Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Select Hotel Handelshof Essen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Hauptbahnhof 2, Stadtkern, 45127 Essen, Germany

#20 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1607 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay, phenomenal value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows are a bit thin, and we could hear a lot of noises from the busy Square outside (mainly drunk people)

    Really nice and new, great sized rooms, modern bathroom, comfortable room layout, big rooms, clean. Staff were very friendly and eager to help. Really great location just across the road from central station and shopping district is literally next to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Just in front of Essen train station, excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water from the shower and hot tub was not hot enough and hard to get a hot bath.

    I forgot my document and money in the safety box, and after leaving Essen called back to staff for help. They did a great job and help me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Simply perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could think of!

    Spacious rooms and excellent breakfast. The toilet in our first rooms wasn’t flushing very good, but the staff was really helpful and they gave us an other room, which was even bigger! Like an upgrade :) The location is also fantastic as the hotel is across the Essen Bahnhof and in the center of the city. I would recommend this hotel to everyone !! (Photos of the room are from the first room we had)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for money and convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noticed no negative points.

    The hotel is located immediately opposite the exit from Essen Central Station. Room was very nice and quiet (looking out on an inner courtyard shielded from all traffic). The room also had air conditioning, which was very welcome given temperatures during the day exceeded 30 Celsius.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value hotel for a city trip to Essen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an issue with loud music from other rooms, and there was no free water included.

    The bed en pillows were comfortable, the room was clean and WiFi good. The hotel was right in front of the central station in Essen, and in the middle of the city center close to the shops and all transportation options. A parking garage (10 euro/day) was available at 3-4 minutes walking from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was good but it appeared that we did not have...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I almost started eating and suddenly waiter came and said thad i have to pay first not after, i had my credit card on 4th floor and then he realized that this was humiliating, i will never return to that hotel

    Breakfast was good but it appeared that we did not have breakfast included although Booking.com said we did

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.2
    below average - a dump
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy, substandard room which did not even have a shampoo, chipped bath, showing rust. Basic in all respects- like a motorway motel but charging silly prices and calls itself 4 star hotel. I give it one and a half

    larger than usual room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    It was ok, but not really worth the price
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping entered the room unannounced at 8.30 am The air con could not be turned down lower than 22 degrees While the bed was a large double, two single duvets were less than adequate No restaurant on site

    Location was excellent - right by the station The bed was comfy and large The room was very quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Good staff does not compensate for lack of restaurant and non-operating bar.Will not book again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant in the hotel. There is a bar in the hotel but due to lack of staff it did not operate: it was not open !

    Staff at reception very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some noise (trains just in front of the hotel)

    Closed to the Essen station (Hauptbanhof). Restaurant for breakfast. Staff in the restaurant very nice. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    G
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a nice stay for the 2nd time in this hotel. Booking.com says that if you are travelling with a child younger than 7 years old and only use the 2 persons bed, there will be no extra charge. The people of the hotel never heard of this, and asked why we only booked for a 2 person room. Luckely they made no problem of it. So tnx for the service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Short Stay in Essen
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no sound isolation I could hear everything happening outside my window at night and it is a busy area.

    Central location, directly in the Innenstadt and opposite the main train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was lovely and great location. Check in receptionist could have been more welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptions was unfriendly and stern she did not smile, she did not say much and only thanked us as we were walking away from the reception. Our room was also cold at night we did mention it to reception who put a heater in the room but it was not that effective.

    Location was excellent and the room was very well present and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location, exclusive rooms are a bit overprized
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Exclusive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since we booked an "Exclusive Room" my expectations were a bit higher than what we actually got. The bathroom was huge but only had a very simple shower and bath. The room was also big but not very cozy/comfortable.

    Great location in the heart of the city. The room was clean and quiet. There's ample public parking space at walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    nice hotel with extremely unfriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is extremely unfriendly and not particularly efficient. Check-in is at 14:00 but when we arrived at 13:15 we were told very curtly we'd have to come back later. While there is no issue with coming back later for check-in, she could at least have checked if any rooms would already be available. Furthermore, it is quite customary to complete formalities (identification, signature etc) so that when coming back you only need to pick up the key. Instead she told all guests to come back later, so by the time we can back for check-in at 16:00 there was a huge queue and it took almost half an hour to get through the check-in process.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    surprisingly good stay, top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Great location, opposite the trainstation and at the start of the shopping street. The hotel must have been renovated not long ago, the room was very nice and clean and new. We had a quiet room, facing the inner "court".

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in terrific location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in took very long!

    Room was nice and clean. We had a batthub. The beds were very comfortable. The parking (Akazienallee) is just around the corner. The hotels location is great! Close to the shops and x-masmarket.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    if the management improved, it would make great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lamps on the desk and beside bed were not working. I asked front desk to alternate them, but it did not improve during my stay of three days. Pigeon droppings accumulated edge of windows.

    excellent lacation, in front of central station, next to travel info centre, close to concert hall and shopping centre. and architecture has historic, classic atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    good location, just in front of the central railway station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Exclusive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no ironing equipment, too dark in the bathroom, no accomodation options with included breakfast, in general good but definitely not for the price paid (~240 eur/day)

    good location, just in front of the central railway station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.7
    Our stay was fine. The whole vibe just feels like this hotel is on a budget.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are very small. Much smaller than when we stayed under the previous owners. The bedding is very cheap. The duvets were rather thin and synthetic, probably Ikea. The two single duvets provided were so small and narrow, very much like a child's size. The beds were not changed once during our 5 day stay, which is very unusual. There is no kettle. There are no scales when requested at reception to weigh our luggage. The reception also noted we were not the first to ask for them. The strange cartoon alphabet signage that serves as a backdrop at reception is very odd looking and the blue stage lamps on the ground outside the bar are just plonked on the ground and can be easily kicked. They get in the way. They also look really cheap and unnecessary.

    The location is very accessible to everything. Check-in was very easy and fast which is always appreciated - only took a matter of minutes before we were in our rooms. I hate having to fill out different forms or wait for a passport to be scanned, especially after a long flight. There is a hairdryer in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Good. Would stay here again, but breakfast offering needs to be better value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn’t feel like good value as an added extra. Hot and cold items were frequently running out and not being replenished for some time. Generally felt like they could have done with a few more staff at breakfast service. Jimmys Bar was closed on the Saturday night of our stay. Big disappointment and the hotel will have missed out on a good bit of revenue because of this.

    Rooms were serviced early in the day. Everything was clean. Location is very handy for both parking (£10 per day) and rail from Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel with clean rooms and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel did NOT provide any toothbrush or toothpaste. Furthermore at night it can be very noisy because of drunken people around the hotel (especially on the weekend).

    The hotel location is perfect for exploring the city. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Location, check in process
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was understaffed during breakfast, had to ask for basic matters like glass for orange juice, clean tables were difficult to find. The staff was doing all other things except resolving this issue. The checkout took long and was understaffed.

    Location, check in process

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay in Essen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area might be a little noisy around nighttime and the AC fan was making quite some noise.

    The hotel is really close to both the central station and the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Essen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    eveything was fine

    The whole experience with Hotel Novum Handelshof in Essen was great, from the possibility of an earlier check in, the big and comfy double bed and also the nice surprise in form of two small packages of Haribo, which were waiting there for me :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    great place.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay 4 euros for mineral water in the room. Not really a problem considering how little we had to pay overall and the fact that it is a 4 star hotel.

    Very cheap. Central location. Great staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Satisfied
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Opposite the hotel is a huge building under construction. They worked right through the night and it was very noisy.

    Spacious and clean room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Exclusive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast not included and a little expansive.

    very comfortable room. big and very clean. comfy bed. good internet. very good breakfast. in front of main rail station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning is not working. Keep window open.

    Quiet and comfortable rooms, excellent location. WiFi really works! Great selection of whiskey in the bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Good enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No late check-out even on a lazy Monday. (OK, for 15Euro I could have gotten it)

    Large, quiet & comfy room, bathtub (I had to ask for one). Excellent location, just opposite the train station and at the beginning of the pedestrian area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    Unpleasant reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People at the reception are very unpleasant (check in and check out). You can find other better Hotel in Essen. If they are not happy to welcome their client, better to go in an other Hotel.

    People at reception are so unpleasant, it gives a very bad opinion of the hotel. It is difficult to write positive thing later.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in a good location
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel in a good location, just few steps away of main railway station, shops, restaurants, etc. The room was nice, clean and tidy and they kept it like that all the time. Breakfast was OK, plenty of food to choose - cereals, hams, cheese, some veggies, cakes (muffins, waffles), eggs, sausages (wurst), etc - the usual hotel´s standard. If we ever went to this location, we would probably choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the receptionnist wasn't very welcoming Be carefull not to Park in the linden garden car Park because it's closed on sundays!

    Breakfast is good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable, good location, need ironing facilities in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had no iron / ironing board. Would have been preferred. No restaurant for an evening meal if working at the hotel. Only breakfast which was an extra cost and quite expensive.

    Room quality was good and comfortable. A little noisy given the location but acceptable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    6.7
    Location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very noicy, and there was some noice during the night and we could not get any sleep. Hotel gave us 20 euros refund for that / night.

    Location perfect. Easy to access, near to everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Very spacious double room - very comfortable - excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lot of litter on the streets around the hotel. Pity

    Very spacious double room - very comfortable - excellent shower. Bed very comfortable. Great location to train station, trams and shopping.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Very good location, nice hotel in midlle of where happends, ...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    5th floor, very hot on room! When windows open, because its so hot, all the noise from railwaystation keeps up all night... Most pay extra form child, but room upgrade was very good (size & beds)

    Very good location, nice hotel in midlle of where happends, room was very big, and had bathtub, ecellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    The situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can't hold water in the wash basin, you have to keep it running. If the plug works in a mysterious way, there could be sign indicating this. At 14 euros breakfast expensive

    The situation. No problems with elevators which can happen in large hotels. Bathroom immaculate

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    3.3
    Take your ear plugs!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con sounds like a propeller plane on approach to the airport and cannot be switched off! NOISY!!!!! Staff could not care less when I complained just saying " its the way the building is" If I could upload the sound recording, you can experience it without losing a night's sleep

    Since renovation the rooms are well decorated and No 245 was especially large

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable Hotel conveniently located near the main train station of Essen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -That they charged me 25 Euros reservation change fee. -The invoice I got at the end was so complicated that I had to write a long explication note, in order to obtain reimbursement from my company.

    -The location just opposite the main train station and in the middle of the shopping area -Comfortable beds, new clean furniture and bathroom. -By mistake I booked dates that were one day later. When I realized the mistake a few hours later, I called the hotel and they changed the dates of my non flexible reservation for a 50 Euros additional fee |(25 Euros was change fee, and 25 because the new dates were more expensive)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.7
    soso
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception: the staff there is busy with other things. always ( the ladies) are both in the backroom together, talking, eating and when they come out still chewing and give u a look like "what u want now" . its annoying when Staff in the hotel wanna tell me how a hotel works...most probably i spent in the last 1/2 Year more notes in a Hotel than the whole family in the whole life. Housekeeping: u can see its an outsourced company...didnt take the coffee cup and the paper on the desk away. didn't bring a new bottle water even they see i opened the current one ( 4euro!). last but not least....4* Hotel and NO slippers....wouldnt go there again...mainly coz of the Staff performance.

    the staff in the Restaurant are super friendly! the location is unbeatable. nice and clean decoration.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    6.3
    Location is very central.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating system were not OK thus they have put a mobile heater in the room. The remote control had no batteries inside. Internet connection was overloaded at night time.

    Location is very central.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast scrambled eggs were rather burnt omelette... :( Wifi was limited and not easily accessible through a Mac computer (did not start login process correctly)

    Nice room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    6.7
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rather long check in and out because they only have 2 or 3 counters. but not a big problem. welcome water:4 euros! it should be free like everywhere!

    location effective staff members

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    6.7
    Room are smaller then at the add. Not look alike- expensive 240€ 1 for night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks so much more small then the advertising. The room was not like in the pictures (Tiny)

    Close to train station and shopping street. The staff really kind.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.3
    Classic layout at the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Interior design is newly renovated but outdated. Check out "Motelone". They set the standard for 21st Century Hotel Interiors for a reasonable prize. But they've been fully booked.

    Location right at the "Weihnachtsmark"(christmas fair) and the shopping pedestrian zone

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.3
    Perfect location, bad conditions
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heater in the room was not working in December! There was no phone in the room so I had to go down to the reception for every need. Also there was two single beds in the room that was too narrow, reminded me my childhood bed.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, just across the the main train station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.3
    very comfortable; well satisfied. would probably stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been good to have somewhere to buy a snack/meal/drink (eg coffee etc) at any time in the day.

    comfortable bedroom which is a priority. bathroom very good: clean generally and excellent shower. Location brilliant with great view of market outside window.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    4.6
    Good location just in the center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is after renovation, absolutely not ready for guests accommodation. Horrible smell of new carpets, no phones in the rooms, so no connection with the reception, housekeeping etc. Restaurant in the hotel serving only breakfasts. No slippers and bathrobes, no laundry bags and lots of other things which are supposed to be in a 4* hotel. The price (170 Euro/night) in no way corresponds to services and conveniences provided by this hotel.

    Good location just in the center

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel, perfert location. good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The checkin and out was a bit slow! We missed a kettle/coffee making facility in the room.

    We loved the location of the hotel. The beds werd very comfortable. It was clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    8.3
    Good place for non-pretentious travelers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't turn off the air conditioning, wifi did not work most of the time (I was on 5th floor)

    The location is great, staff was friendly most of the time, room was very clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.1
    Very spacious and comfortable room, nice breakfasts.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have asked three times for an ironing set. I waited over an hour and a half and never received it. Big disappointment that the staff in a 4-star hotel doesn't feel responsible to fulfill such a simple request. They couldn't even provide me with an alternative service to iron my shirts. Also, there's no phone in the hotel room, so it's not very convenient to contact the reception desk.

    Very spacious and comfortable room, nice breakfasts. Good location in front of the railway station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    5.8
    Would not consider staying there again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold totally untrained staff , funny smell in the corridors and rooms , no parking place , electronic keys kept on getting damaged ....had to change 3 times

    Near to the train Station , good wi fi .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    5.0
    Breakfast OK, everything new.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Organisational disaster. Personnel not trained, hotel not ready yet. Everything new but still not finished completely. Wardrobe was not functioning - I could not open. Heating was not functioning. Check out in the morning took 30 minutes despite I paid evening before.

    Breakfast OK, everything new.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    It's absolutely fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect quality / price balance. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Centre of the centre of essen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Centre of the centre of essen. Great 4 star hotel. Dont wait much!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfort room with air conditioning, Kind reception &...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfort room with air conditioning, Kind reception & Perfect locate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Large and well appointed room. Hotel well located and has a nice whisky bar downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit expensive.

    Really convenient location. Nice whisky bar downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Short Comfortable stay opposite train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    l liked the location opposite the train station. The hotel itself was more comfortable than I had expected. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    The bathroom was very well organised and the bed really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very well organised and the bed really comfy. For the breakfast: the cherry jam was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Comfy bed, great water pressure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast is not worthy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not worthy. €14.5 is way too expensive for that quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Essen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    The best hotel in Essen!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, great location right outside the train...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is pretty bad at times.

    Clean, comfortable, great location right outside the train station, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel one of the best locations in essen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel one of the best locations in essen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Fulfilled my requirments
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic but clean. Very helpful guy on reception.short easy walk from station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    quite clearn and the bed is comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    while, in the midnight, noisily outside.

    quite clearn and the bed is comfortable. close to train station, location is nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Well located quiet stay
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Location is excellent. Quiet place. Kind staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    It was very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It was very clean. All in all a very comfortable room and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Rude Recptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Receptionist was rude and not polite. He only said Papers No Hello how are you? May I assist you? No assistance at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Clean, spacey room. Nothing special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    quite expensive for what you get

    Location is close to work

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    great hotel, great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, right across the central station. The staff are friendly. many shops and restaurants around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.6
    Not pleasant wont go back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm room, old and broken facility, low doors where I nearly bumped my head, airconditioning failed, small blanket on big bed.

    Location is fine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    ---
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ----

    ---

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75