Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Altstadt Garni This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Johanniterstr.16, 91438 Bad Windsheim, Germany

#16 of 19 hotels in Bad Windsheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 231 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    Everything about it was average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about it was average. It wasn't bad, but wasn't great. A friendly, hospitable staff can go a long way. They were anything but those two things. If I ever were to stay in Bad Windsheim again in my life, I wouldn't stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place, just install somthing on bathroom window for privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking next to the place is a bit tight but it worked. The window in our bathroom didn't have a blind/curtain for privacy, so it would be recommended that they install one.

    Large room for the 3 of us and the shower was powerful. Breakfast was fabulous!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.5
    The Pension Altstadt Garni is effectively a bed &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One 'little' problem on arrival - we had booked two rooms (for four adults) - the Pension only allocated us one room!! After a short delay (about 15 minutes) a second room was provided (thank goodness they were not fully booked!!!). Oops - a somewhat embarrassed hotel owner!

    The Pension Altstadt Garni is effectively a bed & breakfast establishment, rather than being a "hotel" as such - you have a room of good standard and your breakfast is taken in the Cafe Altstadt Garni (attached to the Pension). There are no other facilities available, but this should not put you off from using the Pension if all you require is a good bed followed by a good breakfast. The Cafe is very pleasant and has a very tasteful ambience, whilst serving a continental breakfast of good standard. There is excellent private car parking provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    A good stay the the Pension Altstadt Garni
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I need to practice my German speaking more! I missed breakfast the first few days due to a lack of prior knowledge/information/up to date signage. Once I found found breakfast, (in the cafe at the front of the premises and not the old breakfast room) it was below very good. Busy car park area requiring people to move their cars to get in/out but they were very accommodating.

    Quiet, friendly staff, clean and secure. The big Bakerie Wimmer in Bad Windsheim who provided me with a free Cappuchino and Croissant Breakfast on the Monday morning despite me arriving at the wrong Bakerie Wimmer shop. (Thanks again)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast buffet was very good and plenty to choose from
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was very good and plenty to choose from

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We always stay here when visiting the spa!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.6
    Clean and tidy room with a really comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only issue in the room was a damaged shower head--still usable, just sprayed a lot of water on the wall instead of me. With the attention to detail this hotel has in other aspects, I'm sure they'll fix it in short order.

    Clean and tidy room with a really comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was outstanding! The hotel is right in Altstadt and walking distance to all of the sights (and some great restaurants) in this beautiful little town.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    Love that Pension Altstadt Garni is right down town where we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Love that Pension Altstadt Garni is right down town where we can walk to local restaurants, have drinks and walk back! A two minute drive to the spa as well. The breakfast is remarkable! The rooms are always clean and the staff are wonderfully pleasant! Will stay again soon!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast was great, the room was spacious clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only reason I couldn't rate it really excellent was that for what we paid, air conditioning could really be expected. And we were there on an exceptionally hot night making sleep pretty difficult.

    Breakfast was great, the room was spacious clean and comfortable. The wifi was a strong signal and fast connection. Much appreciated!

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    10
    The bed was very comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillow not to my liking (sorry).

    The bed was very comfortable; the room was large and spotlessly perfect; breakfast was 4-5 star!! Highly recommend. We will be back!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel very close to the market square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice hotel very close to the market square. Fantastic breakfast buffet, with a large variety of local products

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable bed a nd big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nobody at the reception, staff didn't speak english

    Comfortable bed a nd big room

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and they serve a terrific...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't like were the pillows.

    The staff was very friendly and they serve a terrific breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    the staff were very nice, big comfy rooms, clean, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the staff were very nice, big comfy rooms, clean, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable, in good location, and breakfast buffet was HUGE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little confusion with our booking - but it was quickly rectified

    Comfortable, in good location, and breakfast buffet was HUGE and good.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: