Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gästehaus am Sonnenhof

Sonnenhof 4, 88079 Kressbronn am Bodensee, Germany

#5 of 16 hotels in Kressbronn am Bodensee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 815 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom was a bit small. Our room was in the guest building which was quite a bit cheaper than the main hotel and that is the reason for smaller rooms. No air conditioning which we USA visitors miss.

    This facility had the most impressive breakfast, the largest variety of items and very good food. The hotel had a hotel only beach on Lake Constance, which was not too far from the hotel within walking distance. The internet was good. The hotel was located on the eastern side of the Lake Constance and was convenient to drive to the 2 islands on the lake. Most of the staff spoke English and were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was hosted in the guesthouse. This was clean and quiet, but the room was not so well designed, with an inconvenient door cutting the room in two and no air conditioner. Even in spring the room tended to be warm. The wellness is not included in the standard fare if you stay in the guesthouse. The gym is in the basement, which is usual for hotels, but not so nice.

    Not my first time here, I love the location with a view of the lake, the beautiful wellness (big indoor pool, three saunas, steam bath, front garden,...) and the gorgeous breakfast. Large gym with many machines. Large and convenient free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could be updated a bit with a more modern touch/feel. It'd be great to have a bit more storage space in the bathroom - especially for 2 people. Just a couple of shelves - and a soap tray in the shower would be awesome! I'm a soap user & have shampoo conditioner, so extra place to put those is always appreciated. You can hear your neighbors occasionally, but I'm a sound sleeper, so it doesn't bother me.

    This is one of my happy places! I travel quite a lot & have a demanding job, and this is one of the few places I can come to recharge. I often bring one of my besties or family along - but sometimes I just need some alone time. And this is the perfect spot! A lovely hotel (guesthouse, a little outdated, but has everything you need - or main house, which is spiffier & more modern), very friendly & helpful staff, a fantastic location, great pool/spa area, yummy restaurant with an amazing breakfast (champagne on the WEs), and a great all-around area for chillaxing (i.e., walking, swimming, exploring, driving, biking - or just snoozing in a lounge chair). I'm here at least 3-4 times a year (if possible, more often). And the staff is seriously awesome! The guesthouse is a short walk (c. 2 mins.) from the main house (where the spa area/pool & breakfast are located). Each room is a double & has a private balcony. There's parking & an elevator. The gym is very close (not that I've actually used it - but maybe next time . . . ). The spa/pool are an extra charge per day - which is actually great if you have other stuff you wanna do in the area - or during the summer, when I prefer to swim in the Lake (there's a private beach area on the Lake) instead of the pool. Gives you the option to either add the spa or not. During the winter, I prefer the main house; during the summer, the guesthouse. Can't wait for my next trip!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a problem with TV reception in our room and the staff was not helpful.

    Breakfast was superb: Great selection, lake view and all that until 11.30!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted to book a table for dinner. The Receptionist referred me to the restaurant, who were not very interested. I eventually managed, but the meal was not so good. The lighting in our bathroom and the TV channel selection was poor.

    The room was very well equipped, good lighting, wardrobe with hangers, drawers, large comfortable bed, and it had a balcony. The breakfast selection and standard was very good. The hotel location was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to stay longer..!! I'll remedy that next year..

    Wonderful place..!! Easily accessible, great location overlooking the Bodensee.. The Gasthaus is separate from the main building, surrounded by private residences, so it's almost as if you're staying in a little village. Rooms are great - I even had a view over the lake. The restaurant in the main building is top class - the staff couldn't have been more helpful either.. And breakfast in the same place the following morning was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was stunning, good choice on breakfast, located in small peaceful village, definitely place to stay longer then 2 days. Prefect spot for travel around lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a mixed experience with the staff at the front desk. Whereas, most of them were kind, friendly and accommodating, there also was one that wasn't so friendly.

    We stayed in the guesthouse, which is only a short walk to the main hotel. The rooms were small but comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet is one of the best that we have ever experienced.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a complex of accommodation. You need to take a walk 2~3 minutes outside in order to eat breakfast or use other facility. Think about it again especially in the winter.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main disadvantage is that we had a room in the Annex building. To get back to our room after breakfast we had to go out in the open air as there was no interior connection of the buildings,and it was raining !!

    Excellent breakfast, wonderful view to the lake.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in restaurant didn't match the quality of the food. 20 minute walk into town for a choice of restaurants.

    Excellent breakfast, nice room, quiet location. Good quality food in restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a lot of musquitos in the guesthouse. When you close the windows it becomes very hot.

    The view was very nice and the breakfast very large and a lot to choose from. The station and lake are very closeby (15 min walk).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the carpet in the rooms in the Guesthause are stuffy and give off heat and the beds are extreemly hard.The Guesthouse overall (especially in the foyer/hall) needs a new air circulation system - terribly hot to an uncomfortable extent.

    The view from the restaurant's terrace is outstanding. Rooms are simple (without any clutter)but very sleek and functional. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa Bereich plus 20.-{Person!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception

    Position, breackfast, main building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location quietness staff polite accommodation clean ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone in room, room was ( cruise size accommodations) small and no air conditioning.

    View excellent, food very good and rural surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, a long walk to the main building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful wiew,excelent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not comfortable.

    Breakfast is extremely waw.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to park. Room is big, clean and comfortable. Good wifi connection. Nice breakfast. Friendly staffs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One elevator wasn't working

    Breakfast was fantastic Great sun porch

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No airco, it was very hot, no minibar- couldnt get the fridge to work. tiny shower.Not suitable for disabled.

    lovely location of restaurant- view of Bodensee.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The main hotel is a four star, but they put us in a three star guesthaus with no view and small room. If you booked your room using booking.com they will claim the fitness center is not included and it is another 25euros.

    I liked the main hotel was nice. The general location is nice, but it is a 30 minute walk from the train. The breakfast was outstanding and included in the price. If you stay in the main facility it will be nice, but you should ask up front.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we did not use it but i fell the pool should not have a charge of £20 to use it!!!!

    room was quiet..had a nice view and all the facilities a nice room should have..nothing at all to complain about

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first room allocated reeked if previous guests smoke however we were given a better fresh room after we complained. The beds were a bit worn through.

    The breakfast is great, the views from the main building are stunning.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the breakfast is outstanding

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed and the pillow are very uncomfortable

    Breakfast is delicious

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    very nice hotel , with really nice service and breakfast, very nice views from hotel rooms and from hotel restaurant,

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cleanliness, silent environment, excellent breakfast, very kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect place, best breakfast ever, responsive stuff, grate location

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed / too hard

    Location Breakfast View Property Modern room decor

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Room superbly clean modern and very comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Size of room was small and no aircon

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The photos of the guesthouse were not what of the roomand facilities actually available. Felt we were kind of misled.

    Stay was ok

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: