Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Germany hotel reviews
  3. Bavaria hotel reviews
  4. Regensburg hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of L'Ostello Altstadthotel

Reviews of L'Ostello Altstadthotel

Schäffnerstraße 20, 93047 Regensburg, Germany

#6 of 66 hotels in Regensburg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 332 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    10
    Had a great stay:))
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I could mention: You could hear the traffic if you open the windows but it’s a side street. So not a big deal;)

    -Excellent location:)) 7 mins to train station, 8 mins to the beautiful old town -Very friendly staff with welcoming smile -room is cute n the Cafe Vincent is a nice spot to relax and enjoy a drink n a bite -breakfast was yummy

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    9.2
    Great location and lovely boutique hotel character.
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet is a little on the small side and the choice could be bigger and there should be more room dedicated to the buffet in the breakfast room which would make the whole experience perfect.

    Fantastic rooms in great location. Loved the bathroom and the equipment of the room. Everything I needed was there, including kettle, teas and a great mini bar choice for the late arrival. Lovely details to the interior design and a festive spirit.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spiral stairs were a small struggle but we knew that from the website and it was fine. Some street noise at night but, again, this was hardly and issue.

    Lovely breakfast served well. Characterful room in the rafters of the old building. Location is perfect - easy walk with luggage from the Hauptbahnhof and then an easy walk into the Altstadt (old town) from your perfect base.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely well presented boutique style hotel, great for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little noisy if you have a first floor room when room is occupied above

    Great little hotel, excellent location. Breakfast although limited in choice was very well presented

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    Fabulous City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location was excellent with everything within easy walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    The building was really interesting and historical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building was really interesting and historical. Our room was an attic room and really comfortable and clean. Breakfast was satisfying and you have a chance to arrange the time of your breakfast. Since it was our honeymoon they made us a beautiful surprise with a bottle of wine 😊 The hotel has a private parking lot but you need to inform the hotel beforehand and take the relevant info and remote. Thank you to the goodhumored staff, we really enjoyed our time 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    easy walk from train station and staff very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suprised at how much Saturday night traffic and late night drinkers walking home there were.

    Loved the quirky layout of room and that each room was based on a Regensburg native. Beds were very comfy and rooms airy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    8.8
    A very satisfied and happy 3 nights at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from the road when the windows are open as there’s no air conditioning in the room.

    L’Ostella is a lovely hotel a home away from hotel. Beautiful decor and wonderful hospitality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    Couldn't be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the attic room with beautiful high wood beam ceiling. The room was large and quiet when the windows were closed. Location is central to everything. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    8.8
    The rooms were stylish.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was expecting a reception to be there full time, but it is more like an apartment. Breakfast did no have much choice of fresh bakery items (e.g., croissant)

    The rooms were stylish. The floor heating in the bathroom was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cappuccino was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    9.2
    Older small hotel and very European.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator, but was on 1st floor so stairs not bad.

    Older small hotel and very European. Staff very accommodating and informative. Breakfast nice and personalized.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    Very satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A couple more English Breakfast tea-bags and little milk cartons would have been nice.

    the scrambled eggs I can't remember if you had (bitter) orangenmarmalade . But, we English like that!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    7.9
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no airco that is something that is not heard of at that price

    it was a good hotel but a bit expensive for what you got. The owner was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    10
    Danube bike trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly, welcoming owners; safe bike storage

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    10
    Great room and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great size room also good bathroom. The staff where really friendly and helpful. Wish we could stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2019

    9.2
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs are too narrow for going up with luggage.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spacious room. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Delightful boutique hotel in the heart of Regensburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Altstadt location, easy to walk everywhere. Excellent breakfast. Convenient, secure parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    Perfect location, lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owner/receptionist was so lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    Kindness, comfort and beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful place, very kind personnel, I warmly recommend this structure. Very comfortable and the breakfast are super!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    8.8
    Great stay - convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows could be more supportive.

    Really loved our stay, the location was super convenient. Amazing breakfast and super lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    9.2
    Everything was clean and comfortable, the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    didn't seem to be much sound insulation to the next room - you could hear a lot coming through.

    Everything was clean and comfortable, the location was superb, breakfast was great, and the attention to detail was excellent.

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2015

    9.2
    Location is excellent, walking distance to everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Pillow like a bag of cotton balls, breakfast is very portion controlled. I'm sure you can ask for more and get it, but self service is the norm in this price range. Can hear every little noise from the neighbouring room.

    Location is excellent, walking distance to everywhere. Welcome and staff is efficient. Interior design is well done.

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2015

    10
    Very nice clean room, nice shower/bathroom, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice clean room, nice shower/bathroom, the employees were very nice. My wife left some jewelry there, and they are mailing it back to us. We are really pleased with their honesty.

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2015

    10
    L'Ostello is a small owner operated hotel, which we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    L'Ostello is a small owner operated hotel, which we prefer. The attention to detail is evident everywhere. We particularly enjoyed the authentic interior which created an atmosphere of warmth and coziness. We consider L'Ostello to be in the top 5 of all the hotels we have ever stayed at.

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2015

    10
    This was our first time in Regensburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our first time in Regensburg. The hotel is in a great location. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    9.6
    The whole "feel" of the place was really special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were aware that no lift was available, and that staff would help with the stairs and luggage. But when it was a young woman who offered to assist, my husband couldn't accept, and was therefore left to bring both sets of luggage up to the 2nd floor himself.

    The whole "feel" of the place was really special!

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2015

    9.2
    The location is very convenient, in the old town and within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complaint was no tea making in room. This was resolved at once and electric kettle and tea supplied.

    The location is very convenient, in the old town and within easy walking distance of the train station. Staff were hospitable, helpful and kind. Nothing was too much trouble. Very good wi fi. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2015

    10
    The building is from the 1500's - historic yet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building is from the 1500's - historic yet modernized. Rooms have modern amenities and comfort in this historic setting. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Breakfasts are wonderful. Would highly recommend to anyone. Em were there seven nights.

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2015

    10
    It was very close to the train station but there was no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    It was very close to the train station but there was no noise. Breakfast was great, and the staff very helpful and pleasant. The room was beautiful. The hotel was within walking distance of all Regensburg attractions.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2015

    10
    What a nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a nice experience. Perfect location to sites in old town and close walk to train station. Friendly, helpful staff, clean, spacious room, delicious breakfast. I would recommend in an instant.

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2015

    3.8
    I cant say I liked anything, paid for 2 nights and left...
    • Solo traveler

    Completely miss guided by the previous reviews. How could this be classified as a hotel if there are no staff, a 2 hour Wifi token, a pre-packaged breakfast, all over rated and over priced.

    I cant say I liked anything, paid for 2 nights and left after 1st night to stay at the Best Western, which was excellent and much better value all round

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    10
    The lovely girl who greeted me at reception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing.

    The lovely girl who greeted me at reception! Scrambled eggs made to order! Excellent location in the city.

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2016

    9.6
    Very good breakfast, outstanding staff, beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very good breakfast, outstanding staff, beautiful and comfortable room, right in the city center! Thank you!

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2016

    9.6
    The Hotel Staff went out of their way to make us feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was a little hard to find. Get good directions.

    The Hotel Staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful room, delicious breakfast, right in the historical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful room, delicious breakfast, right in the historical part of the city.

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2016

    9.6
    Very nice and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very nice and friendly staff. Great decoration and personal messages in the room. Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2015

    9.2
    small but clean, very kind people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small but clean, very kind people.

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2015

    8.8
    Almost everything.
    • Solo traveler

    Almost everything.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    10
    historic buildings, river, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    historic buildings, river, food

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful ambience and friendly, helpful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Temporary problems with new WiFi provider. But staff had an alternative available immediately.

    Wonderful ambience and friendly, helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful place in old town.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Parking car might be an issue.

    Beautiful place in old town. Renovation made with stylish eye. Extremely good breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2015

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location Great hotel Great staff Would highly recommend

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2015

    9.2
    Great location and very large room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    A double mattress is not two single mattresses put side by side.

    Great location and very large room

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: