Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ochsen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstr. 12, 89188 Merklingen, Germany

#2 of 2 hotels in Merklingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 434 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for a stop off as so close to autobahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking allowed in bar

    Great location for a stop off as so close to autobahn. Nice modern hotel. Bar nice but unfortunately allows smoking. Got some free beer vouchers which was nice. Restaurant very good and ok value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and comfortable room, amazing breakfast, very kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not great, it worked, but was a bit slow and kept disconnecting.

    Very nice and comfortable room, amazing breakfast, very kind and efficient staff. All in all a great little hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    A joy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have garbage bags in the garbages. One of the exits from the autobahn was closed due to construction, would have liked the mention to get off an exit prior instead of after...

    Loved that the restaurant was lovely but with reasonable prices and adjacent playroom for little ones. Loved that the room was ready with extra baby bed when we got there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, shame about the bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is expensive and the food quality was poor. Breakfast was average, the eggs and coffee were both cold. The hotel bar was very "smokey" and unsuitable for the children even to nip in and claim their free drinks. In today's society this is unacceptable.

    Great location for a stop over, just off the motorway. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    It was our second stay after a visit to Legoland and our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind

    It was our second stay after a visit to Legoland and our expectations were fully met. Excellent hotel with great amenities and staff, we did not even look for alternatives

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Awesome hotel, just make sure not to book a room on the top floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat of the room

    At the top floor tou need the airco on the whole night which is a little bitsy noise. We could move down but there was a wedding party going on, which could be a little bit more noisy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Fair priced, great location stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much. If I have to say anything the room décor in the family rooms is a bit dated but in no way expired.

    Excellent stopover just off motorway on way to Austrian Alps. Family room was comfortable, food was excellent and well priced, service helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really, absolutly nothing.

    Everything was great. In fact, Booking only had a 4 person room left but we had three people and we explained that to the staff and she took the nonexistant 4th person charge off so we only paid for the three of us. That was not expected but great customer service. Also, I showed up to breakfast an hour early because i was up and intended to just read for a while and wait for the others. The lady was halfway through making breakfast and immediatly stopped and asked if i wanted coffee and made then brought brought me a pot and cup... Great again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.1
    offered a complimentary drink at bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar extremely smoky - long wait to order drink and even as soon as we had our drinks we went in the hall outside the bar we were thoroughly impregnated with smoke

    offered a complimentary drink at bar

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel close to motorway, perfect for a night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome at the reception could be a bit friendlier. It did not give us a very warm feeling.

    Nice hotel, close to the motorway. Good restaurant with nice meals. The room was spacious and clean. We would certainly visit the hotel on our next trip!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    Good value stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We used it as a stopover on our way south through Germany, so we didn't really explore the local area.

    Nice spacious room (we had a travel cot with us), great staff, free drink in the bar given on arrival and a great breakfast. Also liked the slide and climbing for our son!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to dislike.

    Everything was great! Staff, breakfast, rooms, AC, minibar, parking, EVERYTHING - it was very comfortable. I will DEFINITELY stay here again any time I'm in Merklingen 😊

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    8.8
    Great place to stop near Ulm - excellent food and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More free water in the room: the bottle provided free was too small for four of us so we had to pay for a second small bottle from the fridge.

    The room was very clean & comfortable, the food excellent (the breakfast buffet was particularly good) and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    One of the best hotels between Stuttgart and Ulm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Located close to the highway, in a very beautiful and peaceful village. The breakfast was tastefull, the comfort and cleaniness of the room were excellent. Try to visit their restaurant as well, very good food and the staff tried to help us and makes us feel comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.9
    Excellent food, rooms rather small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room was OK with a reasonable selection but no fresh juices. I do not like Orange Juice from a bottle. The rooms are small and very few have baths as well as a shower so be careful what you reserve.

    The restaurant is just fantastic with very high quality food, nicely presented. It could be improved with cloths on the table rather than just bare wood tops.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As nice as the room was, the floor we were on was literally made of wood underlayment. On itself not an issue, but with two kids running around we kind of felt sorry for our downstairs neighbors... Without kids it wouldn't be a problem. Internet is offered but in our room the coverage was minimal. Also, in the period we went (july 16) they were doing roadworks about 3km away. Do follow the road signs and NOT your navigation! Just a hint!

    Nice room and a quick check in. The staff speaks multiple languages and is friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    A nice hotel in a very convenient area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism I have is that that bar allows smoking, and the room really stank of stale smoke, it wasn't a place we as non smokers with children wanted to stay in, and we left as soon as the first cigarette was lit. The problem then was there is not really anywhere else to go and sit and relax in apart from the room. We were little disappointed with that aspect but as I said, the rest of the hotel is faultless .

    Lovely room (201) although if I'd been in the room below the floorboards creaking would've drove me mad..! However, the rest of the room was perfect, and the shower was nice and powerful. The staff were very friendly and most helpful, the food at the restaurant was excellent and good value.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.6
    Excellent historic hotel with modern amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually, absolutely nothing comes to mind

    Well-appointed historic business-oriented hotel, excellent rooms, nice staff, great breakfast. We stopped by on the way from Legoland to France and would stay here again if we are back to the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beside the cleaness and food got something for soul as well,a new testament on the side of the bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent restaurant with a wide variety of local and international dishes
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great restaurant - local "spaetzle" were especially good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Parking, staff, vouchers for a drink as a welcome gift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, staff, vouchers for a drink as a welcome gift

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Good comfort hotel and very close to the highway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good comfort hotel and very close to the highway. Qualitity breakfast and good bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Good for overnight stay and excellent modern restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much, just a little expensive.

    Location, parking and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Very nice and comfortable hotel and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and comfortable hotel and facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Very near to the highway, well organized, everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very near to the highway, well organized, everything was prepared as requested, nice breakfast and friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    A Gem of a Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good restaurant and spotlessly clean rooms. Easy parking and lovely location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    We had dinner in the hotel restaurant - great food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything as expected

    We had dinner in the hotel restaurant - great food and fantastic service Easy access from autobahn

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel for a business traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really really nice hotel. Nothing to fault it on.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    the location of the hotel is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a free drink but the bar was closed when we came and we could not use the voucher in the restaurant.

    the location of the hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Alles tip top OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roken in de bar

    Alles tip top OK

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    Excellent choice for a stopover. Would happily stay for longer if visiting area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar didn't open until 18-30.

    Friendly Welcome, convenient for Motorway but not too close. Restaurant good. Kettle in room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    To our joy there was a kettle for making tea in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV could have worked better. We couldn't change channels.

    To our joy there was a kettle for making tea in the room. (plus tea and coffee)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Great hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    /

    Friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast. Clean and comfortable rooms!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    bed is very big and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed is very big and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    It was such a beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was such a beautiful place!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    excellent accomodation and very friendly owner and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location and excellent food with good parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Very nice family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, excellent dinner, friendly staff and very close to the autobahn on our trip to Austria

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Great choice for travelers by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Rooms are great, interrior architecture is stunning. Very good restaurant. Lovely staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent restaurant and great welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Excellent restaurant and great welcome

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Excellent stop over. Would be nice to visit for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was excellent. Reception arranged for two extra pillows - very much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.9
    Great location for travelling to Austria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for travelling to Austria. we have used this hotel a couple of times. This time we felt the service was not as good as previous occasions. The restaurant was fully booked and the bar was closed for a private function. Not a problem if we had been advised beforehand.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    9.2
    The evening meal was excellent with a good choice of menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The evening meal was excellent with a good choice of menu. The old building was modernized in good taste and the room was more uptodate than we expected.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Perfect stopover as we were on-route to Austria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect stopover as we were on-route to Austria. The restaurant was excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast varied and plentiful and the room was ideal.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable with a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms and shower room are a little small and the aircon is difficult to set up.

    The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable with a good restaurant at sensible prices. The breakfast selection is particularly good. The staff were helpful and friendly and made an effort to understand our poor German.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    We stayed just 1 night as a stop over of a long journey and...
    • Family with young children

    The pillows (very flat)

    We stayed just 1 night as a stop over of a long journey and it is ideally located not too far from the motorway. Staff is friendly, rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is very good.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.2
    Location near motorway, ideal for an overnight stop, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family room just a little bit on the small size for 4 people

    Location near motorway, ideal for an overnight stop, nice family room, air conditioning, friendly staff, reasonable price for the quality, good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Clean, spacious rooms, friendly staff and AMAZING food at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The outside area smelled unpleasant. Not sure if this was just due to nearby farming, roadworks or garden fertiliser?

    Clean, spacious rooms, friendly staff and AMAZING food at cheap prices. The restaurant meals (including room service) are high quality, generous and cater well for children. The breakfast was lovely too. Great place to stay for a couple of nights (we were visiting Legoland). Staff speak good English which was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    10
    After along drive with a poorly baby it was great to turn up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    After along drive with a poorly baby it was great to turn up here. Lovely room, cot all made up ready. Mini bar that was reasonably priced and a complimentary drink from the bar. We ordered room service, it was an excellent meal, home made pasta served with tasty and beautifully presented salad. A really excellent meal. It was a lovely hotel and would highly recommend it and visit again. Breakfast was excellent too.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    10
    Everything, we had a great stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything, we had a great stay !

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.6
    Ideal location on route to Austria with excellent facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ideal location on route to Austria with excellent facilities amd helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    9.2
    Authentic hotel with modern comfort and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Smoking in the hotel bar anno 2016.

    Authentic hotel with modern comfort and very friendly personelle

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    Very helpful staff, good parking and great food
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Smoking bar made it impossible to stay and enjoy a beer.

    Very helpful staff, good parking and great food

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.8
    The facilities are very new and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The facilities are very new and clean.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, clean and neat hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room at the back of the hotel was pretty noisy due to traffic.

    Very friendly staff, clean and neat hotel. Nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.2
    great location to break long journey, v close to motorway,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    great location to break long journey, v close to motorway, lovely restaurant, delicious breakfast, good size family room

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Nice place to spend a night after driving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice place to spend a night after driving. Near autobahn.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.2
    Air conditioned room and a super breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioned room and a super breakfast buffet. All round little gem. Would definitely stay again and will aim to do so on the return journey.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.6
    Service from staff, great breakfast and dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Notthing

    Service from staff, great breakfast and dinner! Good option for Legoland!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.8
    Nice place very near the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice place very near the motorway. Great for one night stopover. Got a free drink from the bar which was a bonus!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    They were very helpful after a long drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it was a great place to stay

    They were very helpful after a long drive

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.2
    Easy to find and park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Easy to find and park Cleanliness Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    7.5
    We have slept well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Guest in the hallway are easily heard.

    We have slept well. The location was an excellent location for our stopover to Austria.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: