Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of OSTEL - Das DDR Hostel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Wriezener Karree 5, Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, 10243 Berlin, Germany

#494 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1211 hostel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was big with a nice balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The locks on the room doors were really loud, you could hear people returning from clubs in the morning and opening their doors in the hallway. A hairdryer would have been a nice addition.

    The room was big with a nice balcony. I liked the DDR decor. The staff were very friendly and happy to speak English. The Ostbahnhof and Berghain are within a few minutes walk. There is a cozy little cafe serving a lovely cheese tray breakfast next to the Netto in front of the hostel, perfect for a good breakfast after a night out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    bom bom bom ...
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a very small room for the same price a much bigger room would be. The design of our room was very meager. Make sure to ask for a big room !!! There are some great rooms, but the picture we saw at the booking and what we got did NOT match at all!

    Die Lage ist fast im Berghain. Lot's of clubs near by. Metro and shopping very close.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    If you are a fan of the GDR period, this is a good hotel to stay for a couple of days, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just that there is no lounge/cafe/bar for people to mingle with in the reception which could be a nice addition

    this place is what it is, a lodging that pays tribute to the GDR Period; it is basic, however it is exactly what you are looking for if you are interested in the experience. Make sure you book a room in the 4th floor or under as wifi only reaches there in rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Close to ostbahnhof train station and Berghain night club...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in the centre of Berlin but only a short S,Bahn trip away

    Close to ostbahnhof train station and Berghain night club but a bock away so not too noisy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors were really noise so you feel everything that is going on outside your room. The rooms get really hot and they do not have air conditioning

    The location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.8
    Nicely decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet connection. We stayed on the top floor, and there was no connection in our room at all! Not a pleasant area to stay. Cold atmosphere inside the hostel.

    Nicely decorated room. Comfortable beds. Very close to underground station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    I like a lot the position of the hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like a lot the position of the hotel! Its in a very good area for me! The conditions are not luxus....but they are direct proportional with the money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    We were moved to a low level room when the receptionist saw...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe takeaway coffee could be free instead of having a charge?

    We were moved to a low level room when the receptionist saw we had a our 2 year old with us which was really helpful. Shared bathroom was right across the hall from our room. The room was very spacious and the theme was cool. There is a courtyard playground on the inside of the building. We also ate at the DDR restaurant in the same building which we found good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Good if you want something a little different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning standards could be improved, there was a bit of dust on things in the room. The price of the room was a little expensive given the location and standard of accommodation on offer.

    Having an interest in the DDR, we had wanted to stay here for a while. The location is very convenient for public transport, with the railway station only across the road. The east side gallery is a few minutes walk away too, which is a bonus. We had our own private bathroom, this was separate from the room like the shared ones are. The bed was comfortable and despite the recent heatwave the room was an ok temperature. Being a themed hotel it might not be for everyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    Book only if is your last chance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchen and the hostel was in general in a very bad shape. One bathroom with one toilet and one shower is not enough for 5 to 6 rooms per floor (also very dirty and dark bathroom), questionable neighborhood

    The room was nice, a 70's like room very clean, very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Overall good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Fans were provided and it was pretty hot in afternoon. Though there was window which helped for room to stay cool in night.

    Proximity to Ostbahnof Station, comfort of mattress

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience; not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood can be quite shady at night. It was summer when I stayed, and there were no fan in room. It could get really warm and stuffy in the room. The air was very stale. Had a very bad sleep. On top of the bad sleeping experience, it did not help the staff was very defensive about the facilities the DDR hostel was providing. The lady mentioned that it was a DDR hostel, so they do not provide fan. I am pretty sure East Germany had fans in their era? The idea of Ostel is good, but maybe it can stop hiding behind the DDR concept to not improve the facilities of the hostel, considering the amount we had to pay for 2 nights. I was expecting a better service and better facilities with the amount they charged. Definitely not worth the price.

    The location of the place is good. Close to the one part of the Berlin Wall and near the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    The room was really big and clean and there was a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really big and clean and there was a balcony. The design reminded me my childhood and I felt some kind of nostalgia. Location is great, just 5 minutes walk from Berlin Ostbahnhof and near the East Side gallery and the Wall. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were happy to stay there:)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    Only stayed because all other hostels in the city were full. Overpriced. Dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom. Only one per 5 rooms. Not very clean. Interior needs to be repaired. Next to night clubs so loud bass can be felt until morning. No outlet near the bed. No elevator. Entrance in the rear of building so access after dark feel unsafe. The staff didnt even acknowledge me when I checked out.

    Comfy bed. Close to train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    The location is perfect because most trains (metro as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not clean and it has no ventilation to get rid of the water vapor from the guests who showered there previously.

    The location is perfect because most trains (metro as well as long distance trains) stop at the nearby railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    great location, friendly personal, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    shared toilet with 2 or 3 other rooms - long waiting in the morning

    great location near Ostbahnhof, original DDR furniture (reminds of the cult film "Good bye Lenin") friendly personal, good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Very original hotel on a quiet perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - our room was on the 6th floor which can be a challenge with no elevator - no wifi on the 6th floor - we stayed for 4 nights but no cleaning or clean towels

    - location, around the corner of trainstation and close to nice bars, hotspots - quiet street, no cars, just the sound of birds on the morning - park your car for free - very spacious room with original interior - comfortable bed and big extra sofa and table - spacious bathroom - breakfast cafe and supermarket around the corner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    It was good.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was good. Really big room with windows for both sides of building. Nice and clean bad and it's always the most important. Quite, it's always good as well :) I got a good sleep. It's good to try for sure. If you don't mind share toilet it's good option. It's walking distance to Warschauer Straße and all the restaurants and pubs there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    Strange man
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't helpful when we wanted to make a complaint as a stranger walked into our room in the middle of the night while me and girlfriend where in bed... outrageous I would like to ask for a refund as it is out of order for someone to come in my room at late night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    good value for your money. OK location, easy to get to and from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls are pretty thin, and almost any noise from the neighbors can be heard loud enough to become a bother. Also, no TV, if that's important to you. It kinda feels they hide behind the DDR theme to refrain from upkeeping the place

    cozy rooms, we had a private bathroom in the same room, from the other reviews I hear we were really lucky.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Basic but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on top 6th floor and there was no lift. And wifi didn't work in room but was fine in the little foyer downstairs. But these were minor issues.

    My room was big and airy with private bathroom in room and loved the character. East Berlin during Cold War. Staff helpful and location good and quiet. Easy access to railway station and other parts of Berlin. Restaurant on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.0
    Only if you are tight on budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, It has no elevators, the bathrooms are outside your room, there is literally no place to put your clothes. You wont get your room made during your stay, also you are stuck with the same towel you got on the first day for the whole stay. Also the shower sink flooded.

    It is kinda cheap, the rooms are big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location at night is very very sketchy. The hotel could try to improve light by asking the city to light up the street better or just adding more lights on the hotel wall. A little overpriced too. No elevator and small rooms. The decoration of the rooms could be improved too. Bathroom separated from the room.

    Nice location. Close from East side gallery and metros. Nice DDR deco in the lobby. Receptionists nice too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Retro style cozy place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no lift in the building. If you carry big luggage it is recommended to ask a room in lower floor in advance. In my case I could arrange it by a call.

    The room was decorated in cute & retro style with some books from DDR period displayed.There was even a classical radio still working in the room. I loved it! I booked a double room and it was spacious enough with bathroom inside (It seems there are different types of rooms). The staffs were all helpful and friendly. It is located near from S-Bahn Ost Bahnhof and you can find a supermarket and cafes around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    The rooms were very clean, the bathrooms too.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfirtunately, rooms at the 5th and 6th floors are not very easy to acces since there's no elevator.

    The rooms were very clean, the bathrooms too. The vintage decoration was lovely. The location of the hotel is superb, close to the metro station, to the east side gallery and to the downtown.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Interior decoration was very nice and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Several noise from other rooms next to ours and room smelled weird when we arrived.

    Interior decoration was very nice and the location was perfect. Right next to East Side Gallery and train station with connections to all Berlin including city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Interesting, worthwhile, but noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    En suite bathrooms would be very good, one bathroom / toilet between four rooms per 'unit' is too few, and people obviously use them any time of night, so there's constant door banging on top of entering rooms. The main problem with the hotel is noise, there are no carpets or anything to muffle the noise, it's linoleum floors and wallpaper on concrete, so it's noisy. Just a thin carpet on the hall floors and/or some sealant around the door frames would make a difference.

    It was 'fun', an interesting place, but as you'd guess with Ostalgie, it's spartan.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    WiFi was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not perfectly clean. But it’s not the worst one for hostel.

    WiFi was perfect! It was the warmest room during my 5d Germany trip! Thanks for this! Good location if you fly from SXF. Friendly staff. Quiet. Food shops are nearby. There was absolutely adorable old radio in my room - unforgettable experience :):)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.2
    The room was authentic DDR but with little attention to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was authentic DDR but with little attention to detail. The comfort level was very low. It was cold in the room and the worst was that the walls are super thin. We woke up many times and it was hard to sleep due to the noise of the neighbors. Overall the hostel is ok for a hostel. The reason why I rate low is that it's highly overpriced and not worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Great for short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the bad luck of having loud guests around that would slam the doors every time they would go somewhere. Including in the middle of the night, otherwise everything was great.

    Great interior and great design! It was amazing for a one night stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely designed room and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no room cleaning service during the stay and also, there is no a refrigerator in the room.

    I really liked retro interior decoration of the room. The location is great, very close to a train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.7
    DDR Kitsch is fun.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No toiletries. very thin blankets. Heating did not work in the first room I got, luckily I was able to change the room. Private bathroom but in the hallway. Overpriced compared to other Berlin options.

    DDR Kitsch is fun. Very close to S-Bahn.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Enjoy East Berlin in DDR comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kettle/in roon coffee/tea facilities would be great.

    My second stay here. Well located for anyone wanting to explore East Berlin with the bonus of the DDR kitsch theme which really works. Decent sized rooms, good bathrooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    We stayed two nights at the hostel in a private double bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the 6th floor and there were not lifts just stairs, so a long way up! Besides, we did not have internet connection due to the range. The only place with WiFi was near the reception and there was not a tv in the room.

    We stayed two nights at the hostel in a private double bed room. The place was very clean and the staff was very friendly. (They solved most of our questions). The bedroom had a lot of space and it was very warm. Despite the toilet was shared with people on the same floor, it was always clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, lovely people, amazing decor!! Highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't know we had a shared bathroom, so this was a bit of a surprise, however we really did not mind, the bathroom was super clean! (and I should have read the small print..!)

    The staff were amazing, the location was perfect. Supermarket close by, train station & bus stops outside. Loved it!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall I had a positive experience, easy check in and out,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t aware of that my privet bathroom is on the corridor (I guess I didn’t pay enough attention when I booked the room), it was a bit uncomfortable to lock my room open the bathroom every single occasion ...lol ...but it was rather funny at the end... When I asked the receptionist, how I could get to the airport she couldn’t really help, which I found a bit odd as surely I wasn’t the first one to ask question ...at the station next to the hostel I got all the information

    Overall I had a positive experience, easy check in and out, I could leave my luggage in the storage room after checkout, the room is very authentic and specious and warm, loved the decorations! location is excellent- station, grocery store next to the hotel, the east side gallery is about 10 minuets walk, Schönefeld airport 30 minuets by train- quiet area, although the walls are super thin For short stay/spend the night somewhere is perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location, bargain price, quality stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were quite thin - it wasn't noisy per se, but we could hear a loud snorer next door!

    The hostel had a great location. For those who prefer to travel on the train, it was a 2 minute walk from Ostbanhof station. This station served the airport as well as Alexanderplatz and many other places. For those who like to walk, it was approximately 30 minutes to walk into Alexanderplatz and an hour to Checkpoint Charlie. There is a large Netto store just across from the hotel where we picked up cheap croissants and juice for breakfast. The hostel had a lovely retro style as well as free wifi which was good enough for us to watch a film on-line. The bathroom was clean and the shower was very powerful. A map of Berlin and all the tourist hotspots was available from the reception desk. There was also a room full of different tourist leaflets etc. for guests to take. NB. The private bathroom is a separate bathroom but it was right next to the room and is lockable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Very nice def will be back , but with better wi-Fi situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-if connection was very poor , i was living on the 4th floor

    Location is very convenient, love the size of the room , bed very comfy and rest of it :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    nice retro german charm with vintage furniture and historic feel! great idea, loved to support this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    water spilled over from the toilet to the bathroom floor, so they had to get a plumber! not our fault, neither theirs but still slightly annoying...

    nice retro german charm and friendly staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    The girls in the reception were very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the 5th floor and the hotel haa no elevator. There is also no breakfast. The rooms were clean but we were there 5 nighta and they didn't clean it again.

    The girls in the reception were very friendly! We booked a private room and private bathroom, the room was very cute! Good location near on Alexanderplaz,and 3 mins away from Ubahn and Sbahn!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    it is a unique hotel and the GDR features also remind me of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is a unique hotel and the GDR features also remind me of 70's Middlesboro. The best thing was the location as I had an early early flight from Schoenefeld and could get there in less than 25 mins. Wifi was good and also room really clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    I'd highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were paper thin so we could hear conversations sometimes with the people staying next door.

    It was close to the train station so you could get around Berlin easily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice for DDR fetishists!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no lift so if you arrive like me from Poland laden down with quality vodkas it's a task if your room is on an upper floor (I was 5 out of 6) - but it does add to the 80's realism and is great exercise. No kettle (my biggest grumble staying anywhere in Germany where the idea you might want a cuppa in your room does not seem to compute).

    Anyone with a DDR fetish will probably enjoy this place even if it is a little kitsch. Located in a much (and wrongly) maligned DDR vintage Platenbau Ostel rooms are kitted outin all shades of glorious brown 70s/80s DDR vintage furnishing down to portraits of Erich Honecker beaming down at you as you lie in bed. It was already getting Berlin cold during my stay despite this I did not turn on the heating and had the window open during the day and was not cold, very cosy. Nice Robotron radio which worked! Ostel is just a short walk from Ostbahnhof and o a short walk too from much of what a lot of people are looking for in East Berlin.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    Easy to get from/to airport, no need to change train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private bathroom and wc was not in the room, need to walk through common hallway. Very noisy, can hear people walking and talking in neighbouring rooms. Cleaning in neighbouring rooms on sunday morning was so noisy, that I could not sleep. Mosquitoes and flies in the room.

    Easy to get from/to airport, no need to change train.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Great Value stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet and shower were together in one room so it was difficult if someone needed the toilet while someone was in the shower.

    So close to Ostbahnhof, colourful and clean, great attention to detail, not too noisy and good customer service plus great WiFi!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    The "period style".
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst all as advertised, it turns out that the DDR style isn't necessarily for me (furniture and accommodation all rather utilitarian and not necessarily the most comfortable).

    The "period style". Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Really good value for money, comfortable and friendly with good travel links
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really nice. The location was excellent and I could leave my suitcase on arrival and after I checked out so really convenient to explore and have a base. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The shared bathroom was Ok. There is a supermarket by the door so that's great too. If you get the Berlin Welcome Card you can get discounts in some shops at Ostbahnhof.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    Sufficient "budget" place where you can spend one or two nights in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is hard to distinguish what is the "conservation of DDR authenticity" and what is just poor maintenance and cost saving. In my opinion at least corridors and bathrooms urgently need painting (or heavy cleaning) and it would be nice to have wardrobe in the rooks (instead of hooks on the wall). Please note that WiFi is in the lobby only.

    Hostel is located near by the Berlin Ostbahnhof station (3 mins of walk), from where many S-Bahn and regional connections depart. Staff was kind and the price reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    There was a smell in my room, from old fabrics I think, that...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell in my room, from old fabrics I think, that triggered my asthma the first night. I then left the window open for the rest of my stay and had no more problems.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Fun place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best area and the entrance is down a little side road, street lighting was poor but obviously not the hotels fault

    Very quirky place and worth staying just for the experience. Bathroom was separate from my room but was for my use only.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Characterful hotel with great DDR era decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside toilet, local area not the nicest (but quick walking distance to Ostbahnhof station).

    Characterful hotel with great DDR era decor. Comfortable, pleasantly furnished room. Excellent value. There's a wonderful cafe for breakfast around corner towards station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Ideal place for a short stay when you want to spend most of your time in the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Volkskammer restaurant round the corner no longer does breakfast!

    The hotel is conveniently situated near the Ostbahnhof - easy access to the airport. The rooms are larger than normal for a budget hotel of the same price. I chose a double room for a few extra Euros and it was excellent value. Ostel is a basic hotel, ideal for someone who does not need all the frills of a more expensive one. The rooms are clean tidy and the staff are exceedingly helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Location close to big station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostel was eerily quiet and we did not see any other guests during our stay there. Locks on doors were old - made very loud noise when opened. Anytime a door was unlocked in the building at night we were woken up. Decor was very fitting with the theme, however was a little creepy! No bars/restaurants around hostel, but it is so close to Westbanhof station the city centre is not even 10 mins away.

    Location close to big station. Spacious room. Unique style. Right next to large supermarket Netto.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Best hostel in all of Berlin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say about this place, I loved every second of it and will definitely come back for my next visit to Berlin!

    Ostel Hostel is one of the best hostels you can imagine. The style they've kept from the 50s is really cool and the rooms are very comfortable. It's very close to the crazy nightlife of Berlin, with a lot of huge clubs and Warschauerstraße just around the corner. It's also at the back of a building, so it's quiet in the night. Ostbahnhof station is only a 3 minute walk away with great connection to the rest of the city. The staff was also very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Staff very friendly, good value and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom was shared which wasn't ideal but probably reflected in the price and we were aware of this beforehand - it wasn't a big deal and wasn't a problem for us.

    Staff very friendly, good value and good location in East Berlin - lots of good bars within walking distance. Lots of personality with the cool retro decor which we enjoyed :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Price/benefit is ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room is really small, but if you are alone and prefer single rooms to hostel bed, this hotel is ideal for you. The only thing I didn't like is the heat of the room at nights which was really cold for me.

    I especially liked the location and price/benefit ratio of the hotel. The location of the hotel is great: it is next to Berlin Ostbahnhof which make it easy to travel from/to the airport (especially Schönefeld). Also the East Side Gallery and Spree river are just around the corner. There are also good clubs around. Finally, with S-bahn, you can also easily hang around Berlin. Price was also satisfying for a single room. The room was small, but clean and good decorated. The shared bathroom was also clean, but I think I didn't have too much neighbors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Quirky and unique hotel conveniently located near attractions and transport facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a bit creaky - not something you really noticed

    Unique interior, close to s-bahn, within walking distance of eastside gallery and other attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    DDR retro styling
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect luxury, it's hostel style. Many rooms have shared bathrooms and the ones with private bathrooms are not en suite. That said it all adds to the charm.

    A quirky hotel with a nod to the DDR. Period furnishings and fittings with plenty of pictures relivant to the era. Close to the Statbahn and regional train station and a quick hop into Alexandraplatz. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Excellent value -- simple, clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited eating places. Turkish falafel and ersatz Italian. Residential area so not a touristy area.

    Convenient: located less than 5 minute walk from Ostbanhof metro station and 20 minutes from main Berlin Hauptbahnhof metro and center of town. On airport metro line. Clean premises and friendly staff. Great supermarket next door where we bought our food Excellent value. We are 'Motel 6' travelers and don't need anything fancy so this fit the bill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful. Me and my sister felt in love with this artistic room. I recomend this place for everyone. Perfect location close to Ostbahnhof station. We booked a double room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Cheap, close to train station, but no soundproofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO SOUNDPROOFING! Thanks to extremely thin walls between rooms and corridor, I had perfect audibility of the surrounding. My neighbours were very noisy until 2AM. My window was on balcony accessible from the neighbours` room and they often went there to smoke, so I could not have it open.

    Clean, very close to the train station, cheap

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Fun but needs care
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress could have been better. It was o.k for a short stay, but I was waking up with a sore back and if I had stayed longer this would have been a problem. The shower curtain was dirty around the bottom edges, but it had to be tucked inwards to avoid having water spill out during a shower. Some proper shower doors would be better. It would also be very good to have some small, simple things like a communal microwave and refrigerator so that guests buying food from the grocery store would have more options. As it is, the place is set up like a hostel but has no facilities whatsoever for budget travellers who don't necessarily want to eat every meal every day at restaurants. It was good value for the money because I had a good time and pleasant experience of Berlin while I was staying there, but rated on its facilities alone, I found the hotel/my room a bit over-priced.

    The location is excellent, as it's easy both to find one's way around on public transit and to walk around and find nice, lively pockets of action in the surrounding area. The room I had was very big and spacious, which made it nice to spend time in at the end of a long day, either listening to the retro radio or reading my book on the couch. The big windows let in lots of light and air. The water pressure in the shower was good. The staff were really laid-back and easygoing and allowed me to have a friend stay over on my last night at no extra charge on the basis that I had paid for a room that accommodates 2 people (even though I had otherwise been traveling alone). The DDR atmosphere, of course, was a unique experience, and it was good to have the grocery store, the bakery, the street food stands, and the big train station with all the useful shops and fast food nearby. It's also a really interesting spot for people-watching and entirely removed from the tourist hoardes, although people who are easily intimidated by homeless people or drug dealers might not care to stay here. I felt completely safe and nobody ever bothered me, but that element street life does exist in the area, be warned.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    modest time travel accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is one bathroom for - i think - five double rooms, making it tricky to time your shower and downright annoying if you nnnneeed to ppppppee / no separate toilet! The rooms used to make up a regular appartment, so the walls are quite thin - let's just say I knew when the bathroom was busy.

    Done up in DDR style, nice touches and details, Next to Ostbahnhof and easy to take the bus to go get something to eat late at night. The breakfast place nearby was advised, and not only was it a real nice real German (potato omelet!) breakfast, the waitress is so friendly she makes you forget it's morning...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Best location for reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payment by card was not accepted as the machine was out of order, that's what I was told. It was not very comfortable as the payment method is to me one of the most important issues to choose a hotel. The wall is too thin and you can't sleep if your neighbours are talking all night.

    Best location - a minute walk to the train station, close to the Berlin Walls, reachable to everywhere. The old school styled room in former DDR area is nice. Clean. Free Wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Staff were friendly & accommodating, free wifi was nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy in the evenings with the park behind. 70 euro seems like a lot for a shared bathroom hostel accommodation off the beaten path.

    Staff were friendly & accommodating, free wifi was nice, the water pressure was good, and it felt secure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    DDR experience was fun.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom.

    Got a real DDR experience here..it was cool. Luxury here is sparse but for €45 per night, what can one expect? The value for the money was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Inexpensive, central, clean design hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relatively late check-in as from 4 pm.

    We liked the idea of staying in this 70s design hotel and were not disappointed. The relatively big room and en-suite bathroom were very clean and quite with a view into the park-like backyard with green and trees and playground. Relatively late check-in as from 4 pm but our room was ready when we arrived at 2 pm so we could already check in without any problems. :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    70s style for today's prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress. So poor my back hurt in the morning.

    Really liked the 70s retro theme but the mattress was AWFUL. The staff were very helpful. Location was very good though for trains and budget supermarket. Also in walking distance of the East Side Wall Gallery (which I LOVED!)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Communist nostalgia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not suitable if you're looking for a boutique hotel or fancy place or if you're squeamish. Not for the faint-hearted, so to say. The hostel was quite noisy, I could hear every sound from the hall and the room next door, which made it difficult to fall or stay asleep for too long. Otherwise, nothing to complain, I knew what to expect.

    I would recommend this stay to people who are nostalgic about communism or who want to experiment that, for whatever reason. Or if the price is their main argument. Otherwise, I wouldn't exactly call this place comfortable. Being from an ex-communist country, I had a pretty clear idea what to expect from this property. While it's not exactly what you call a comfy stay or a boutique hotel, but rather austere from all points of view, it does have a kind of charm, if I can call a communist room charming. I chose this property because it is a mere 5 minutes walk to Berghain club, where I attended a concert. The location is very convenient, just 5 minutes away from Ostbahnhof, 5 minutes by train to Alexanderplatz and about 30 minutes away from Schönefeld airport. That saved me a lot of time. The staff was friendly enough (about as friendly as communist staff can be): I could check in late and it was not a problem to get an extra bed cover (the window in the room had been left open and my room was cold). I was amused by the funny overalls the receptionist wore, although he came across a bit ill-mannered to me. I was not sure if all this was intentional, to make the place seem more authentic, or if it really was the authentic thing. The whole place seems to be trapped in the early 80's DDR and, even if I am not a fan of communism, I did appreciate the effort of keeping the original furniture and decorations in a decent state. The room was unimpressive, just a simple, single-bed one with a separate private bathroom and an old-school radio which actually worked (and first thing I heard Romanian radio, which was very funny). Regarding the cleanliness aspect, the room and bathroom didn't seem to be shiny-clean, but they were a bit above decent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Theme was very accurate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy because of the real (authentic) plattenbau with thin walls and doors. No problem with earplugs.

    Atmosphere was very good and cosy, loved the GDR theme, It looked super real

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location, nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bed was large, the mattress was a little hard for my taste. The walls are thin, you could hear everything, luckily we didn't have any neighbors for most of the time. Bring earplugs. No toiletries. It's definitely more a hostel than a hotel.

    The location is perfect, right behind Ostbahnhof. The room was nicely decorated in retro style and the bed was large. Would recommend and would go there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Really good hostel with a responsive personnel, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really good hostel with a responsive personnel, excellent location near one of the best-known areas of Berlin, Kreuzberg (East Side Gallery, Spree river is not far from the hotel). Also, there's a product shop with low prices just in front of the hostel - so really great variant!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Ostalgic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, it isn't a hostel as such, we had a room in an apartment block, so it's not social and there's no opportunity for interaction with other guests, and no kitchen facilities.

    The design of the room was really good and it did really feel like we were staying in an old DDR apartment. The location is great, near to Ostbahnhof and Warschauer Strasse. We liked having our own independent access to the room too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    2nd Stay still amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have quite a horrendous dust allergy and the room was quite dusty on arrival, I had to go round with the baby wipes!

    2nd stay here and very pleased, each time we have had a nice room with amazing décor - I so want a fluffy chair on wheels! This time we had a balcony too which was a nice bonus

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    5.8
    Two nights was too long
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom which we paid extra for to have a private one was so smelly we couldn't use it and ended up using one of the shared ones Our friends paid much less for their room which was a much bigger room with better facilities.

    The decor was fab it really was like going back in time. It was close to the station

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse OSTEL - Das DDR Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: