Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Paulibude

Erichstraße 8 - 14, St. Pauli, 20359 Hamburg, Germany

#259 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 363 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was dirty. One bed and shower were broken. Beds that were not broken - were really uncomfortable. Glasses in the kitchen were incredibly dirty. At night in was very noisy.

    Apartment is located very close to the City Center, Bars, Clubs and Girls and Fischmarkt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Our stay was cheap and cheerful so couldn’t expect anymore than what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds and curtains broken so light came in early hours The pillows and bedding need renewing extremely old and lumpy We had only one light bulb working out of the three possible ones so couldn’t use mirror in room as couldn’t see what we was doing There was a plastic sheet on mattress under the sheet so when you rolled it would wake you up from the crinkle noises.

    It was cheap

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.3
    We should have slept on the streets with the local homeless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could tolerate the lack of amenities and uncomfortable beds if the reception staff wasn't the rudest and most unhelpful person ever. Plus i've never been anywhere where you have to pay half the bill in cash and the receptionist 'stores' this in her purse!

    Not a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Functional, easily-forgotten place. Reasonably-priced. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Misleading photos - doesn't have anything like that "old brothel" theme going on - that is in the main Kiezbude building, not Paulibude a couple of doors down. The crazy blonde staff member (Pia I think) who started banging her fists on walls, slamming doors, and shouting when she discovered I had been given a double-bed in a small room, instead of a room with 2 single beds. The noise of Reeperbahn cannot be drowned out (which at weekends can go until morning). Shared bathroom, and no towels provided. Rubbish local TV stations only.

    Location is the best thing it - close to Reeperbahn, Park Fiction, Fish Market, Elbmeile. A free beer on arrival was a good touch. Price was reasonable compared with alternatives.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    2.9
    Pretty bad really
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No explanation prior to arrival on where to check in and pick up keys. Had to go to a different address from the one on the booking confirmation and then go back again. Was asked to pay a security deposit of 300 Euro in cash for the room keys because I was English apparently.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Ok. Fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk to take the key from one place and stay at another location, but you won’t find this info when booking. Also its not the same address as on the booking site.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.2
    Basic & bad attitude of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff on check-in was disgusting. Shouting and demanding ridiculous deposit amount. Bathroom was in bad state of repair and grotty. Rooms are not like what it shows on photos.

    The Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    2.5
    Don't bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff. Was given a key and a wry basic map and told to go and find where I was staying. Poor street lighting and poor signage so could not find hostel. Poor customer service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Good for budget traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, we expected more a proper hotel. Furthermore, we got lost (since we put the address in the booking.com, while we had to walk around 8 minutes, which was a bit annoying after long flight and trains, to the receptions, and were told to go to another address for our accommodation). The shower was outside the room, as well as the bathroom.

    It was very typical. The location was great (right next to Reeperbahn), and the staff was extremely nice, especially encountering me (which was a bit pissed off at that time due to other reasons). There was kitchen (and even washing machine) as well, so you could cut your spending if you want. It was perfect for a budget-travelers. And the wifi was strong!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    party
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The description of my room was a shared bath with one more room. Actually toilets were shared, and so do the baths. No big deal for me but for some people it may be. Also the address that was given in booking wasn't the actual address, but in this case it was for better.

    Right at the Reberbahn street, close to the city center, the harbor and there is a subway right next to the hostel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Basic, clean hostel rooms at a very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the bunk beds was somewhat loose causing the bed to move when one of the persons was moving. No other issues worth mentioning.

    We stayed in two 4 person rooms with a group of 8 boys. The hostel is very centrally located and near the Reeperbahn. The rooms are basic but clean. The showers and the toilet are daily cleaned and well maintained. The personnel is friendly and helpfull. The shared rooms are daily cleaned and are perfect for a drink-in. Overall, very basic but clean rooms at a very central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.3
    Extremely cheap for a reason - would never stop again and thats coming from a group of partying lads
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overcharged by hotel - got a refund thanks to booking.com chasing it. Less than Basic room with broken beds and cardboard mattresses Address is completely different on all websites to the reception so you walk around aimlessly trying to find the hotel. if you stay please ensure you go to LincolnstraBe 2 first and collect keys.

    Location is very central

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    The staff were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was kinda difficult to find this place because the name of the facility is different in reality. They also state different addresses on their listing (you need to check in at a different place than where you actually stay) and it's not clear which one is the address of the check-in place. Despite the fact that the ad says so, there was no wifi and not free parking spot provided.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Super kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint would be that they don't offer complimentary towels in the individual rooms. They may have been out in the hall for the taking but I can't quite remember. It would be nice if they offered a few.

    My party and I got hopelessly lost in Hamburg on our way to Paulibude and ended up wandering around the main street for nearly four hours. We got a lot of help from many friendly people but the trouble was that the address for the hostel on the booking.com site took us to an apartment complex nearby rather than the actual hostel. (Paulibude seems to own property in the neighborhood) However when we called the second time, still totally lost and tired, the staff went out of their way to come down to where we were on foot and walk us over to where we were supposed to be. It was so kind of them! We were pretty embarrassed (we were pretty tired and had a hard time reading the street signs) but the staff were extra kind to us and gave us tips about the area and things to see. We had a great stay and really appreciated their service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    3.3
    The most awful night in my travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a terrible experience. The address on the booking was A, so I went straight to A and found nowhere to check in, and a place called Kiezbude, but locked. I had to call them and they told me I should go to another place to check in, which was about 500 meters far and also called Kiezbude , which has no lift so I had to carry my suitcase all the way up. Before they charged me half of the amount by bank transfer by email and then I gave them the rest by cash. Then I returned to the place I've been and couldn't open the door again. I had to call them again and then they told me it's on another street. I figured a long time then realized that it's in the basement, dark and with sharing shower and wc, not like the pic at all!! And the worst thing is that in the 3am in the morning someone knocked door heavily and played music loud. It's midnight!! I had to escape the next morning without getting my money back. Never want to stay one more minute.这家是骗子,图片和实际根本不符合!在地下室,很吵!周围住的人都是长租的那种,很恐怖。

    It is near the sightseeing places.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    4.2
    Awful , NOT RECOMMEND!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would Not recommend this Hostel, pictures on here don't do it justice !!! Staff where not helpful at all , we had to find the rooms ourselves in a separate building ! The €200 deposit for 10 keys was a joke (after paying £2,200 to stay for 4 nights !!!!!!) and we didn't get it back at the end because they said one key was missing !!! They had no intention of giving it back, shocking !!! The receptionist actually lied and said we didn't hand in 4 keys , but we did !!!! Honestly wouldn't recommend these 'apartments' as they sold it .... it's a basic , poor HOSTEL !!! Awful

    It was a good location , dirty but in the main drinking area !!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.0
    Location, unique atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was not able to check-in in person despite arriving before 8pm (checked in over the phone!?), no towel on the first night, received a smelly towel on the second night, wifi only in a common area located 300m from the apartment.

    Location, unique atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.5
    Good location but not so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit dark in the room and wifi is not working well in our room. But it works well in the other room. A bit wired. You can hear some noise from the grand when the metro pass.

    I like the location of this hotel. It is a very good place in Hamburg. Close to the port and sexy house street.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    was not stated that check in was in a different location to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    was not stated that check in was in a different location to the actual hostel we were staying at.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Is enough to stay overnight and when you want to make party in St. Pauli!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness!

    The location! And the kitchen with the fridge;) (Studio, 4 people)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Great service. Great location. 100% recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.5
    LADS HAD A SUPER WEEKEND.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    HAVINING TO SHARE BATHROOMS, AND PAYING FOR TOWELS!!

    THIS IS A HOSTEL SO ONE CAN EXPECT WHAT THEY GET

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect!

    It was basic, clean & tidy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.4
    Whilst a very basic level of cleanliness is maintained, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst a very basic level of cleanliness is maintained, it is not a nice place to stay, and it was a real pain to find and get checked in etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    If you're looking for an overpriced dump, choose this 'hostel'
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price-quality very bad

    The evening receptionist is a nice guy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.4
    You may not get what you expect, but what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get to stay in the advertised location. Hard to find, cramped, uncomfortable.

    Cheap

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    3.8
    Personal not friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal not friendly! Complicated to get there!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.4
    Not worth it for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small toilet, a bigger person does not fit inside. Dirty shower....

    The only good thing is the location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    2.5
    location is good, few minutes from U-bahn, but considering I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -toilet was dirty.. no... filthy was the right term -room had weird smell and noisy, can hear TV and other people fighting in other rooms -no mobile reception inside the room -no wi-fi -check in and check out was at another location 2 blocks away/ on a bar - staff was spewing cigarette smoke all over me as I check in -no towels provided

    location is good, few minutes from U-bahn, but considering I had to check-in somewhere else, I rate it with the saddest face

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    7.5
    The rooms are fine going with the theme of Reeperbahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The showers and the toilets can be mended a bit. They seem to have borne toil and that shows. A little bit of renovation might help.

    The rooms are fine going with the theme of Reeperbahn.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    7.9
    Location is perfect for nightlife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to pay a deposit via card. This was then subjected to international transaction fees from my bank that I didn't know about until I had booked, this would not have been an issue if they accepted paypal!

    Location is perfect for nightlife.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    5.4
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Door bell was ringing too many times in the early morning.I didn't sleep well because of these reason. Rings should be out of usage for more confortable accommodation.

    Perfect location. Friendly staff gave us too many tricks about Hamburg & St. Pauli.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    8.8
    "
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didn't work at all. They don't accept any cards, not even German ones. Lighting not very convenient in the room.

    "Upgraded" for the same cost to an en-suite room at Kiezbude, good location if one likes being in the hearth of night-life. Kitschy design, corresponding to Reeperbahn surroundings. They should hire sex-toys at reception desk (maybe they do, I haven't asked)

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Interesting party area, not far from center and central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noise all night, ear plugs necessary ;) Maybe some shelf or wardrobe in the room would be good.

    Interesting party area, not far from center and central station. Basic, but clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    The place was clean and well kept with the basic amenities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The check in was a bit long winded having to go to another location across the town to get the keys etc.

    The place was clean and well kept with the basic amenities, in a great location for a rowdy party group.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    6.7
    great location, central to s bahhn docks and nightlife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    there is no signs or numbers outside so I found it difficult to find especially after an evening out.

    great location, central to s bahhn docks and nightlife.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, very central, information was given about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just the noise in hostel think it was trains every 10-15 mins but I recommend headphones to block out the noise and your sorted

    Friendly staff, very central, information was given about the city, where to go eating bars and clubs 24h party central great for party goers

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.5
    Location perfect if you want to spent your time on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was +28 degrees outside so our room was hot as damn.

    Location perfect if you want to spent your time on the Reeperbahn.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    4.2
    No internet, the room smelled cigarette, no towel at all,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No internet, the room smelled cigarette, no towel at all, and a very small blanket

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly people who helped us out a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly people who helped us out a lot. The ambiance is pretty cool and it's in a vibrant part of town.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    5.4
    The bad was broken
    • Couple

    The bad was broken

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Paulibude traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: