Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Im Malerwinkel Kallmünz 3 stars

Hinterm Gericht 3, 93183 Kallmünz, Germany

#1 of 3 hotels in Kallmünz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If parkibg lot is closer to the entrance, however for packibg in/out one can park right to the door for a while.

    Perfect apartments with a beautiful view. Also really family friendly place and really hood staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcoming Owner, excellent rooms, great breakfast. Plus a really nice location. What more do you need? It was already my third time here and wasn't the last visit for sure. :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a thing.

    The owner met us, as we were going to the door, and introduced himself warmly. He was a great host and very helpful throughout our stay. his place was spotless, the bed was extra comfy and the view, of the castle ruins, from our balcony, was fantastic. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to the recommended Italian restaurant that the owner mentioned, but the staff verged on being rude and sarcastic to us. When we tried to ask if a table was available they began laughing and speaking in German to each other. One then said, "no tables". We saw that there were available ones, but realized we were not welcome as non Germans. It was very disconcerting to be treated in this manner. I would not return to this town.

    The owner was very nice and welcoming. The pension is very clean and in a quiet section of town overlooking the castle ruins.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was really hot and the room was located in the top of the building with only a small skylight, which I had to keep open the whole night

    Good pension with nice views of the castle ruins, comfortable and with helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a Velux window which as there was thundery rain we couldn't leave open in the night

    Good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were overcharged by 10euros. I did not challenge it - my mistake. however the owner did ring me to apologise and to refund the overpayment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Astonishing view, superb location and very friendly people

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was extremely helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great owner of pension, with good advice. Great breakfast, nice clean place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no view, facing out back

    quietude

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom upstairs.

    Loved the location overlooking Kallmunz and yet only a few minutes walk into town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely pleasant staff, absolutely good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was perfect for what we wanted and Herman the host was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was bare bones. Felt small and no view. Better to get other side with spectacular views. Breakfast was also pretty basic and cost extra.- no fresh fruit. No common social area. Had to wash kitchen drawer handles because they were sticky. The room had a bad smell. Could not find the source but when we asked the maid to spray the room it helped a little. We told Herman as we left and he was very concerned. I am sure he has taken care of it.

    Kallmunz is a fantastic little town and this Pension is perfectly situated to explore it. For cyclists it is steps from the trail to Regensburg. Herman was friendly and wanted us to be happy. Recommended some excellent eateries in the village. Very quiet and no bugs so could keep windows open except when smoker at smoking table below our window. Internet connection excellent,

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is being picky, but better, more comfortable pillows would make for a better sleep.

    Friendly, helpful and welcoming owner. Impeccably clean and well maintained facilities. Very good breakfast with fresh juices, fruit, cheeses, yogurts, meats, breads and cereals. Excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of Kallmunz is a scenic Bavarian town 6 miles from Hohenfels where we were visiting family. Herr Schmid, the host, was very genial and welcoming. The apartment was comfortable, roomy and clean. We truly enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My second trip to Kallmünz and the second stay in Pension Im Malerwinkel. I got a beautiful room, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast and I was lucky to meet again the friendliest owners ever. Looking forward to go back again!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cute place to stay in a very charming village. Really friendly owners, comfortable rooms and bed, great breakfast for a low price. Can`t wait to go back again!

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have no complaints.

    Friendliness, cleanliness, and the value for money were key factors in my rating. My husband and I came across this little gem during a visit to Hohenfels Army Installation. It is an ideal home base for those planning to travel to other points of interests, such as Nuremberg, Regensburg, etc…We booked the Maisonette apartment, a two-story apartment with a kitchen and loft upstairs w/skylight. A room with a view of the ruins of the Kallmunz Castle. We enjoyed our weekend getaway.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a wonderful place to stay. The host was extremely accommodating and very gracious. He made excellent suggestions on sites to see and places to eat. We will definitely stay here again if we are in this area.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really to complain about. But for long term visitors it would be helpful to have more comfortable furniture. If you take a couple of days rest from touring Kallmunz and the surrounding towns, the couch and especially the dinette table chairs began to become mildly uncomfortable.

    The view from the Kallmunz city side is awesome. We stayed in an apartment with small kitchen and a balcony. We didn't cook or prepare any meals but the kitchen was handy to clean fresh fruit, prepare sandwiches, and store our drinks in the decent sized refrigerator. The internet speed is decent with about 1.5Kbps down and 1Kbps up. We streamed an American college football game with decent quality. The lighting is good, shower is good, view is awesome. I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not only was this hotel absolutely first class in every respect, but the location was also beautiful. The village ( within 5 mins walking) is worth the visit on its own. Don't hesitate, book it today you will not be sorry.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    N/A.

    Very friendly. I stayed in one of the apartments with a kitchenette, which was very comfortable and roomy. Very reasonable price for the space.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    No complaints

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beautiful village of Kallmunz is only 5-10 min walk. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Honefels Army base is only 15-20 min away.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    Staff was very friendly and it is a beautiful place to stay for a longer period (surroundings are great)!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff. Kallmunz is a beautiful little place, however located somewhat far away from the major cities in the region.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Road to Regensburg is not as good as I was expected.

    Good breakfast, very nice localization, beautiful view.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing really

    Quiet rooms, very nice bathroom, beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owner was very friendly and accommodating to our family. Beautiful place, beautiful view!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOTHING!!

    Beautiful view of the castle ruins.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a nice and cosy place, nice and helpful staff, all in a nice small town. I strongly recommend. Marko Mlinaric, Croatia

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The owner was really friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We had a most enjoyable night at the Pension!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Pension Im Malerwinkel Kallmünz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: