Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ITM Hotel Oase This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Steindamm 79, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#295 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a sock covered something on a ceiling and we saw wood louse on a wall near windows. Soundproofing isn't good but if you are tourist and don't sit in hotel whole day it's ok.

    Staff is friendly. We got some questions about CC charge due to our ignorance of the way hotels charge CCs in Germany, and staff was very friendly and kind, so they explained us everything. The price is lower than average in Hamburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer didn’t work. There was a weird smell inside the room as well

    Perfect place if you want to stay alone. Acceptably quite and comfy. Really clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the Internet connection was very bad which I hope they will do something about it. This is my second time of visit and it's the same . Thanks

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were really friendly. The location was in very close proximity to the central bus station and there was the underground network right outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows were not very well isolated, it was cold in the room even with heating set to maximum. And because of the noisy street - was waking up during the night.

    The bathroom was ok. The staff is ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff was aggressively confrontational. Complaint lodged but no response from the hotel. Guests should be given a key to get into the building if they won't follow their 24/7 open reception policy. It's not the best area for a female to be stuck outside in the middle of the night. The room smelled awful. It needs a deep clean, lots of smelly stains visible around the room. Paper thin walls, so quite noisy. Avoid if possible. Absolute rip off and not worth the money.

    -

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room was tiny - like a shoe box. Key cards should be used instead of normal keys with heavy fobs - you don't want one in your pocket so have leave it at reception when you leave. Steindamm is more like Cairo or Kabul than Hamburg and can be a little unsettling if you're not used to that. But it's very safe and everybody is sound.

    room was spotless. bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had soft drinks for sale at the front desk, but no coke light which is what I and most North Americans like to drink.

    The room has been newly renovated and everything seems new and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good value for your money with comfortable beds; perfect for a short stay +24h Check-In available +5min walking distance from the Main-Trainstation +spacious and newly renovated bathroom +small wardrobe -shower curtain leaked

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi connection was slow, the cable TV was terrible (few tv networks and bad quality). There were a fan on the ceiling impossible to use for noise.

    Good position to reach central station, area with pubs and Alster. U-bahn really close to the hotel. My room had an internal bathroom clean and modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in room 3, changed to room 4 but it was very poor there also a bit noisy because of the street. No breakfast although my reservation summary says there is :(

    Close to central station, high streets, attractions. U1 station is right in front of the hotel. Double bed is so wide, bathroom is clean. There is a Supermarket on the corner and throughout the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in the Muslim quarter, but the neighborhood is quite quiet, there is many restaurants and shops. It is very close to the city center at the metro station. The receptionist were very nice. Sufficient accommodation for one or two nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift. (I never cared but for elders could be the 'no-no' thing) No breakfast. (Also didn't care because one can have breakfast anywhere in the city center which is just one-two stops away) The district. (Although again, I did not feel offended or uncomfortable, but could be a 'no-no' thing for less tolerant people)

    Right outside the underground station, that's very convenient when you are moving around a lot. In general it's OK for someone who only wants some sleep. Leaves early and returns late, just to have some rest. Room was quiet and sound isolation good, no street sounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't realize the neighborhood that the hotel was in... not unsafe really, but unpleasant and dirty. The food in this district smelled great if you like Arabic food (we just didn't have time to try anything there). The street was a bit noisy from the room, but we somehow slept really well anyway. There is no AC, so the room can be very hot unless you open all the windows and can get some airflow. I've never met such disinterested reception staff. Always a different, equally disinterested guy every time we came in. Over the course of 4 days, we never saw the same guy twice. You're given a bulky, odd key for the garage... we returned it a few hours later than the room key that we returned at checkout. We discussed this with the receptionist, but the following day have received an email from the hotel notifying us of our supposed failure to return the key and that parking costs will be charged to us until it is mailed to them... (but it's on their counter... we returned it... I guess the guy didn't make a note against our room number)

    The price is competitive, and the parking garage was safe and accessible. There is a subway entrance right out front, and only a block up or down the street are stations to grab a city bike. The room was clean and functional. There was soap for the sink and the shower in the bathroom, and plenty of paper.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Many things. 1 - The internet is a joke, it comes 5 minutes and disconnects for 1 hour. 2 - Staff talks German/Afghani only, English would be good to have. 3 - No cleaning service. 4 - Staff so inexperienced, that we were left outside for over an hour in the cold around 3 AM because the night-shift staff went out and forgot the keys inside. 5 - Rooms had unpleasant odors. 6 - The flash for the toilet was leaking. 7 - The water heater is too small that more than 2 persons cant take a shower on the same hour (we were 3 people)

    The location was good, near the metro station, or just walking 10 min to the central station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbourhood wasnt nice, decor was dated, even though shower pressure was good, was to easy to hit shower temperature button which lead to burning a few of us.

    Location, beds were comfortable, shower pressure and temperature was good. For 7 lads on the razz over a weekend it was fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I spoke english and one of the staff personnel at first pretended that he did not understand English, although he knew English and spoke to me fine after a while.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guy at the reception was very friendly and helpful and he responded very nicely at all our requests. The room and the facilities were clean and nicely arranged. It is a very convenient location, very close to downtown.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem with my credit card during reservation and they gave the room I wanted to other people. Luckily they had another room, and eventually I paid with the same credit card.

    There were many halal restaurants near the hotel. It was the cheapest hotel in the area I could find, but the room was very clean. After booking, I read the reviews more carefully and regretted making the reservation. But I found better condition than those in the reviews. Some people said that their room had cigarette smells and was not clean, luckily we got a very clean one. Some also said that the staffs were not friendly or helpful, but we met helpful staff during check in. Not very friendly though..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so good

    Not so bad

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled of smoking. Cleanliness was lacking.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free breakfast No free parking

    Bed, location, bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is excellent, high quality

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is wide away from hamburg central station.

    The property is near of some shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was uncomfortably small.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude abrupt staff

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good just to sleep

    Excellent position

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom smelled very moldy. I told the reception and they said they would look into it.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv screen is old fashion, rooms very small.

    The location ..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say :-)

    A simple room with out breakfast to a fair price. Easy to reach by train/metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bas coffee.

    The location was the best part.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had strange smell. Maybe it was due to carpets. Traffic sound was always there.

    Good location. Many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the behaviour of stuff (reception guy)

    location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff can not speak english and no friendly with clients as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems not in a pleasant neighbourhood

    There's a very nice Indian restaurant at the next door.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is tiny, no lift, staff was not very friendly

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for 4 persons is really small, bathroom is small too and stinky.

    Nothing special

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room smelled of cigarette smoke

    location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Price/Night is bit too high.

    It was very near to the metro station & Main Train station. Had no issues at all with the supermarkets, restaurants etc.. Ideal place for your stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff did not speak english well. On all my questions there was one answer "Wi-Fi?".

    The location is good. It is 5 min walk from the central station and about 15-20 min walk from the city hall/city centre. However, the street hotel is actually on is not very pleasent.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose the hotel because they said it was pet friendly. When we checked in, the guy from the front desk told us we could not enter with our puppy. After some nogociatons, he told us that we have to pay 29€. So we did. The room was supposed to be smoke free, but inside it was a really bad smell of cigarettes. We had only one bed liner and on top of all we found some finger nails in the drawer. We try to ask the receptionist to change the room when we arrived but it wasn't an option. The wi fi was not working either. We had to leave after two hours because of the smell and the dirt. We didn't get our money back.

    Free public parking over night

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room had a distinct smell of smoke. Wi-Fi required web-based authentication and kept disconnecting. For some reason you cannot open the hotel door outside, always having to ring the bell.

    Next to an U-Bahn (subway) station, but also close to city center, so you can even walk there if you need to. A decent grocery store across the road.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    as the lobby and staircase are basically build from steel and tiles only and the inner door of the rooms are just basic types, no onder one can hear all from the outside conversations check in and out inside the room, pulling the question if the noise from your room might be heard outside too. this can be somehow uncomfortable. bathroom is small thats ok but electric fixture should be better maintained ( missing lamp over basin poor insulated cable hanging out the wall in the splash area)

    helpfull and friendly staff, safe parking slot was provided (10 eur), good location in St. Georg. over all a somewhat good deal for price and value.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Terrible location. Despite being close to things, this is definitely not in a pleasant neighbourhood. Dirty room, uncomfortable beds, tiny bathroom, smelly and hard towels,.

    Friendly staff. Underground station right outside the door.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Due to a genuine mistake, this hotel was too far from Altona Hamburg station by cycle at night, and I had to cancel. I cancelled within 15-30 mins but was still charged 70% of Eu129! A total rip off! We were 2 ladies 65 and 73 years. Totally unreasonable.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There wasn't even a kettle in the room At such expensive rates it was a horrible experience .. We were given 3 tiny narrow beds. Which we had to join so that we could sleep together.. In short we feel cheated!!!

    Only the location n nothing else really

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    * Poor customer service. * Limited Wi-FI (only worked for few min.) and then you have to re-connect again.

    * Good location to the city center, even though the hotel is just on the main street and can be noisy. *Cleanliness was fine.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - be aware it's on the edge of the turkish district - service and non-communicative staff - constantly locked entrance door - lack of privacy - extra charges and paying for non-existing breakfast

    - location (but ...) - price

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The door lock of the bathroom didn't work. Impolite staff not helpful at all. The area is not a good place to stay nor to visit.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Over all the stay was very good. Clean and tidy with helpful staff. The accommodation is very budget but value for money was great. Would recommend.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Many restaurants near it.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel has recieved our money but because we had not brought the credit card we booked with we had to pay again, stupid, staff unhelpful

    Not a lot

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff did not speak English. Window was broken.

    Close to train station

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy, small room,small bathroom , without elevator,bad internet access

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were spiders all over the bathroom on the first day, the internet network was weak, the shower soaked the entire bathroom

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kind stuff, specially Omid!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The worst hotel ive ever been

    Nothing everything beginning from the reception Very bad answering

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was OK.

    Dieschstrasse, Blankanese, Warhouse District (Hafen City), Bremen

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse ITM Hotel Oase traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: