Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pension Becker

Rosengasse 23, 91541 Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany

Review score

Based on 706 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    Fitst of al, the WiFi is the town WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitst of al, the WiFi is the town WiFi.the Parkin is outside of the walls.but the worst part was that the receptionist denied the entrance and the use of the bathroom before she got paid for the room( in cash) to a 60 year old who was driving for 5 hours! Unbelievably rude!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Need to be pragmatic like I am to say that this was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very outdated and worn rooms.

    Need to be pragmatic like I am to say that this was ok. But, we needed a sleepover in a beautiful town, and that was what we got. Plenty of space and the bathroom was refurbished. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Fun place to visit, nice hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot day, no air conditioning, but windows opened nicely!

    They let me know ahead of time how to handle arriving with a car. Hosts were friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Location & Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet very small and separate from the shower...very dim lighting. Traffic noise all night. Not the cleanest of places and only permitted to pay by cash. Parking is extra (only 5€ for 24 hrs) but outside the city walls.

    The location - it is situated within the old city walls and close to all amenities. Exterior of the building is beautiful. Staff were very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Worth a look in Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems

    This may not be the largest or most modern hotel in Rothenburg but we will stay here when we come back. Great location inside the wall with very friendly owners, especially the nice lady who works so hard to provide a wonderful breakfast to start your day off right. No lift but there is a cooler with beer and drinks at a good price. The rooms are basic, clean and quiet. Parking is just outside the wall. Great price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Basic Budget Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was a little difficult. When we called the number on the Booking.com confirmation, we got a message to call another number. Then we had to find a paper and pen, call again, write the number down, then call that number. This is not so easy to do when you are coming from out of the country (the USA) and your cell phone doesn't work or is very expensive to use. It would be more convenient to post the correct number to call on the door of the building. The bathroom in the twin room was so small that it was difficult to sit on the toilet. The price is lower than other places in Rothenburg. However, we go to Rothenburg several times a year. There are other places nearby that are more comfortable and convenient if you can pay a few more Euro.

    This is a budget hotel, well located in the center of Rothenburg. Very convenient to everything. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The single room had a shower across from the bed. The room also had a very small room with a toilet. Basically, everything I needed- just small. Breakfast included a few meats and cheeses, boiled eggs,rolls, jam, decent coffee, juice, and yogurt. This is a basic, acceptable, budget option in the historic center. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.8
    The room was smaller than in the photos, the bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than in the photos, the bed was very short and the matress was uncomfortable. The water in the shower kept fluctuating between hot and cold which was annoying. There are also no parking facilities other than those paid parking slots around the city. The staff is friendly but the facilities available in the hotel are mediocre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable place inside the city walls with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room for 5 people. The room was on the ground floor, but as the windows were secured that was not a problem. Everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable. I liked that there was enough room for our clothes and staff in the provided wardrobes and in the cabinets in the bathroom. The staff was super friendly. Location is also great, inside the city walls but not directly in the centre, so the place is quite at night. The included breakfast was good. We visited the city during the Meistertrunk Festival and the location was perfect to enjoy the festivities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    In the old part of Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I liked the least was the bathroom. It was clean, though.

    I liked the location, price, breakfast and friendliness of the staff. The beds were also comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    quaint break from the ordinary cookie cutter chain hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely tight bathroom space. I am 6'5" so getting in and out of shower as well as use tiolet was quite awkward. Would suggest adding 1 hand towel in addition to the offered bathsheet and 1 bar of soap for hand washing.

    Cozy and quiet. Right in middle of town. Perfect location for a 1 night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Love Rothenburg ob der Tauber - would love to come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The house felt a bit cramped, especially the breakfast room. Very small and the buffet was on a small table in the middle of the way out. Nothing major, but if you don't like that, it would be better to stay somewhere else. The car could be unloaded in front of the pension, but needed to be parked outside the city walls - just around the corner basically. No problem really, but good to know.

    We had nice comfy rooms and the lady who ran the pension was very friendly. Very well situated inside the city walls, so everything was easily reachable on foot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    It was ok for the price, I think mainly because of the good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV in room #5 was an old CRT screen TV, which didn't work. The shower rose would not stay up at an angle where you could comfortably shower. The hotel does not cater for infants; there was no cot available nor highchair in the breakfast room. When I booked the information said that parking was available, however it is not onsite, and due to the festival we had to park a very long way from the hotel.

    The staff were kind and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very kind and friendly, easy to reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was just okay. Next time, we'll probably go to a cafe in town instead.

    The staff was very kind and friendly, easy to reach. The room was clean and as advertised. The locks worked with skeleton keys, which was charming. The room felt a little cramped but we are a family of 5, after all, so that can be expected from time to time. We would book again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    The owner was very kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very kind and friendly. I asked few questions in my poor German (and English) but he patiently listened to me and nicely answered. The room was cute and comfortable. I liked the style. Breakfast was simple but nice:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.4
    Good location but other than that, not very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody was there at check in. Then I had to pay cash which was never mentioned anywhere. Good thing I had enough but not convenient. The bed was not comfy but worked for the night.

    it was fairly cheap for just staying one night. Inside the city made it easy to get around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.3
    Bad experience. One time enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So tiny all of the hotel. Narrow space and small pathway to the room. Every area of this hotel made us feel cramped. Bedroom was so tight for 2. Bathroom and toilet room separate in each side of the room. One was left another one was right.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Great, comfortable place to stay for the night as a pit stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked the room we were told the rate included breakfast. This was not the case and they contacted us well ahead of our trip. We didn’t want breakfast anyway so we were okay with that.

    Location was good. 2 toilets in the room was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Location is very good, close to center and nice restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small. Bathroom was very tight

    Location is very good, close to center and nice restaurants / coffee places close by. Stuff was very useful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Felt as if you are inside a Brothers Grimm fairytale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arguably the most beautiful city/town in Germany. We arrived after dark and thought we were the only guests in the hotel! A pleasant and clean room with everything you need. It seems to be a family run hotel and it felt as if we welcomed into and stayed in their home. The breakfast, included in the price, is huge and very, very delicious, served by a most friendly lady. It was only then that we realized that there were quite a few other guests as well. You may take water, local beer, etc from the fridge and pay by putting your payment into a box, all based on trust. Located inside the walls of the Old City, so within walking distance of everything. If ever we have the priviledge to go back to Rothenburg, we would not mind staying here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.4
    A very good location and a bed. Just the basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to communicate as host’s English was v poor (but we are in Germany!) Lots of mould around shower screen. No shower soap.

    Great location at an ok price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    We came late to Rothenburg because of the delayed train, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came late to Rothenburg because of the delayed train, but the owner was still waiting for us and picked us up from the train station in the middle of the night! Such a nice of him! The breakfast was lovely, you don’t wanna miss it. The room was nice also, it’s warm, comfortable, and clean, it’s a little bit old style but I like it :D

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    This place exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good. Also I liked our room, but the shower was in the main room so it might be a bit strange if you’re not travelling with your partner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    In the heart of Rothenburg inside the city walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple as shown on the pictures

    Inside the city walls, direct in the old center, easy to reach everything in Rothenburg, good value for the money, very friendly and supportive owner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Great location, Night Watchman Tour and a walk around the walls made the trip!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility was pretty dated (walls, floors, tv & bathroom). All could use some attention/updating), but the cost for the location seemed fair.

    Loved the host! One young lady (daughter of the owner) appeared to be running everything on her own. She was super nice and very helpful attending to multiple requests from guests at the same time. Location was just as promised, inside the walls, super close to everything, but far enough to be quiet at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    Simple stay in Rothenburg odT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The layout is a little interesting since the shower is in the room, but for a quick stay it's not a big deal. The rooms are a bit outdated and the wifi is part of the town's free connection. It was basically unusable in our room. If you depend on wifi for planning the next leg of your trip, you'll need to find somewhere in town with a better connection.

    Staying inside the town walls is always nice when you're traveling the Romantic Road. We came a bit in off season, so it was quiet at night. The breakfast (extra) is typical German with some pastries, jam, cereals and deli meats ...but it's convenient to have a quick start to your day. Was a short walk from the train station, which is nice if you're without a car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Pension Inside City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To check in you have to park on the street, ring the bell at the door of the pension, where you are then told that someone will be there in a few minutes. The owners live off site. After unloading your luggage and registering you have to climb the stairs since there is no elevator. Then you have to move the car to the public parking area (5 Euros per day at the time of this writing and has to be paid every morning before 9 a.m.). It is a 5 minute walk back to the pension.

    The pension is located with the city wall and within 10 minutes walking distance to the market square. The staff is friendly and can speak English. Bed was comfortable but on the soft side. The room was very small but included a shower and bathroom but this was expected since the pension was inside the city wall. Breakfast was ample and wide selection but extra.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    Be prepared before you go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't accept credit card. Ok, I missed it when I booked, it was written somewhere and I didn't read it through. But still, we are talking about tourism, and it's a small town with a few options to draw money. Also, we were a couple and were given a room with two single beds. Check-out time is too early as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out time too early for us, we like late check out. But it wasn't a deal breaker.

    Great Location, Very Friendly staff. Great Family Owned hotel. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Central and good priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our rooms were in the annex to the main pension just around the corner. In the morning we had to walk out of our building to the other entrance for breakfast. We didn't mind that much, but some people would. And because some of these buildings are very old, you do have to go up narrow stairs to your room. Which again, we did mind. Rothenburg is a very old city.

    The location is great. Inside the city walls. Very close to bakeries, restaurants and main square. This is a family run pension and they were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was nice with different breads, cheese, cold cuts, boiled eggs, jams, musli and yogurt. Tea, coffee, juice, milk or hot cocoa was also available. We booked a family room for 5, and we had 3 rooms interconnected. This is a very old building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little too small.

    The owners were very hospitable and friendly. It was very clean and our breakfast was very good. We were in walking distance of everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Great family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was tiny with a very small wc and a tiny shower. Nice view of the street but it was up a pretty steep winding staircase.

    It was right inside the city walls, so not far from parking. We had 2 rooms, one double and a family room. The family room was huge, with a king bed in one room, and 3 twins with trundle beds in the other. The bathroom was nice, but the shower was pretty tiny. Very clean. Decent cold breakfast for 5 euro each.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Super location and staff with smiles to greet you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was quite small but as I was travelling alone that didn't bother me. I think couples would have larger rooms. The breakfast room is also quite small and has a guest house feel about it as opposed to a hotel restaurant. If travelling by car you must park some distance away as they do not have a car park on site but you can unload your baggage outside the hotel before parking.

    The location is first class, just around the corner from the Main Street that leads to the middle of rothenburg. Also close by is one of the main entrance gates with steps leading up to the covered town walkway. The hotel from the outside looks medieval which is in keeping with the town itself. Super. The staff speak English and are very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn't available at the hotel and public parking wasn't really nearby. It was hard to get everyone's stuff unloaded--cars kept honking at us to move. There are 2 different houses you can stay in, and our group was split up between the houses. It would have been nice to be together.

    Location was great--walkable distance to center of town. Staff was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was hearty and delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Authentic place amongst the Roses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy on a street - Rothenburg has gotten touristy, and loud tourists could be heard at night.

    Minutes from the middle of town; room was very spacious, comfortable, clean, and charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a family or group!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wait outside the door for a while waiting for the staff to come to let us in. Had to wait again when we came to retrieve our luggage. This was minor compared to the lovely accommodations.

    Breakfast was great! Rooms were a good size - we had 9 people in 2 rooms. Everything was clean. The staff we worked with were very, very nice and helpful. ages ranged from 16 -80 years and all enjoyed the hotel and the ambiance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower next to the bed was strange at first. But luckily a good shower. People arguing in the street can keep you up at night. But location makes up for all this.

    Very nice staff. Great location. Perfect for one night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in the bathroom. They only provide a hand soap bottle. We need to bring our own shampoo and body wash. Also no glass cups in the room neither

    The location is great. Very easy to walk into the old town centef

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable value in great location though very small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were extremely small and cramped but adequate for a short stay. Bathroom very small and shower really tiny. The 2nd toilet in 2nd bedroom was a great bonus though tiny. Room was in the attic so up alot if stairs. It was very hot with only a very small windowin each room as it is in an old building.

    Great location in the heart of towm. Very pleasant owner and family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    This place is exactly one street on the right, after you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole area is using the public Wi-Fi hence the Internet was really slow. But, common you won't be uploading your photos while being in Rothenburg, leave it for the returning back home and enjoy the view, the air, the people, the colorful houses and get inspired.

    This place is exactly one street on the right, after you enter the main gate. (Before you stand and stare amazed of the medieval look, then you continue to leave the baggage fast so you can go out immediately to discover the town). The owners are taking care, asked me when is my arrival time via Email, as chosen on Booking.com. The room is very clean, not very big, not very small. Decorated in German old stile <3 Even though I didn't eat, I noticed the breakfast is fresh served. I asked for a coffee, the owner prepared it carefully on a plate and I took it inside the room. She didn't ask for money, which was really pleasant gesture. The bakery is near, wide choice of products and fresh smelly coffee. The snowballs must be tried at least once. For those who do not know, they are hard to eat, like biscuits taste but delicious. In the evening on Saturday, on the Marktplatz there was car exhibition and music event - I enjoyed a lot!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.7
    Only for 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, but for one night may be ok. The worst thing was the bed: it was too short for my husband (he is 175 cm, not so high)! The bed itself was so uncomfortable, that we bearly slept that night. Choose yourself - the price or the comfort.

    The price and location were good. Nice staff. Breakfast was ok, but no hot dishes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.6
    Not cheap and not cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms on the top floor we had need serious work. Shower cabinet IN the bedroom. Uncomfortable beds, scratchy bed linen. Stained carpet. There is an air of neglect. Banister has posts missing, stuff left in corridors. No in house wifi whatsoever. Breakfast average. Knives in spreads, cheap white sliced bread, Yoghurt left in tub with a spoon in. Staff claim they want contact with customers yet are off site and leave you outside on arrival!

    Location Bike storage as a welcome. Young staff serving breakfast are very pleasant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    Good localization and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not like in the photos.. it was just a shower cubicle in the middle of the room and the toilet was separated.

    Perfect localization and good price. Everything really simple but clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    Basic, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was actually through a separate door around the corner from the breakfast area/office, not a big deal, but was surprising when the owner walked me to the room when we checked in.

    Great location just inside the city gate. Plenty of options for eating nearby. The owner was friendly and accommodating. A basic room, but plenty comfortable for our family of six.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable stay, still facility could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no wifi available. It is a pity we are not able to use the kitchen (it was locked). We checked in at around 21:15, and shortly after the check-in the owner went home without explaining in details.

    The beds are fine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    4.6
    Not ideal
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised that it had a private bathroom, however, it was across a hall that was a common hallway. We had to use the skeleton key to open the doors to use the bathroom and because it was a common hallway and I had to get up throughout the night to take my 10 and 11 year old to the bathroom. Extremely inconvenient. The room was not decorated, just a bunch of beds, tv was circa 1980. I expected more for almost €250 a night.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Adventures Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My travel companion and I loved the fresh coffee with the many choices of basic breakfast foods. Even if breakfast did cost extra, it was much better and cheaper than the choices nearby. When we arrived they offered to help any way they could. Even though they managed the place off site, over the 3 night we were there they kept there word and helped in many ways we didn't expect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    The perfect guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets on the stair landings are not fixed down and tripped me twice, but if that's the only complaint I have...

    The view from the window was delightfully picturesque and the staff was terribly sweet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.3
    Rothenburg is a great visit and has entertaining features like the The Nightwatchman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adjacent parking is non existent so you need to be aware that a short walk to pay parking is necessary or a slightly longer walk to free public parking.

    The location to the old town was great and easy to reach. The staff were really nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    5.4
    Nice owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny family room! Everyone had a bed, but you couldn't walk around the room it was TINY!! Beds uncomfortable. Bedding scratchey. Fan in bathroom made noise all night, couldn't sleep at all!

    Nice owners

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.3
    Rothenberg - colorful n beautiful town. A must go place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many alleys in Rothenberg old town. One can get lost easily in the night since the alleys are poorly lit, though the whole place seems safe.

    Facilities, location and easy check in. Do note owner does not stay in the house itself but will respond to the door bell from where he is located. Hotel is about 5 mins walk to most major attractions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    6.9
    Good for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner would only take cash for room. Something we were not aware off prior to booking.

    Place was clean, bathroom was good, decent size for the price. Stairs of course were quite steep, which was expected. We left early so did not eat breakfast. No price break for that.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    3.8
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff and the worst travel experience I have had in Europe. Our family has been living and traveling all around Europe for 4 years and this was our worst experience. The room was in a separate building and way over priced. Not to mention the bathroom was across the hall near a dark windy staircase with no lights at night which was dangerous and they called that "family room" They also knew that we had booked two different types of rooms and failed to tell us that "all children welcome" meant they were going to charge us double for the room and never told us. We only booked two nights there because the second night was inexpensive and actually the appropriate room price for the value unlike the overpriced Saturday fee. The website lists "all kids are welcome" and does not list anywhere on the website that kids cost extra. Usually there is an age range, cost for extra beds, or extra people but on this site nothing therefore it's safe to assume that means there are NO additional costs or it's their job to list the fees. If they were not going to honor the price I had booked they should have told me upon check-in or via email. The woman was loud, rude and lied when I confronted her about the cost at 9:30am just before check-out. She told me I could find the policy myself but funny enough it wasn't listed anywhere and after confirming that there was no policy listed with booking.com either she said I could either pay double price or leave within 30 minutes because it was close to check-out time. She then changed her story once she knew I talked to booking.com and said I should have asked questions. Really!?? That's what the policy section on the hotel information is for sharing all policies and informing future and current clients of costs so we can all make informed decisions.

    Location was not too far from the main square.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.1
    I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not get the password for free wifi at the time of checkin. We did not have further contact with the hosts until next morning. I knocked twice on the door where we received but there was no response. The room was small for two people.

    The location centred within the walls was convenient. We arrived earlier than our checkin time and the hostS very graciously admitted us to the room before the allotted time. Breakfast was good. The hosts allowed us to leave our luggage on the day of departure as we did further sightseeing before taking a train. Both hosts were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Nice stay, nice city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city free WiFi is very weak. This hotel doesn't have its own WiFi.

    Less than 7 minute walk to city center.Accommodating hosts. Clean and cozy place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.3
    Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of old place, squeaky everywhere. But this is kind of good cuz you're already fairly tales.

    Place! You'll be into fairly tales such as fancy, lovely and beautiful. Break fast made me much energy for sightseeing. Warm people in this town of course this hostel as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Central Location, great for family, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice apt for families. We were 5 people in 2 room apt. Plenty of room. They even produced a hair dryer when requested.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine

    Fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    staff at breakfast was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old and worn out. not too friendly staff when we arrived

    staff at breakfast was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast, very good location, clean,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiral stairs to the room

    Nice breakfast, very good location, clean,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise in the morning.

    Location was close to town. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location right in the heart of Rothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location right in the heart of Rothenburg. Old world feel with the comforts of home. Great breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly host provided quality breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly host provided quality breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owners. Beautiful town. Clean, comfortable room. Pleasant place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud during the night because of traffic noise just out of window.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    I was surprised when I checked in that it was cash only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised when I checked in that it was cash only. I could not find that info anywhere on booking.com. I’m glad I had enough cash with me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Very very small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very very small room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room convenient to the center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is just inside the wall, very easy to find and extremely convenient to explore the town. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Location, view, and ability to open windows to the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in only takes Euro cash, and ATM is a good walk away.

    Location, view, and ability to open windows to the street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    In the old city centre, easy to walk around and explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the old city centre, easy to walk around and explore. Cosy and clean room. Staff is nice too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smallest bathroom I’ve ever met

    Great value, excellent breakfast, nice host and a spot on location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking! The parking spot is a few hundred meters away from the hotel in a public area.

    The location was good, and the staff was helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a family room, we were missing some basic amenities such as a coffee maker/tea kettle in the room.

    Central and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    The hotel location was a very short walk to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of room for the five of us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Small but clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forget for give me password for Wifi.

    Small but clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: