Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Elegia am Kurfürstendamm This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Niebuhrstr. 74, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10629 Berlin, Germany

#520 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 396 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Very nice in general, just some details I expected were missing-like a Kettle! But that’s very minor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or such fascilities in the room. Was a little squashed, the double bed had single covers!!!!

    Secure safe neighbourhood, excellent transport links. Clean hotel and room. Nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Beds were good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception doesn't work after 6. Actually, it is not so big problem for us but just in case.

    Beds were good, Room was so clean Staff can speak Russian, English, and Deutch. Breakfast good. Just be careful about check-in. If your check-in after 6 pm they should send you e-mail code for the mailbox, and then you can take your keys.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    It was not shown as in the picture but this was my first EU...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel. Not worth the money spent.

    It was not shown as in the picture but this was my first EU trip so next time i will be more carefull and contact the property for the room pictures that i am going to stay. Whoever wana make an 80’s-90’s movie of Berlin before the wall went down tgis would be the right place. It took me back in time, comunist era.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Rooms were great, Stayed here for a Stag do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were great, Stayed here for a Stag do. Location was ok not exactly in the party area but would definitely stay here again as everything was close enough to get to. Would recommend for another Stag group going

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Off exploring so was hardly there but a comfortable stay tho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a paint job and modernising. In my room there was a big mark on the wall where either a mirror or painting had been there in the past. Tiling in the single bath room, not the best job and needs redoing where it’s marked and the grouting is clearly a different colour. The shower heads in both bath rooms need to be moved, I’m 5”5 and I struggled so my poor mate who’s 6” had to shower with the shower head on his hand... Way too low and in a fixed place!! Also the shower taps were temperamental, getting the right temperature was a mission! On the evening they need better lighting inside the hallways, the sensors didn’t pick you up until you were half way up the stair case. Really it needs to trigger as the front door opens, a friend tripped up the small stairs by the front door when we first entered the property as we couldn’t see them. All the finer details...

    So close to the train station making life easy getting around Berlin. Clean & tidy, we both had our own bath rooms. Double room, was huge and the small single room was a perfect size for me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.4
    Pictures of rooms can be misguiding, prior bookinng the room. No cancelation policy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I booked the room, other room pictures were shown. When I payed for it, the actual pictures were shown, but the hotel did not have refund policy, so I couldn't cancel my booking. I ended up paying for an old room, a significant amount of money. With the same amount of money, I could get from a really new renovated room within the area, in another hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.2
    totally unproportioned price for the poor quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    totally unproportioned price for the poor quality. 95€ for a single room and a bathroom shared with other two rooms(!) very old building and no lift in the building. no breakfast included !)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Located in Charlottenburg / Savignyplatz area, near to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accomodation is a little bit spartan: Shower head can not be adjusted in height, no tray for shower gel. Access to wlan did not work for me.

    Located in Charlottenburg / Savignyplatz area, near to S-bahn. Table with books in the hall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    good location, clean, tidy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a budget hostel type property, with your own room, dont expect a hotel. but was an enjoyable experience in a great location.

    good location, clean, tidy. good staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.0
    Lovely neighborhood, poor accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    V small room for 5 people. Next to bathroom used by other apartments - very very noisy all night because of this. Bathroom small and worn out.

    Lovely neighborhood, not too far from sights using public transport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.8
    We stayed in a very big and comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception closes at 5pm. So if you need any help after that, you won't get it.

    We stayed in a very big and comfortable room. The hotel is close to two different subways lines. It is also ease to reach by bus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    The best Hotel in Berlin !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the internet it was a little bit slowly.

    The bed it's very large, very comfortable and fresh. The room it's big, you feel like you're in home and they put clean toals every day ! The location it's the best because it's very near from Kurfürstendamm that is a big avenue in Berlin, with a lot of bars, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    I'm sold on Berlin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had, was kinda a little disappointed but understood why it was 4€

    Bed was comfy in here! Location not too bad, about a 20 min walk from Kürfendenstamm stop on the Ubahn and got an Sbahn stop at the end of the road!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    4.2
    Disaster.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worst price to quality ratio I've ever experienced. I know there was a fair in Berlin, but charging 200 euros per night for something I'd pay 30 euros per night (or not even that) was pretty awful.

    The location is nice, the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    Great area and clean, comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was in a really great area close to shops and restaurants and the train station. The rooms were standard and had everything you needed. They felt clean and you could see that the owners made an effort to decorate the walls so that the experience would be memorable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    We recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Take a taxi to the hotel especially if you have bags because it is not worth trying to make it to there with baggage and too tired and sweaty to enjoy Berlin.

    1. All 5 of us fit comfortably in 1-large high ceiling room with 1-tall window (with a long bathroom with a tub/shower with window) across from the reception counter window on the first floor and we did not need to carry our luggage upstairs. 2. Very close to the high end shopping stores. 3. The lady at the check-in counter was very helpful orientating us to the shopping center, historic sights, making car service back to the train station. 6. Very convenient and yummy Greek restaurant in the same building accessed from the street/ end of the block. Not open for lunch but we had dinner there next day. 5. Very delicious Italian restaurant (open for lunch and dinner) diagonally across the street from the Geek Restaurant. Try either or both of the Truffle pasta and the Gnocchi pasta dishes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.8
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Standard of accomodation - very very poor. No privacy at all - a lot of noise from other guests and people outside. This is hardly a hotel at all - just a collection of rooms spread out across the building. Very very poor.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again due to the convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom needs updating.

    Great location close to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Ideal location, great food and shops around
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal location, great food and shops around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    The location and it was a clean place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not so good, I think that if you have time is better to have breakfast outside.

    The location and it was a clean place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    The facility was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not receiving the code to access thr keys in time because i was arriving after 7pm

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    The Staff was very friendly, the room was quite and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff was very friendly, the room was quite and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Pillow and blanket were terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillow and blanket were terrible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    Hotel as a hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets and around them

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is close to the center in a quiet and safe area. Only for sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    small, clean but not comfortable. Breakfast is very modest. Bad And Small TV.

    The room is very clean,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Very close to the train station & one of the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little cold because of the height of the room and the wood windows.

    Very close to the train station & one of the best boulevards in Berlin.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Clean, warm welcome, helpful staff and a good nights sleep, can’t ask for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were friendly, the hotel was well ferbished and clean and the area was quiet, and easy to get to the city centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.4
    Picked for location not elegance.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Picked for location not elegance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.2
    bad
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access, located very centrally and high ceilings in the rooms. Nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Good place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member was super helpful the other super unhelpful, very basic accommodation.

    Great location, walking distance to bus and trains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Good and affordable starting point for a few days of exploring Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near S-Bahn, Kurfürstendamm and Messe Berlin

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    Had to book last minute so all in all stay was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not that friendly

    Cheap an clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.6
    The service was really really poor.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was really really poor. It shouldn't be called as Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Few days in Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet not working

    Good position

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Room, staff and location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room, staff and location is perfect!!! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.7
    The area appeared safe with some nice restaurants nearby .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sharing bathroom but in fairness that's what I had ordered and paid for .

    Clean Sheets and towels

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'll skip the breakfast next time.

    Friendly landlord and a superb location by the middle of Kudamm. Clean and spacious room. Would book again .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    5.8
    Perfect location in Berlin, very poor accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor heating. and out door WC. No elevator inside. Very hard to cary your bag, if your room is upstairs.

    The hotel was a perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.8
    ideal if your on a budget, great location, not much facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the sofa bed was very hard and uncomfortable, 3 of us ended up sleeping in the double bed.

    the location is ideal, room was warm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.9
    Cozyyyyy, but wifi sucked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was horrible, was not able to make a skype call.

    The room was very cozy and nicely designed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. The area is also very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    2.9
    It's not a hotel, it's a shared flat with a shared...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a hotel, it's a shared flat with a shared bathroom. the standard of the room leaves also a big room for improvement.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice area, not noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms we stayed had leftovers in the closet

    Location is very convenient and excellent wifi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    6.3
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hole thing

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    6.3
    Location is superb and so many places to eat and drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No reception after 8pm! There should always be someone available to speak to. Poor English when phoning about something as reception.

    Location is superb and so many places to eat and drink nearby. Bed was amazingly comfy. Only met one member of staff but she was kind and helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    In the apartment, the rooms were a great size, comfy beds,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In the apartment, the rooms were a great size, comfy beds, kitchen had everything you need. The reception staff very helpful. 3 minute walk to train station.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    Nice apartment with 3 bedrooms, kitchen and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I think the staff skipped the bathroom cleaning. Also its door needs a fix - a bit difficult to open and close, and very noisy.

    Nice apartment with 3 bedrooms, kitchen and bathroom. The location is great - Savigny platz is very close, a lot of restaurants and bakeries.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.4
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast for 5 euro a day! You become a tray with food to consume on your room. Poor quality. The food is not worth a euro.

    The location. My window was a brick wall but expected that.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    5.8
    Requested a late check but upon arrival the staff were...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Requested a late check but upon arrival the staff were nowhere to be found. We waited outside for nearly two hours! Called booking.com and they told us that the key was in a deposit box outside the hotel, information we did not receive. Also the rooms where not cleaned daily...

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    2.5
    So I have just arrived back travelling Germany and I have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    So I have just arrived back travelling Germany and I have stayed in many hostels and hotels along the way but this by far was the worst!! I always use booking.com and this hotel was rated high as a value for money but to be honest it was just a waste of money as I only lasted a night there and wasn't able to claim any money back!!!! So were to start... Firstly this hotel is located down a dark street directly facing a high rise block of flats but it wasn't so much the view as to how unsafe I felt walking back to it or even stood on the front, inside it was even worse very dark, dingey and dirty and lsmelt like an old ashtray with no hall way lighting, the rooms were small and had a strange smell, there was spit down the wall in my room, the bathroom was covered in mould. Trying to look on the bright side we looked past all of this and decided to man up n just stay one night!! After lying on top of my towel for 6 hours trying to sleep and avoid being bitten and ignore the receptionists crying child and the Turkish men arguing in the hall way, I then realised the lock on my door didn't work when one of them barged in,,, for 2 20year old girls at 5am this was quite intimidating!! At that point I got up and went to find the woman who checked us in to ask for the wifi password so I could book another hotel online as I felt unsafe... Only to find the receptionist was really really drunk and in charge of a small child, I told her about the men arguing upstairs to her reply which was 'it's ok they are our friends' she then started to argue with me when I said I wanted to find another hotel and told me they didn't have wifi that I could log on too!! Long storey short I payed for 4nights in this place and didn't even last one full night, I would never go back!! I have stayed in better homeless units

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    the room was very comfortable and really well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was very comfortable and really well located. We were visiting some art museum and galleries and it was really easy to get around. It was also very nice coming back to the room after a day of walking around :) the bed was really comfortable and the bathroom nice and clean. There was also lots of great restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff, big room and bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There seemed to be extensive building works on the property when we stayed so quite noisy. We could only get the wifi sat on the stairs.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, big room and bathroom, close to metro station. Breakfast is cheap, it is a small tea/coffee and a croissant only.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.8
    good bed in a clean room, staff ready to help with questions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    showerhead was to low. Tv had no signal

    good bed in a clean room, staff ready to help with questions and Always friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    2.9
    Nothing to like about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very old and dirty rooms. Disgusting bathroom!

    Nothing to like about it!

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    9.6
    The room was big and pretty, comfortable bed,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was a little far from most of the attractions

    The room was big and pretty, comfortable bed,

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.3
    God location, silent neighbourhood, good bed, hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    God location, silent neighbourhood, good bed, hot water

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.9
    Perfect location, nice big comfortable rooms that are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If people expect a classy reception area they will be disappointed.

    Perfect location, nice big comfortable rooms that are cleaned everyday.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.5
    nice and comfortable hotel at a quite location just 5 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice and comfortable hotel at a quite location just 5 mins from the main shopping street of Berlin. Very good for the price.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    I like the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The toilet out from the room

    I like the location

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.4
    Good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Insects in the bathroom. Very noisy room close our room. TV didn't work.

    Good position.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi fi Internet connection was very poor and the signal didn't reach the apartment.

    Great location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.3
    The location was ideal for walking to the metro etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location was ideal for walking to the metro etc

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.6
    bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    sound through walls

    bed

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Hotel Elegia am Kurfürstendamm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: