Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Novostar This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Holländische Str. 27, Nord-Holland, 34127 Kassel, Germany

#41 of 54 hotels in Kassel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 533 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient to main station, clean tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small box like room, not much elbow room. Looked like an Ikea module. Ok for backpackers or singles not so much for couples.

    Convenient to main station, clean tidy. Good view of Opera house, handy for main attractions. Staff were obliging and efficient. Breakfast was fast and furious, like a cafeteria.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Great!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff present at night. So if one should lock oneself out, one would be in a lot of trouble.

    Close to the train station, close to a cafe, and close to a shop that offers amongst other food stuff also take-away salads. Fantastic value-for-money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the lift was not working while we stayed.

    Staffs are all friendly and very helpful, and their breakfast room smells amazing when we entered the hotel in the morning. Although it looks far away from the city centre, Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe station can be easily reached directly by L1 in 13 mins. And Kassel station in 8 mins by Bus 10 and 52. Tired decoration inside the room but super clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.3
    Elevator was working, and the front door did open
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place was generally dirty with dust under the bed, the neighborhood is actually close to a hooker's hustling corner, wifi had too many interruptions to do anything serious with in the rooms

    Elevator was working, and the front door did open

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Loved it!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I didn't like.

    I loved that the room had eco soap. Everything I needed was in the room and the staff was very friendly. The booking went very easily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    The staff and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not confortable at all :-((. Couldn't sleep properly No internet connection For a night you can try, but not for two. Too expensive for the what it is

    The staff and the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the summer and very hot so with open windows the traffic was loud but fans made it ok but those more sensitive to noise could be annoyed. Prices were high because of documenta but if cheap enough this could be a steal.

    Stayed with 2 small children in a "family" room. Great breakfast, great location for the inner city/documenta(5 minute walk). Very friendly staff. Hotel a very busy street in what looks like a tough neighborhood but is just mix of immigrant/uni students and is not dangerous. Breakfast was very good. The fitness club next door was included and brand new. Decent bed, bathroom and the world's cheapest minibar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Good **-hotel, but a bit loud and overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of rooms is really small. Sound isolation is poor, so you'll find even earplugs nearby the mirror in the room. Reception is very friendly, but open only until 10pm - after it there's noone from staff in the entire hotel.

    Nice location - near the university and the city center, well designed restaurant downstairs, pretty clean rooms, very friendly reception. For the hotel with two star self-positioning it's well enough. But for such hotel it is a bit overpriced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    3.3
    There were no nonsmoking rooms, and the reception refused to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no nonsmoking rooms, and the reception refused to change. When we tried cleaning the room we found mountains of old dust everywhere. Unbelievable. Very noisy traffic outside. The reception sent an email 3 hours before our arrival saying there were limits to checkin time and tried to blame us for not answering. Kept speaking on the phone before reacting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    better 2nd time around
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    price

    location and staff this was my 2nd time herem I decided to stay as the previous time I was on the 3rd floor near the lift..... AVOID the wifi was also non existant. So second time around it was a lot better, albeit still pricey due to Dokumenta but everywhere in Kassel is 50% to 100% more expensive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    4.6
    Novostar - should rename to No-wifi--nostar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Claimed to have wifi, longest I was connect for was 5 mins *still not enough bandwidth for Netflix( in the end gave up. If like me you feel that wifi is a must have, then avoid staying on 3rd floor Wifi might be better on other floors If you are familiar with UK Travelodge budget chain of hotel, this struggles against that and was double the price........ at most a 1.5 star hotel 3 rd floor was very noisy during the night I was so disappointed with my stay I am going to cancel a 2 night follow on stay

    Location is reasonable Receptionist was friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They wanted to charge me for 2 bottles from the mini bar that I did not used and there no such. But the lady at the front desk believed me and I didn't have to pay for it. The neighbourhood is not that safe, however it is very close to the Uni.

    I liked that they put me in the room on the higher floor of the building, as I asked for, so it was quiet. Also, before me arrival I asked for a wi-fi password and it was waiting for me in my room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    The location is easily reachable from the train station on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is easily reachable from the train station on foot (15 to 20 mins of walk). The staff were friendly and provided whatever I needed. My room was quite clean and comfortable and although my room was on the last floor, wifi connection was really good. For the price you pay, it is a very good choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.1
    Clean and simple
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking area very small (behind the hotel but space only for a few car), breakfast very simple, room could have been a little bigger.

    Location, few minutes walk to city center

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    6.3
    Too expensive for what it supposed to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the fact that there was dust on the furniture and under the bed, was full of dust and old cotton pads - used by the former visitor... I asked for one bed for two and I got two separated beds. The cleaning staff, literally send me out of the room

    The flowers from the window, the friendly reception staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Room were hot but as outside were hot
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room were hot but as outside were hot

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    CLEAN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen needs frying pan and dishes

    CLEAN!!! Quiet , comfy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    I ordered a room with small kitchen and they provided...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I ordered a room with small kitchen and they provided everything I needed for cooking and you can ask for more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Quiteness, nice Staffel, clean, prize worth, good to rech...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only breakfast Form 7.30 available.

    Quiteness, nice Staffel, clean, prize worth, good to rech with tram, close to City centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    The hotel and room is clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Internet is slow

    The hotel and room is clean. The staff was very friendly (especially Mrs. Hüttig). The location is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, nice staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Close to the centre and parking on the side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to the centre and parking on the side. Easy to navigate and find and the room was really quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from cars, no place for smoking

    Small kitchen in the room, rewe supermarket close to the place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Close to the university
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to the university

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.3
    Good, if you can sleep hearing all noise from the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too BIG noise from the street, could not sleep...

    Nice and comfy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Stay in Kassel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great service, friendly staff, clean room and a great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    Clean and basic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and basic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    6.3
    No parking available
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking available

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    6.3
    Clean Room.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy street traffic wise. No parking space available. A bit shady area.

    Clean Room. Young Lady on front Desk was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice beds, Good breakfast and Coffee!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs some extra furniture like bed side tables, drawers, extra mirror and smoothier lighting

    Nice beds, Good breakfast and Coffee!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    4.6
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no tea

    location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Very Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Very Good hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    I wanted an iron to iron my clothes on a Sunday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I wanted an iron to iron my clothes on a Sunday. None were available. Had to go to a wedding with non ironed shirt. It caused me a great deal if embarrassment

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    5.4
    I didn't realize it was next to a major road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I didn't realize it was next to a major road. It was hot and stuffy so we opened the windows, but then couldn't sleep because of the constant traffic and loud music even after 10:45 pm so had to close the windows.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    8.3
    I liked the wifi connectivity, the mini bar, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to complain about this time.

    I liked the wifi connectivity, the mini bar, and particularly the design of the room. Very clean and comfortable and great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    6.3
    friendly staff, good breakfast, close to university
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    noisy street, very small bathroom, area not that nice

    friendly staff, good breakfast, close to university

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    I like the comfort of the bed and the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The utilities of shampoo, Hair dryer and ironing are not provided.

    I like the comfort of the bed and the place. Also, the cleanliness is wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    The bedroom was in the top floor, and the room was hit by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bedroom was in the top floor, and the room was hit by the sun the whole day, so much that at the night was so hot that i couldn't sleep!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    5.4
    The best was the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The out of the way location for myself, I felt unsafe to walk by myself at night.

    The best was the breakfast. The room was ok.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    I like all .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I like all . the location , cleanse i am very happy

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    7.5
    Locatin was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bacon at breakfast was burned to ruins, but everything els was ok.

    Locatin was good

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    7.1
    The Bath in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area was a bit downbeat.

    The Bath in the room.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    8.8
    plain hotel with good beds and clean rooms, good staff and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    plain hotel with good beds and clean rooms, good staff and easy entry at all times. breakfast is fine. Nothing fancy but works perfectly.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: