently situated just off the 170 so only a few minutes drive into the centre of Dresden. I think there is a tram stop near the hotel although we did not use it. It was signposted from the main road so very easy to find. There is a supermarket within walking distance. The room was small but clean with a lot of storage and also a fridge. Friendly staff. Good wifi but you need a separate code for each device which was not explained at reception.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - German a great advantage for travellers, English not so good - a bit dark in the room, there could be more lights

    - the room was nice, comfortable and big enough for two nights

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location. De surroundings look a bit poor. Also the parking was completely full. We wanted to book at the hotel but the booking.com price was way cheaper.

    Very nice that we could check in so late as we did. The staff was very helpfull and understanding.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    no internet, the bed, the persons in reception.

    car park

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff :)

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower was small in size

    Tv was excellent, room basic but did the job. Shower pressure was great

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sauna was broken and wifi didn't work in my room. Staff was not willing to resolve the problems.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was clean, warm and cheap place, where to stay during our trip. Everything was great!

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Browse Hotel Novalis Dresden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: