Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parkhotel Altes Kaffeehaus This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Harztorwall 18, 38300 Wolfenbüttel, Germany

#2 of 6 hotels in Wolfenbüttel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioner for hot days.

    The terrace restaurant where you can take breakfast and others is fabulous! You can enjoy the deep greens surround this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was sketchy in the room. It was great in the lobby

    They were very helpful and accommodating. They moved us to a handicap room without extra charges; food was excellent; location excellent. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have loved a double bed, but the single one was comfortable enough. Parking on site is very limited if you arrive a bit late, and although there are free parking alternatives nearby, you still have to walk a bit.

    Breakfast was good if you chose the German style breakfast, with tasty rolls and cold meats, cheese or sweets. The eggs looked less appetising, so I did not go for them. Staff was friendly and efficient and dinner was abundant and good, if a bit pricey. Room was warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no "accessories" in the room, beside some mint candies and sparkling water (the water does not get refilled on the second day). You have to ask the reception for a toothbrush and so on -- and asking for a toothbrush, you get a toothbrush, if you want shampoo or something you have to make an explicit list. Breakfast is good if you like ham, cheese, butter and bread. If you like fresh fruits, the choice is poor.

    The hotel is not too far away from Wolfenbuttel station by walk. The staff is friendly and speaks English. The bed was comfortable (springs mattress but comfortable). The room is wide. Breakfast is a buffet. Even though I didn't get to try it, the hotel proposes a sauna until 10pm. The shower water gets warm quickly. The free WiFi has a decent connection (for the location). The check-in check-out is handled very professionally, which is convenient in the case of a business trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a couple of things; we didn't have a mini fridge or even any coffee/tea making facilities. There was a wedding reception in the restaurant so we couldn't use the facilities (both restaurant & terrace were full) & the venue next door had an outside live music gathering (even the closed windows didn't block out the noise) although this finished relatively early (or it may have been the huge storm that came through?).

    We drove to Wolfenbuttel and were able to get a park out the front. There is parking across the road if the front is full (not sure if there is a fee involved). The bed was comfortable & the wifi was good. The bathroom is small but the shower screens can fold in to make more room. Shower has good pressure with hot water. Next door to the Parkhotel is a large park with a walking track & a little surprise is halfway around; a "beach" bar complete with beach volleyball. It was also an easy walk into the town to see the old style buildings & the Schloss. The breakfast was lovely & filling, & we were able to eat on the terrace (just be aware that this is also where the smokers hang out).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on a family get together, I had just coffe and yoghurt in the room, but it was a smooth pleasant stay without any complaints. Our room was on the side to the park, and being a beautiful sunny springday it was wonderful, to have the sun shining in :) they are exactly what they claim to be.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had trouble with our car and they help us find the carage. They wait for us when we were late from breakfast because of the car. And the breakfast was more than great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, next to the theatre and to the Park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about this hotel

    Bed very comfy, bathroom really spacious and spotless. Plenty of space and wardrobe space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    was not cheap

    Don't know what the genius perks were. We loved the buffet breakfast. The beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choices rather limited.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were kind. swimingpool,souna was good! charming room! close to station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing suited our needs

    The location and the staff speaking English and being very happy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no problem with this hotel

    The rooms were clean and bed was comfortable, and everything within the hotel was easy to find

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good hotel in very good location (swimming pool 10 minutes) and nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is central and 5 minutes walk to shops and bars. Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Couldn't access the Wifi in the evening as there were too many people using it (it was fine in the morning).

    Clean, modern room. Good breakfast buffet. On my stay during a weekday the room was fairly quiet. Very close to the centre of Wolfenbüttel and to the station. Room was ready from my arrival just before 2pm. Pleasant park out at back.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Strange that the bathroom was modern but the room itself was old fashioned. Why cant German hotels realize we want 2 normal pillows , not these huge single ones that compress to paper thin?! Very uncomfortable..

    Good Location Modern bathroom

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked airconditioned room for two nights, but when we arrived we were given a low quality room without airconditioning which we had for one night. Then they moved us to better room.

    Excellent location for accessing town

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not sit up in bed due to the top headboard, also waitress made a mistake with our No. 2 menu, gave us No.5 & charged us €27.50for each meal. Not happy as we are over 70yrs.

    The staff at reception were more than helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice place to stay, good restaurant at the hotel (two evenings with nice choices, good food and perfect prices) and many others there around. Very helpful staff. Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were made to feel very welcome. The room was a good size and the breakfast was very good, with a nice choice of everything that one would expect. There is parking at the front of the hotel, but it is somewhat limited. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of town, and driving in Tourist and businessiit was very easy to find. We would have no hesitation in staying there again. It also has a restaurant, and on our first night there we had a very pleasant meal.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A typical 3-star hotel, not more but not less either. A bit on the expensive side.

    The location is great. Next to a beautiful park, but only minutes from the centre of Wolfenbuttel. Friendly staff. Good breakfast that is included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Couple

    Bed was not good for my back

    Lovely location, friendlt and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was very good. The room was very comfortable and there was a good choice for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rant and

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfasts and great location for exploring the town. Excellent restaurant and bar.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Only few parking places for the hotel guests.

    Old style teahouse in the hotel building.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The location, the staff, breakfast everything was good!

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Parkhotel Altes Kaffeehaus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: