Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pension Columbus am Kurfürstendamm

Meinekestr. 5, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10719 Berlin, Germany

#8 of 107 B&Bs and Inns in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 811 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Is a large flat with around 21 rooms all in a third floor in an old building with old style typical decoration, makes you feeling more in a typical german bed & breakfast large flat than in a hotel; bathroom needs renovation.

    Well located for people that prefer the west center of QDam instead of the Alex East center. Adequated for people looking for a typical german bed&breakfast feeling instead of a hotel. Excellent personal treatment, nice typical german breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is pretty run down and the toilet was across the way. The shower and sink were inside the room near the beds which was pretty weird. Regrettably I did not read the details associated with this stay and did not realize what the set up would be.

    The staff was very friendly and professional. Breakfast was good and they even provided a second helping. The location is excellent as it is near restaurants, shopping stores, transportation, etc. We were within walking distance of the Red Hop-On Hop-off bus which made it very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shared with several rooms. That said, it was a good bathroom and I never had a problem getting in there.

    Excellent value for money. Room was comfortable and the breakfast very nice. The Manager was extremely friendly and very helpful. A very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stuffs are very friendly and competent. The room was clean and really cozy. Good breakfast and the dining hall is beautiful. The location is also very good, near the U-Bahn station, and just a few minutes walk to Zoologischer-Garten Station and C/O Berlin. We had a really good time here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is not too comfortable and furniture may need some updating.

    Absolutely fantastic lady running the place. Friendliness at top! The place is basic, but she makes it a lovely place to stay. We would recommend this place in case you will be out a lot and not a lot in the hotel/hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It didn´t hold up the expectation (at over 80 EUR/night). A very strange mix of furniture and accommodation. Way too much of everything. Not unlike in a Wes Anderson movie.

    The breakfast was acceptable, the staff were nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location..plus they let me check in a bit earlier which was really helpful as I had practically a night flight. Nice breakfast and you can store your bag too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and bathroom are common, that is, they aren’t in the room.

    First of all, Chris, the hostess, a very positive person., always helpful and smiling. The breakfast is rich and satisfactory. There is an absolute silence, no noise coming from outside except a bird chirping once in a while. Very cosy. In short, a hotel to stay in if you have got a limited budget. It is placed in the centre of west Berlin. .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was not anything that we didn't like.

    The location was perfect - easy access to public transportation. The staff was wonderful and very friendly. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were large - we staid in a room that had what appeared to be an enclosed sun room where our teenage children slept. It gave them a little privacy away from us. The breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend this place and will stay there again when we visit Berlin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    shared bathroom

    the hotel is very beautiful decorated. It is located in an old building and is very beautiful inside. I really liked it. The bed was comfortable, was not noisy at night, the rooms are big. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The welcome was great, the location is perfect as well, one can walk to the very city centre within approx. 50 minutes. The breakfast was delicious. The pension is located in a beautiful historical building. Nice restaurants (and the ZOO!) nearby. I would certainly like to come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the beds in the room had very squeeky springs. Mine was fine although I did wake up a number of times due to my colleague tossing.

    Is situated on the third floor of a majestic old building. Personal service is nice and very well looked after. Breakfast was good & second pot of coffee available on request

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet being in thehallway not in the bedroom suite but I understand that it is a very old historic building

    The breakfast was very good and staff very helpful in fact excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our plane landed after check in, but the owners were there to welcome us at the late hour. You could not find more accommodating or sweet owners who truly made the stay enjoyable. The location is perfect. You are a few minutes away from one of the main shopping area, bus transportation and a hop on hop off stop. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that the toilet and shower was outside and I had to walk far. Maybe I didn't read the description properly when I was booking. I didn't realise that the bathroom was separate.

    I like the selection of Options they have for breakfast and the bedding was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However I liked everything at the hotel, to my opinion 60 euro's per night for a room with shared toilet and shared shower is perhaps a bit too much. But OK, I stayed there in the Silvester period.

    The guest lady: she's like a mum for all the guests. Great restaurants on the other side of the street. All public transport is very near, for example bus 109 to Tegel Airport is only a 2 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly, especially the lady in charge, very helpful, always positive and smiling. Breakfast was buffet style. The room was big and clean, so were the facilities that are shared. Nice and quiet location, even though it's just next to the center. During Christmas season, the Christmas market is just behind the corner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilets from the 1970ies and not in the room - but they were clean and funktional!

    Lovely hosts - a real bed and breakfast in the centre of West Berlin, in one of the beautiful old houses (art deco). The room was small, but enough for a family with young kids and the breakfast was just great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses could be better, no curtains, no problem in winter but perhaps annoying in summer.

    Great location, easy to reach from airport, close to u-bahn. Good breakfast. We had a shared bathroom but was happy we still had a sink in our room and a private shower!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find (quite a small plaque on the wall by the door). Our room was very dated, could do with being refurbished

    Fabulous location, amazing staff & great breakfast options

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the number of rooms there should be more bathrooms

    Simple but clean and cosy place, lovely and helpful staff, nice breakfast, good location close metro and bus to the airport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on the third floor of the building so at night all lights are off so a bit creepy.

    The hostess couldn't have been more helpful, loaned us a hairdryer and two adapters. We also got sweets each day left on our beds from house keeping. Very nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Very clean, comfortable, nice and quiet place. Owners are take care about guests - very friendly and welcome couple. I've got the best filling after almost 2 weeks staying in the Pension.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the fifth floor but there is a small lift. The building is quite old but stylish. Furnishings and facilities in room are dated but have character and are functional. Kitchen is barely adequete but did the job.

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. It is a family run business which provides great value accommodation. Would definitely stay there again. Perfect for our stay in Berlin. Was quiet, towels changed each day, and cleaned well. Shower was hot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floorboards were a little noisy, however it is a beautiful old building in the heart of the city.

    The hosts were friendly and helpful. The shared bathroom was not a problem for us. The location was excellent. Close to trams, buses and the city's sightseeing buses, shopping centre and more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection is slow. Breakfast was just okay.

    Very nice location. Kind staffs, The room was warm enough and it was private and quiet. I think the value for the money is really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were only 3 english -speaking TV channels and only hand wash was provided. The addition of more TV channels for English speakers and toiletries would add to the otherwise excellent quality of this accommodation.

    The owner was very polite, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, offering guests a wide range of items. Access from and to Tegel airport was very easy by a direct 20 minute bus ride. Bus and metro stations were just round the corner. Room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Range of eating places (German and international ones) was available on the hotel street. A supermarket was just across the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think of is that I would have liked a hair dryer in the room or the shared bathroom. And the beds were a bit creaky.

    Very friendly owner! Great breakfast! Excellent location with public transport just around the corner. Clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an amazing experience at this Pension Columbus Hotel. My single room was just beautiful. Comfortable bed, nice lighting indoor shower. The breakfast is wonderful but of course the best of this place is the service the owners provide to their guest. Lovely people!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wonderful place to stay in Berlin. Hosts that still know what it means to be a host, who remember your name and who make an effort to make you feel at home. Fantastic building, old school Berlin with beautiful facade and entry hall. The room was cosy and for a single room extremely spacious, good shower. Very nice breakfast with lots of choice and fresh eggs and crusty bread. Superb location for public transport, bars, shopping, restaurants and nevertheless totally quiet in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location right at the Kudamm and just a 5 minute walk from the nearest subway station. Some good restaurants can be found in walking distance (I recommend the Gasthaus Krombach). Hotel is located in a gorgeous Berlin-"Altbau" building and the interior design of the rooms matches this kind of nostalgic charm. The owners/the staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The shared bathrooms were impeccably clean. A good breakfast with plenty of choices was included: We were served our own breadbasket, boiled eggs, a platter with cheese and sausage, marmalade, Nutella, fresh fruit, cake and croissants, cereal, yogurt etc. We will certainly return to this little gem on our next trip to Berlin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The linens could have been better. The duvets and pillows were somewhat tired.

    Room was large and very clean. The location was outstanding with good restaurants close by. Hosts were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chris was very accommodating with my late arrival. The room was very clean and charming. Sharing the toilet in the hallway was not an issue,it being right across from my room. Breakfast was included and Chris made it special by providing Almond milk for me. I was unable to have breakfast my last morning there because of early departure and I was so humbled when I returned to my room that evening to find a box of almond milk and a breakfast bar on my nightstand. I would highly recommend staying here and embrace the charm of the building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really bad :-( i dont care if they offer basic breakfast, but i hate it when i see little insects flying around the fruits, moldy milk , not very clean dishes. On the second day i just eat my breakfast somewhere else because for me it was dirty. For the price i paid, i was expecting a very good breakfast.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms face a courtyard. As the hotel is in a larger building, there was a lot of noise in the morning hours (after 7 am).

    I've been travelling for a month across Scandinavia, the Baltic States and Germany. This was, by far, my favourite place to stay. I was in Berlin for 5 nights. Though I booked a single room with a sink, Chris, the owner, offered me an upgrade with a toilet as well. The room was small, but very cozy, with plenty of room to hang clothing and unpack. Chris was up early to greet everyone at breakfast and provided a very nice selection of meatt, cheeses, yogurt, fruit etc. She was so friendly! The hotel was in a great location, with easy access to the S bahn and buses. The bus to the Tegel airport is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and there are several restaurants near by, including a Lidl across the street. Plenty of shopping too. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, but wasn't a problem during our trip since we opened the windows for the nice breeze from the tree filled courtyard👍

    Personal touch of the owners. Very clean. Great location. Couple of minutes walk to public transportation, restaurants & shopping. Safe neighborhood. Roomy family suite with small kitchenette (didn't use, but was nice feature). Tasty, plentiful breakfast each morning, personally served on china by the owner in a cute breakfast room. Plenty of room for our family of 4: large bed for us and 2 twin beds in small attached room for our "kids" (18 and 22 yrs old). Hotel is located on the 3rd floor of a building. Lovely stay in a unique hotel with personality and charm!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel-Pension is well situated close to the subway station Kurfürstendamm. The owner is very friendly and helpful. She also opened the breakfast earlier in the morning allowing us to take the breakfast before leaving for the airport. There is a big choice for the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When ordering this pension I did not mention that the bathroom and toilet will be shared ones, so this was quit shocking for me realizing this when we arrived. But it was totally my mistake, so if you are ok to wait some extra 20-30 at evening while others are taking shower, this is no big deal. The only thing I would suggest to work on is to repair the floors in corridor, those were pretty loud when others walked by the room, some might find this disturbing.

    The bed was super comfortable, the yard side was very quite, we did not hear any disturbing city sounds at all, only birds singing in the morning. Pillows and sheets were very comfortable as well. The attention what we get in breakfast was very surprising, very nice atmosphere at breakfast. Thank You for serving us before breakfast time, as we had to leave very early on the last morning. I suggest this place for everyone who is ready to use shared bathrooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough showers and toilets if you have shared toilet room; but they allow you to use a free room's shower if asked or if they spot you loitering with a towel.

    Really good breakfast. Nice rooms' design.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the toilets needed air freshener and the whole space would hugely benefit from a better conditioning

    Superb location, amazingly helpful host, beautiful building, elevator and fine breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beds need to be to be adjusted by tightening the bolts so that they don't squeak as much...

    The room was huge with very high ceilings. Very quiet, it looked out to a courtyard with a large tree. Within 5 minutes from the building, there are large choice of eateries and bars. You're in the heart of a very important commercial area of Berlin and yet my room was very quiet, as if I was in the countryside!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan in the room would have been helpful. There was no hairdryer in room but I think you can ask for one. I needed to email them for a little late arrival and it was hard to find in Internet. They answered me through booking.com contact properly though :)

    Staying here felt like staying at someone's house. Creaky floors and rooms all decorated differently. Your towels will be different looking everyday. We took a cab from train station, but the public works just as well. S train to zoo garden stop and U9 to Kurfürstendamm (may end in -strasse) Which is next stop after Zoo. There is the Hard Rock Cafe on corner (fun) and a Thai massage next door to hotel which is awesome! Great shopping area and lots of restaurants. The Zoo was great also. We took subways to East Berlin main sights. The hotel folks are very friendly. Breakfast is a soft boiled egg, bread basket with sliced meats. Then there is juice, coffee, tea, ripe fresh fruits and yogurt and cereal. Breakfast room very homey and cozy. On 3rd floor of a building. You ring to get in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with villan (Wi Fi)

    Friendly hospitality. Best location in West Berlin. Very clean. Good breakfast. Rooms of different quality. Problem with villan (Wi Fi)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ensuite facilities in room and only one shower some distance from room. But some other rooms did have facilities in room.

    Breakfast was excellent and lady was very friendly and helpful. Very quiet inside and a nice street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The stay at the pension was really great if I ever need to be in Berlin again I will certainly go here again. A really friendly hostess who takes her job seriously! The breakfast is awesome and the pension looks great it has a really antique feeling to it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    A warm welcome awaits at the Hotel Columbus. Ideally placed for the bus to the airport (109) and the Kurfurstendamm, yet very quiet and homely and comfortable. I would highly recommend this budget hotel. Nice breakfast and really the hotel feels like a home away from home. I found it all very clean and although I shared a bathroom this was not a problem at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The hostess Chris was super friendly and accommodating. I left on an early morning at 8 to catch a train, she let me enter the dining room and have breakfast at 7:30 so that I didn't have to skip the breakfast to catch my train. And the breakfast was sufficient and tasteful. Ham and cheese and bread and biscuits and fruits and yogurt.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I received such a warm, friendly welcome on my arrival. Chris the proprietor is a wonderful host and makes you feel so at home. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will certainly be returning on my next visit to Berlin. It's only 5 mins walking distance from the U bahn and bus, the pension itself is situated down a beautiful tree lined street just off the famous Kurfürstendamn straße. Superb breakfast and very comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Staff. The owner was really kind and waited for us until late to check in. Breakfast in a bright beautiful room. The family room was more than we hoped for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor and the bed were squeaking, which is expected for such a historic building.

    Location was excellent. Room was spacious, although the bathroom was shared they were clean and three of them and there was never a line. The breakfast was fine, neither excellent nor bad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is in keeping with period of the house. The furniture and basin in the room are a bit old-fashioned but everything works. A kettle and teabags would have made my happiness complete.

    This is a small pension on the third floor of an old Berlin building. The rooms face inwards onto an enclosed courtyard, making them lovely and quiet even though the Ku'damn is two minutes away. The staff/owners of the hotel are very warm and welcoming, and super helpful. My bed had high quality bedding. The breakfast was great and I was offered a paper bag to take some food away with me for later. I shared a shower room and toilet; it was all beautifully clean. My room had a desk and several lamps.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The equipment in the room was a bit old. But as it was clean in the room it was not such a big problem.

    Staff was really helpful and friendly. Brakfast was served fresh and good quality. Very Clean and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The family room and most areas of the hotel are a little tired and due for redecoration/refurbishment with randomly selected furnishings and linen, random selection of old towels, etc, but, for us, this was part of the charm of this hotel. Other than the breakfast room, no sitting area or bar. No food/drink service is offered in the evening, no complimentary tea/coffee/milk in room. If you use the kitchenette, bring your own tea/coffee/milk before arrival or shop on the day.

    Delicious and plentiful breakfast. Family room was large and warm with good layout, comfy large beds and includes a seating area. Wonderfully friendly and welcoming hosts. Lovely building in excellent location, very quiet rooms. A small kitchenette offers two hobs for boiling water (no electric kettle) and there is a fridge and coffee machine. A Lidl is situated across the road. No complaints over the 4 days, we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cris is so nice and kind making us feel like at home Excellent and big room Excellent wifi Excellent breakfast The best guesthouse in town for sure!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff who were very accommodating also to a solo backpacker! Offered that I could make myself a lunch sandwich at the breakfast as well as storing my bag after I checked out and still roamed around Berlin for the day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than a little less rain, nothing! This was our second visit to Hotel Pension Columbus, and we plan to return.

    Home-made yoghurt with fruit; home-baked pastries; big plate of varied meats and cheeses (different each day); hearty breads as well as rolls; freshly-cooked eggs; and coffee that just kept coming. Location is amazing. Four blocks to the Zoo Bahnhof, where you can catch the 100 bus to many important sights (Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate, Bundestag) and only three S-bahn stops to Berlin Hauptbahnhof on your way in or out. Direct train to/from Schoenberg Airport to the Zoo station, or you can easily ride out to Potsdam for the day. Hotel is a half block from Ku'damm for shopping -- quick walk to KaDeWe. Wonderful friendly owner Chris even was able to direct us to an ENT doctor nearby ... and extended our reservation an additional day when I needed to go back for treatment.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beddings were not so comfy but considering that it's a pension hotel, it's reasonable.

    Very well-designed rooms and corridors. I loved the colours in my room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'd have liked a longer stay!

    Hotel Pension Columbus am Kurfürstendamm is amazing. It's located immediately off a main shopping street with higher end shops and is incredibly easy to get ANYWHERE in the city (including the airport, which is about 40 mins away) from the bus or underground train both about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is actually on the third floor of a very beautiful old building. The rooms are gorgeous, I'd say Kafka-esque! I booked late and so got a single room with shared bathroom and separate shared shower room. Both were spotless and because it's more of a boutique hotel, there was never a queue or even anyone else hanging around. Plus, most of the rooms have private bathrooms. I travelled on my own and felt 100% safe walking around the hotel's neighbourhood after dark. Plenty of restaurants a few minutes walk from the hotel and there's a small Lidl (grocery store), right across the road if you need any supplies. I can 100% recommend this property for friends, couples (it's quite romantic), singles, families.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow. But still slept so didn't ask for another.

    The host was really friendly and lovely. Ideal location. Room was nice. Unexpected upgrade for a shower in room for no extra cost. Toilet was opposite room so not too inconvenient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice atmosphere! Welcoming owner and tasty and fresch breakfast. Central position of the hotel –not far away from main attractions. Nice feeling of old Berlin house with high sealing and mosaic hall. We liked our stay and our room number 20 was a right one for family stay – two rooms in one+ kitchen and couch. Bed were comfortable and matrasses are one of the best ones I have tried in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there aren't much facilities. Like shampoo, coffee etc. The beds aren't very comfy either.

    the hotel is very neat and clean, the location is just perfect, very close to the metro and huge shopping area. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but nice. It was clean ok, but there was a smell of someting I couldn't recognize.

    Very nice staff and service. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to detract from a wonderful stay and a nice bathroom, but if we have to pick, the it would be the size of the shower stall. Very small as are most European showers.

    My wife and I were looking for a special small boutique hotel or pension for our first trip to Berlin. Knowing nothing about the layout of the city, we tried to choose a location convenient to public transportation. One of the highly reccommended locations was the Pension Columbus. We are so very pleased that we found this property. Located on the entire third floor of a four-storied historic building, the pension has a variety of rooms with different guest capacities. The entrance hall of the building is highlighted with stunning bas relief appointments trimmed in beautiful gold gilding. Yes, there is a small but adequate elevator that is a welcomed alternative to a wide staircase leading to the third floor. We reserved the Family Room with a private bath, because we have found European hotels and pensions to have small bedrooms. Our room was extremely spacious with a queen sized double bed with the traditional two-matresses configuration. It had a sofa, two chairs and a table and a small efficiency kitchen. There was an ajoining smaller room with two twin beds for other guests when needed. The owners could not have been more hospitable, gracious and helpful during our stay.The breakfasts are plentiful and delicious, served in a sunny room inviting the morning meal. The location is perfect for a wide variety of restaurants, shops and public transportation locations. If we ever come again to Berlin, we will definitely reserve accommodations at the Pension Columbus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostess is really really nice n friendly,which impressed me most.As for the hotel .The location is convenient just 6、7 min's walk from station.The breakfast is so elegant n cute.Everhing is perfect!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, if I will stay again in Berlin I definitely would choose the same area. It's 2 minutes to the metro station and 10 minutes by walk to the Zoologischer Garten Train Station. If you fly from Schonefeld Airport, from Zoologischer Garten is a direct train to the airport, it takes 45 minutes to reach the airport. The hotel's area is incredible. First of all, very safe and secondly it is at the point with one of the well-known street in Berlin for shopping, including the main brands. About the cleanliness, the room was very clean and the shared bathroom too. I was a little bit afraid of not to be, but this hotel was a really surprise. The breakfast is very good, the personal is very helpful and pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Once breakfast room was full (no space to sit), however the Owner has resolved it in 10 minutes. No warm dishes are served (eh, a sausage would be nice - Deutschland!), however the quantity / selection of what is offered is enough.

    Charismatic building 100 m from Ku'Damm. Family room #20 very spacious, has a separated sleeping mini-room inside (ideal for child), windows face inner year, which is beautiful & VERY calm + a mini-kitchen + a small fridge. Good breakfast. Kind female staff. Nice German cafe downstairs at the next building. Just so you know: the hotel occupies one full floor of a building, so if you expect a classical "hotel" like Mercure or Novotel, this is not it. My maily and myself had not at all regretted it as we liked the family-style atmosphere & small things like furniture, etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more eggs for breakfast but to be fair, I didn't request more so more may have been available

    Great location, clean and quaint building, comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the room, the bed was really comfortable and the breakfasts are just amazing. I really recommend this place to solo travelers, very close to transportation and very quiet at night, lots of restaurants and to shopping whatever you need

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A bit of noise due to some works at neighbourhood, noisy floor when walking by but not really important

    The room was very clean, the hosts were very friendly and kind, the breakfast is very consistent, and most importantly the location is just perfect, loved it all and definitely coming back again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was find until I had the cornflakes and found live insects crawling all over them. The banana were black.

    Warm welcome and very comfy and quiet loved the location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we specifically asked for a double bed and booked our trip very much in advance, were given twin beds instead and told that double is not available

    very friendly staff, interesting interior an perfect location to visit Berlin good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful host, so warm and engaging. Generous excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice host, very good breakfast, superb building and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, quiet room overlooking the patio, great location close to everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Good located, clean, friendly people, super breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Pension Columbus am Kurfürstendamm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: