Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Hamburg City Alster This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Lübecker Str. 3, Hohenfelde, 22087 Hamburg, Germany

#108 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2511 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast personal were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had bad connection with booking.com because they didn’t know that we booked family room. The personal were very nice and solved the problem but still we were divided in 2 rooms instead of one family room.

    Breakfast personal were very nice and helpful. Comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Staffs were very good , nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very hot and small , they make the sofa to a double bed which were very discomfort . The rooms were so hot we didn’t sleep at all not worthy for the money that we paid

    Staffs were very good , nice location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe/ restaurant was very poor. The waitress said it was a new chef and it showed. We ordered a salad without dressing... it came with dressing. We order a kids meal with vegetables.... no vege. Fruit salad.....all apple apart from one piece of melon. To be fair our waitress was fantastic....apologetic and everything was corrected.

    Great value for money.... a good size room for two people.... a little cramped for a family with a dog, but by far the best place we have stayed this holiday. Clean, fresh and comfortable. Pleasant and helpful staff. We only had an overnight stay but could easily have stayed longer. A tip though is to make sure you place the do not disturb sign on the door otherwise the cleaning staff will be knocking on the door starting from 7:30am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Makes you want to return again to Novotel (City)
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The house keeper cleaning my room, did not change my soap. I wish they could replenish new toiletries without me asking. I don't like the green apples they gave at the reception, too sour. Maybe better with banana or red apples or even little cookies like a biscotti or almond cookies ?

    I was staying at Room 217. I like the very polite staff, helpful too. despite busy at the counter. Love the room size and convenient. Very clean. Has air conditioning that works in summer. very good one. Also its restaurant and bar has great quality in their food and drinks quality. The service at bar and restaurant are excellent ! I love to go there alot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Great staff and easy to find hotel, train station right next to the hotel good links to the city cen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff and easy to find hotel, train station right next to the hotel good links to the city center which is close by train. will stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel staff (very nice welcome at reception for us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts - could suggest a little better choice, rooms small and basic, but it was fine with us

    Very nice hotel staff (very nice welcome at reception for us and our kid), food in the restaurant was very good (dinner), convenient location. If you are lucky you can find a parking place free of charge at the street (hotel parking 18 Euro/24h)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    The room was not so spacious for 3 people but OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is very expensive. Pillows are very uncomfortable. The location is somewhat remote.

    The room was not so spacious for 3 people but OK. The bed was soft and comfortable. Good spa facilities. Very close to the underground station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Our door key didn't work upon arrival, but they fixed it fast and found us at the restaurant to let us know.

    Very family friendly. Great location that's walking distance from the center but remote enough to be quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door wasn't opaque as you could see shadows through it - ok for me as I was by myself but a warning in case you're staying with a friend!

    Great hotel, large clean room with big comfortable bed. Really friendly and helpful staff. One entrance to u-bahn is right by the front door (exit via U1 platform).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Great facilities for people travelling with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed towards the back of the hotel and from 06:30 each morning there was a lot of noise outside (bins being collected and staff speaking very loudly).

    Great facilities for people travelling with children

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Kind staffs, good enough location, nice room for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet is separated from the bathroom, and THERE IS NO wastafel for washing hands in the toilet. I think it is rather unhygienic.

    Kind staffs, good enough location, nice room for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Unfortunately in this stay - nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception very unfriendly. It is more then 10 stay in this hotel but this stay is very awful: 1. Never no problem to check-in early then 3 p.m. We come at 2.30 p.m. with little baby and our room not be available and we must wait 30 min, but after us 15 people get their room without any problem and no waiting. 2. We arrive on the car on the backside of hotel after ski resort with heavy and many luggages but the reception said to immediately remove the car without unloading of things. But the taxi stay here more then 20 min. 3. During booking specified age of the child and need of a children's bed. But on a reception we began to be asked about need of a child's bed and began to look for a bed. 4. Also we got the very small room (never received similar rooms, even when I travelled alone). 5. When you start to say the remarks about their works correctly the reception said - I don't understand you. 6. Kid's corner became very poor - a lot of broken dirty toys. 7. On the door we have sign "Don't disturb" but all the same two times in day the employee of hotel (sometimes without knock) came, then saw that I am in the room and left. 8. The shower watering can flowed, and from a hose water flew on a floor. Further I don't plan to stay in this hotel and I don't recommend to anybody. The quality has extremely fallen.

    Unfortunately in this stay - nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, and the only way to regulate the temperatures was to open the window. Bathroom was not great.

    It was clean. Sound proofing was quite good as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Good, reliable hotel in a very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    free wifi is really slow, fitness room is really very small for such a big hotel, maximal 4 people can excersice simultanously, steamsauna does not work, so it shouldn't be listed as a hotel attraction, the other sauna is ok.

    big ,very comfortable and clean room, very comfortable bed and big douvet, bathtub in each room, friendly stuff,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location and very nice affordable hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could have been a little more helpful and pleasant.

    The room was very nice and the perfect size for two people. Location was right next to our meeting spot and right by the underground making it extremely efficient to tour the city and make it back to the hotel room without a lot of confusion or having to get a taxi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel that met my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As was the case with other reviewers, on the day we were checking out, housekeeping knocked on the door at approximately 0930, they did not wait for us to answer and just walked straight in. I find this unacceptable and also disrespectful of that fact that we are guests and should be entitled to be in our room and have privacy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    I thought that the hotel staff was very friendly during my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I would have liked more food options at the hotel for the nights that I arrived too late to walk somewhere. The menu could use a few more items and more variety.

    I thought that the hotel staff was very friendly during my stay. I also liked that there were enough options for food within walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    One of our daughters unfortunately got sick on this trip and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice with a wash basin in the smaller bathroom where the toilet is

    One of our daughters unfortunately got sick on this trip and the staff was Amazing, they let us check in earlier and brought us as many extra towels and new bed linen as we needed. Very Child friendly. Free coffee and tea on the room. Close to the city centre, easy to go there by subway in a few minutes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    I expected a well designed room, but it is just okay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Adjusted the heater control panel, but didn't seem to work. 2. strange room design, toilet in entrance, bathtub, shower and sink in the other room, inconvenient if you want to wash hands after toilet. 3. The bathroom has strange 1 big and 1 small door, but the big one is difficult to open due to the close proximity to the bed. 4. The washing basin has a tap sticking out from left wall, looks stylish but interfere your face and hand. The sloped washing basin also reduce the surface storage area. 5. some mold in the shower room silicon filling edges. 6. too many mini bar items occupied the whole fridge which most people won't buy.

    Bed is extremely comfortable with memory foam. The breakfast is also quite good with lots of variety. The room is modern. The hotel staffs are very helpful. The free lotion, soap and shampoo bottle seem to be high quality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Could not possibly fault this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Odd practice of not taking dirty cups from room when staying for more than one day.

    Most things! Printer in lobby free to use, excellent transport links to city centre, 10mins from room to town hall! efficient check-in and check-out, excellent black-out curtains.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Well worth staying at while in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Sauna and gym open 24/7 yay. Ten minutes walking distance to the very center or subway nearby.Very good breakfast buffet.Generic Novotel chain room.Pretty standard but nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    All the staff are friendly,and are allways happy to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative is the price of the breakfast,but there is a nice selection of food on offer.

    All the staff are friendly,and are allways happy to help.I visited the sauna and steam rooms which where very clean.During the evening I spent some time at the bar,which was very nice and relaxing.Will be staying here again two more times this year.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    Adequate but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of room service.

    Overall the hotel was OK. The transport systems to and from Hamburg airport and into the city centre were very accessible and easy to use. We used a group ticket for 3 of us which was cheaper than purchasing single tickets and lasted 9am till midnight with unlimited journeys on the underground...HVV. The room was clean, comfortable though slightly stuffy with noisy Aircon. We didn't have breakfast but we're also very disappointed that no food service/room service was available at all after 2100hrs, especially on a Saturday night having returned from a concert around midnight.For a modern city centre hotel this was poor. Staff were helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel for family with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning was average :

    -Most of family rooms have bed and sofa bed which Is very comfortable to family with kids . - location very closed to restaurants and coffee shops , it's in the city center and lake not too far . -Hotel had small kids area to play in the lobby , which my kids loved it and spent time thier .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbeknownst to me, Booking.com had double booked me with the hotel, although I only had one booking confirmation. Fortunately the hotel sorted it out.

    Great breakfast buffet, whole family happy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel and easy access to city center by subway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is a bit expensive, unless you find a free space from the street.

    Nice sauna & wellness department. Aussenalster-lake nearby (9km to go around it from the hotel). Subway entrance next to the hotel. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Bathtub in the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was good but unnecessarily expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but unnecessarily expensive! Had I known it was NOT included in the room rate I certainly would not have eaten breakfast there. 21€ each for the buffet breakfast is way too expensive. Could have walked 150 meters and had a good breakfast at a bakery for a fraction of the cost......

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Better breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better breakfast And our family is 5 person and we ask connected room or at least the same floor but they gave us one room in first and one room in 2nd floor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Great stay with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate shower/bath and toilet was otherwise fine, but sink for hand washing was missing.

    Location and the staff were excellent. I specially liked the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Convenient for families. Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant. At breakfast a more efficient service of warm drinks (coffee, milk etc) would be appreciated

    Nice room, clean and confortable. Good breakfast. Better not to have dinner at the restaurant. For that price you can have much better food in some places nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.3
    Nice but a little expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was a little too far outside the city centre. Check-in took a long time. They seemed to not be very experienced in the database/software or card terminal system. This applies only to 1-2 of the staff, the rest were good. The breakfast line was way too long so I skipped it altogether to the advantage of a local café.

    Close to U-Bahn, Quiet, Clean rooms, comfortable bed and A/C. Not too far from local shops/cafés Staff were mostly helpful. Seemed very fresh and new.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Room very quiet and breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room functional but oldish. Position not so close to city center.

    Room very quiet and breakfast. Service is great. Always available. Proximity to underground station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.8
    Comfortable and Quiet but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't properly cleaned upon check-in. There were still peanuts on the floor from the previous occupation The free WiFi is absolutely terrible and very bursty, this aspect needs a total re-design to be viable. I do not expect to be able to stream YouTube or NetFlix but not being able to browse low-fidelity websites just shows how terrible the WiFi is. The breakfast is overpriced (21 EUR/pp), you are better off going into the city where you can get high-end personalized breakfast for way less.

    Separate bath and shower. Curtains dark out the room properly enough during night to stop light from bleeding in. Located next to the UBahn Quiet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location, cozy rooms, very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the bar was either absent or constantly engaging into talking to each other, really hard to get attention to order anything

    Great location, cozy rooms, very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping just opened the door without bothering to check if we were in the room by knocking first. Well, we were in the room at 10am.

    The staff was very helpful. We arrived early so they stored our bags until our rooms were ready. When we checked out, they stored our bags again until we left. Parking is at the basement. While it isn't free, it is so convenient and secure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in Hamburg for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking price was invoiced for 24 hours, while the price per hour was cheaper as I was less than 14 hours in the hotel.

    Breakfast was perfect! Plenty of choice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel let down this time with small yet annoying issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 nights and had tea, coffee, water & snacks on the first night. These items didn't get replaced the next day so left a message for the cleaners and still nothing! The reception staff were apologetic when we mentioned it and got some tea/coffee but had no milk! Also no minibar price list in the room.

    Location, nice big rooms and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Staff were super helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was yummy, but a bit expensive.

    Staff were super helpful and friendly. Very professional. The rooms were clean and well presented, warm and cosy. Great that kids got to eat breakfast free!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    I liked that the hotel is clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service staff at the morning buffet could to be friendlier, and smile more, rather than giving sour faces. It's not something I want to see first thing in the morning.

    I liked that the hotel is clean and modern. the children's corner is very thoughtful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.1
    modern hotel with nice rooms and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress is very small for two people. It felt almost like a single bed. The aircon worked, but couldn't bring temperature down below 25 degrees, making for uncomfortable sleeping. Since the hotel is facing a busy road, opening Windows is not an option. Breakfast is of good quality. However, they was nothing special such as fresh omelettes or waffles. Also no smoked salmon, but getting instead. Only 3 different cheese with two of them almost indistinguishable. I would call the breakfast excellent if it was half the price.

    It's a good size room. Bathroom is quite modern. And WiFi works well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    One very happy customer,sure to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though the breakfast was very good,the cost is a bit high.

    I loved the Wellness Centre,Lisa was polite and helpfull.The room was spacious,and the bed very comfortable.Staff at the reception where helpfull(helped me sort out WIFI)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.5
    Business visit is an alternative location than in the town down
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower system and wastebaskets

    Location very close to metro and facility with car parking which avoided to drive the car into the center and find car park

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Good choice for a young family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of a view, being on a junction, but you couldn't hear the traffic, and its literally a few steps to the subway for easy exploring.

    Good size and layout of room, excellent breakfast, excellent transport links.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    Great value, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's on a rather busy street, so not a scenic Location. However, very easy to reach and even within (Extended) Walking distance from the main Station.

    Great value for Family with Kids as you can share a room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    4.5
    precarious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel provided a double room with a sofa as a twin room for two guests. Well, after they expanded the sofa for the night there was no space left in the room). No place for luggage was designed. After two suitcases were put on the floor it became difficult to move inside the room. Terrible noise from the street starts at 5 am if you stay on a 2nd floor. The staff charged 1090 euro at check in as accommodation price. During check out they charged 100 euro for the bar. But after we came home another 1090 euro were charged from the card. Awful. Elliptical machine in the gym did not work.

    Breakfast was good. Good choice of tea. Bar was OK. Running track is OK.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    A hotel like your price & standard you feel should...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hotel like your price & standard you feel should provide a bottle of water complimentary. Bottle opener, tissue paper on table, welcome fruit basket should provide.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.1
    All are excellent except the service of the receiption desk.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when I am going to check out, the bad service let me wait for a long time, first, she told me she has to check my payment from the system, it cost about 5 minites, and then I was told that I don't need to pay because they had got the payment from my credit card. I request two rooms' invoices, when I got the invoice, I found there was 1 room's price shown on the invoice, so I request another room's invoice, she found she had made a mistake, but she refused to admit it and told me it was the system's problem. I asked why, her attitude was very bad and let me write my email address and send me the invoice by email before 12 am on Sep 17, 2016. But till today I did not receive it.

    All are excellent except the service of the receiption desk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    5.8
    location, quality, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel facilities seem to be built for undercapacity situations, when the hotel is full basic facilities like elevators, lobby, breakfast room, reception, (hence the staff) is not enough

    location, quality, value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    5.4
    Good but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive breakfast, was included when booking but then it turned out to be excluded in your confirmation email

    Small playground for children at the entrance

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok hotel to spend a night at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was way overpriced. Kitchen closed at 21.00, no way to get anything to eat after that. Including room service.

    Simple and nice room, clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Overall Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food selection and quality

    Room size and furniture

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Good beds, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi, narrow parking, bad elevator capacity

    Good beds, clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the chedk out they want chıldren breakfast fare. I said no. I paid for them. And then they didnt charge it

    Clean. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Location next to Ubahn (metro) station that brings you to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness was not outstanding.

    Location next to Ubahn (metro) station that brings you to the most important things.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent service at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning during our stay could have been a lot better

    Excellent service at the reception. Nice and spacious rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel with simple access to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    De bedden

    Locatie

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    overall experience was very satisfactory ...no doubt .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the distance to station and other surroundings

    breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    We liked Hambourg enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The neighbourhood wasn't so good, but if you use tube (which is just outside) its OK There weren't pancakes every day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    There may be other better places for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so friendly staff.

    Proximity to train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff. Very comfortable room and hotel Bistro.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Location very close to the metro, good breakfast and big room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Location very close to the metro, good breakfast and big room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good breakfast and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking

    Very good breakfast and comfortable beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Wifi was very bat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very bat

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.8
    The wifi connection was very poor and didn't allow me to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection was very poor and didn't allow me to stream movies or to do skype calls

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    We need a mirror outside the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We need a mirror outside the bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel,great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Wish to do it again, relaxing week end in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was great!

    The position, the perfect athmosphere of the lobby and the very clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Very happy with our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very happy with our stay here. Staff were lovely. Room was a really good size. Easy journey by train to city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    we loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sofabed

    very kind, helpful and professional staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and 3 minutes away from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    After a terrible experience in the Navada Hotel this hotel...
    • Group
    • Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a terrible experience in the Navada Hotel this hotel was excellent. Staff were absolutely wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Amazingbtrip away with my husband and friends! Hotel was just right for us only a bit far out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was so comfortable and the room was great! Clean and tidy and everything we needed .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Big room, comfy bed and pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise... in the middle of the night I could hear someone knocking ou jumping upstairs.

    Big room, comfy bed and pillows! Also very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    This hotel was a pleasant one to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    3rd bed was not that comfortable

    easy to reach the city center bicycle rental

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Easy to get to public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to public transportation

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Hamburg City Alster traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: