Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hemingway`s

Fahrtgasse 1, Altstadt, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

#8 of 15 B&Bs and Inns in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 416 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    That staircase almost did me in. Room was simple but impeccably clean and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very long winding staircase, 3 floors up, to get to room. No elevator. I would never have booked had I known. Also, had a share bath, which worked out OK. This is a hostel, not a hotel!

    Extremely clean and charming room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    It was great, too bad i was only staying one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe have have coffee and breads in the for morning

    by the river and walking distance to the center of town, price and beds for odd number of people, 3. block from a mall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.4
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With booking two nights, and having to leave after the first night because of a family emergency. The establishment would not refund the money for the second night, even though I gave more than 24hrs notice. Also there was no cable TV, and having to pay for wifi was a shame.

    Nice location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff and close to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small and basic room, worse than a dorm in terms of facilities. The noise downstairs can be heard after midnight. Only good for someone who wants a night-out with bare sleep expected.

    Friendly staff and close to old town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay for 1-2 night(s). Good price-quality ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy. And one need to take home slippers to the hostel.

    Wonderful sightseeings of the Neckar river and old city neighborhood. And, of course, Heidelberg castle. I found out grat Hemingway's bar in the building of the Hostel. Big and tasty hamburgers, great breakfasts. Hope to visit the place again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Backpackers dream
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was VERY squeaky and the door was the same. It made me very conscience of the other guests bove, below and beside us.

    The location was amazing. The food was great, and the attached bar was one of the best in the area. Our room was surprisingly quiet considering we were directly over the beer garden and we needed to leave our windows open due to the heat (no fan unfortunately). We shared a bathroom which I was worried about but it was kept very tidy and clean and we never had any clashes with the other guests on the floor. Great place, friendly and unpretentious. Loved it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Lovely terrace, great location, small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with one little window and no shading, on thé third floor with steep stairs and no lift. Thin walls also.

    Thé location is great and we would have loved to have dinner on the terrace, unfortunately all places were taken, thé locals seem to appeciate thé place, no wonder, thé food looked good, thé place lovely. Thé bathroom was indeed very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location off the beaten tourist track, but everything within short walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some sort of desk or table to work at, to make better use of the good WiFi connection available for free

    Location! Restaurant and beer garden with decent opening hours, clean room and bath, casual atmosphere and always friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi worked intermittently. Sometimes it would be very slow and others it worked like normal. Sometimes it just didn’t work.

    Location was the best! Right on the river and in the old town. I did not expect the shared bathroom but only two rooms shared it and it was kept very clean and attended to daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.0
    We liked the hostel's location, which is very central,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It appears that the staff is taking hostel check-ins as their secondary responsibility in parallel to running the pub. At least, I didn't feel that they payed much attention to doing the proper paperwork with us when we arrived.

    We liked the hostel's location, which is very central, the room was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    You couldn't ask for a better location and if you're...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There really wasn't anything we didn't like about our experience. If you're someone who needs A/C this probably isn't the best for you but all together it was great!

    You couldn't ask for a better location and if you're backpacking or wanting a more authentic experience with a German pub hostel, you have to choose Hemingway's!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location - right at the edge of the city centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location - right at the edge of the city centre and so close to the river, also not far from the railway station (few short stops with bus/tram plus few minutes walk through pedestrian area). Friendly stuff, simple but appropriate facilities (clean bedroom, clean shared toilets). The lunch we took at the Hotel wasn't breathtaking, so we walked to a different restaurant for dinner. The bar looked like a perfect place to have few drinks though (didn't test it, as run out of time sightseeing). Overall we were very happy with our stay. PS: the rooms are accessible via steep staircase (no lift) - could be a hindrance to some.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Good for short stay, 1-2 days, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room has a strange smell. Not sure if it's from the wood or whatever it's there. Lighting was bright enough, but you can only left 2 of them turned on and they are right above the bed board, or turned off the 2, left the rest of the 8 turned on. There's also a big broken patch on the wall and that's unsightly. Floor makes noisy when you walk. Doors are noisy when they are shut, thus waking your neighbors.

    Price vs location, which is good. Allows me to check-in early by an hour. The guy was very fluent with English too, very polite and friendly. The welcome bear gummies are sweet too. It's at the end of the shopping street, so when you walk all the way to the castle, you cover most of the eateries and attractions. Short walk to nearby tram n bus station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Value for your money. Don’t expect any luxury, just a comfortable and clean place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was busted during our stay there. We had to carry our luggage up to the 4th floor of a steep staircase

    They allowed us to check in earlier than the official check-in time. The room was very large. Good view of the river.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    The place was very central.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was shared with another room. The building is quite old and carries sounds very easily - it made it quite noisy at night.

    The place was very central. The building was very pretty and the bed comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Check-in and check-out hours weren't very practical for...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in and check-out hours weren't very practical for me and I had to ask the staff if there was a place where I could keep my luggage outside those hours. Unfortunately there was no room for this and I had to leave my luggage at the bar, in a corner. It wasn't too bad, though it would surely help to have a room or a place to store luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    I can't rate the entire place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't rate the entire place. My room was on a floor with one other room.and no one was in that room so it was very quiet. My area was not like a hostel but simply a nice older room with a shared bathroom. It is less than five minutes from the haubstrasse of the old city so location was ideal. A great value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    all in all for the price it is very good place to stay in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you travel with a baby and a stroller (as we did) it will be difficult to bring the stroller up stairs. but i bet it is difficult to improve as the house is quite old.

    Good location in the city center, nice hostel with good personal. nice atmosphere, cool bar down stairs. clean room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, steep stairs / Problems with the internet, but it seems to be an isolated incident.

    Great location / clean / friendly staff / cozy bar in the ground floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    The room was big and nice but the floor needs to be fixed. It was very loud wherever you stepped
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not one inch of the floor that not creaked.

    The room was bright and big, but there was not one inch of the floor that creaked. It was very annoying.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice location in Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building with no lift so had to go up steep narrow stairs to room at the top. Also, as an older person I felt a bit out of place among the young student types in the bar!

    Very nice location, in the Old Town right by the river. Good, reasonably priced food in the bar. Shared bathroom clean and a good size

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    I enjoyed the hotel very much. I recommend it to open-minded travelers and adventurers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very steep,for climbing.A disabled person would have problems. Also, the Wi-Fi was very slow.

    It was a very intimate, clean and comfortable hotel. The staff are "very friendly" and accommodating, they allowed us to remain in the hotel an hour after the "Check-Out" time, and stored our luggage for another hour. There are only 6-7 rooms in the hotel, it is conceivable that a large group could book out the entire hotel for themselves!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely now worth the money paid. The actual room was very different fro the ones shown in their pictures int he website. and very small. Breakfast is not included. Our room was on the 4th floor so we had to climb alot. The shared bathroom did not have any body wash (it was over.. can't really do anything about it once you are in). Not managed properly. The bar looked good and that's all. I have been to much better hostels/ dorms and even hotels at cheaper prices.

    Location near the river and castle was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Not for the middle-aged!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at weekend, suitable for people who come late and don't mind a bit of noise until 3pm. Noisy neighbours.

    Quite cheap compared to other places. It's a hostel, suitable for fun-loving youngsters Location superb, right next to the atmospheric old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    All fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs were narrow, an older person would have struggled getting a heavy bag up. The free WiFi was not secured .

    Nice location on the river. Good value for money. Nice and quiet considering that there are also dorm rooms and a pub downstairs. Was concerned about sharing a bathroom, but I saw no other guests while I was there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Proximity to the 'happening area' of the city;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old building, in the morning or late at night you make noise without meaning to, just by walking.

    Proximity to the 'happening area' of the city; the triple room was very nice and spacious; the view of the lake; the friendly staff and the fact that there's a restaurant/bar downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location Very nice room for the price. Good beer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort was ok, room was tidy but nothing fancy

    Location and price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    croissants were great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    i find the place a bit too expensive for what it has to offer

    croissants were great bed was comfy staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and excellent customer service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took too long. You share a bathroom with another room

    Location is good. Beds are good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Four flights of stairs with no lift.

    Good value price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Handy location, the upper rooms of a city hangout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very handy location: the upper rooms of a busy city hangout (serves great food) . At night it was not so noisy though.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Great location nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great location nice people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    Shared bathroom 🙁
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom 🙁 No elevator .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    The location was in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't clean.

    The location was in the centre. The bedroom was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    The place is pretty neat close to the river... the staff is very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 111 is really chill

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room. Great Location!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hostel, great location for young people
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator, very steep stairs, and shared bathroom (my fault for not reading that)

    Location, Location,Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Great food at the restaurant, good location and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great food at the restaurant, good location and friendly staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    3.8
    Will not stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell was awful, the room was overpriced for what you get, too many stairs for your lugagge. But staff was nice

    Location is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location within the centre, off the main street

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    A fair one:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People at the bar are sometimes noisy

    Near the riverside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    Clean comfortable bed cold shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower.

    Cfortable clean bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Not worth 80€/ night
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal shower. BAD internet. Really BAD German only TV

    Location. Nice shower room but....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Perfect Heidelberg Accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Perfect location. Great staff. Excellent drinks. Spacious room for the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46