Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Bielefeld Johannisberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Johannisberg 5, 33615 Bielefeld, Germany

#12 of 25 hotels in Bielefeld

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 592 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    overall the hotel looks more than a 3 stars rather than 4 and i believe it is overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room inside and the hotel overall is less than average (with the exception of the bathroom which looked renovated) and the internet connection was very slow.

    Location of the hotel is great. It is in a park overlooking Bielefeld and the surroundings are quiet and green. In addition both the hotel inside and the rooms are clean. Staff was quite friendly and service was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    Not suitable for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi, whilst free, is non-existent making it impossible to do any work in the room. Also, the shower drain was blocked so it overflowed in the morning. For such a big hotel chain I would expect better.

    Excellent parking options and the reception/restaurant area is very smart.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    All was more or less ok with the exception of the meal in the evening, this was really bad.
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got only a Snack Card with few meals in the evening and the ordered meal was really bad (Curry sausage with french fries).

    good comfort in the room, relatively quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    The room was comfortable and the breakfast varied.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    The room was comfortable and the breakfast varied. Good location to stay with a dog - quiet, outside the city centre, in a park (we got a snow bonus).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    The last floor directly above of my room was under work -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The last floor directly above of my room was under work - was noisy during the afternoon and I was not informed on the booking site and by the staff at check-in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    Two MAYBE three star hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not a 4 star hotel. The rooms are old, and there are no extra facilities. The showers were horrible, water leaks everywhere. It is difficult to take a shower if you are tall, You have to hold the shower head.

    The location was next to trails that are great for walking. There is also a great, free zoo nearby. The morning staff was really nice. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with great friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food And drink was VERY Expensive but good quality .

    The staff where extremely help full and spoke brilliant English . The view from the outside seating area was fantastic . Rooms where spotless . I would definitely stay here again .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Restful place to stay just outside the old town, on a steep hill overlooking city..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were used to staying within walkin distance of the old town center. On the plus side, this was much quieter and thus we slept better. The walk into town is quite strenuous but doable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    4.6
    Bit outdated and not a 4 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good hotel for business people. WiFi is too slow, no in room dining, nothing in mini bar. Overall not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel, seems more like a 3 star hotel. Rooms need an update.

    Nice area on the hills, not close to downtown. You need a car if you stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    A location with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A shuttle to downtown would be nice. Long walk; especially up a steep hill on the way back.

    Great breakfast. Excellent service. We were told that because of a large group event, our dinner might take a bit longer -- so they gave us a free appetizer plate!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    Fast WiFi is human right
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is average. They have 2 WiFi networks . First Free WiFi network is very,very,very slow the other one is very fast network but they would try to charged you for using fast WiF. On booking.com they stated that they provide free WiFi ( no single word about speed)

    Everything was OK except WiFi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Look forward to visiting again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-con in our room and yes it was very warm in December.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Great location for a walks in the fresh air and not to far from the town centre. Plenty of on site free parking and breakfast was of a high standard. Our dog loved it as well. Our room was clean, fresh and well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    3.8
    Frühstuck lecker
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed Preference was 2 single beds Room had 1 double bed Fungis in bathroom Bathtub had a large dark schratch mark on it Window frames were dirty

    Frühstuck lecker Bett unbequem

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    6.7
    Good central location with a view
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was badly designed. The bath/shower mixer tap was fitted to the side of the washbasin unit, which meant that the shower curtain could not be closed enough to prevent water spillage. The shower water was warm, but not hot in the morning and the drain in the bath/shower was partially blocked.

    Excellent breakfast and parking facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.9
    Bed extremely comfy and hotel is in a quiet area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just found it quite expensive compared to same star rating hotels I've been before

    Bed extremely comfy and hotel is in a quiet area. Extensive breakfast buffet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.1
    Being a frequent business traveller, I think my opinion counts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being a frequent business traveller, I think my opinion counts. This time I visited Bielefeld with my wife. I noticed that the room which I booked was not a superior room, as requested (great view on the city), instead we had a view to the parking lot. At checking out they gave us a discount of EUR20.00, but this was not what I was asking for, I had rather that they provide what was booked. Disappointing size of the room, in my opinion was the room too small. Another nuisance, we both were smelling cigarette smoke both evenings, don't know where it came from, very disturbing. Very frustrating was also a large business event during both days of our stay; with buffet at the main entrance (!) and smoking people at the entrance as well... not the welcome which we were hoping for. Besides, after a long and tiring trip we were looking forward to have a nice dinner at the hotel in the evening, however, because the above mentioned business event (MLM seminar?) the staff kindly told us there was no space for us... if we would like we could eat a snack in the (very noisy) bar... such as a frankfurter + chips... This happened again the second day... 'no thank you' we went into the city centre. The hotel... was actually taken over by this noisy event. Besides the fact that the area is very nice, and a friend of mine recommended it, we were turned off by the above experiences. Next time we visit Bielefeld, we will stay somewhere else in or around the city. I know Radisson, and I think this Radisson Park Inn Hotel is not worthy to carry the brand of Radisson. It is actually a Park Inn hotel, of which I don't have the best experiences in the UK. I could tell a few more things, but I think the attentive reader already got the message. For the management of this hotel I would like to give a free advice, when you have a large business event, please use your hotel in that case only for the event, not for other visitors. This is in my opinion not a 4* hotel!

    Area is very nice Enough choice to have a leisurely breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dîner

    Very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    2.5
    No words
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told at 7pm on the day of arrival that I had no room, even though I only booked the day before!

    Couldn't possibly comment!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.8
    Hotel seems a bit tired.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel seems a bit tired. Could do with modernisation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    I feel me as in my home. Thanks 👏👏👏👏👏
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is great!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a complaint but the hill back to the hotel is a little steep

    Fantastic view of the city very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location, very relaxed atmosphere, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, very relaxed atmosphere, great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice big breakfast buffet with nice people taking care and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice big breakfast buffet with nice people taking care and beautiful view ahead Bielefeld

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.3
    Worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast and nice staff. Beautiful view from restaurant, wich is good also.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Bielefeld rules!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be stronger

    Great location. Very helpful personal. Big parking lot.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice city, quiet and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast good and many choices, very quiet area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.5
    Facility not used
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility not used

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Thanks...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, breakfast and hospitality - top.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    7.1
    Perfect location, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar, unfriendly staff

    Perfect location, very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    7.9
    Bed and pillows superior.
    • Couple

    Simply does not meet the standards I expect from a Radisson. Bathrooms were remolded on the cheap! Narrow tub bottom invites slipping. Faucet placement poor, and prevents closing of the shower curtain - water from shower gets over bathroom sink and anything left sitting there. Whoever picked the bathroom wall coverings should be shot!! Pure institutional.

    Bed and pillows superior. Breakfast the best I have ever had in a hotel. All personnel professional/friendly. Not often that a hotel has a few smoking rooms - good idea.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    A great hotel in a first class location up on the ridge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great hotel in a first class location up on the ridge and is only a 10/15 min’ walk from the centre of town. The staff were very friendly and our clean room was very well equipped, although there was a New Years Eve gala on in the hotel during our stay noise was never an issue and we had a great night’s sleep. There was ample free parking and the free Wi-Fi was very fast. Breakfast was of a high standard and served until 1200. We would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location with plenty of outside parking space -...
    • Couple

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    Excellent location with plenty of outside parking space - especially for larger vehicles - which is important for us as our Ford Tourneo Custom will not fit into many underground city hotel car parks. Also the car park is free.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    7.5
    The view over Bielefeld, if only room had faced this...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WIFI connection was unreliable, expect this to be stable and freely available wherever I stay. Why are hotel bars so expensive?

    The view over Bielefeld, if only room had faced this direction (I looked out over the car park). Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.2
    Combination of location, being higher within forest area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Combination of location, being higher within forest area, plenty of open space to walk, ease of access to old town shopping area and railway station (if required ).

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    How pet friendly the hotel was.
    • Family with older children

    How pet friendly the hotel was. The location of the hotel the hotel is fantastic for walking and easy access to the town of Bielefeld on foot. It has a fantastic outdoor garden for sitting in when the weather is nice the reception of the hotel is vey welcoming and the staff are very efficient. It was immaculate.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    7.9
    Fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air conditioning did not work. Rooms not ready until quite a while after check in time.

    Fantastic views. Convenient car parking. Clean, comfortable room. Reasonably priced restaurant with friendly service and generous portions of good food.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    7.5
    The location was very green and great views from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was abit smallish and breakfast was not included in our package. No room service available.

    The location was very green and great views from the resturant

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast and amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Breakfast and amazing location

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Wonderful quiet location with a beautiful view of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful quiet location with a beautiful view of the city. Great breakfast and a wonderful lounge menu. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.3
    Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast, Good views of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, hard to find in the dark not accessible to the town on foot, Bumpy ride in the lift.

    Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast, Good views of the city.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff and a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff and a great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    9.2
    Great breakfast included in the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast included in the price. Reception open 24 hrs.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.2
    Quality-Stay at the most beautiful side of Bielefeld .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quality-Stay at the most beautiful side of Bielefeld ...

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    5.4
    Enjoyed the view from the hill top setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room is small

    Enjoyed the view from the hill top setting

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.8
    Bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Way to expensive for overall comfort of hotel

    Bed

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    Room was very clean and facility were good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast is pricey.

    Room was very clean and facility were good

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    6.7
    No air condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air condition

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Great views and bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great views and bed

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    10
    Corporate standards are dependable this hotel is immaculate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Corporate standards are dependable this hotel is immaculate and situated overlooking Bielefeld

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.6
    Quite, available parking, internet is good and fast, food is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite, available parking, internet is good and fast, food is good, very good overall.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    9.2
    Perfect breakfast, comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect breakfast, comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.1
    Nice bar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice bar. Spacious rooms. Nice views over the city.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    7.9
    I liked it very much.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    I liked it very much. The hotel is good for the price.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: