Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of OX Hotel

Im Stühlinger 10, 79423 Heitersheim, Germany

#2 of 3 hotels in Heitersheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 693 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Best family hotel in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is very busy, as reception desk and hotel / restaurant bar are shared. Strive to avoid arriving around meal times.

    Excellent family-oriented hotel, good breakfast. We enjoyed the family rooms, spacious, modern and clean. Good coffee with breakfast (important to us...)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    ; they let us leave one night before time ,Comfortable room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ,Nobody helped us with the luggage , the staff hardly speak english ,no safe in the room

    ; they let us leave one night before time ,Comfortable room; great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay in a typical German building with a modern style location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleening lady knocking at the door at 10:30 AM (although the "no disturb" sign was on the door handle)

    Nice location (modern style in an old guest house) and easy to reach (especially during a trip between Swiss and Germany). Clean room. Good wi-fi. Plenty of parking. Excellent place for a drink after dinner. Very good breakfast, not a top breakfast, but plenty of good food: croissants, different types of ham & cheese, tomatoes, yogurt, fresh fruit salad, muesli, hard-boiled eggs, jam, 2 types of juice, milk, water, etc.; I did not see scrambled eggs (may be on request) and freshly squeezed orange juice. Possibility to check-in up to 01:00AM.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Definately a great stop en route!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was busy on a very nice summernight so there was a great load of work for the staff serving dinner

    Great hotel, good beds frindly personel and good breackfast kn a very nice and beautifull hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Nicely remodeled gasthaus near Staufen with great beer garden and decent menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very friendly. Glass doors on bathroom and thin bath towels were detractors. Also, bed was not comfortable.

    Nice beer garden and good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Great food and nicely renovated
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't work: The staff did a reset, which didn't help. The idea was that I had to go to the manager the next morning. Some of the staff were stressed: they were very busy, hard workers. They have to run the restaurant (long opening hours) and the hotel at the same time. But with the consequence that there was little personal attention for the customer. Stress of staff doesnt create a relaxing atmosphere for the customer.

    The food in the restaurant was delicious: a 10! An excellent cook. Thanks! A nicely renovated and modern decorated hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice room and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The loftroom had no window curtain in the open bathroom, therefore bright light in the early morning hours in the room. One cannot put drinks and restaurant bills on the room anymore. This is a little annoying. Breakfast is very nice as well.

    Nice room and quiet. Plenty of parking space and a very nice terras under the trees to enjoy a warm evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Good Stay at the Ox Hotel - with one hiccup
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a table to be reserved for the evening in the special requests section on the Booking website but the hotel did not read it and did not reserve a table. The restaurant was full and they gave us a bad table by the kitchen where the waitress could not see us.

    The location is right in the center of town so easy to walk everywhere. They have a small parking lot behind the hotel but there is lots of street parking. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are clean and modern. Restaurant food is simple but well prepared. Breakfast was a good buffet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Very nice terrace with delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because there was a glass door between the bathroom (without curtains) and the room there was more light inside than in most hotels.

    Very nice terrace with delicious food. Clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.1
    Very nIce hotel with great food. Too bad for it's restaurant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly restaurant staff, very few exceptions over multiple days and meal times. Which is shame since for the rest it's a super nice place to be.

    Comfortable room and good food. Very friendly housekeeping staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    All was very fine. Easy check in & check out.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift could be an disadvantage if you come with big bags or a small child. (Didn't concern us)

    Beautiful old building transfered into the modern middle class hotel. Good food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice room
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We just stayed overnight, arriving late. The staff kindly arranged that we could easily pick keys after closing hours. Nicely moderniser old building. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Clean and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door must provide more privacy. Unacceptable for some people

    Clean and convenient location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    This hotel met our needs - good price in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good value hotel in a nice location. Great sports/swimming complex nearby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    We booked this hotel the plus-10th time for a stop on teh way to and back from Tuscany
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Friendly, good food...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Location, restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was hot due to lack of airco.

    Location, restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, no airco, and young staff who are not very customer oriented, a lot of money for what they offer

    Breakfast and dinner was OK

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Simple but cosy and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple but cosy and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    The restaurant was lovely and food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    The restaurant was lovely and food was excellent. Staff friendly too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Spotless clean, no rugs and carpets, all stone and wood,...
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotless clean, no rugs and carpets, all stone and wood, clean modern design.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    gut

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay and would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really not to like.

    Very pleasant stay and would go back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortabel hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Geen airco

    Restaurant was super

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    Okay but could be better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was efficient but the staff were unfriendly. One did not feel welcome. Furthermore the WiFi was very poor

    Food was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    VERY good hotel to stay a couple of days or to use on trip to the south
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - slow wi-fi on rooms

    - fantastic room - very nice hotel - quiet neighborhood - good wi-fi in restaurant - clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Nice hotel with a nice location !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could offer more choice

    Good location. Rooms are nicely decorated. Free private parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice and big rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet is very bad, WIFI doesn't work half the time. Breakfast is a little bit simple.

    Nice and big rooms. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    modern comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator

    Modern, comfortable hotel with good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Great stopover hotel in Heitersheim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were modern and the food was excellent. Lovely town surrounded by vines.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.9
    Very nice breakfast, fresh croissants and orange juice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet was not working very well. Would have wished more privacy on bathroom, divided from room with glass doors. Some extra space to put suitcases / clothes would be great.

    Very nice breakfast, fresh croissants and orange juice. Nicely renovated building. Fresh towels every day. Close to Freiburg yet calm. Free parking. Room with one double bed and two single beds , perfect for family. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay, staff first class, The food was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great place to stay, staff first class, The food was stunning in the restaurant please book as you check in because its very popular with local,s also great parking and very safe. The room was lovely Breakfast was lovely and relaxed well done Ox Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    Design and interior of the hotel - the enthusiasm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Design and interior of the hotel - the enthusiasm and kindness of the staff, the very good restaurant and the atmosphere during the evenings (always a 'full house').

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    5.8
    Tried to charge us for meals and drinks we did not have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tried to charge us for meals and drinks we did not have. After being grilled they rudely let us off as if they were doing us a favour. A couple of staff friendly but mostly rude.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    7.1
    Lovely hotel in a lovely little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise. It completely ruined the stay. The restruant stays open late, then the noise from people talking ( think it was the staff) and working till about one. Then at five with the kitchen getting ready for breakfast ect. May have been just that room, but it was such a shame as it could have been so nice.

    Lovely hotel in a lovely little town. Clean and comfortable friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    The breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When its hot, you have to open windows. And it gets noisy in the morning. No elevator...

    The breakfast is good. Since the hotel is operated by a restaurant, (and a good restaurant), we can simply go down stair and enjoy a good dinner!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    4.6
    We chose this hotel due to the high rating and became very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose this hotel due to the high rating and became very disappointed. This is a popular small-town restaurant with a few tiny rooms upstairs. No hotel reception, no hotel service. The only available staff are waitress who do not care for the hotel guests and cannot help with the simplest things. WiFi is not functioning at all, even at the reception! And this is to due to incorrect settings solely. But the personal does not care for this. As for the restaurant - nothing brilliant. We took a few dishes with chanterelles. Soup was ok, risotto was terrible (but chanterelles were still good :)) and the veal was mediocre (with nice chanterelles again). The dish called "salad" in this restaurant was terrifying - an incompatible mix of all sorts of fresh and pickled vegetables.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.5
    Location, local charm.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff did not speak English with very little exception. Those who go here should know that this is a Restaurant/Bar with some hotel rooms. It is not primarily a hotel with a restaurant. No priority is given to the hotel. The first night we were there we arrived by train on a Sunday. There are few other choices to eat or get food availability on Sunday. My wife and I asked to be seated. We were told all inside seating and all outside covered seating was reserved. We sat at an outside table in moderate drizzle. All the reserved seating inside and the dry seating outside under the trees was never more that 60 to 70% filled. After dinner I even watched from our room window as they closed and chained up the seats and tables outside that had reserved cards on them, but were never filled. I don't know if the people did not show up that reserved these tables or if they were reserved for locals on Sunday; I only know I ate in a light, cold drizzle while tables were never filled and was glad I brought a rain coat. I never tried getting a meal or other service here again unless I was with German acquaintance and a German acquaintance helped me check out. The staff have no time for quest checkin/out during meal time. Otherwise it was a charming local extablishment.

    Location, local charm.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    Very nice staff, good breakfast, nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Their restaurant is very popular, which is nice, but can make weekend nights pretty noisy. Our room was above the kitchen and the smell from the kitchen can be pretty strong.

    Very nice staff, good breakfast, nice rooms.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.7
    I like the interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I feel the staff are slightly arrogant and not so friendly. Don't feel welcome and don't initiate communication. sad, because I really like the place and have been there 3 times now.

    I like the interior. the modern touch. The location and the restaurant. I will come back

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the glass partition between bedroom and bathroom. Form over function. Turn the bathroom light on in the night and illuminate entire bedroom!!

    Great hotel. Loved the young staff - very cheerful and helpful. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.8
    Hotel has olde world character with attractively decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel has olde world character with attractively decorated rooms, but has all the mod cons. you need. Staff were very friendly and even my dog was welcomed. Wide choice at the breakfast buffet and the dinner I had was also enjoyable. Would definitely recommend and I will return with my partner as well as my dog next time!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    9.6
    Modern, bright rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Modern, bright rooms. Powerful showers. Extremely clean. Very impressed with quality of rooms and quality of breakfasts for the price paid. This, for our party of six, was superb value for a relaxed and comfortable three days away. The excellent coffee at breakfast along with fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread, cheese and honey made a lovely start to the day. The hotel is in a small town on a flat area near the Rhine. Easy to travel to the Black forest and equally easy to reach the lovely town of Colmar in France.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.2
    late open restaurant with special cordon blue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    late open restaurant with special cordon blue

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    9.2
    The fact we could get a late check out.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Make sure to reserve a dinner table in advance. Its busy at lunch and dinner.

    The fact we could get a late check out.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.6
    Clean room.
    • Family with young children

    Clean room. Location. Staff. Parking free. Restaurant. Everything

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.5
    Nice & young staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Nice & young staff

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.5
    Nice & young staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Can't think on anything

    Nice & young staff

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.9
    The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    The Staff and the food really very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Staff and the food really very good.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    The building and the way the owners kept a bit of the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The building and the way the owners kept a bit of the old with ahowint the original bricks. And the restaurant downstairs.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    This was our 8 stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    This was our 8 stay! Just like a little home! Great people, food, rooms!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    Great hotel, professional and helpfull staff, magnificent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Great hotel, professional and helpfull staff, magnificent food, beautifully restored modern rooms is this ancient building.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    5.0
    Very bad pillows
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very bad pillows

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    The room is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is very busy and sometimes serve very lowly for the breakfast.

    The room is very nice. Location is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    8.3
    Nice, clean rooms with devine showergel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator

    Nice, clean rooms with devine showergel

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevator to the first floor

    Very nice hotel Excellent breakfast Very welcoming and helping staff Very good restaurant in the entrance

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    Food is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food is great

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: