Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Oberkirch This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Münsterplatz 22, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#3 of 50 hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1268 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room (7qm)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived very late, but it was a pleasure to be welcomed by the nightstaff. The hotel is very centrally located, and with good weather you can have breakfast with view on the dom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing and the Owner /Manager let us down badly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were roadworks under our bedroom window that started before 8am in the morning and went on until 5pm ....why were we not informed of this and why did the hotel feel they could justifiably charge a full rate ? - they offered 50€ as recompense off our evening meal which , as we patiently explained was not useful as we were eating elsewhere- nothing else was offered and neither the Manager or Owner had the decency to speak to us - we will not be staying again and feel very let down .

    Staff were helpful and polite ; with the exception of the Asst Manager who did not listen to my wife’s rightful concerns and interrupted her , unbelievable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    One word is enough - Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free WIFI does not always appear to work so good but this maybe be me - I am not sure.

    I love the location and how super-friendly and down-to-earth the staff are but professional at all times. Due to a new job I have now used the Hotel Oberkirch several times (sometimes booked through myself and sometimes through Dr Laaf) but I am getting to know the staff and they are very, very nice people and in my experience this is without exception and this for me is important. The food is always good for breakfast and in the evening and again the waiters and waitresses are always so kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Internet was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved it. I'd go back.

    Internet was excellent. Central location, close to the university. Rooms were extremely nice as they have been renovated. Large bathroom with double sink. Staff was extremely nice and spoke English- both hotel and restaurant. Oberkirch, so you can home in from anywhere in the city. Church bells were not a problem. Parking in city garage about 1.5 blocks away at a discount price. Dining outside on the plaza or inside if you choose. For some reason, I felt town regulars were eating in the restaurant. Free bottles of water upon departure - which is a small thing, but we appreciate the water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A part of the bathroom was in the room. Noise at knight. The breakfast was very poor and the restaurant for the breakfast is on the next cross. I think that is not praving parking because I emailed them twice for two months to book a parking space but nothing. And the end we useed public parking.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Very harmonious - fabulous location on the Cathedral Square and near all the shops and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room (7qm)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having said that I appreciated the single room, it was a wee bit small, but not a problem except that I had to swivel the tv round to avoid bumping into it (my head) when going to use the toilet/shower room. I am a very light sleeper and the cathedral bells wakened me a bit during the wee small hours, but hey, to be expected!

    Wonderful German style breakfast. Also the restaurant menu was excellent. The mother of a friend of mine always eats there for special occasions and I had been before a few times. I also appreciated the fact that it is still possible to get a single room which is rarely the case these days. I always object, as a single traveller, having to pay for two. There should be some European legislation regarding this!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    It's central location although its address is incorrect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of the overnight car park. The hotel was only able to offer a 1 Euro discount which still made the cost extortionate for such a small town.

    It's central location although its address is incorrect if you want to use satnav to find it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Worth the effort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very confusing to get too if you have a car. GPS tells u to park and walk 500m to the hotel via cobble streets. Not very easy with baggage, etc, however staff advised us to drive through the church square and unload at the front of the hotel. This is quite nervy as all the street signs say pedestrian precinct only and no cars. Locals did not look amused as we drove through them. Call the hotel in advance and get written directions to drive and park at the hotel. It may save you the 90mins I wasted driving round in circles.

    Nice hotel with old world charm with modern bathrooms. Very nice staff and location is perfect for exploring the cathedral. The hotel restaurant is first class serving special local dishes and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    All right and very good, at the best place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    full hotel parking and garage at 19.5 €, shower cabin did not close well, small room.

    very friendly staff, very clean and well decorated room, fruit and water in the room, buffet breakfast very well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect quality and location of the facility.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was happy to be there.

    Perfect quality and location of the facility. The staff was very friendly and allowed me to stay 1.5 hours longer than it had been required.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking for the hotel and you have to park in a public garage nearby.

    Great location. In the center of the city and the cathedral is infront of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location, facilities, and hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave your room key at reception whenever leaving the hotel is a little irritating if you frequently leave and come back throughout the day. Not a big deal though.

    Great location, clean, pleasant staff, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel employees were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cathedral bells rang several times for five minutes straight. You didn't need an alarm, they started at seven AM. Their location means going through a pedestrian area.

    Hotel employees were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking - the hotel is in a pedestrian zone and this is extremely difficult to maneuver; however, there is a garage as you drive toward the hotel, which is easily accessible on both sides of the road, and comes out in the pedestrian zone once you exit your car.

    The location is great! Our room overlooked the cathedral.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, great sleep, fine food and perfect central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. If you’re being REALLY pernickety, it would have been nice to be able to make a hot drink in the room. (Though they did leave loads of complimentary mineral water and fruit, and it was possible to go to reception and get some coffee).

    The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful; the beds were firm and incredibly comfortable - we all slept like logs! Good, powerful shower, delicious evening meal (local produce, local wine, absolutely fabulous seasonal salad). We had a great stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    A lovely relaxing few days in a delightful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not good - came and went a lot, which would only matter if your trip was for business I suppose.

    This hotel is a little gem, right in the centre of the Altstadt. It’s spotlessly clean, cosy and beautifully decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was delicious, served by friendly cheerful staff who couldn’t do enough to help. Brilliant!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing stay in the Oberkirch hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel passages are very narrow and curved, which makes it hard to find the elevator or your room. There is no direct access to the elevator, so a guest has to carry his language on stairs to get to the elevator. The "Superior" room we ordered was very small, minimally furnished, looked as it needs renovation, and looked gloomy. Breakfast was served in the hotel' restaurant on the main square, and was quite minimal. Parking in the hotel's garage was charged with 20 euro on top of the payment for the room. We couldn’t log in to the hotel's Wifi.

    The hotel is not located in the main square, but on an alley behind it. Still, it is very central. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Employable stay in historic Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult finding hotel entrance as it is in a different street to the address given.

    Very clean and comfortable. Helpful, friendly staff. Situated in the heart of the old town. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Location is great (but not what we thought) & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For breakfast we had to change buildings (go outdoors and walk 100m), first night the room was cold (but rectified the following day)

    The breakfast was nice, staff was very friendly, the location (but not what we expected as we thought we would be opposite the cathedral but that was not the case)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Very pleasant.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was very large, comfortable and pleasantly appointed. The furnishings were all of good quality and the shower room was simply splendid with many extra touches. Everything was extremely clean. It was the perfect location. The staff were very helpful indeed and spoke English to a very high standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. They were so soft that it was like having no pillow at all. An extra pillow in the cupboard would have been nice.

    Breakfast was nice, staff was great! Location couldn't be better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    This is a great property and a perfect location and I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room (7qm)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed in my room was barely large enough for me to stretch out and I'm just 6 feet tall. I knew the room I was getting would be small -- that was fine -- but didn't know the bed would be, too.

    The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel's location cannot be beat. The breakfast is wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    This hotel was like stepping into a fairytale!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stepping into the hotel was like stepping into a fairytale! The hotel was charming. The staff was excellent. The cathedral across the cobblestone square fromthe hitel was breaktaking!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    quite lovely family-run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hotel garage because of the pedestrian zone. Noise from outside at night, but not too much(even we were provided earplugs... very considerate~!). Breakfast room is not connected within the hotel building. But all these are just minor ones.

    Perfect location for sightseeing, cozy, lovely and clean room, kind staffs, parking coupon for discounting, simple but delicious breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful stay! I've never felt more welcome and cozy at a hotel. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel right at home and the breakfast is wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    The short stay in a friendly hotel before busy Christmas market season
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room (7qm)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to shower was rather difficult as the sliding doors of the shower cabin did not open properly

    First time in this hotel in Freiburg. The room was small, clean and cosy. The location was great with good shops and restaurants near by. The hotel had its historical stamina. There was just everything in the gorgeous breakfast buffet. As it was Sunday I could not test the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    My second visit and I'll definitely be back. Good value for money, very comfortable,lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room (7qm)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lounge area where friends could be met.

    Staff were always helpful and did their best to fulfill every request. Being so close to the beautiful square and cathedral.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Great location. Excellent service. Would recommend it without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    The location of the Hotel is excellent. The restaurant faces the main square and the cathedral. The staff was extraordinarily friendly. The rooms were very nice. Breakfasts were excellent, too. This was the first stop on a 14 day trip and it got us off to a great start!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Genuinely pleasurable place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some initial confusion on how to gain entrance to proper part of hotel to get into your room - sometimes you go through restaurant and sometimes through a door off the corridor between buildings.

    Restaurant in the hotel was top notch including the breakfasts (champagne anyone?) This hotel sits on the old square and the church and daily market were wonderful. We had two very large rooms with TV's in each plus a full sized bathroom. Great and friendly staff. The owner takes pride in this property and is available to customers on a routine basis. This will be the only place I will stay on any future trips to Freiburg!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel with great customer service and a wonderful restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was incredible! We had an amazing dinner and the breakfast that was included was just lovely. The staff and customer service was wonderful and the location was perfect. We loved staying in the center of the town. The rooms were big and it was nice that there were fans in the room for us to use, as there was no air conditioning, but the fans were perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable and my favorite surprise was the tiny bag of Haribo gummy bears that they left on your pillows in the evening! We will most certainly be staying at this hotel next time we are in Freiburg!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed the stay here and would definately come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing was Wifi signal could have been better, seemed to dropout a bit when not at desk in room.

    Very nice room with excellent view and central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Good central location, comfortable accommodation.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking available only in public building outside the pedestrian centre but directions to it are are clear and it's only a short walk from the hotel. Website could make it clearer that some rooms are in rear annex not in building opposite the Munster.

    Very central location; we stayed in the annex which doesn't have as good views as the main building & restaurant right on the Munsterplatz, but it's an easy walk round the corner. Attractive restaurant and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    We had a 1st class experience at this hotel and it enhanced our few days in Freiburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wonderful staff in the breakfast room and all the housekeeping staff made our stay a delight. Our room was large and beautifully furnished and maintained - and very clean! Loved our stay and would recommend this hotel. The location is superb with many restaurants and shops at your doorstep. I have read where the bells of the cathedral opposite, have bothered some guests, but we were not disturbed by them in the least.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Pleasant and nice staff, great location, very clean rooms,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room (7qm)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pleasant and nice staff, great location, very clean rooms, quiet, affordable prices. Breakfast was in their restaurant right next to the grand church. It seems to be a very notable restaurant in the city. Thank you, I was very satisfied with my stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Location was great and staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessibility for people traveling with car and lots of luggage is difficult given location in pedestrian zone. However if mobility is not a challenge, the location is ideally situated in middle of the old city on a beautiful large public square.

    Location was great and staff was very friendly. Great experience!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed our time in Freiburg and at the Hotel Oberkirch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the whole experience and will return

    Roads closed due to work in the town and their usual parking not available but they found a place for us in their private garage. Good breakfast and restaurant, helpful staff, lovely old building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    It's a lovely hotel, super clean. Love, love the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an issue. Our car was too big for the garage. I had chosen the hotel as it was supposed to have an on site garage. Think a note needs to be added that larger cars are excluded. There was an additional cost for the car park. Also very difficult to navigate to the hotel, to drop luggage off.

    Great location and lovely rooms. Loved the bathrooms and the bath robes/slippers. Great breakfast too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    The location is fantastic, the Freiburg Munster is literally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel consists of 2 building which are not connected. In our case we had to move through the restaurant on our way from/to our room. The restaurant and terras were very busy during day and evening so we as passing hotel guests felt ourselves a kind of nuisance for the restaurant staff. The address of the hotel in the Booking.com App is the restaurant, and not the hotel reception!

    The location is fantastic, the Freiburg Munster is literally an arm length away. We had a nice room on the 4th floor, almost a suite. The front room contained a writing table and a sofa and over looked the Munsterplatz while the sleeping area was at the back which was much quieter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all good. The cathedral bells might be a problem to some but not to us. It made the experience all the more enjoyable.

    Superb location. Had a room that overlooked the cathedral square which was delightful. Beautiful room, excellent breakfast and the service from the staff was consistently helpful, friendly and hospitable. Would recommend without reservation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    At the heart of Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location opposite Freiburg Munster. Historic and full of character. Good restaurant and breakfast buffet. Ask for a room towards the market and watch the stallholders set up in the morning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Welcoming Hotel - Cathedral Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door lock is difficult.

    The staff was very helpful and personalized our visit. Cathedral view room was cool on a very warm day. The evening menu- after 1830- featured Chapperelle mushroom and was delicious and large portions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Best place in the city in my opinion.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best place in the city in my opinion. Long history and luxury which you can feel. Absolutely perfectly organized staff, very friendly. The location could not be better – right in front of the lamazing Cathedral and beside the Historical Merchants' Hall completely destroyed during II WW. Cuisine typical for this region with nice beverages. Every morning you can take a part in local market to eat or buy some local products. Hotel is located on pedestrian area, but for a short stay you come to the hotel (their parking is very small I believe 5 places).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable room, really helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be warned, the Minster is in the middle of the square. And the bells ring at 8.

    The hotel was in the heart of the city. It was a lovely place to sit outside and eat your evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Great location --- we had a lovely room overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue is the noise from the bells ringing every 30 mins -- which is a problem when you have your window open overnight due to no aircon

    Great location --- we had a lovely room overlooking the Church --Very friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    We loved the hotel, staff and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It lacked air conditioning when it was very hot and a public area downstairs so opening windows was very loud.

    We loved the hotel, staff and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Old-German charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The restaurant closed on Sunday evening

    No minibar. Comfortable. Home from home feeling. it was modern but somehow captured the traditional old German charm. Its location on the Munster Platz was right in the heart of the old town. the staff couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location on a plaza with beautiful old church and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little warm.

    Perfect location on a plaza with beautiful old church and hotel restaurant right below! The hotel staff were exceptional and even found us some ice which was almost a miracle in Germany!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay - hope to be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a thing

    Beautiful, clean hotel. We loved the historic area & that it couldn't be easier to walk the city. It was right on the square where the Minster is situated. Also loved that a nice breakfast was included. Everyone who worked here was friendly & helpful too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Centrally located well maintained hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was centrally located, great restaurant in and around the area, great shopping. The staff was excellent, room very clean. The church bells did ring during the day but they were quiet at night and closing the windows dampened the sound sufficiently for a person like me that hates noisy areas. We had the room with the sitting room and it was very nice. There was water and fruit waiting when we arrived, and they served an excellent breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.0
    We were in the center of the church square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the center of the church square. Every morning there is a farmers market and all the locals gather to shop and visit. The church bells ring on the hour and before Mass. It is charming. We stayed in the building annex. A nice private apartment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    One of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, its awesome.

    One of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The staff are so friendly and helpful from the moment you arrive to the time you leave. Breakfast is outstanding and the restaurant attached to the hotel is not to be missed. Even if i did not like Freiburg which by the way is awesome i would come back to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Located in an adorable part of town, easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in an adorable part of town, easy access to everything that we wanted. Front desk was great at recommendations for excursions. The bed was incredibly comfortable, although there is so much to do around Freiburg you barely need it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Warm friendly place to place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fan in the bathroom, which turned on automatically with the light, was extremely noisy.

    THE BED WAS COMFORTABLE AND THE ROOM A GOOD size. We enjoyed opening the windows and hearing the sounds of the city (Some may find it loud), and while we could hear people walking home at night, we could also hear all of the wonderful baskers. Great location, enjoyed the breakfast, friendly and helpful staff and clean and attractive accomodation. Would stay there again and would recommend the hotel to a friend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    first i liked the hotel is located in historical place, and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    first i liked the hotel is located in historical place, and all hotel is historical but new .And the employees are very helpfull.And i will never forget the the restaurant for breakfast also, i feel like i am in 19thcentury.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for a refurb. It did reopen in the evening of our departure day.

    Great location. Nice old German hotel. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.3
    A Really Nice Long Birthday Celebration Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pretty much nothing, but we didn't realise we would have to put outside clothing on to go out and around the block for breakfast in the Hotel restaurant on the square, that only accepted dinner table bookings at limited fixed hours, sittings if you like, a little strange.

    All the staff and the owner were very amenable, and would assist in any query or request, and treated us with care and respect at all times. ALL the staff seemed to be multilingual, so cold converse with all, well mostly all Languages (Mexican Spanish was a little of a grey area.). I hope we have the opportunity to return and stay with them, our visit was a rare treat.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.8
    Good traditional German hotel with the usual deficiencies!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    German beds split down middle. Lightweight (single) duvets and single inadequate pillows. Until we arrived we had no knowledge unique restaurant (central to our decision to stay there) was shut Sunday nights.

    Charming traditional hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.9
    Good location for city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a junior suite. The bed was extremely firm- which may suit some! Also there was no headboard which made reading in bed uncomfortable.

    Excellent central location within 10 minutes of train station and transfer bus from airport. Very good breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    If you're staying Freiburg, you need to stay here and only here. Period!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi was my only minor complaint, as it was a bit slow/spotty at times although it still more than got the job done. But that's very minor, especially with such a great location, staff, restaurant, and charm!

    The staff, from the front desk to the restaurant, was top-notch. There's a particular young lady at the restaurant that served us each time we ate there (3x!) that my wife and I loved, and who alone made the stay worth it. It's location is incredible to for access to the train, shopping, food, history, and more. If/when we're back in Freiburg, the *only* place we'll stay is the Hotel Oberkirch!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    GREAT HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room not in front of the cathedral (not clear when booking), but was absolutely not a problem. Need to walk 1 minute outside to have breakfast

    Great staff, wonderful new room and quality breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic location, comfortable room and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room (7qm)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There didn't seem to be a communal lounge area where I could meet friends.

    My room was very comfortable, larger than I expected. Very attentive staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Loved Freiburg and the surrounding areas. Would happily return to Hotel Oberkurch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cathedral bells rang throughout the night on one night.....must have been a special event. Earplugs were provided by the hotel!

    Extremely clean room, staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location in the centre of the old city

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Great choice (local vibe)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the "hotel" is different than the entrance to "guest house". Access would be a bit tough for older people.

    Location is awesome (had a view onto the cathedral) and its own restaurant was the best I could find for the local cuisine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice for solo traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room (7qm)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only problem was that the wifi was not reliable in my room. I didn't say anything to the staff, though, so that's my fault.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself is the kind that I like...small, not chain-owned, with character, and the best location possible for exploring. Bathrooms are top notch, too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic in every manner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got a little warm and we needed to open the windows - be warned the old city is very noisy!

    Fantastic location, staff and room - best stay of our trip

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Nothing too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The range of breakfast food could have been greater.

    Every small detail was taken care off, I was even given a bottle of water to take out on a very hot day. There was always fruit and water in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    A wonderful window onto Freiburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room, which overlooked the square, had a lovely view of the cathedral and other sights but the nightlife was quite noisy.

    The location on the cathedral square was right in the middle of the best of Freiburg. The room was beautifully furnished and the staff most helpful. The hotel's outdoor cafe and indoor restaurant were terrific.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Hotel Oberkerch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy with the bells from the church going off.

    Rooms were a good size, breakfast was nicely done and the coffee great. Location was easy to get around and to get to from the train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Central Located, Spacious Room, Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is nice,yet in the pedestrian city center, hard to reach with huge luggages. The partner garage is another difficulty as it's in a screct place need drive thru an overpass in 2nd floor. Better contact them to find the way when arriving. Rests are perfect!

    Located in the center of old town & just opposite side of cathedral, we could even enjoy the view of church from room window. staff is really nice and efficient,! Check-in within 1 min. They warmly led us to the room and introduce facilities. We booked a suite room with extra bed, the room was well set-up according to our requirements bfr arriving. And the room is very nice, one spacious bed room in dutch classic deco, one living room in lovely deco, and a small walk-in entrance. Though old building, has a spacious lift. A luxury restraunant on ground floor with nice Swabian cuisine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    A beautiful and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea making facilities would have been the icing on the cake.

    Beautiful hotel with excellent and helpful staff. Restaurant and breakfast very good with great selection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Plenty of character and great location, but beware of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plenty of character and great location, but beware of the very frequent cathedral bells, which is one hazard of being next to the top attraction. The ear plugs provided were both useful and necessary but the daily markets in the square are a great compensation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast + location + charme of the hotel and the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have been nice as it was very warm in freiburg and humidity was quite high in the room. However there was a fan which made it more pleasant.

    Breakfast + location + charme of the hotel and the city

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.9
    Location was convenient for city center walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public parking is a 10 minute was walk. Also, the cathedral next door starts ringing the bells for about 20 minutes before 7 each morning. Beautiful, but very loud and does not allow for any sort of sleep in.

    Location was convenient for city center walking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is right in the middle of town on the cathedral square. It's an easy walk from the station, in a great location, with the city bustling all around you. It's well worth opting for a room overlooking the cathedral, and the morning markets. Yes, the bells do chime, but we manged to sleep with the windows shut. The room was of a good size, and was well appointed. The only negative is that the rooms do need better air conditioning or cooling - it is very stifling on warm days with the windows shut. Breakfast offered plenty of options and could be taken out on the square. Staff were friendly and helpful and offered assistance when required. We enjoyed our stay, and would readily recommend the hotel to you.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.5
    nice hotel but not easy accesible by car if you come here for the first time. Airco is anno 1960..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to reach by car. car free zone so we had to park outside and ask directions at the lobby for public parking (at 12 euro this is very expensive for one night). Room on third floor was very hot. Airco is (very) old fashioned. bathroom ok

    friendly personel. Nice location.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Oberkirch traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: