Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parkhotel Maximilian Ottobeuren This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bannwaldweg 11, 87724 Ottobeuren, Germany

#4 of 6 hotels in Ottobeuren

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 540 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    We got a bigger room than the one we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast including coffee could be much better. It is difficult to walk in the hotel with a luggage, because of the number of door in the hallway.

    We got a bigger room than the one we booked. Drinks in the bar are very good. Nice and friendly personal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Spacious relaxing retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rstrauarnt prices were very expensive and not as good value comparable to other hotels. The room value was better though than other hotels.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. The spa area was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    1 night stay close to Memmingen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice and big sauna area with a pool was perfect in a cold winter evening. The dinner in the Hotel’s restaurant was great and the location is quite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast , rooms are spacious, friendly service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a bath in the room, I do not like over the mattress there is a plastic cover, as a molton. I always get it off,

    Good breakfast , rooms are spacious, friendly service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Hotel well suited for corporate awaydays and chilling out weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Used by companies for corporate get-togethers and so had a slightly impersonal feel to it.

    A very large hotel located a 10 minute walk from the famous abbey at Ottobeuren, set in parkland. Very peaceful and quiet. My room was large and well appointed. The food was good with an excellent dinner and breakfast. The hotel had a large spa area, which looked good from a distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    A great place to stay and relax.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wifi was on the most part really excellent. I did seem to have to provide the login details more often than at other hotels. Not really a big issue just a minor irritation

    This is an excellent hotel that I use close to the next town where my business meetings are conducted. The staff here are really helpful and the restaurant serves an exceptional breakfast and I had dinner delivered to my room on a few nights very quickly and efficiently. The meals are very hearty and tasty. My room was large and comfortable with lots of options for power, a few different seating choices and good minibar options. The bathroom was surprisingly large as well so all of the room felt spacious. There was always plenty of parking available as well making popping out and back really easy. A great place to stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, comfortable, and relaxing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was very weak and slow in some areas. Even in the room it was not always reliable. More padded lounge chairs at the pool would be nice.

    The hotel is situated on a quiet edge of town but the center of Ottobeuren is a short, easy walk away. Our room was large and comfortable. Parking is close to the hotel and many open spots were always available. Breakfast was great and offered a very large selection. The pool and spa areas were clean and refreshing. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Still ok but was far better in the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff except Juan does not walk around with open eyes. You really need to push the staff and precisely ask for the things you need

    Breakfast is still pretty good, nice location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    I liked / enjoyed:
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like / was put off by: - Shortly after arrival, discovering that we'd been given 2 rooms on opposite sides of the floor foyer. We traveled with two young teen girls (our daughter and a friend) who'd share their own room. I had called a few days earlier to ask for adjoining doubles with a communicating door. The person attending the phone told me they could not guarantee communicating rooms but they ALWAYS put families in rooms next door to each other. After check in and once on our floor, we discovered that our two rooms were quite far apart - had in fact four doors and a wide staircase landing in between. The person checking us in had seen us arrive with the two girls, and we pointed out at check in that my husband and I would have one room, and the girls would share the other. - Having to go downstairs to change rooms right after arriving - Pointing out to reception staff that I'd called in advance and being told that they "didn't know anything"; whoever I'd spoken to hadn't make any note of my request. - Being given a room next door to our daughter and her friend's with a very large yellowish stain on the carpet. As the hotel didn't seem very service minded and the stain didn't appear dirty, only ferociously cleaned with no care to replace the carpeting since, we decided to keep the room. - When calling in advance, i had specifically asked about the quality of the wifi signal - that is was stable and strong. Our experience was of unstable internet signal with a guest unfriendly code - the kind that is not easy to memorize - that had to be repeatedly re-input. - Stinginess of wifi and electrical sockets in the room. Wifi in double room limited to may 3 gadgets / computers PER ROOM (not per person). Only two available plug sockets in the double room, plus one in the bathroom. In the room area, if one needed more than two sockets, it was necessary to unplug lamps.

    I liked / enjoyed: - the view from the room - the clean, modernized bathroom - the outdoor heated pool - the various saunas in the spa area - the quiet, countryside location near a small village - the little park just outside the hotel entrance - the inviting, groomed hotel entrance (outside) - the evening meals on the terrace - the friendliness of reception staff - that there were no issues with the bill - all was correct All of the above weigh less than what I didn't like. I will not return to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous welcome with prosecco and a smile from the receptionist. Nothing was too much trouble, and the bonus of waking early was being able to use the outdoor swimming pool and sauna alone! Food was also brilliant. Couldn't recommend more!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.9
    Nice big room, nice saunas, very clean, Ottobeuren is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor pool too cold to just relax, for swimming only (in winter)

    Nice big room, nice saunas, very clean, Ottobeuren is a pretty village with many restaurants and a nice cathedral, hike or rent bikes at the hotel and explore the region!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    The best hotel in a lovely German town (and the Abbey is truly amazing!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like the glass door to the bathroom in our room – and the toilet proudly standing right in front of that transparent door. Sometimes people need some privacy, and the door deprives one of this privacy.

    We loved the hotel facilities, the staff, the breakfast, the spa, the view from the balcony and the fresh air. The forest with a lovely brook is great for walks. The town is lovely, the 1300-year-old Ottobeuren abbey is breathtaking. Walking distances are perfect – not too much, not too little. For us it was an ideal break.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Well worth the money 😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing, spacious, clean and spotless. The breakfast had everything you could think of! The spa area was sufficient, but very clean also. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in the countryside to relax
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Nice outdoor heated swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wellness and Breakfast were very good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    It is a great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom are very large and everything was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Large room, very quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The matresses could be improved.

    Large room, very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Shower not very powerful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not very powerful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good hotel .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel . Comfortable parking . Quite location . Great breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, a bargain for the price

    Very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet needs an update

    Very nice overall

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Restaurant main food need to be improved!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant main food need to be improved! Breakfast is perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Another awesome stay in Parkhotel Maximilian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Really good breakfast, nice pool and spa area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was mediocre. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    10
    Very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price rather high.

    Very comfortable room. Diner and breakfast excellent. Very kind staff in restaurant. Fine location very close to the Basilica and Abbey.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    10
    It is a beautiful town in a picturesque part of the country.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room had a hand held shower over the bathtub. A shower space with a shower would be an awesome addition to the room.

    It is a beautiful town in a picturesque part of the country. The hotel has a wonderful combination of privacy and great facilities. It was a great place to stay when travelling on business. The staff were friendly and helpful and the meals at the restaurant were of a very high standard.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    Very spacious and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather.

    Very spacious and clean room. Great park around the hotel. Tasty breakfast. Friendly and professional staff. All the best.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    7.1
    Wifi is top slow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is top slow

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    7.5
    Food and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Internet was very slow and getting disconnected in the room

    Food and comfort

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    8.3
    Nice place and room, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice place and room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    9.6
    Restaurant is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool is too code

    Restaurant is good

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.1
    realy bad Wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    realy bad Wifi... today it's not acceptable

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    8.8
    Leisure facility was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leisure facility was amazing

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    5.0
    Very hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very hot No air condition The internet very week and always disconnect I do not complete my stay

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.2
    Everything else :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality of Dinner. Next time dine in Town.

    Everything else :-)

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    6.7
    Comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very bad slow internet; not usable for business travellers

    Comfort

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: