Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Paulin This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Paulinstraße 13, 54292 Trier, Germany

#8 of 43 hotels in Trier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 124 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but I was there only one night and did not eat in the hotel.

    Perfect location a short walk from town centre. Excellent clean modern rooms. Private car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Clean, basic hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room was of vent system and room was very hot despite using the aircon unit.

    The location was excellent, a very short walk to all the main attractions. Friendly staff. On site parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    A nice price worthy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about. But In our room (204) it was a lot of "hairy" rugs. Not so great if you are asthmatic as me. Difficult to get it clean and it gets a lot of dirt in it that can be hard to wash. For an asthmatic person (and to be easier to clean) it would be better with any carpets and rugs at all. Otherwise it was all in all a very clean hotel.

    The staff were very friendly. Very close to the city! And the breakfast was the best on our whole road trip through France and Germany! They had several parking lots under ground (under the hotel) But it's recommendable to make a reservation for the car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    A great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel close to city center, with great parking, friendly helpful staff and a nice big room😀. This was our fifth visit to Trier we will come back to this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.0
    opposite the main attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot in the room, with windows open there was a lot of street noise.

    The hotel is right opposite the main attraction, Porta Nigra. Not a place for a longer holiday, but OK for an overnight stay. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.1
    Good overall hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    two single beds combined together, this is how a king or queen size beds in Germany are apparently. no single big mattress! They have that described in the description though, but I hadn't seen it before. there's a gap between the two single mattresses, so it's not the most romantic type of bed. although it's comfy.

    The room is equipped with what we needed. I liked the complementary tea and coffee in the room. The bathroom is also very well equipped, although it looks like a hospital's bathroom! Location is also great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is consistently well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is consistently well maintained. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. For motorcycles, there is underground parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice place, cute room and kind personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place, cute room and kind personnel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Great room in a great location with a great staff. Perfect experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    We were welcomed in a very friendly way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were welcomed in a very friendly way. The staff at breakfast were hard working and polite. Breakfast itself was of a high standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    We arrived by motobike and the underground parking was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by motobike and the underground parking was perfect. Also,the clima-fan in the room was much appreciated!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    7.5
    You feel like you are "coming home"!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi connection in the room did not work or the signal was very weak, thus the opening of web sites took "years"!

    You feel like you are "coming home"!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Perfect location - 2 mins from Porta Nigra and the start of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is free but with a different network id in different parts of the hotel we found it difficult to find a sweet spot to maintain a decent connection. This can easily be solved by using the same name on the network extenders dotted around and changing the position slightly.

    Perfect location - 2 mins from Porta Nigra and the start of the whole city. Staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and a good size with everything you could need in terms of extra's and kettle / tea / coffee / tv / safe box etc/ Lovely selection of cakes and biscuits in the reception area. Easy to use car park & it is free. Even better on the day of check out we could leave our car there while we had a last walk around the city. Just a general good feeling from this hotel vs staying in a chain hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    10
    The hotel's location is superb - within 100m or so of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - we had a wonderful experience throuhhout.

    The hotel's location is superb - within 100m or so of the Porta Nigra, a couple blocks from the train station, and a short walk to all of Trier's sights. The staff is exceptionally friendly, capable, and caring. Breakfast provided a very wide array of offerings, very fresh, beautifully presented, and served in a large, bright, lovely furnished dining room. The room was spotless, quiet, extremely safe and secure, and attractively priced. Parking is conveniently available on-site. We would not consider staying anywhere else when visiting Trier again.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    9.6
    People very friendly, good location close to the city,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi was slow, and even didn't work properly when many guests were using it

    People very friendly, good location close to the city, perfect restaurant close by, parking lot of the hotel very good (we made a reservation for parking)

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    1. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast seemed a little expensive (there is a bakery nextdoor)

    1. Great location. 2. Friendly staff. 3. There is a market nextdoor. 4. A comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    I booked the wrong room- or booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking is scary but it works.

    I booked the wrong room- or booking.com did. Either way the made a few changes and all was well. It was very good of them to make things work. And it was in walking distance to the main square. There were closer hotels but because of price this was a great deal.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Super friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I have to be critical the furnishing of the breakfast area could do with a more consistent decoration

    Super friendly and helpfull staff. Great breakfast and fantastic location

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    A small problem with missing hypoallergenic pillows was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hypoallergenic pillows requested when booking, missing on arrival and not supplied after asking at desk. Friday and Saturday nights were noisy from people returning home from pubs. Mornings were noisy from unknown machinery source.

    A small problem with missing hypoallergenic pillows was resolved with sincere apologies and compensation.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    8.8
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet very poor signal and intermittent connection. Bed very hard and the pillows looked lovely till you put your head down then they became flatter than a pancake and were no neck support at all.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Clean, modern rooms, nice reception area and bar. Excellent choices in the buffet breakfast. So good to have tea and coffee making in the room.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.5
    2 minutes walk to Porta Nigra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed can be better, I requested 1 queen bed and when I got to the room, they put a 2 twin bed together which they literally push the 2 bed frames together having a gap in the middle. There is no A/C or an electric fan in the room, had to open the windows to cool the room and it's a bit noisy outside.

    2 minutes walk to Porta Nigra

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.6
    I love the servicemind of all staffs of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No, everything was perfect during my stay.

    I love the servicemind of all staffs of the hotel. All staffs are nice, give us a lot of useful information of the city and hospitality. The breakfast is good, I like the colorful boiled eggs.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    8.8
    Decent hotel, great location, secure onsite parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Decent hotel, great location, secure onsite parking available. Near to Porta Nigra and the old town. Good breakfast in the morning. Warm and welcoming staff in the breakfast room, made our son feel welcome.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    9.6
    Staff was very friendly and helpful (quickly fixed wifi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very friendly and helpful (quickly fixed wifi problems; let us leave our car in the parking lot even after checkout) Very Clean, big shower Breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, excellent Location - One minute walk to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, excellent Location - One minute walk to Portal Negier. Easy and quick access to WIFI! Free parking place next to hotel. Cost Performance Ratio is the best!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    We liked everything in the hotel, especially personal was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We liked everything in the hotel, especially personal was very polite and kind.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    It's located 100 meters from Porta Nigra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's located 100 meters from Porta Nigra. So location is awesome. Hotel is big and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.3
    Location: close to the town center, 10 minutes walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location: close to the town center, 10 minutes walk from the station. Free car park in the backyard.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    Cleanliness, staff smiles and welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness, staff smiles and welcome

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    7.5
    nice location by Porta Nigra
    • Couple

    dated facilities

    nice location by Porta Nigra

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location, cleanliness, comfort and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noisy at night

    Excellent location, cleanliness, comfort and good service. .

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: