Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Am Papenberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hermann-Rein-Strasse 2, 37075 Göttingen, Germany

#14 of 24 hotels in Göttingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 272 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    very sauer person at check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was not clean

    very sauer person at check in no air condition was a problem when Göttingen is 30 degrees celcius hot we had to have the window open - lot of noise from restuarnat and railroad trackour room was above the resutarn excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Good place to be!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator did not work for the whole time of the stay. Carrying my suitcase up and down the stairs was not my idea of comfort at all.

    Excellent breakfast, close-by restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money - a four-star experience at a good price and in a good location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly staff in all aspects of the hotel. Fantastic bed! Spacious with an excellent mattress and luxurious sheets. All the perks of a good hotel - shoe polish, toiletry kit, in-room luxury coffee machine, etc. Excellent on-site Italian restaurant. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Good standard and comfortable
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel isn't really located near to any external amenities and the breakfast was adequate but unexciting.

    It has a very good restaurant attached and there is free coffee on offer in reception. The staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. We loved the window shutter that came down at the press of a button and shut out all the light - fabulous! I needed an ironing board and iron and that was conveniently delivered to our room whilst we were eating our evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    The room is extremely clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is extremely clean. The location is perfect if visiting the university. Breakfast is nice as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel not near downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was in a quiet suburb near the university but relatively far from downtown.

    Comfortable hotel with very helpful staff and a nice restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    It would be nice to have a gym
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have a gym

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Overall it was a comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and the blanket were small. They should have been a bit larger.

    The room was big.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Very quiet at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet at night. Within walking distance of all amenities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Not bad, convenient
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near my daughter hse

    Clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Big and clean room, very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big and clean room, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    distance to town centre

    Near university hospital and Max Planck facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    3.8
    No
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is not worth the price

    No

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    6.7
    Location within 10min by bus to the city center, the main...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wi-Fi connection in the room was very slow. The elevator was out of order. The breakfast was quite modest.

    Location within 10min by bus to the city center, the main university campus, and the central train station. Quiet place, spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    5.8
    The staff were particularly friendly.
    • Solo traveller

    The cleaning was very disappointing.

    The staff were particularly friendly. In terms of location it is not quite central but very close to the hospital and there are regular bus services to the city.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.3
    The rooms were very clean and made up each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were very clean and made up each day. The staff were helpful at reception. The breakfast was very good and there were a large range in the continental breakfast foods smaller in the cooked range. However there was large range of difference teas available. I chose the hotel for it's location to our family reunion in a village about fifteen minutes away which proved to be excellent choice.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast is OK, overall quality is good, in particular room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A 90 cm bed is a bit at odds with the overall level of equipments. If this is an issue (I do not mind that much), one has to make sure that the room has a queen size bed when booking...

    Breakfast is OK, overall quality is good, in particular room size (20+ m2). Very convenient location for a meeting at the northwest University site (walking distance)

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    5.0
    Location, near to my appointment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    90 or 80 cm bed. I was on the first floor and, just below my room window, the hotel had placed chairs and tables. People talking at 3:00 AM wake me up. Because it was summer, I closed the windows, but the noise was still present and the room was warming up (no air condition). The breakfast was average.

    Location, near to my appointment.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is well-furnished.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing I can think of.

    The hotel is well-furnished. The Wi-Fi was excellent and the breakfast buffet was tasty with many varieties. I also liked that you could rent a bike for free, which came in handy when I wanted to go to the centre. Highly recommended for a business traveller.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.6
    Big clean room, big bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Blankets are too warm for the summer! During the evening there is not enough light in the room.

    Big clean room, big bed. Quite comfortable hotel, located close to my destination (northen campus of the University).

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.2
    a great experience in Göttingen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing.

    a great experience in Göttingen. The staff were very friendly, cooperative and kind. I asked for lunch boxes, and the receptionist prepared them with pleasure. I was highly satisfied.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    8.3
    Good place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good place. Very good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    Clean, quiet, well located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    That's too hard a question. What's not to like?

    Clean, quiet, well located.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Lovely rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Lovely rooms. Superb restaurant

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Great service, free use of bikes to help go downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great service, free use of bikes to help go downtown. Very nice breakfast, much better than most German hotels.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.6
    big rooms with living part
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    on the third floor too slow wi-fi

    big rooms with living part

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: