Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Wintererstr. 89, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#1 of 50 hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2190 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfort and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located on a hill with perfect view over the city. Rooms are exceptional clean and has all the stuff you need Breakfast is very good and too many choices to eat all of them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel & Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent, views across the city, Staff were very friendly nothing was to much trouble Facilities excellent Pool, Sauna, Solarium, Beauty Treatments we’re all available Restaurant is excellent Huge choice for breakfast The old town is a short drive or taxi ride away (about €15) Lots to see & do there, lots of bars, cafes& restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Top class hotel with excellent service, great food and stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Amazing location and view. Fantastic staff. Lovely pool. Great breakfast and great value food given that it is not ridiculously priced for a hotel and is actually excellent. I am vegetarian with high expectations and my fellow travellers are carnivores and we all agreed we ate well. Wouldn’t hesitate to go back or recommend. I believe every room has a balcony. There is not a bad view from this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Good but very expensive, if you'll need a room with a working air conditioning, that's not the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is high and it does not include a breakfast. The breakfast price is too high and does not fit the standards. The air conditioning is terrible! Although I called the reception several times to complain about the AC, they said that they'll come to look at it but they never came. If you're going to stay in a hot weather, I do not recommend this hotel as I couldn't fall asleep because of the warm that was in the room.

    The hotel is located on a beautiful hill watching at Freiburg from above. The room is clean and nice, the bed is comfortable and the staff is great. There's a small but cute pool inside with a panoramic view on Freiburg. There's a lot of parking spaces available at the place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms Air conditioning was not great (it is a water based air cooling system and not air conditioning) Limited breakfast No children activities/playground/nor kids club

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    Peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good walk to other restaurants. Hotel restaurant good but very expensive. Restaurant seems to be the place the Freiburgers use for celebrations.

    Peaceful. Beautiful view over Freiburg. Sunsets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is isolated nothing is nearby and the food is very expensive. Rooms are very small. A member of staff on the reception didn’t explain clearly the fees of the rooms booked as his English was not very good. This caused some misunderstanding in the checkout.

    The great view at the top of Freiburg. Rooms were clean, free parking available and nice coloured lights in the bedroom!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The view was superb. I enjoyed my stay there , it was a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu for dinner was a bit expensive. There was no option for light snacks. The pool area was smaller than I expected.

    The breakfast was excellent. Eating breakfast on the terrace overlooking the town was a lovely experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast is a little expensive but a fantastic spread.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small. I was traveling alone with three children (9, 6, and 4), and there wasn't room for a cot in the room, so we had to make a pallet on the floor for the youngest and cram the other three in the bed together.

    The breakfast is a little expensive but a fantastic spread. The view, of course, is spectacular. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a business hotel. I would not recommend it for a vacation. The room was small, the bathroom was very small. The restaurant was ridiculous expensive for the mediocre quality. The staff was more than ridiculous one of them said in every sentence: "Wunderbar", wich was absolute not the case.

    The view and the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    The only problem with the food was there was no variation to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem with the food was there was no variation to the menu whether in the restaurant at the bar or the pool area. By the pool it would be nice to have a cafe type of menu and the variety of food on the restaurant menu needs improvement. If you don’t like fish there is not a lot to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful food and service in the restaurant, plus excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower room a bit small. At some stage the decor will need updating.

    Wonderful food and service in the restaurant, plus excellent breakfast. Lovely views over Freiburg from the restaurant(s), bedroom and swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    wunderful location - perfect combination of city and hiking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wunderful location - perfect combination of city and hiking trip! breakfast was very good. sauna and pool very clean and not too busy. all in all: excellent stay, we will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Luxury view from the top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road up to the hotel was hard to find. Did not see any direction signs. We drove in the dark and the road up is not well maintained. Do not arrive in the dark, very narrow streets leading up to lovely location, in the end it is worth your while, but that was the only thing that was a pity.

    Lovely location from mountains overlooking the city, lovely rooms good beds, view from hotel rooms and terrace. Very extended breakfast, loved the beds. Silent, could hete the birds. Parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking would be very tight if hotel fully booked

    The stunning view, plus all rooms with balconys, very friendly staff customer service was very professional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Great view from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit out of town but the elevated viewpoint of Freiburg made up for this.

    Great view from balcony. Lovely staff. Comfortable room and good free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location. Staff friendly but distant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities. Nothing obvious in hotel where we could get refreshments. Probaby too early in season?

    Beautiful location. All rooms have balconies overlooking Freiburg and hills.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Good view, great breakfast small bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking Shower and bathroom Price of breakfast

    The shower+bathroom is very very very small. The water in the shower did not go down fast enough which was not pleasant. We asked to fix it but no change. Room is nice. Nice view. Bed is good. Staff great. Breakfast was amazing but expensive. Parking problems but staff say they will park for you. Area is excluded which is nice but each trip to the city is a hassle. For those who like hiking- great location. Pool is amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    A very decent place for visiting Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a large complex. You also have no guaranty to have a parking space very near the hotel entrance.

    Located on a hill overhanging Freiburg, at the limit of the forests / countryside with a lovely view of the city. Freiburg is really beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Go for the amazing views; Love the friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's missing a gym.

    We chose this hotel for the view and it was worth it to pay slightly more to get the amazing Freiburg landscape from our bedroom window. The staff were all super friendly and we felt really comfortable there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    I liked hotel's location, and staff friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the hard bed and shabby pillows. I used to wake up suffering a headache and neck pain. The room carpet was dusty, and there was no coffee machine or water boiler. I'm disappointed with this experience as I paid a high rate for a below average hospitality.

    I liked hotel's location, and staff friendliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    We loved the hotel and the city, it was great to be able to relax in the pool area after sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on the hillside outside the city, which is why you have the space and great views. It’s a pleasant walk down into Freiburg, but you need a taxi home at night.

    Pool and sauna facilities open 8am until Midnight. Great breakfast, friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location, really friendly staff and all round super...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bar didn’t open until 5pm, although it was no problem to still order drinks and them be brought to you wherever you are in the hotel.

    Amazing location, really friendly staff and all round super hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, our dog was also very welcome and the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, our dog was also very welcome and the location was excellent to go for long walks with nice views overlooking Freiburg, the city center of which is just a few km away

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Big cosy room with balcony for a great view of Freiburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big cosy room with balcony for a great view of Freiburg. Rich breakfast until 11am. Staffs and nice and helpful. only that it is a bit inconvenient to go up and down if you don't have a car...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.7
    Quite average, I expected more from a german hotel, especially for this price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected tooth brush, and razor in the bathroom. But nope. Luckily I got razor from reception. Also there was a barking dog in the next room. It was annoying. Parking was not nice, I had to leave my can far, and in the side of the road, not enough parkin place and lot of jerk person parked where they shouldn't park... Swimming pool was nice, but there was no chance to swim before work in the morning.

    Temperature in the room was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Lots of choice, pain au chocolate formidable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the room-although it did look extremely clean and new. However, carpets are dust catchers and somehow not vety hygienic. Bathroom on the small side

    Lots of choice, pain au chocolate formidable and the croissants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small but the access to the sauna and swimming pool sanitary equipments swept this inconvénient away

    Outstanding hotel, nicely decorated. Room with extraordinary view on the city of freiburg. Huge and super comfortable bed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice getaway on top of Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from downtown so if you don't want to have dinner at the hotel (because of the price), you should be prepare to have to drive a bit to find a restaurant/grocery store.

    Breakfast was really amazing (same goes for the restaurant for lunch/dinner, even if a bit pricy). The view was perfect on the mountains and Freiburg. The pool area was also nice after a long day walking/hiking! We highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room could be slightly better, rooms are a little bit dark.

    Wonderful breakfast and comfortable stylish rooms, very pleasant and professional staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location but a seriously long way home if you want to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really is too far out of town to be considered walking distance. My wife and I are keen walkers and the 4km uphill climb was not something to look forward to after a big day exploring town. Parking down town isn't really an option either.

    Lovely hotel with excellent staff in a very panoramic location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.0
    Find another hotel when staying in Freiburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to get to properly. Parking is on the long and windy road entering getting to the hotel. Do not drive hotel! Very inconvenient.

    Pretty hotel in the mountains

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant place, family friendly, nice heated pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpark spaces are limited. I even had another car drive into my parked car whilst I was away. However the staff were very friendly and took photos of the accident whilst I was away. Would be nice to also have a gym

    Views and location close to the forest is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location on the top of the hill with amaizing view on...
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As the hotel is on the top of the hill, walking to the city center could be problematic (~30 min) and the return to the hotel by feet wouldn’t be convininet to each one. From another side, plenty of parking lots in the city center. Have no info about the public or taxi transportation as it wasn’t relevant for us.

    Great location on the top of the hill with amaizing view on the entire city. Not cheap but really good and reach breakfast. Free parking. Friendly and proffessional staff. Pool and sauna, which are working till midnight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Staff friendly and nice spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resturant was very expwnsive and very poor food for the price. Average presentation but very average quality and no taste.

    Staff friendly and nice spa. Also nice area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed is comfortable but blanket and cushin made us sweat. Its to warm. We booked without breakfeast on purpose but the hotel added breakfeast back on the order and we had to reassure that we didn't wand breakfast at the hotel (b.t.w. Freiburg city has some really lovely location to have breakfast).

    Nice panorama pool and balcony. Very friendly personal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Underwhelming hotel in a lovely setting.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant had pretentions of being a fine dining establishment but it is not. It is overpriced and serves average, extremely salty food. The carpets in the restaurant were being replaced on 2 days of our stay - so breakfast was disorganised and in a different venue for 2 mornings. We had no warning of this when we booked and there was no reduction in the room rate to compensate. The wellness area was small and in need of modernisation.

    The view from the hotel is lovely and there is a very nice walk through the woods to the Altstad via the Schlossberg hill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable room, perhaps a little tight, had excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took 20 minutes - and two "where are our drinks?" requests - before our aperitifs arrived at our restaurant table. Plenty of staff around but not the most effective organisation that night. On a busy day you might need time to find a parking space.

    Comfortable room, perhaps a little tight, had excellent balcony view over town. Front desk was helpful with local guidance for first-time-to-Freiburg visitors and there's a general positive, cheerful air about the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    fantastic to sit back and relax with an incredible view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was spectacular with it perched on top of the hill overlooking the area you could see for miles.The staff were great and very accommodating especially the dining room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Panoramic View & Top Notch Facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was nice. Its just not centrally located so one needs to get a cab.

    city. This is like a resort type with the most beautiful panoramic view from your balcony & the lobby. Its located on the mountains and the route is scenic as well. You are always greeted with some health tea infusion which is very refreshing.The reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Once you reach your room you will find the whole set of bathrobe for everyone so you can head to their swimming pool or sauna. The restaurant attached serves very nice food as well and we enjoyed the same the evening we had reached. Room – One double and one single bed. Beautiful balcony with chairs to sit out and enjoy a bottle of wine or tea with view of trees and valley below Toilet – Clean toilet, bath tub is there & good supply and quality of toiletries Breakfast – Best spread. Can sit outside as well to enjoy the scenic beauty while having breakfast. Hot & cold options all available, and good supply of coffee tea et all Staff- Very friendly staff who will help you with all the lovely places to see and such Overall – Modern amenities and very nice hotel. Totally recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing! Everything, from the beginning to the end, was five-star. 100% recommendable. Amazing breakfast and restaurant. It totally worths it to eat there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful views, close to Black Forest, far from downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It takes 45 minutes to an hour to get to downtown or the train station. We ended up taking taxis and that added up quick.

    We could hike into the Black Forest right from the hotel property. Wifi worked well. Water was hot. Staff shared ideas about what to do in the area. View was so beautiful. Pool looked really nice, but we didn't use it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    High above Frieburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car parking was a premium, luckily I had a small car so squeezed it onto a pavement for nothing, otherwise there was a daily charge.

    Good Location great view over Friedberg. Helpful staff, nice restaurant but expensive, good pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    The view was beautiful and so were the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was really slow.

    The view was beautiful and so were the rooms. The decor was great as well. The staff were very helpful and very respectful. And the restraunt and room service was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful property and fantastic location. Would definitely return for the peace and tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only one restaurant on site that was quite pricey and no other options within walking distance. Taxi to the town was EUR 14 (one way)

    The views from the room were spectacular and the terrace feature to each room was lovely for sitting outside and enjoying the sunsets. Hiking paths were directly outside the hotel and if you needed a taxi, it arrived in less than 5 mins.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.0
    View, balcony, room, breakfast, swimming pool, services,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't walk from hotel to downtown must use a car, balcony doesn't privet

    View, balcony, room, breakfast, swimming pool, services, hotle staffs, car parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small bathrooms. You can even move in the shower tub! The balconies have no privacy, They are almost exposed entirely to the residents of adjacent rooms! WIFI was very slow.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was tasty. The rooms had a beautiful view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent views of Freiburg from the side of a hill with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Eating in the hotel is expensive (arguably worth it but we didn't expect such high quality/cost). You do feel a little cut off (walking to Friedburg is v pleasant but 40 mins) - around €20 for a lift in.

    Excellent views of Freiburg from the side of a hill with a vineyard to one side and forest to the other. 5* food (the fish arrives daily from Paris and is excellent) and service. Fantastic staff throughout. Lovely pool/spa area. Forest walks and cycles from the hotel doorstep (the latter provided on site).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    very friendly welcome (handshake), refreshing welcome drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    tiny bathroom, rather slow wifi

    very friendly welcome (handshake), refreshing welcome drink and towelettes; super friendly staff; spacious room, great balcony, stunning view over city, quiet surrounding

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was good, though for an additional fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was on the lowest floor. The room was very small, with a tiny (really tiny) shower cubical and was smelly and not very clean. In fact, there was a cockroach in the bathroom! Breakfast was good, though for an additional fee. We had a very busy schedule so decided not to waist time on changing hotels. But, we would NOT stay in this hotel again.

    Breakfast was good, though for an additional fee. OK indoor swimmingpool. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Fantastically enjoyable stay in Freiburg! Will definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant choices were quite pricey, but still the food was excellent.

    Epic view, fantastic swimming pool with deck chairs overlooking the city, beautiful private balcony overlooking Freiburg. The restaurant food was epic, and the service impeccable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location which offers scenic view from your own room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the view from our balcony. You could see the city and it was beautiful. The restaurant has scenic view as well and the food is great. The bed is comfy and the room is clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Not value for money and too far out from Freiburg if you want to be able to pop out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather remote, too many staff in training particularly in the bar. Not very personal service and focus in the restaurant was on a local party which made us feel quite unimportant.

    Fantastic views and good accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The upgraded room was small and drab, with no drinking water or coffee making facilities. My curtains had holes in them. The bathroom was the smallest I have encountered in a hotel. Parking was on a public road and it was pot luck whether we could park near the hotel. For a four star hotel it was disappointing.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was good with excellent waiter service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Romantic, quite and lovely place..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in this Hotel was amazing. Nice view and landscape to the city, romantic place specially when you set in the restaurant's balcony .... I highly recommend this hotel and looking to visit it again in the near future,,,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Not what we were expecting/dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not have allocated parking spaces for all of the guests. They only have 12 spaces and the rest of the people including diners at their restaurant has to leave their car by the side of the road. Bathrooms are very old and need to be renovated, because they are very outdated. Staff of the hotel are not friendly. Breakfast is wat overcharged, for 17€ you dont even get fresh orange juice or hot coffee. Very dissapointing for Mercure. This is not 4 star hotel, more like 3 maximum. We stayd in Flemings before and it was much more higher standard hotel than this Panorama hotel. I wont trust Mercure standards anymore.

    Hotel has a pool and beautiful view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Calm stay with wonderful view over Freiburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not stable

    I had a little terrace and the view over Freiburg is wonderful. The kitchen offers interesting choices. The kingsize bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Our room, with a balcony, overlooked the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything

    Our room, with a balcony, overlooked the city. It was a beautiful view. We chose to use this location to stay while we explored parts of the Black Forest. The dining room also had beautiful views as well as good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice place good location but have dinner elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is 5 star prices but I must say that the food is not worth the expensive cost, I have had much better at a more reasonable price

    Good location very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Exceptional service in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was way too tiny, closterphobicly so. The air-conditioning did not work in our room, but I could open the balcony door so that countered the issue.

    The staff were exceptional. I work in the hotel industry and I have yet to see staffing levels that good, and their attitude, professionalism and friendliness was above and beyond that which I have experienced before. Many times I have encountered good service, but more from individuals. This was across the board! No exceptions. The balconied room, and the restaurants. Food was lovely and the views are amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, nice view, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Breakfast must be included im the price, it seems expensive without it - The price for two nights was 30€ cheaper only 2 hours after my booking, so you wait till the last day to book

    Modern, large and and comfortable rooms, great view from the balcony if you get the right room, silent location, free but a bit slow wi fi, very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel. Am becoming more and more suspicious of paying for "luxury" hotels as they tend to disappoint. Hotel Panorama is not one of them! Staff are incredibly helpful and good humoured, the rooms are smart (a litttle small but how much space do you need?) and I think they all have private balcony. Our room was on the 4th floor (one up from reception) and had an amazing (yes, panoramic!) view of Freiburg. We got a cocktail from the bar and took it up to our terrace to watch the sun set ... perfect! Breakfast wasn't included in our package but it was well worth the extra €17pp. Also made use of the pool before breakfast. Little touches like free fruit and juice in the pool area show this is a special hotel. Yes, it's a bit of a walk into town. Wouldn't fancy it in bad weather ... but on a decent day it's completely do-able for anyone of average fitness. Takes around 40 minutes. I saw some people complain about car parking ... we had no issues. Just drop them a note beforehand to reserve a space if you are concerned. Thanks Hotel Panorama ... hope to see you again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.8
    The problem of parking is more complicated because the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The problem of parking is more complicated because the hotel does not have parking. They park in the street on a very narrow street. It's hard to get from the city center to the hotel. Tourists have access to the mixed sauna only completely naked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Retro charm in Freiburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The look of the building could use some updating, but it didn't take away from the visit. In a way, it's *almost* got a retro vibe.

    the property definitely has a lovely view and location. There are beautiful places to walk nearby and I'd love to return and explore more! The staff are very helpful and the restaurant was quite good as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Great place, fabulous staff! Recommendable!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the hallways and the colors used on the walls in the main (lobby) area of the hotel could use a little updating.

    The beds were incredibly comfortable! The staff was amazingly trained, so polite and very helpful. Its clear that the staff gets instructed and taught very well. Their service was impeccable. The breakfast was well varied and positively scrumptious overall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    One of the best in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Friendly staff, location, view, comfort, food We had the most memorable stay amongst many of our travels. The owner personally attends the guests. The staff is young, energetic, cares for what they do. The food in the restaurant is top quality gourmet food. Well worth evety penny you will spend. Thank you Eric for all you and your staff do.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Heavenly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the perfect trip. Can be better with stronger wifi and english maps and signage in the forest

    Amazing location with the forest just next to the hotel. Multiple walking routes to choose from. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is queit and the view amazing. You need a taxi to down town but the convenience of being able to jim into the forest any time of the day is worth mich more. The restaurant is 5star standard. Amazing food and service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.1
    The location is great, with a stunning view of Freiburg, but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location is great, with a stunning view of Freiburg, but they could have some sort of shuttle service for their guests (who pay hefty sums to stay there), because it is very far from any bus station and the taxi from the city centre to the hotel (short distance by car) is 20 euros every time. I stayed 8 days and in the last few I was growing tired of paying 50 euros just for daily transport. The idea of walking by night on a steep road with no sidewalk, with no lighting, from the bus station to the hotel, was not an option. Also, breakfast is 17 euros and not included.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Outstanding place with beautiful view
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place! I felt like everything about this hotel is to make the guest felt pampered! No shortcuts are taken, every guest is significant. Besides this wonderful atmosphere, You can find there very tasty cuisine and a wonderful view over Fryburg. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.2
    View, comfortable room, just a brisk walk into the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't take breakfast this time - too expensive and no alternatives like 'Just coffee & toast'. Ate at Chez Eric and, while the food was good, and the staff friendly, it was all too rapid; not enough time to digest one course before the next was already there!

    View, comfortable room, just a brisk walk into the city. Staff very pleasant and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.2
    for a stay at Freiburg, a great hotel with views of hills and nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was slightly pricy and i was annoyed it wasn't included in the price. This is partly the fault of Booking.com's page where you sometimes press the wrong button because of the layout.

    Excellent views from the hotel, comfortable room and bed, excellent location which meant walking to the centre of town and listening to bird song.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    6.7
    Nice hotel. Shame about lack of coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities in room which meant you had to keep buying coffee in restaurant

    Reception was very welcoming. Comfortable bedrooms with minimal noise. Pool nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.2
    The setting was perfect and the amenities outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I made a mistake during the booking process which the staff were very quick to point out and a little arrogant about. The mistake ended up in the favour anyway.....

    The setting was perfect and the amenities outstanding

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.6
    Perfect for a relaxing get away and outdoorsy people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gorgeous views, but 20 mins difficult walk to the bus stop and taxis could easily be unaffordable - possibly the hotel could consider running a shuttle bus, or something into town? The shared balcony was lovely but I felt a bit exposed in case other guests went out in front of our windows. The restaurant was very expensive, award winning, but not really our cup of tea as was fine dining, it would have been good to have something in the middle between that and the small snack bar menu.

    I loved the way the hotel looked with it's stone appearing walls and LED trees. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and spoke enough English which was good as our German is shocking. It sits on the top of the hill so has beautiful views over the whole city. It was clean, spacious, and we had access to a shared balcony which was nice. We ate in the hotel bar one night which was perfectly nice. The leisure facilities were lovely, we swam in the pool and I had a massage and the Masseuse was lovely and made me feel comfortable being naked! This hotel would have been perfect for walkers, ramblers, joggers, cyclists, and everyone who liked the outdoors.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    Stay for the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only stay here if you have a car, as its not in the center of Freiburg.

    The view from this hotel is amazing. I especially loved the breakfast they served. It's also nice to go for a walk in the woods next to the Hotel in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: