Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Pension Klaer This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Nußbaumweg 56-58, 67346 Speyer, Germany

#15 of 15 hotels in Speyer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

4.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.6

  • Comfort

    4.1

  • Location

    5.7

  • Facilities

    4.2

  • Staff

    5.4

  • Value for money

    4.3

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location and area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is OK no real negatives.

    It was functional. I needed just a place to sleep overnight for my business meeting. Breakfast was good and the township Speyer is really lovely and historic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    That I was forced to pay cash as he claimed his credit card...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I was forced to pay cash as he claimed his credit card terminal was broken. Cost me an extra $ 5.00 ATM withdrawal fee yet when I got home three weeks later I had a foreign exchange adjustment of 2 cents on my credit card. How is that if his machine was broken. Not happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.2
    Very small rooms, wifi didn't work but probably as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms, wifi didn't work but probably as compensation we had a cockroach in the bath cabin. However the website says they accept card payment but "NOT TODAY", you have to pay IN ADVANCE (unusual in hotels according to my experience through extensive travelling) and if you don't have enough cash with youthen you have to walk to the cashmachine which is just a short distance, but still. Is it 21st century Germany? The hotel is clean, however the rooms were small, but suitable good accomodation, the area is quiet, breakfast was OK. My verdict: it's not too bad but overpriced. Simply too expensive for this quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    2.9
    老子不爽
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    有点種族歧視的感覺

    Breakfast fair Not friendly. Room feel very hot we just ask a electrical fan the Hilter said open the window. Not friendly to Asian guest. We we make reservation they said have a king size bed and 2 small bed. But we stay there 2 night only small 2 single bed and the room is very very small. Just like 10 square meter size . We are very upset for this choice. The hotel owner very look liKe Hitler. Small beard on the face very like.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    It is not a place for the handicapped
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside the very friendly and helpful Proprietor and his Daughter and the breakfast everything !!!!!!

    I am Wheelchair bound and I asked for a Hotel which has easy access for the handicapped, do I need to say more ?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.6
    Flashback to 1972
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in the room was tiny, no real bathroom. Roomtemperature 32 degrees celcius, no fans, no air conditioning, Lots of noise outside on the road at 3.00 in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the Reviews that I read, it looked like it was going to be a poor choice. However, it was a great choice , staff were excellent, room was nice, Shower,Toilet etc were very clean and I would recommned this hotel to anyone j

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    The person was really nice and helpfull and all of the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I surprised that the mentioned bathroom was outside of the room... And it is for 65euro!

    The person was really nice and helpfull and all of the staff !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    5.4
    Adequate if you cant find any where else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was barely adequate Staff does not speak English Cleaning ladies smoking in the lobby so it sticks of cigarettes Bit far away from town Porn magazines in the lobby

    Price considering other options It was quiet We arrived really late but the owner accommodated us although was a little grumpy Internet was ok Rooms were big enough as we booked for 3 adults. Came with 3 single beds, a small round table, a wardrobe and a small fridge

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    2.5
    Discusting
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its so dirty and discusting, the bed had rash and bugs. All my body was itchy. I would never ever in my life put my leg even near there.

    I dint like noth there

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    2.5
    NOTHING!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotelier's rude attitude. The fact that the charges for the room were taken before our arrival from the debit card used for booking the Hotel, having paid a deposit in January as an act of Goodwill. The fact that there was one toilet (in a laundry room) between 10 guests. The fact that the shower was a cubicle in the room (in some cases not even hidden by a partition), so the other guests in the room had full view of the person showering. Foul smelling and stained pillows! Worn bedding, small beds (too small for men). Faulty electrical plugs and fixings. The Hotel was in need of a good clean and dust!! DO I NEED TO SAY MORE??

    NOTHING!!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    2.5
    AVOID AT ALL COSTS
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The very rude attitude of the Hotelier. There were no laundry facilities, although these are advertised on Booking.com. The excuse was that the washing machines were broken. The payment for this room was taken twice, once from the credit card of our member of staff who was staying at the Hotel, and also it was debited from the company debit card, used to secure the booking originally. The pillows were foul smelling and stained. The shower was a shower cubicle free-standing in the room, but no toilet although this was specified on Booking.com. The guests had to share a toilet with 10 other guests.

    NOTHING!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.5
    Room and facilities tired and needing an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and facilities tired and needing an upgrade. Shower cubicle in the bedroom very unappealing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    3.8
    Smolers paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and all floors smell of cigarette smoke. Really not nice for a non smoker and child. No toilet in room.

    The staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    Acceptable for one day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to communicate in English, there was problem with invoice (handwritten receipt, without company data).

    Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Ok, not the best but certainly comfy enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were dated but had charm

    It was dated but had charm

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    3.3
    Nightmare - owner hates foreigners
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pension owner absolutely hates foreigners and prefers only Germans. He was very arogant and used bad words when guest uses English language.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    4.2
    It was only 700 m to Il Fontana restaurant where we had an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place reeked of smoke and by the end of the evening even though we were in the 2nd floor, my eyes and throat were burning from the cigarettes being smoked in public areas. There is some irony in that the rooms are non smoking but in every communal area ( including right outside the rooms) there are ashtrays where smoking is allowed.

    It was only 700 m to Il Fontana restaurant where we had an excellent meal. It has provided a home for unwanted wallpaper.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    5.4
    The effort of the personell at Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Uncomfortable beds.In the 4bed room the shower/WC is a hard plastic cabin with in the room. Alternatively there is a wc with a shower across the hall, thus without heating.

    The effort of the personell at Breakfast. Parking yard.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.4
    Wifi didn't work at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work at all. No shambo in shower. Shower room and toalet mini sized. Room really small, too small for two adults. Cigarette smoke smelled though it was denied to smoke in the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    6.3
    Staff at breakfast was very kind and nice, thanks to them:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I did not like that there are not toilet in the room although there is a shower cabin, it was not nice to share the bathroom

    Staff at breakfast was very kind and nice, thanks to them:)

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    The staff were very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Although the room was listed as non-smoking, there was a lounge with ashtrays right outside the door & the room smelt of smoke. If you have problems with smoke, this may not be a good choice

    The staff were very friendly & helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No inside bike storage No place to swing a cat Bathroom squeezed into room Plenty of restrictions

    Breakfast service Convenient access when cycling Beautifully decorated building

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast service was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    To have share bathroom

    Breakfast service was great.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    Good internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not within walking distance of old town/downtown.

    Good internet. Good Breakfast. Clean, but average room

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: