Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gästehaus Enzianhof Hotel Garni This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Ettalerstraße 33, 82487 Oberammergau, Germany

#4 of 7 B&Bs and Inns in Oberammergau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 278 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Hope to go again and stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two wonderfull and very polite ladies, smilling all the time, taking care of everything starting with the tasty breakfast and ending with the clean and shinny rooms. The self service small bar, a great ideea. Hope to last... depending very much on the clients seriosity.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Superlative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was obvious to us from the outset that the people running this Gasthof have been in this business a long time. Everything ran like clockwork. Our room and en suite, both recently and classily reappointed, were spotlessly clean, and breakfast was a veritable feast. All staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Hearty breakfasts and comfortable, large room in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the ground floor with our windows facing the car park and a local road, so wasn't the best view!

    The breakfasts were lovely, with your choice of eggs, which is unusual enough on the continent. Very comfortable room with a large bathroom. Part of the Konigscard plan, which allows you free entry to many local cable cars and other attractions... Could save you about €300 easily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    great location and superb village, pleasant to walk around, perfect for being away from a busy city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -owner didn't want to speak English the first two days although she understood it, only spoke English in the last 2 days with me -the parking was very small and always the others parked the car outside the clearly drawn lines therefore I could only park badly as well ( I checked in a 23.00). Written in German (I assume politely written) I found a note from the owner only on my car window to park better next time

    clean large and beautifully furnished room, good breakfast, clean air as we could open the windows and everyday the cleaning staff was coming to do their job,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    As expected most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As i arrived late, parking was full but found a space just around tne corner

    liked the honesty bar, where you could pick up you drink and pay for it as you left. breakfast was excellent, liked the pre welcome and post leaving follow up mails. really friendly. also the konigscard came with the booking which gives access to lots of attractions locally

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Cleanliness, room size, view, decor, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two problems - 1. Arrived at 7 pm. Everything locked and no answer to bell. After some 20 frustrating minutes a guest opened the main door & we found our key on a note stating our name - self service check in. 2. One of the doors of the shower was missing, hence the bathroom got flooded every time we took a shower

    Cleanliness, room size, view, decor, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    The view was amazing and the breakfast every morning was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like,

    The view was amazing and the breakfast every morning was lovely. It was quiet, warm and comfortable. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable Gasthaus with very friendly landlords.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Morning noises from the streets and the tight parking areas around the hotel, in the street/road.

    Very nice, quiet place generally. The rooms with windows to streets are little bit noisier in the mornings and in the afternoons. Nice breakfast, the coffee not as strong as expected. Average English speaking, housekeeping is very well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean room, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast. Good location near to the city center with many restaurants. Good idea with the open fridge on the hallway with beverages for very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent service and hospitality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is nothing I can point out. Only positive sites.

    Excellent service and hospitality. This is my third stay there. I would highly recommended this cute hotel to all these people who would like to enjoy the stay itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    I love this town and their guesthouses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Book all the nights you want in advance The small guesthouses don't leave much room for spontaneous decisions. They book up fast.

    This whole town is straight out of a fairytale. You could stay in a dog house and enjoy it here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think about. Meybe too small TV scrèen if you want to warch TV, but I did not.

    Very clean, enough parking spots, the room was as new, nice bathroom, enough storage space

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Well-situated, clean, very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, hotel does not have its own wifi. You can use public wifi (password will be provided by staff) but connection is not so good.

    Well-situated, clean, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Very well run property, excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom and bathroom was spacious and very well appointed. The bedding consists of top quality natural materials which results in an excellent sleeping experience. High quality natural materials are used throughout the Hotel. All around one of the best overall hospitality experiences.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Highly recommended...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel is located in the hearth of the city center. The breakfast is very wealthy with lots of selections. The ladies who run the guest house are very kind and helpful. The room was cleaned every day. The safe in the room is a bonus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    The hotel was very clean and is decorated with paintings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean and is decorated with paintings like you see around town. The owner is very helpful, she will check your plans for the day and let you know about how the discount card could reduce entry cost.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Absolutely wonderful bed and bathroom. Breakfast was one of the best we had in our travels. Nice, quiet location. Easy access to bus route and city sites. Train station within walkable distance. Free activity and bus card.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear the traffic om the street throughout the open window.

    Good WiFi for as many devices as you like. Fridge with beer for reasonable price. Pay cash or with bank- or creditcard. Small, but comfortable room. Breakfast with fried eggs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Good size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good size room. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Nice clean place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Everything was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Because I was here alone I missed ..... my family.

    Everything was great. It was so calm and quiet I was suprised.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Very nice staying
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in the groundflour and the wifi was awfull

    Very clean, very comfort, nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    It was a pleasant rest at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception point which is confusing

    Delicious Bavarian breakfast, clean comfortable room, very good bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Clean, quiet, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking.

    Breakfast room and food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Sorundings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorundings Food Friendly people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    It was a plesant staying.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was always very clean and tydy. The staff was very polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    We had a nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More information the facilities the Hof offered

    Good breakfast. Very friendly staff and easy to find

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly owner, she tried to assist as much as she can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly owner, she tried to assist as much as she can. I would reccommend this hotel to my friens

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.8
    Excellent accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sauna

    Breakfast, local information

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    Very pleasant place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Very pleasant place. I was really well welcome and the daily life there was really joyful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Nice breakfast, clean and new room
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    8.8
    The hotel is very nice, cozy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator.

    The hotel is very nice, cozy and clean. The room is very comfortable and quite roomy for 2 people. Nice view from the terrace. Staying here made us feel like home. Eggs and sausage were made to order in a kitchen beside our breakfast table with a garden view. We love this place very much.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable rooms and beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The family discount cards were a real bonus and saved us a lot of money on local activities - at least 200 Euros!!

    Very comfortable rooms and beds. Extremely clean and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    Very clean, very beautiful rooms, nice breakfast, perfect...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very clean, very beautiful rooms, nice breakfast, perfect location, walking distance to centre of the village, only 10m away from the 1st NATO bus stop in the morning that was also the first bus stop in the afternoon, early breakfast for NATO students, konigscard that allows you free entrance in all attractions, for swimming pool (you should go!) and for all buses (to Garmisch also)

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    - Breakfast is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - No free wifi - Slight pressure to leave the breakfast area as soon as finished - Price is high (mitigated by the free Königskarte)

    - Breakfast is excellent - Free "Königskarte" offers a lot of free rides in the neighborhood for all kinds of activities, which saves a lot of money - Fridge in the room - Clean and modern bathroom

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, the room is spacious and comfortable, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely hotel, the room is spacious and comfortable, the bathroom is new and clean, and the breakfast is delicious. Within walking distance to the town center. With the KonigCard from the hotel, we get free access to many lift/cable car, save lots of $$.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    10
    The Breakfast is very good and the hotel in a very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Breakfast is very good and the hotel in a very good location. The staff were very obliging and offered lots of local knowledge to help us make the most of our stay. We would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Accommodations were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodations were great. Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Everithing was simply perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everithing was simply perfect! Thanks a lot.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    7.5
    Balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff needs to speak good English

    Balcony

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    8.3
    good location, clean, friendly, nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    good location, clean, friendly, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    9.2
    Very clean and warm personnel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very clean and warm personnel.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.2
    Very nice, good hotel in neighborhood of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi access should be free.

    Very nice, good hotel in neighborhood of city. Clean room, friendly personell.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.6
    Nice clean room, good breakfast, excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nice clean room, good breakfast, excellent value

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, excellent and hearty breakfast, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, excellent and hearty breakfast, good location, cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful room. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    Very clean rooms and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi is not free and you have to pay a tax for each device. There is a 10-15 minutes walk to the centre.

    Very clean rooms and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    We loved the staff and the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    €2 for a 24 hour WiFi connection. I think this is outdated...

    We loved the staff and the breakfast. The rooms were really tidy and quite big.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    10
    Early Breakfast for NATO students
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Early Breakfast for NATO students

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: