Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Pension Am Schwanenteich This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Töpferstr. 1, 06886 Lutherstadt Wittenberg, Germany

#8 of 25 hotels in Lutherstadt Wittenberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 685 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    It's a boutique hotel with good location to the castle...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As Wittenberg is a small town, most staff unfortunately has limited English skills. But they are very friendly and polite.

    It's a boutique hotel with good location to the castle church and Lutherhaus. The price is reasonable and the staff are very friendly and polite. The room is quiet and clean. There's lift for luggage. I enjoyed my stay. The continental breakfast is also very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    A lucky find
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was at back of building so got a little bit of noise from kitchen, not enough to spoil my stay

    a lovely place to stay. near the main streets and the parks/gardens that ring the city. the breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Good Hotel with excellent food in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and friendly staff - very good food in the restaurant, so do not walk out in the town for dinner but stay in the restaurant on the hotel. We were able to park on the street here in may 2018 else it is possible to rent a parkingplace at the hotel. Close to the middle of the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Friendly, excellent quality Pension.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Efficient and friendly staff. Easy check-in. Well laid out and spacious room. Good quality build finish. Even had a lift - which was a surprise for a modest sized Hotel/Pension. Great location. Very close to the centre yet away from the bustle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    I wish I could rate it even lower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I disliked the whole hotel. See above. I couldn’t find a thing I liked Do not stay at this hotel

    Staff were abrupt The worst part of the hotel stay was the poor/ intermittent functioning WiFi. The old fashioned key was annoying. Don’t stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and central hotel with a very good kitchen and a smaller, cosy restaurant -and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a blanket, as the duve was too warm - but none were available, so I got a ligther duve. OK - but for summer...(?) The room had aircon though, - I just prefer to switch it off at night.

    Breakfast was really good with all you need from cereal, bread, cheeses, meat, lots of fruit (watermelon, pineapple etc), scrambled eggs, jam etc - and good coffee. Very nice, polite, and helpful service! Also, I had a 20 sqm room, which includes entry room and bathroom. I'm happy I didn't settle for less. Note that checkin ends at 10PM. If you go to the restaurant, you can have a wonderful little drink called a "Lutheraner" - it's great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Worked well in a jam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This site said they spoke English, but they only spoke German.

    I had to book this because my other accommodation didn't work out. Good location, nice place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful Wittenberg! Fantastic place to stay to see the town.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were super helpful and friendly despite our not being able to speak German, and their not speaking English. We got over the problems easily enough, thanks to Google Translate! :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.0
    fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and unable to eat at hotel

    Room ceiling was low - asked for another room was unable to help. Could not eat at hotel because we had no reservations. breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Delightful relaxing spot with great location and great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Liked everything !

    The hotel is small and comfortable, just a bit away from the city middle so it was very quiet at night. We slept well. The rooms are freshly painted, and decorated, good size. There is a small elevator. That made all the difference to friends of ours with knee problems. There is a wonderful restaurant in the hotel for dinner. As you come out of the main doors, just to the left, across a small street, there is a park, that's great for walks. there is a beer garden type restaurant, and a cafe in the park. The main part of town is just a 5 minute walk, as you turn right from the hotel main door. Great shopping in town. Bought some lovely outfits.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    Very good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift stop at level 4 (I think!?) and have to carry heavy suitcases op the stairs. Me and my husband were travelling with our daughter and 20 month grandson - so there were a lot of luggage. The main problem was that there was no way to close curtains or to prevent light coming into the room. This interrupted our night's sleep very much

    The room was spacious and the location nice. Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    This was a wonderful place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a wonderful place to stay. The staff went out of the way to be helpful. The room was large and comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Dinner was perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff cannot speak or understand English at all. Parking lot is so far from the hotel.

    Dinner was perfect! I thought dinner would be so humble because it was included. But it was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.7
    Wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ther only English station was the Russian RT - no BBC or CNN. 😩 Had to have the manager restart a couple of different routers before we had working WIFI. It took a long time before it was as straightened out.

    Room was clean though nondescript.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    The breakfast was really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find our way around the hotel. Could improve signage inside although as english speakers it maybe would not have helped.

    The breakfast was really nice!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    The breakfast was excellent and the person in charge helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was excellent and the person in charge helpful, polite and friendly. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was also excellent, above my expectations for a small pension The rooms were clean and well cared for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a couple of nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was very limited. Yes, it was free, but at times I found it difficult to connect at all, and very often the connection was limited. Difficult to check emails and frankly impossible to Skype call. Quite frustrating but nothing too awful.

    A very nice hotel in the centre of Wittenberg. Very close to the city centre, restaurants etc., and just a short walk from the train station. Lovely breakfast - highly recommended on that alone! As a vegetarian I often worry when travelling, so the amount of choice was very much appreciated. The room was small but comfortable - as a solo traveller I don't expect much room so the size was not an issue. Came equipped with a desk and comfortable chair, which was nice given that I was travelling on business - made life easier than working from a bed. Staff friendly and helpful: my German leaves somewhat to be desired but they were very accommodating for my lack of language skills.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Watch out for parking
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at check in misinformed me about parking rules and as a result I got a parking ticket. I asked three times if I could park on the street and was told it was fine until 9 am. It wasn't. The building is hard to find and the streets are narrow--no one's fault just a challenge

    Location was great! Breakfast was fine. Value overall was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Very basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco shuts down at night, even during hot days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Location and air condition, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no minibar nor bar for cold drinks later on the evening

    Location and air condition, clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Great and great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Goed ontbijt, nice host etc, room with airco

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don’t speak English. Bed could be more comfortable.

    Very good food. Perfect location. Very friendly and nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    It was comfortable and best healing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good.

    Clean and comfortable room. Best breakfast. Kind staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Excellent location! Staff was helpful, bed was comfortable, and dinner in their restaurant was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    In town centre short stroll from main sites,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful staff good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on top floor with no elevator.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location, Quiet.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed Was really poor

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Awsome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Close to key sights

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    It was a small friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a small friendly hotel. There’s a lovely restaurant attached, which we would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homemade breakfast Very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    kid space in the restourant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    kid space in the restourant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Location, friendly personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small 1p room, unstable internet

    Location, friendly personnel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in Wittenberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location amd air conditioning were pluses.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    My time with Martin Luther
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful breakfast lay-out and food great and heathy. Wake up call and taxi both on time and clerk very helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.4
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park. Could not eat at hotel. All tables were reserved.

    Clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    5.8
    Just the minimum
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nearly impossible to move between seat, TV, desk

    Tiny room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.9
    The host was really kind and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was really kind and nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not so spacious

    Brilliant food Nice and helpfull employees Perfect location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.5
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Great Location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful duvets .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Internet in our room had to go down stairs for reception. Recommended

    Wonderful duvets .warm room clean excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable hotel in Wittenberg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet in our rooms was very sluggish/slow.

    Clean, comfortable hotel in Wittenberg! Parking on street just outside the hotel or in parking garage about 300 meters away. As family of four, we ended up staying in two separate rooms on top floor. Due to location of rooms, internet was very slooooow. Breakfast was nice, with decent variety. One night we ate at the hotel restaurant, which was very good, quality cuisine. Would strongly recommend!

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.9
    The hotel, rooms, and breakfast rooms are very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is within walking distance of Martin Luther Reformation sights and events. A couple of nights there was much noise on the street below most likely from neighbors. Not sure if this is consistent though. Tiny rooms.

    The hotel, rooms, and breakfast rooms are very clean and neat.nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    The town was just wonderful and with all the cultural...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The town was just wonderful and with all the cultural heritage. everything is close by including the accommodation. I just stayed one night but it was everything I had hoped for. Staff were good and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Conveniently located, we were able to walk to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Conveniently located, we were able to walk to all the various sites in Lutherstadt-Wittenburg. The hotel offers a great breakfast and also hosts a very good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    The room was large and had a nice bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The traffic is loud.

    The room was large and had a nice bathroom. FYI - Not sure what all of the rooms are like but we had a double room but our beds were twins and separate. The workers were all very nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    4.2
    We had booked a family room with two bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had booked a family room with two bedrooms. We even took a roundabout way just because of that. When we came in the evening "our" room was not available so they gave us a doubleroom with a tiny sofabed (not able to fit two children age 13 and 9). We were offered a free doubleroom which was very cold. In the morning there where another staff who made us pay for both the doublerooms and said that she had have nothing to do with this. The rooms where also very dated and I wouldn´t recommend it at all. There are much nicer hotels close by.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.5
    Staff didnt speak English
    • Family with older children

    Staff didnt speak English

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    The restaurant was one of the best in Wittenberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was one of the best in Wittenberg. The hotel was well placed, away from the crowds and noise and yet convenient for the centre

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    A nice friendly clean place to stay in this beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A nice friendly clean place to stay in this beautiful town. I wish we had had more time here.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.3
    close to town, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    complicated internet that doesn't work on upper-most floors in family rooms.

    close to town, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    10
    very friendly and courtous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    internet did not work on last night- or on ;last morning

    very friendly and courtous staff. very clean. large room- large bathroom

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: