Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Parkhotel Wasserburg Anholt This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schloss, 46419 Isselburg, Germany

#1 of 3 hotels in Isselburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 138 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    beautiful place, average restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was so so and also some details like extra bed put in the corridor. It didn't look well. Also, we were not happy with food in the restaurant, that wasn't tasty, especially we do not jugde well value for money.

    The place is truly beautiful and really clean (what you don't expect from old castles...)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    couldn't be happier with my decision to stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having breakfast overlooking the castle's moat filled with ducks - priceless! Very nice and authentic "old world" setting. Very charming. Stuff is very friendly, helpful and competent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    A special location indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned , on this occasion the assignment of rooms seemed inappropriate to requirements .

    Wonderful location and comfortably appointed rooms although ours seemed one of the smallest while our travelling companion was assigned a significantly larger room for single use : even though I had booked the 2 rooms specially indicating one should be for double occupancy and the other for single ! Food in restaurant good although it seemed a struggle for staff to cope with numbers so that meals took quite long with rather lengthy intervals between courses . Excellent choices at breakfast .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    a great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Themed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception advised that dinner reservation at the restaurant was not necessary. When we arrived all the nice outside tables were gone and we had to sit inside which was practically empty, thus we felt lost in there by ourselves.

    room was superb. very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, fantastic restaurant, beautiful grounds. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was a bit small. That is literally all I can think of.

    Beautiful castle and hotel, the surrounding park is absolutely gorgeous. There's plenty of free parking on site and the staff are fantastic: friendly, helpful, professional. The restaurant has been renovated last year and boasts not only high quality food and service but also stunning views of the surrounding lakes and greenery. Lovely old cities like Rees, Xanten and Kleve as well as beautiful countryside and nature reserves are only a short drive/ bike ride away.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt it was a little overpriced, very beautiful but very expensive for one night. We were disappointed that the museum portion of the castle was not open, we really wanted to see it & is apparently only open 1 day per week.

    The bathroom in the suite room was fantastic. Loved the steam shower and TV in the mirror. Super relaxing. The bed, slippers and robe were a nice touch. We were greeted with a delicious fruit bowl and everything looked lovely. We booked two rooms as we had our 3 children with us & their room was very nice and comfortable as well. The grounds were stunning! We enjoyed walking around, taking photos and looking at the scenery. I only wish we had been there to see all of the flowers in bloom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is located in a beautiful park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would prefer for the price of the breakfast to be included in the prices of the room, even if the room is then more expensive.

    The hotel is located in a beautiful park!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    A remarkable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking at all in the courtyard. This meant a long way to carry suitcase. It would have been good to have been be able to have dropped off one's luggage and then drive straight back to car-park Was breakfast not included?

    Very impressive setting. Remarkable building. Very quiet. Close enough to Dutch border to reach afternoon ferry back to England. Beautiful dining and breakfast rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Best hotel I have very stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room, but thats just nit picking really.

    Everything was perfect. A beautiful location and a fabulous hotel. I would recommend it to anybody.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Themed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to walk in park early Monday morn

    Charming old estate

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Overall a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good staff, food quality was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful romantic castle hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were extremely hard and the rooms hot up on the third floor. Small window and no air conditioning and only a little noisy fan to cool the room down. Winter weight duvets did not help either.

    Wonderful romantic castle hotel. Stunning scenery. Excellent cuisine. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to the border. Lots of extras in the room. Water, fruit, toiletries etc. Stunning views.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    10
    Stunningly beautiful views from the restaurant on park and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet sometimes spotty

    Stunningly beautiful views from the restaurant on park and moat, a nature lover's and birdwatcher's delight, great breakfast, interesting museum and painting collection (only Rembrandt in private hands in Europe). This was our second stay and we will come back!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful grounds, very clean facility, very much a palace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were nothing spectacular. No castle or palace theme to anything inside other than pictures on the wall. Restaurant was way over priced for average quality food. Be aware that GPS directions may lead you a few kilometers away so watch the street signs.

    Beautiful grounds, very clean facility, very much a palace type castle on the outside. Impressive entry way, it is OK to drive down the gravel driveway and cross the bridge to check in. Get tokens and enjoy a stroll through the grounds.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    9.6
    Staff and service were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff and service were great. We were celebrating our Silver Anniversary and felt staff made an effort to make that memorable. At dinner, they presented us with some treats on a plate which had a small fountain firework plus congratulations written in chocolate and a cake in a little wooden box. Our waiter at dinner was so attentive. Staff allowed us to attempt to speak German (as we wanted) but were happy to step in with an English translation when we got stuck. We really enjoyed our walk around the beautiful grounds and then warming up with a relaxing coffee in the little lounge with the log fire burning. The bedroom was very comfortable and I enjoyed waking to the sound of the ducks in the moat.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Very nice historic building with beautifully landscaped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a very nice hotel and if they stuck to just providing a romantic weekend away they would be amazing. But their aspirations to be more have raised the price beyond that and started to impact the satisfaction based on the price. For a destination hotel that with dinner and breakfast costs 400 euro a night they miss the mark. The room had trash in the can from previous guests and the wifi signal was so weak it only worked in one half the room. The restaurant, while nice, was not 70 euro a meal nice, the chef is inventive and creates and unique menu but it just didn't fit together right and the wait staff were also far shy of the what the price should have demanded. If the hotel and restaurant were to charge a bit less and just play it safe with the menu choices you would be much more likely to leave satisfied but at the current prices you end up comparing it to luxury establishments in main cities and walking away feeling a bit overcharged for the product received.

    Very nice historic building with beautifully landscaped gardens to stroll through. Obviously a place intended for romantic evenings overlooking the water. Wonderful setting of the restaurant with a lovely dock side dining while the fish and geese swim close by.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.5
    The uniqueness of the castle made for quite the experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Being a castle that has been around for hundreds of years, there were some bugs and spiders in the rooms.

    The uniqueness of the castle made for quite the experience!!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    8.3
    Enjoyed the corner turret room although small had a view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was far away and difficult for elderly guests. Dinner in Pavilion was overpriced.

    Enjoyed the corner turret room although small had a view of the grounds and moat. Nice terrace and pleased there was an elevator available.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    Exceptional in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptional in every way. Absolutely terrific service in unique surroundings. 100% excellent all round. No one coming here will be disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.8
    Property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    weather

    Property

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ambiance. Golf.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Location, surrounding park, breakfast, restaurant view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad wifi reception in our room

    Location, surrounding park, breakfast, restaurant view

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    5.0
    Hotel and garden were nice
    • Couple

    The service in the restaurant could have been better.

    Hotel and garden were nice

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: