Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Marienhof

Römerstraße 7, 56330 Kobern-Gondorf, Germany

#8 of 10 hotels in Kobern-Gondorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 295 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound from adjacent rooms

    The staff was excellent and the owner spoke good English. Some reviews did complain about the noise from the trains, which didnt bother me at all (I guess they had roms facing towards the track). It was very week sound isolation between the corridor (you heard every step as if they where in the room) and inbetween the rooms though. I didnt expect bathroom in the room as it had shared WC but I had both shower and sink in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be picky: Shower was small. Train passing-by at night. Entry to the room in the bathroom

    Old building with its characteristics. Bed was very comfortable. Friendly. Good breakfast, Etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced. Old, worn, renovated long time ago. Looks much worse than in pictures. trains are going nearby, but light from them disturbing more than sound, because curtains are too small. Breakfast wasn't so "Fabulous" as it was in description and it was later than we asked, nearly missed our bus.

    Nice location in old town. Friendly hosts, speaks good english. Spacious room. We booked a room, got an entire flat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no hair dryer at Room 6. No double bed for the couples. The beds are too old, not comfy. The room 6 is slightly dark.

    The staff is super friendly and helpful. They ask always if you like your room or your breakfast etc. The building is nice and has a history. The room and the building, both of them are perfectly clean. Nothing fancy, cheap but all around good. There is a very nice castle and trekking roads close to the pension.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is more than a 1000 year old and it shows in the floors creaking and some uncomfortable staircases, especially for tall people.

    Roland, the landlord, was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. The heater in the room is very effective. The area around the apartment is beautiful and there are sufficient free parking nearby. The Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleep was utterly unattainable due to the continual running trains right at your bedroom window.

    As bicycle travelers, riding from one village to the next along the Rhine and Moselle, it is important that we attain the best nights sleep possible. Our ride this trip will be for one month. The room was as advertised, small and clean. The host, genuine and caring. The critical part that was omitted is that the train comes through your room, with vengeance, extremely loudly, all night long, preventing any type of rest. We wear Audiologist made ear plugs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Train was right outside the window and as it was a hot night and we wanted to keep the window open - train was not nice.

    Very authentic feel in a tiny village in a heart of Mosel valley. Wonderfull host and great breakfast. A great view is few hundred meters west - below the train - you get right to the riverside... lovely lovely place!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very close to the train tracks so we heard every train that went by. But that is going to be true of the majority of lodging options along the river in this region. Fortunately each train was only a disturbance for about 5 seconds and there weren't very many overnight. Also, they didn't have much parking onsite. The lot was pretty full with just 3 cars there.

    We had a 3-room suite which was perfect for our family of 5. The rooms were very large and comfortable. We had our own bathroom in the suite. The property had a lot of greenery around it and was practically right next to a castle (Schloss Liebieg) that we were able to visit the grounds of after we checked in. Breakfast was excellent and served personally by the owner. The main road was pretty quiet and walkable, with very little traffic to worry about.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property smells bad, it's very old and needs to be updated, like last done in the 50's probably. There was no reception area so hard to communicate and they didn't speak English. The train was just outside and was loud and all our power went out within minutes of us trying to get dressed.

    It was just across the street from the Liebieg Castle where we were attending a function, so that was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next to very busy rail road track..

    Over 1000 years old charming house where floors are making a lot of noice.. Very good breakfast with friendly serve - roses on the table

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property sits along the railroad tracks and may not accommodate light sleepers; however, our one-year-old slept well.

    The overall experience could not have been better. We arrived late, but they were waiting for us and ensured that we comfortable and able to settle in for the night. The breakfast and hospitality was great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best breakfast in my 6 weeks in Europe and the beer from the region in the community fridge was awesome along with appropriate glasses for each style.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to cycle into town for restaurants.

    Best breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of an unusual welcome perhaps, but very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    X

    Very friendly guesthouse, clean, good bed etc. Great breakfast. Nice historic building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearest open restaurants about 1 mile away, at least in January.

    Friendly staff and plenty of space for our family with four small children.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The host was very friendly, room comfortable with a great bed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train line next to room.

    Good host, quaint b & b

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was difficult to find

    the breakfast, location, space for our trailer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent rooms, breakfast and wonderful host mr. roland

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, comfortable bedroom and very good breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Host was very helpful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The human touch

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishing

    Fair price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pension is right next to the train tracks, which made for a noisy night. The windows were very well insulated, but it was so hot we needed to keep them open.

    The owners were very nice and breakfast was great. The windows were very well insulated, but we had to keep them open due to the heat & that made the train noise much louder.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The neighborhood was different than expected. We arrived on a cold and rainy day (typical Germany) and were slightly uncomfortable arriving in the neighborhood. It looks like what used to be wearily neighborhood that has not been well maintained. That said I would still recommend Roland's place without hesitation.

    Roland was exceptionally friendly and his breakfast was yummy! He served us breads, meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, juice, coffee, tea, etc. The family room was the perfect size for us, there are four in my family and we had two bedrooms, one bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are spacious but kept very basic, which was fine as we had a late arrival and just wanted to sleep. Then there is a beautiful salon and a royal breakfast prepared and served by the owner with great pride and joy. We loved it.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Railway behind the window.

    The house is really old. Its like a castle.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi only in the breakfast room.

    The owner was very hospitable

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Loved the history of the building. Breakfast was amazing!

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Pension Marienhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: