Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Happy go Lucky Hotel + Hostel

Stuttgarter Platz 17, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10627 Berlin, Germany

#396 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4713 hostel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was OK. Easy to find. Socket next to my bed (every bed). Personal night next to my bed (every bed). Lockers conveniently located. Common spaces convenient and spacious (when I used them).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Reasonably priced accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communal areas were a bit run down. We were provided with hand towel.Bath towel would have been appreciated. Shower facilities were good if limited in number.

    Reasonably priced accommodation.I was not expecting the Ritz.Probably aimed mainly at young travellers.Although basic beds were comfortable and clean linen provided. Staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Room basic but good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overcrowded,lack of lockers in room, very hot in room , garden courtyard bleak no chairs to sit on, towels very small , bunk beds not secured to wall, lack of sockets for phone charging phone, quite noisy when trying to sleep

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Is a cheap hostel and was located at a convenient location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I particularly disliked.

    Is a cheap hostel and was located at a convenient location close to good transport links to go to Berlin Telgel Airport and the InnoTrans 2018 conference in Messe Sud.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great place to rest after a long day traveling/sightseeing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great for my needs, about 8 min from Alexanderplazt by S-bahn. Super easily reachable from the airport, just one bus away There are LOTS of restaurants and bars around it. Clean and comfy beds. I was also lucky with my roommates. I would come back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    Two showers, one sink for tens of ppl. Noise during the night. Impersonal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a huge hostel, there is no cozy common room, no home-like atmosphere. Staff do the check-in with you and that's it, no chatting, no recommendations where to go in Berlin. They have no time for you, there are hundreds of guests versus one employee on reception desk. Steel beds and lockers are noisy, every single move during the night is disturbing - have your ear plugs prepared.

    Hostel is situated near S-bahn and regional train station in very nice residential neighborhood. The Lidl (for low cost food)is 5 minute walk from the hostel. Hostel rents their own bikes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Fun hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fun hostel with “mini store” at reception which is helpful. Didn’t hear anything in the private room which was also very large. Not too far from city at all by train

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Good price hostel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good WIFI condition, there are only one toilet and shower booth on the floor. If you think about cost, this hostel could be a good choice.

    Within 15mins Flix bus terminal on foot, two train stations are near in this hostel. Staff was very kind, they give free towel also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    Good, but ONE bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One men bathroom for the entire floor!!! Unbelievable! One person to do everything in the reception at night.

    Crew helped me when I had problems. Lot of shops near to hostel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible, worn-out beds. Room insulation is bad. Don’t expect a good night of sleep. Breakfast is not as good as other reviewers are claiming.

    Location. Very close to the train station. Staff are nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    The staff was quite friendly;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was very poor even for emails; very loud (people staying in the property + noise from the train station)

    The staff was quite friendly; located across the road from the S-bahn

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Clean and quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out time is 11am, but the staff tidy up my bed at 10am when my stuffs were still on the bed. The luggage room was full already when I checked out. And the staff didn’t try to find or suggest any places for my luggage.

    Clean and quite. It’s close to the central bus station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    24 hour reception is very conveient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most our of shape pillow one can ever imagine. I have asked the staff if I can leave something for my friend at the reception and they agreed. I have wrote a note and gave them the items. When my friend has arrived everyone was clueless and the items were gone, very disappointing.

    24 hour reception is very conveient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved how the S Bahn is right there, that it's possible to walk to the coach station (20-30 minutes) and that the bus to Tegel airport was just a 2 minute walk and it's 20mins by bus from there. Great location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I find it expensive. I am aware that private rooms are always pricy, but we did not even have our private bathroom and it is not located next to the main attractions.

    I spend there a weekend with my boyfriend. We had a private room. The room was big and clean, with a nice balcony. The shared bathroom was very clean all day long, which has a high value taking into account that the hotel was full and most of the people were very young. It is not located in the city center, but the S-Train stop is really in front of the hostel and it takes you to the city (main stops as Alexander Platz, main train station, etc) within 15 min. ANyways, the area is nice, with many cafes and restaurants. The staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.0
    Price-Performance ratio O.K.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately no elevator, only stairs. No hairdryer. Room door had no insulation and could hear every guest coming in and out. TV was not working but the staff fixes it asap.

    The breakfast very nice. The bathroom very modern and very clean. After 21:00-6:00 no noises allowed. Best connection to city with S-Bahn or U-Bahn. Bed and pillow were o.k. Staff was very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    Location is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi is password free but you must login every time, it automatically logs you out, it's a total pain in the ass. The common is space is small, not enough power outlets in the room, or in the common area. Showers are clean, but boths the number of showers and the number of toilets are abysmal.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    A savety stay at an old hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much power sockets around the rooms and also no lights at the beds. The hostel were not really clean and the bathrooms far and dirty. There were broken devices at the room and the room smelled old.

    I liked the look at the breakfast, even if I did not eat it, I know it was good because it looked really delicious. Also the Hostel was in a nice place so it was nearby the excibition halls and nearby my work. The lockers in the rooms were really save! The rooms were big and had a nice Table with chairs in it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personnel was not friendly. When I entered, the staff was working on an internal issue. There was not even a ‘hello’. After waiting for 15 minutes together with multiple other travelers that were left in the dark, I asked for an explanation. I don’t mind to wait and a problem can occur, but I strongly advice to at least welcome your guest properly next time hostel staff!

    The location was great since it is in a beautiful area and next to the train station! The room and bed were good. The bathroom was clean and okay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Good one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky bed, uncomfortable stairs (no lift), no kettles in rooms or available for all guests in the common area, lockable door between toilets and sink/shower area (if anyone decides to lock it when taking the shower, there is no way to wash your hands after using the toilet!)

    Location is amazing. The area is nice, close to shops, numerous restaurants, public transport and central Berlin. Also it wasn't t too difficult to find parking for our minibus. Bathrooms and toilets sparkling clean. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some off the staff are really good, but unfortunately some of them are not really and they’re even rude

    People who stays there are really fun, internet connection is okay, beds are comfortable and the location is really good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    The personnel was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy room, whenever anyone was walking in the room you could here everything in the room was moving. The bed wasn't really comfortable. The shower was the worst I've ever seen, the water was turned on by motion detector and you couldn't really control the water stream, neither the power or it's direction, it just splashed the water everywhere. No padlocks for the lockers (I think you could buy them at the reception desk but they didn't tell us upon check-in). No elevator. The keys to the room didn't have the room number on it so for some people it was confusing. The internet connection was very week and I didn't have the phone reception in the room.

    The personnel was nice. The hostel was cheap and in good location - very close to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Really nice, calm and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Only negative point was the clearning Lady coming to vacuüm the room at 10am One hours before check out time. While we were still sleeping! But everyrhibg else was excellent i can really recommend this hostel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    High value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring your padlock if you want to use the locker!

    First of all, it’s very close to the train station that connects you to most touristy places. The staff were nice and helpful! It was cheap so high cost/performance. Recommend for travelers on a budget.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Internet was good, locaton (across the road from train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere at the hostel (, staff sometimes bordered on being rude to customers and seemed slightly annoyed when dealing with customers,

    Internet was good, locaton (across the road from train station), price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    spacious rooms and really good access to public transit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not the most comfortable beds and the room was a bit smelly, although that could have been the other guests

    spacious rooms and really good access to public transit

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    no sleep
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed like a permanent residence or semi living arrangement for transient workers? No good chemistry between people. Do they rent by the hour? Or give weekly rates? My room had a lot of commotion of people coming in and out, sleeping short periods while another person takes the bed after a person leaves??? Maybe there is something I don't understand??

    It was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location But some rude customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triple bed was uncomfortable, and there's no elevator. I saw some guys, who use room beside toilet, came out from the girl's toilet. They were smoked in there. I was knocked but they ignored it and got over what they do;smoking!

    It' very clean. And building looks interesting. S-bahn station is very close, you can arrive main station in 20 minutes. You can rent a bike it's 10 Euro per day. Beutiful lake is nearby. It's perfect for jogging or taking a walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    The stay was comfy and nice, except that the attitude of the staff may be slow and not so polite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff did not even greet me when I entered the building. I was so tired because of the long hours of travelling and arrived the hostel at 22:00. But the staff did not care about that. He just kept doing stuff with the computer and ignored my presence, and kept me waiting for 30 minutes!

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    1.There is no lock box in the room left for me when I checked in. They better bind bed and box so that everybody can use a box in the box. It's really bad to go downstairs from fourth floor to use a box in the first floor. 2. It's really noisy during the late night when others just come back and left the door open. This is not the hostel's fault.

    The room price is quite low. And it's not far from Berlin ZOB.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    By far the best hostel in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about this hostel.

    I liked everything about this hostel, it was by far the best hostel I stayed at during my trip through Europe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    The bed is pretty comfy, the staffs are also very nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The electric ports are not enough in 8-10 dorm bedroom. There are only 5 electric ports to charge our things. Also if you have late check in, you will be charged for some fee.

    The bed is pretty comfy, the staffs are also very nice and helpful. The linens for bedsheet and towel are free. The padlocks are available for rent, but you can bring your own padlock. Also it was pretty clean inside the bedroom. The bathroom itself is pretty clean and the janitors will clean it every morning, don't worry about the cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Remarkable but empty for now
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's quite nice place but it could be much better. Right now it's a bit 'empty'. It's very attractive outside but a lot of things inside could be improved: rooms with corrupted lockers, beds, the main relax zone with just few electricity sockets, really weak WiFi, partially unfriendly staff (not all of them, some really great).

    The design of the place. It is full of graffiti painted wall, unique objects. It's remarkable generally. I really hope it will be better in term of comfort since it should be unique in all the components.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    A simple but charming place located in the nice Charlottenburg and close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to understand what locker I should use in the room. The first night, someone else had taken two lockers and therefor I couldn't use mine even though I had paid a deposit for it.

    I liked the shared area where you could hang out in the evening, charge your phone and have a drink and a chat with some of the guests. The atmosphere was very open minded.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    I would stay here only if I have to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were no kitchen or fridge for clients to use. If you stay long, it is not good since you always have to eat outside etc. And bunk beds were not comfortable, when the other person moves, I was waking up each time...

    It was clean and hostel was next to the Sbahn station. It was easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, it’s next to the Charlottenburg train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited for one hour to check in because there was only one staff and many guest check in at the same time.

    Convenient, it’s next to the Charlottenburg train station. Free luggage storage after check out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    I landed in Schoenberg airport and walked to the S bahn, got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit pricey I thought, though it is Berlin. Breakfast price changes book breakfast when you book your bed, otherwise the price is going up from 5 euors to 6.7 euros. pssst their is a grocery store under the S bahn, so do yourself a favor and buy some bread, cheese, and meat. Make your own sandwhiches and save money.

    I landed in Schoenberg airport and walked to the S bahn, got a ticket and was dropped off at the Charlottenberg station. I crossed the street walked down over 1/2 a block and saw the bright painted outside. I checked in and explored Berlin. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, got checked in, 200 meters to S bahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit pricey, but it is Berlin. The hostel has 4 floors ask for the lift and a fan when the temp is so hot.

    Great location, got checked in, 200 meters to S bahn. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During my time of stay, the outside temperatures were soaring, therefore so were the room temperatures. Would have preferred to have atleast a couple of fans. Also sadly, at the same time, the mains water pipe burst had to buy drinking water from store all the time.

    The hostel we a nice place to stay, with a fairly comfy bed. The staff were friendly to chat with, but didn't have much info when asked about 'what would be the best things to there' or 'which places are popular for Berlin's nightlife. But overall a good experience!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Very polite and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot inside the room, and you can not open the window horizontally, so almost no fresh air:( no air conditioner :( and also no elevator, so be warned! (but they put this information in description)

    Very polite and helpful staff! Breakfast was also good! Prise is 6.9 Euro :) room was big enough for 4-5 people! So I liked conditions except that it was too hot!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is really nice and welcoming. It is near the Train station, and the staff is Kind And helpful. The bedroom and bathroom was perfectly Clean and well working.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    It’s a nice, comfortable hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is that it’s a bit far away from the city center, but when I was there, S-Bahn didn’t work, and I’ve heard that it’s easy to get to center with S-Bahn.

    It’s a nice, comfortable hostel. They have a good common area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Awful pillows that were completely worn out. Also the showers were pretty bad and if one was in use it would also occupy a toilet so you could have to search for a while to find one at times.

    Nice location, close to S-bahn and U-bahn. The breakfast was also pretty nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    Ummmm...Maybe I won't like to give it another try!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the lockers in the room was broken and I was always concerned about the safety of my stuff. Since they also didn't have a lift, I had to carry one of my valuable bags all the way to the ground floor to lock it up, so that I could sleep without fear.

    The bed was okay comfort-wise. Nothing else.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    I stayed here the second time and will stay here whenever I visit Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its right across a metro station and close to a lot of popular places, which makes it even better. Very good breakfast, although the cost of it could have been a bit lower. Overall a very nice experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was poorly insulted from noise outside in the connected hallway but otherwise very reasonable for the price paid

    Very reasonably priced. Ease of access to the train and the 24hr check in were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Located just next to the S-bahn station, also few meters...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are unlucky like me and have to sleep on the upper bed, you will get no plug-in to charge your phone. Overall, a lack of enough plug-ins, in the room for 8 people, I only counted 6 plug-ins. Also, the beds are not very comfortable and because you are sleeping under the light, you will be waken up few times during the night as your roommates are coming. - no lift (okay for me as I stayed on the second floor but I can imagine that being a problem) - if you want to take a shower and have some privacy, you basically have no other choice than to lock the whole bathroom and block it for everyone else

    Located just next to the S-bahn station, also few meters away you have Lidl. The staff was friendly and helpful and the locations is not too noisy. All the facilities were clean, overall the price is okay for what you get.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Too big for that “cozy homey” feel you usually get from a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is actually too big. However not so many bathrooms, 75% percent of the time I had to go up or down a floor to find a vacant toilet or shower. Staff was less than capable except for one girl there, she knew the city rather well but she was rude and impatient. She acted like she was the smartest person in the room. If you can find something within walking distance to the city I’d do that. You can add 5euros to the price of a closer hostel cause that’s what it costs to get to the city and back.

    the place was clean, and close to public transport which made getting around easy. Price wasn’t bad for what you got.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff is very friendly and the check-in worked without...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not very comfortable, and make too many noises. I got awake several times when the other people moved on their own beds. If you are not staying longer then one night, as I did, it won’t be a problem!

    The staff is very friendly and the check-in worked without any problems!! The breakfast was delicious!! The connection with the city center is very easy, and the Hotel is just a few steps away from one of the main stations of Berlin (Charlottenburg)! I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    No frills but good for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby area was quite grimy. There were lots of loud groups (I think school trips) at the hostel and they were very loud quite late at night.

    Situated right near the high street in Charlottenburg, and opposite the S-Bahn station. The room was comfortable enough - it's no frills but good for the price!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    There is a storage room to store your luggage before check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is the open area and noisy. Staff is fine but not so nice. Quite sad they don’t have elevator cos I live in 4/F with my suitcase.

    There is a storage room to store your luggage before check in and after check out. It has locker in my room, it’s the bigger one and good for backpacker. The bathroom and toilet are clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Thank you, guys, for hospitality and very nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite long to wait for registration, but I think it was because of the upcoming concert, so hostel was really full of guests.

    I have stayed in Happy go Lucky Hotel + Hostel for a one night, if you are looking for cheap, clean and nice accommodation, it is perfect for you. Staff were very nice and attentive. Actually huge hostel with lots of rooms, not so close to city center, but very close to train station, transportation is not a problem at all. Definitely, i will recommend this place to my friends!! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one toilet and two showers for ladies on one floor. Because it is also a hostel and the toilets and showers are shared, it would be better to tell the guests that they shouldn’t lock the door to the bathroom, when they want to have shower. Than they block the second shower and the toilet sometimes for more than half an hour...

    Location of the hotel Balcony in the room Big room and washbasin in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchen is fine, but if that is hot water dispenser for guest will be great. Need more toilet and basin. No lift, gonna walk for 4th floor with luggage by yourself.

    Near to bus stop and metro, Big dining area to meet new friends and rest after breakfast. Staff is friendly, big room, wifi is alright, just need to log in every time you back to hostel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, toilets are normally clean, 4-bed room are ok, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in the 4th floor in a building without lift can be a problem. Some showers have body sensor, so be careful.

    Quiet, toilets are normally clean, 4-bed room are ok, just in front of S Bahn Charlottenburg station, affordable restaurant on the corner or a kebap shop on the main road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    Poor in every way except the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The staff were rude and not helpful especially the lady. The man was good but was too busy to help. - There was no lift. I shopped often and it was hard for me to drag baggages to the fourth floor - The room was big enough with facilities much below an ordinary traveler's expectations - It was much over-priced given its poor facilities

    I reserved it only for its location which is at the center of Berlin as I was a tourist and stayed for a short while.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are pubs and bars, etc, near to it, so its too noisy in the night. There are also very few plugs, less than one per bed. The water in a shower i used was cold, and there should be more bathrooms (only one for the entire floor).

    The breakfast was very good. It just takes one minute to go to the metro station and is very central in berlin. The neighborhood was also good, it seemed safe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Staff nice, big locker in rooms, metro station 5 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit far from all the principal attractions. No kitchen or laundry service available for the guests. Beds not high enough to be able to sit, and definitely not enough toilet/shower (only one for the whole floor).

    Staff nice, big locker in rooms, metro station 5 minutes from there. Shops and restaurants not far.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Hostel is near to metro (2min walk) and bus to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hostel is near to metro (2min walk) and bus to airport. Staff is very friendly and rooms are comfy and clean, wifi on the room for free. We stayed there only 1 night, when we flew from Berlin, i think, that is very good place for long short time in Berlin, because this hostel is very cheap and near by city transfer and airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    A nice hostel with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - it was VERY noisy during the night in the corridors, so if you are a light sleeper better get some ear plugs

    - staff is really friendly and always ready to help you - bed is comfy - bathrooms, linen, towels and rooms are clean and nice - location is perfect, just some minutes from S-bahn - internet is good - drinks in the lobby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice and clean hostel with good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel doesn't have an open kitchen for the guests, so you can't cook for yourself. (You can order breakfast or buy snacks at the reception.)

    The hostel is near to a train station, so it's pretty easy to go anywhere in Berlin. It's also near to the city center, with a half hour walk you can reach the Tiergarten.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Reasonable comfort for a reasonable price ;) And the location is excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are looking for a privacy, this is not a place for you :) but this is to be expected if you are renting a bed in the dormitory. The only downside of this hostel is that the bathrooms are shared between several rooms with many occupants, so you will have to wait a bit to have a morning shower.

    First of all, let's be fair. This is not a high-end hotel, but a really good hostel. The rooms are clean and big enough to accommodate you, but not really great if you want to do more then just have a good night sleep. The WiFi connection works great, the breakfasts are excellent and the staff is super helpful and multilingual. Overall a good place to stay for a few nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Good budget-friendly option (but no kitchen)
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet is functional, but have to remember the login userid & password each time you connect (login is via web-browser). They provide boxes to store food in the fridge (returnable deposit) so it is more organized. However still some food was stolen. This is not really the hostel's fault, but it is good if they can do something about it (like have a surveillance camera) as it does affect the guest's customer experience. The second chill-out area gets locked at 23h.

    Good budget-friendly option in Berlin. Especially in summer when the hostel prices skyrocket! I stayed 2 weeks, even though there is no kitchen and I really like to cook! It is possible to get hot water from the staff kettle to make tea, cook noodles (but you may have to wait if they are attending to other guests). Located right next to the S-bahn with 4 lines going to Alexanderplatz/Hauptbahnhof/Zoo so getting around is not such an issue although it looks like it is further away from main tourist sites in Mitte and Warschauerstrasse. They do not charge separately for bed linen and you can have it changed when you need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    the rooms and corridors were clean and tidy, the small yard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hostels are for people traveling on budget and usually they dont eat out too many times, this hostel does not provide a kitchen or any facilities to warm up any meals. The kitchen also provides an opportunity for people to meet and possibly make new friends. The showers was only separated by a curtain which is not comfortable for most people Some of the resident were also very loud and the staff didnt prevent them,

    the rooms and corridors were clean and tidy, the small yard was good and green

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent for a single experienced backpacker who does not expect 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room lockers are noisy (it's hard not to wake up others in the room when you come in late and put your things/clothes in). Beds squeak a bit. There were no shelves for soap etc. in the showers - inconvenient.

    Friendly and helpful personnel. Convenient location - direct ride from Berlin Shoenefeld Airport on U-bahn or RE-train for 3.40 euro, 100 meters walk to U-bahn station. Rooms are clean, bed sheets are clean. Decent breakfasts available. Check-out possible even at midnight or 3 am. Non-expensive LIDL supermarket 250 m away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.2
    Unreasonable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 guys working on reception in the evening. Smoked a cigarette at the toilet, before having a shower and got kicked out from the property by those 2 at 1am. Was either that or pay 100€ punishment. Bye, never again

    The lady that worked during day time was helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Rooms and Bathrooms are really clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8 or 10-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is just one employee in the reception, so you have to wait in a queue for each question or service. Night shift staff aren’t nice :/

    Rooms and Bathrooms are really clean! location is good, near to the bus station and S metro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean, not very comfortable but good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are squeaky, the bathroom can be far from the room depending on where you get the room, there is no elevator. The building is huge and can get pretty loud in the morning, so if you don't want to be woken up use some earplugs.

    Room for 6 but only 3 or 4 of us were in the room for 3 days that I stayed there. The bathroom was very clean and not crowded and it can be locked. Since I spent very little time in the room, it was a good value for that money. Location is easily reachable with public transport, S-Bahn station is 2 mins away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is good, the room is good, saff is friendly,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the WC and Shower bath was not clean no Hand Soap and no Hand tissue paper and the water for the shower is slow

    Location is good, the room is good, saff is friendly, breakfast was good too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean rooms, hot showers, great location close to the S-bahn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kitchen facility, it shows it on the map but seems to be replaced with a room

    Clean rooms, hot showers, great location close to the S-bahn free train into the city all night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    It was cheap so I choosed this. but I will not going to here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too noisy, because of bad soundproof. My room was ground floor. Even though my window is not in front of street, because there was smoking place, that was not good for sleeping and rest. I don't understand why in front of room's window, there is smoking place..

    Cheap. There is S bahn station, so it is easy to go to center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    For the affordable price, it is one of the best hostel I have ever stayed. Really worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really close to S-Bahn station and bus stop, very convenient to travel. I take the shared room of 6 people and the size of the room exceeds my expectation. It is quite huge! Both bedroom and bathroom are super clean, nice pillow & duvet. You get a free towel also. A very pleasant stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Mixed Review
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite small and uncomfortable. The rooms are also quite small and bland. The walls let a lot of noise in. Wasn't able to sleep too well. WiFi was inconsistent.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Close location to the train station. Nice, spacious lobby. Storage for luggage. Open and friendly vibe all around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfectly located with a poor wifi and noisy beds :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection was very poor and bad quality. The room which I took had a window on the main street and sometimes it was extremally noisy because of the noise from the street but as I am a very deepsleeper it was not a big problem for me. The beds are noisy even if you try not to make much noise still the beds are making noise :( The maile toilets were very few and far from my room. But generally I am satisfied with the price and quality and would stay there again.

    The room was bright and a lot of space, the staff was friendly. The room was clean and getting cleaned every day by housekeeping service. THE LOCATION is perfect. JUST a few steps from SBahn, which takes you to the city center in few minutes. Charlotwnburg area is my most favourite in Berlin!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!!!! Amazing staff and comfortable place, I just loved it! Completely near Berlin central station so if you have to go in the morning to another city by bus then it is a great choice :)

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Happy go Lucky Hotel + Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: