Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garni Café Schacher

Alte Straße 2A, 77709 Oberwolfach, Germany

#1 of 6 hotels in Oberwolfach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 138 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am impressed by the friendly hotel. The owner is very warm and provided us the clean, comfortable room. Especially the shower was best we had with strong water pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of a restaurant; however, several eating places within walking distance.

    Large, spotlessly clean room with a big balcony. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The down side is there is no restaurant. We had to look for restaurants in the area every night for our 6-nights stay. Although there is a Cafeteria at the hotel one can only order small snacks. Note that the Cafeteria is closed on Mondays as well as most restaurants in the area. Wifi didn't always work; sometimes very slow.

    Beautiful setting in the Black Forest area. The personnel very warm and welcoming, especially Monika. Our room was spacious with a sitting area and balcony, quiet and cozy. Beds very comfortable. A good place to stay as its in close proximity to other towns which are easily accessible by car or train. Easy walk to Wolfach (half hour). Breakfast is not spectacular, but there were very good choices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no restaurant in the property. You could get some drinks but not full meals. Also the WiFi did not reach inside the rooms.

    There is a lot of greenery around the hotel and the owners has a special garden in hotel. We reached late in the night and the owners came to open the hotel for us (they live in a house nearby). The owners took special care of the kids and showed them and let them pat and feed their pet bunny and fishes. Peter and Monika are great hosts. My daughter was super happy there. The breakfast is also very good. Also the owners made special arrangements to make breakfast ready early for us as we were leaving early. It's a great place for few days of lazy and relaxing holidays. There is lot of attractions nearby (20-30 kms). There is a kitchen in rooms to make own foods.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All windows and balcony doors has now shutters to prevent bugs and bees to get inside if opened

    Clean Quite location Garden I would love to come again 😍

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property in picturesque setting with fantastic garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scenery was amazing, staff were very welcoming and friendly will come back for the winter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Always friendly and obliging, and make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The early check out time

    The quietness is very special

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great, clean accommodations, breakfast was good and varied with a local flavor, nice view from the balcony!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We high recommend this hotel the hosses are very helpfull and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat difficult to find.

    The location and friendliness of staff. Relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    The hotel and staff were very helpful and friendly, we enjoyed the service and the place so much that it is a place to come back to

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent facilities, restaurant , breakfast, staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was kind and welcoming, ready to advise you on the places to visit. The breakfast was great and the hotel was very quiet and cozy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff of the hotel is very friendly and helpful the breakfast is good and we like the garden of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was good for being central in the Black Forest (in a residential/ business area, but typical for family run hotels). Our favorite resturant of our trip was just a couple blocks from the hotel... The food was delicious and they had excellent vegetables and a salad buffet (which was hard to find in many of the places we stayed). The hotel itself is beautiful with a delightful garden as you walk up. The hotel and room were clean with comfortable beds and nice sitting and reading areas on the floor for guest. The breakfast and midday desert cafe was very nice. We would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Had to be the highlight of our 3 weeks road trip. We arrived a little bit late, but the staff was amazing. Need to try the Black-Forrest cake which the owner bakes, amazing. We had a great visit, didn't experience the sauna, wish our stay was a bit longer. Would recommend.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hosts extremely friendly. Excellent place to discover the area. Café for coffee and cakes an asset. Would always return here if visiting the Black Forest.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    very nice hotel, quite and comfortable.The family who is running the hotel is so friendly.Breakfast is so nice so don't miss it. The setting area near the entrance of the hotel is quite and beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to report.

    A perfectly appointed hotel in the typical Black Forest style with the bonus of self catering facilities in the room. We didn't cook but appreciated the use of a fridge and sink. The room was a spacious and the children had separate "proper" beds. The view from the balcony was lovely. We really enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad , sometimes useless WiFi. Strange smell in the hall on floor 3, (fixed this with opening all the windows.)

    The staff, breakfast , rooms and the rest. Really World Class

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pillows were not very comfortable. There was no wifi in the room. The towels were not soft. Location was very far from the train station we stopped at. It took us 10 minutes to get a taxi. There was a struggle in language since most people dont speak english in the area.

    Perfect place to recuperate from a busy crowded, loud city. The apartment hotel was clean. The owner was very nice and informative.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't appreciate the fact that the sauna was not operating and we had to ask for it (no mention on booking.com on that). The result was that it was not that hot when we used it and we chose this hotel among other also for its wellness facilities. We were disappointed with this.

    -breakfast -cakes -cleanliness -friendy staff

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Family run. Very helpful. Advice on places to see etc,

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving.

    Walking in the Forest and surroundings, Museums, surrounding leisure spots, all great.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, the warm hospitality of the owners, the clean and nice room. Great place!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice room and hotel with extra sitting areas for guests. Great breakfast. Very friendly owners and staff. Great central location for Blackforest.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful area, fantastic hotel, the cleanliness was outstanding, never before have we seen such attention to detail.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful Hotel, much nicer than the photo. A great quiet location. Very happy and helpful staff. Rooms spacious,spotless and bright.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful Room was spacious and had a great bathroom..very very clean and hot water

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very clean, calm, very friendly, good breakfast, special dinner for new year eve, we felt like home :)

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: