Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Pension Spree This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Trautenaustr. 19, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10717 Berlin, Germany

#73 of 107 B&Bs and Inns in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1404 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    clean hotel, not so good position, careless lady at breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lady group from breakfast is not professional. They are discussing between them and they do not care about the client. First day we didn't get any eggs and they raised a shoulder... so what

    the cleaning team was profi

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.0
    Overall great value for money. The place is old but very well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very weak wifi. Small rooms, very noisy. No kettle or hair-dryer in the room. Old flooring, power outlets are few and located unconveniently.

    Great location, helpful staff, comfy beds. Breakfast has a decent selection of snacks and drinks. Quite clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, we could hear the water running in the pipes during the night, people walking in the corridor and parking their bikes in front of the window.

    Great location, comfortable bed, big room, nice breakfast :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Long Weekend in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is not a lot of space in the breakfast room, so there were a couple times when we had to stand and wait for somewhere to sit. The bathroom is very tiny, and the pillows were pretty lumpy.

    The location is fantastic! The hotel is only a couple minute walk from the nearest U Bahn, only 3 stops from the Zoo, offering easy access to the rest of downtown Berlin and Tegel Airport. We appreciated the size of the room, especially since there were single beds for all 3 of our children. The breakfast was nice and simple. We were pleasantly surprised by the daily room cleaning. Also, there was plenty of storage in our room, which would be nice if you were staying for longer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could not fault the hotel - BUT be aware if using the ALDI'S 200m away across the main road to the Northeast - my wife had her purse stolen there!

    The hotel was so inexpensive,yet the breakfast was quite sufficient, the cleanliness was faultless,the bathroom was quite adequate. I can't understand churlish,frivolous comments like "needs cucumber and tomatoes for the breakfast buffet" online - the meal is FREE! The street is QUIET and 30m from the metro - ensure you use the Trautenau Strasse exit to save your legs. The LOCATION is excellent - 3 stops on U9 for ZOO mainline, u-bahn and s-bahn , with luggage lockers along the OUTSIDE of the station. Get to the Zoo station from Schon. airport using S9!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot this summer in Berlin, so maybe any air condition will be helpufully.

    Early check in, location really near U-bahn, clean room, satisfield breakfast, after check out leaving baggage on reception for some time, nice and kind staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is bad. A lot of time we don't have internet connection. There is no aircondition so it's quite warm.

    The breakfast is good. The location is near the metro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent base for exploring central Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast room a bit small when the hotel was full- hard to find a free table. Otherwise little to criticise.

    Breakfast was plentiful and staff were helpful, though their English was limited. Hotel literally one minute away from the nearest U Bahn station. Indian restaurant next door was good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful, quaint, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A small refrigerator would have been nice in the room. We had a lot of trouble with the internet connection.

    The room was wonderful. Old style and gorgeous tall ceilings. Plenty of room for our 4 beds. The pension is steps away from the metro so very convenient. Just down the street a block is a lovely park with a fountain and an Aldi's for an easy meal to eat on the benches at the fountain. There were also some restaurants right there. The pension also has an elevator!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great location, great staff, nice breakfast, clean room, wifi could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only remark is for the wifi, sometimes it got interrupted.

    Staff ladies at the reception were very pleasant and helpful. Room was very clean. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic place . Close to Berlin nightlife and you can walk back even!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay in Berlin close to everything and at night close to central nightlife.You could walk back home or get U9 only a few yards to walk after. Hotel staff were wonderful, room was excellent although a bit difficult to find after a few pints.Great value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Fantastc weekend in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was no air-conditioning in the room, it was really hot during my stay in Berlin, it was difficult to sleep with the window open as it was looking into the noisy street, breakfast should include some veggies

    a nice and comfortable hotel close to public transport, tasty breakfasts, comfortable beds,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most of the items advertised were not in the room like soap, hair dryer, hair conditioner and washing machine. Only two chairs for three people and no desk as advertised. TV was so small that I actually had trouble seeing it and hearing it. Towels, sheets were never refreshed and we ran out of toilet paper on the third day. A pile of what I initially thought was vomit was not cleaned up for three days in the stairway (pictured). Shower handle was broken. Beds were made once a day and trash removed but that was about it. Very unfriendly Reception. The breakfast was one of the worst that I have ever had in our many travels to Germany. Our room faced a quiet inner courtyard until about 7:00AM when the kids who were off to school started shouting. No A/C so we had to sleep with the windows open which was OK as many properties like this do not have this component. The rooms are actually in a historic building of a house that was once owned by Jews. The occupants, who met their fate at a concentration camp, are memorialized with brass plaques at the entrance to the old residence. This property could be a gem with proper management and an influx of a little cash.

    Proximity to U Bahn and a nice neighborhood a block away across a very busy street with restaurants and shopping

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Budget stay, worth your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A smell in the hallway from Indian restaurant downstairs.

    The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They even let as get something for the breakfast on the evening before we had to leave in the early next morning. They did not left us without breakfast, that is a thing you don't usually see in this class of hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    A cozy room in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A good location, close to 3 stops of Underground Size of the room ok. for 4 persons Nice breakfast We could drop the luggage before the check-in time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location, nice stuff, but noisy rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problem was that the rooms are poorly isolated, one can hear the shower from neighboring rooms and from the corridor, so I slept very little

    Location is great, staff was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    We stayed 3 nights and would go again. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was squeaky. The pillows too soft and difficult to adjust to a comfortable thickness. We could not follow the television as something was wrong with the picture quality.

    Location just a few meters away from underground station and in a quiet area. Two supermarkets not far. The bathroom functioned well and the room itself big enough. The breakfast was good and the coffee good too. The staff nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was a strong smell of indian food in the corridors of the hotel . The room although it was big enough for one person it was very dated . Just some old furniture without matching to each other . The room looked very depressed really . Not a place to stay in , but only to sleep and go .

    It was very closed to the metro and buses station .and not far from the city center . The room was very clean and very hot as during my stay it was cold and snowing . Also the breakfast was simple without hot food , but good and adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    generally good, nice location to visit the city center and quiet for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as said, with this location, and with this price, I did not set my expectation too high. it was a 4 bed room, of course old furniture, small toilette

    good location, with this price including breakfast, it fits expectation. And breakfast is good, plenty of choice. and personal is quite nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    3.3
    Horrible stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didn't like anything about this pension. I don't understand why they bring the term hotel in the name of these properties, while they have nothing to do with a hotel. Could not get a good one night sleep there and please why do you mislead us with your ratings. I chose this pension because of a rate of a 7.1 on booking and God!! this was not what I expected and how 560 Euros for a double room is good value of money in such a property. (I stayed in Rome and Paris in properties with way lower budget and they were perfect)There were several times, I found a big spider on my pillow, also on my colleagues'. The walls and doors are so thin and rusty, you could hear everything form the outside and other rooms. As you walk into this pension, there is a sign that says they don't accept the responsibility of any theft!!! Is that a joke?!!! I will even upload a photo of that. They change the towels every four days and as we were surprised and had our towels dirty already, they said it's their rule and did not change them, they did even forgot their own rule and changed ours after 5 days. Last thing to add, if you're choosing to stay here, you might end up having another guest knocking on your door at 10.00 PM, freaking you out to death, just because you're two girls alone and he wants to show off and exchange business cards. That is the kind of experience you can expect. I strongly believe that such a property should not be represented in Booking.com with a rate of 7.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    A great place to return to after a cold but fascinating day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The en suite could do with an update. Very dim lighting and temp of water when showering could be alarmingly hot. Shower curtains reduce the space available. An overhead shower and screen would improve this. I like to read in the evenings and often find lighting inadequate. A strong bedside light would improve the facilities

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to subway and supermarkets.Room was warm, comfortable and quiet. Plenty of choice for breakfast and very good to include in the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    - good location (supermarkets and the undergrand very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - not too clean, dirthy bathroom (the bed was clean, but i have some bite or rush on my arm and hand after nights) - not too friendly host - not so delicious breakfast ( but the breadroll was fresh every morning) - the walls are too thin and you hear everything from the corridor

    - good location (supermarkets and the undergrand very close to the accomodation) - good wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed my trip to Berlin, went well, satisfied overall with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really, was satisfied overall with my stay.

    Breakfast was good, ate well every morning, satisfied with the variety of food. Bed was comfortable, facilities adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    getting around Berlin on Underground,Bus or Train with Unlimited Travel for 7.70 Euros is Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Kettle would have been good but that's me just being Picky...

    Breakfast consisted of Boiled Eggs,Toast,Cereal,Rolls,Cheese & Cold Meat, Yoghurts,Apples, Tea/coffee Orange Juice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.3
    For 1 night it's OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is not too friendly but we got some useful information about Berlin. The bathroom was not too clean and big.

    The breakfast is good and fresh. City center is just a few minutes away with traffic transport. Room was peaceful and warm enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    2.9
    AVOID IT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So Small,dirty,very old forniture like in a cemetery. The temperature was so hot and we felt like burning in hell. Cracked wall everywhere.the sink was so small and it was really difficult to wash yourself in the morning and There wasn't a phon. The woman that we first met there doesn't even know how to speak in english. Absolutely avoid it.

    Nothing. It was horrible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Very reasonably priced and close to metro.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear some traffic noise, even late in the evening. You can also hear the other guests if they are noisy - e.g. kids crying, doors slamming.

    Staff at the reception and breakfast were friendly and polite. Check-in was fast and efficient, the invoice was already prepared, got a map with travel instructions and a wifi pass was handed without need to ask.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Very good impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no sports channels on TV

    Very good impression. Beneficial owners, close to the center, 3 metro stations in two steps, the right breakfast. Problems were not, I recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.8
    Ok but it could be beeter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire room and the common areas smell like curry all time because of the indian restaurant that it is located downstairs.

    It’s ok for just a few days. Good breakfast and location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    Good for short city break
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    shared washroom (but it was really clean with good hot shower)

    location near Ubahn, grocery, gas station, restaurants in nearest neighbourhood big room breakfast with good coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place, easy access and close to highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we booked the room we announced the pension that we would arrive late and we had no reply that we couldn't stay in this place. when we arrived around 23:00 we were met from a skeptic woman who were not so happy to open for us to give us the key. she told us that we should arrive before 22:00 to make check in, and after a little discussion and by telling that we already announced in the booking that we would arrive late, she came to open for us to give us a key.

    we arrived late and had only a night there to sleep on our way through Germany. the room was great - big with big bed, sofa, table and a bathroom. An old place, old building but has its charm! the breakfast was fine - buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, however the bathroom was smelling like a cigarette pack.

    The staff were very helpful and nice. The location is good, near the metro station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    the location is good' some meters near u bahn/
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the curtains are thins and dont block the light. the hotel is old' in the last day the door in the bathroom was closed and they had to bring a a special person to open it. they give only one kind of soap to hands and body/ there is no refrigerator in the room

    the location is good' some meters near u bahn/ good breakfest some personal there are quite nice/ allowed me to eat breakfest earlier when i need ed it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Good! Especially for a low budget accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - A little bit difficult to understand with the people in charge. Not very good at talking in English; - Old carpets and furniture

    -Location close to the metro; -Plentiful and good breakfast; -Quiet place; -Accepted late arrival around midnight; -Well maintained pension with lots of rooms; -Low cost and affordable -Kind personnel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell of curry because there is an Indian restaurant nearby.

    The hotel is close to U bahn, restaurants and shops so the location is perfect. The room was clean and big enough. Breakfast and room are basic but it's perfect stay for the price. I would return there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    The location of the hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On arrival we couldn't get into the property, after several attempts of trying to get someone to answer the door I had to telephone the hotel requesting access to the room I booked and paid for the staff were nice and helpful but the language barrier was a major thing they were unable to understand English also there seemed to be a leak in the bathroom, every time you used the sink or the shower the floor of the bathroom then became a mini pool, also had to ask for toilet paper as none was provided on the second last day of our stay.

    The location of the hotel ..... in a quiet area and very handy to the local underground

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    The lady at the reception was really nice , we had a problem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the reception was really nice , we had a problem with the toilet and she changed our room . The room we got was even nicer than the previous one .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    We stay at this hotel pension many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is some room for improvement but if those amendments increase price it would be better not to implement them

    We stay at this hotel pension many times. We like conditions in this hotel, its location, price, russian-speaker personal. For two stars hotel it is the best choise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    This little hotel was good value for the money, the bed was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water cups in the bathroom were a big old and grungy, and the curtains wouldn't fully close.

    This little hotel was good value for the money, the bed was comfortable, and the WIFI worked well. Breakfast was satisfactory.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    close to subway, but the room is quite old
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room is on a ground floor, next to a dining room, so it's a bit strange. the room and the toilet are quite old. the lighting in the toilet is quite strange - there is only one small light bulb. no in-room fridge. window can't completely shut down so it's a bit cold.

    very close to a subway station- a few minutes walk (if you find the correct subway gate). standard breakfast but it's free so it's good. not so far from the city's center. no 24 hours reception but it's ok, as they will give you a key to the building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.7
    Room was adequate, not luxury but clean and comfortable. Quaint old-fashioned atmosphere.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception desk wasn't open in the evenings or in the morning until breakfast started at 7.3am. I had to leave the hotel at 7.00am in the morning and so I wasn't able to easily hand my key in and go. I had to knock on the owner's private door to find someone to give my key to, this was quite stressful. There were no drinks available in the hotel after breakfast had been served.

    The breakfast was ok and reasonable quality, not special but as much as you wanted to eat: tea/coffee, boiled eggs, cold cuts of meat,cheese, cereals etc.on a self serve basis. My room was clean and quiet and warm.The bed was reasonably comfortable and there was plenty of hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.8
    only good point very close to u-bahn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no telephone in the room, no connection with reception, reception works until 8 pm. poor breakfast without vegetebles. terrible smell on the whole floor (it is an Indian restaurant under hotel). quality of cleanleness very poor ( white towels almost grey).

    room size was really good, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    My stay at this hotel has been very comfortable and pleasing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I recommended a bigger washbasin.

    This is conveniently located cozy hotel in reasonable rate provides excellent breakfast and other services. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Don't arrive late, I initially wrote arrival between 23...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't arrive late, I initially wrote arrival between 23 and 00, I tried calling the hotel at 21:30 but didn't succeed. At arrival 23:30 i got my key but staff complained about late arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Super close to an underground station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the staff went into our room several times when we wren't there, turned the light off and switched off the heat, but didn't gave us new toilet paper nor changed our towels.

    Super close to an underground station. very easy to get anywhere. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location, great reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was awful, it was impossible to use a laptop because of network interruptions, even in the morning. They told us it was temporarily - may be, but still... The breakfast wasn't good neither: bread, chease, ham, tea, coffee, jus, cheap yougurt, boiled eggs. For three euro, it should be more choice. In other hotel in Berlin we had better breakfast for less money.

    Great location - hundred meters from a subway. Reception exceptionnel, Russian lady speaks not only English and Germain, but also French, and a very good one. She guided us to our number and was very helpful. Thanks a lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Good choice if you need a cheap place to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is really old, so the floor creaks almost everywhere as well as windows and bed. That might be very disturbing during the night. The wi-fi was slow and breakfast rather modest but it was ok for the price I paid.

    The location was good, close to U-Bahn station and also close to a square where you can find shops, restaurants and pubs. The room was clean and there were towels although I didn't expect it as the hotel was rather cheap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    The staff is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel in very old and you cannot ignore that. The booking policy: if you take the more expensive option- with a possibility of cancellation-you have to pay 80% for any change or cancellation, and you cannot switch it after that to a cheaper option of paying everything in advance .

    The staff is wonderful. Breakfast is included. Good location if you want to see West Berlin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Bad communication with personal, poor breakfast and clean rooms.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personal didn't speak English, it was hard to communicate. We arrived before 23:00 and no one was waiting for us and no one opened the door for 30 minutes. If Personal could say Good morning, would be nice. They also had some mess in booking book and wanted to pay me twice. After 5 minutes searching, they find a record that I paid when I arrived.

    The only positive thing about this hotel was cleanliness on the room and privacy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    The hotel was convenient for subway and in a safe area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to give 50 euros deposit for TV remote control! and TV programmes were limited. No hairdryer, no kettle. Breakfast poor and young female working there very rude. We only went once as wasn't worth going again.

    Location was near subway and a small restaurant area with seating , flowers and fountain. Area felt safe

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.8
    Not recommended. We won't be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was grimy, smelly, basic and extremely dated. The floor in the room wasn't screwed down properly meaning it moved when we walked on it. The staff at breakfast were extremely unfriendly and brusk. Breakfast was extremely basic and just about the minimum that one could provide, whilst still claiming that "the price includes breakfast".

    Location, not much else.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    A good price for central Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not cleaned during our stay for four nights, only the garbage was taken out from the bathroom every morning. There was only 3 little packs of shower gel for 3 persons and these were not restored after use, so you have to bring your stuff with you. The furniture is rather old and repaired but appropriate. The staff can be a little bit more friendly and welcoming for first-time customers.

    The room is big and clean and the breakfast was good. The location is perfect and you can quickly reach every part of the city over the nearby U-Bahn station on the corner. There is a shopping-center with an extra-cheap Aldi shop among others five minutes away on feet on the other side of the street and this was very practical.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.7
    A trip in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The smell in the corridor is horrible. The staff is not very communicative. They seem to have difficulties to communicate in english. There's a big problem with the corridor door that can be blocked sometimes.

    The breakfast was good. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Berlin Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1). The price may be increased somewhat but towels and bed linen should be provided/changed daily. This wasn't mentioned on the website and one doesn't expect to check this aspect with the hotel. 2). It was a surprise to note that Check-in wasn't possible after 11PM. Due to the G20 summit, trains to Berlin were diverted and we had to change 4 trains to reach there thereby getting delayed by 3 hours. Though the hotel staff was co-operative and arranged for a guest to open the door, a person should have been there at reception as part of duty change. Communicating with the hotel staff was a challenge as they were finding it difficult to talk in English but helpful though.

    Location with respect to centre of Berlin, nice old place, inclusion of breakfast in such a cheap price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Amazing hotel for the price, but stupid door
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outer door didn't work, so we couldn't get into our rooms. We tried to call the hotel, but they didn't answer before the third day. And still, the door never worked. Besides that, I would definitely do this hotel again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    2.5
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water could not drain at all We had to wait long to take showers Furniture in the room was very tatty The whole place needs refurbishment The foyer area had smell of curry from the restaurant below The whole place needed to be aired Aweful

    Closer to the metro

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    Located in the center of Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style, really old antique style and I asked for a room with a single beds and got one with two single beds. One done and the other left there and occupying space just as if they didn't care about the presentation. The old TV in the room wasn't working at all.

    Located in the center of Berlin. The guy I met at the desk the first day was very helpful with his recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel, but need to know a little bit of German.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We get there around 11 pm to check in. But the door was locked, we had to call them (they have a phone by the door) and wait around 30 minutes. The worst part is, the staff doesn't speak English. Fortunately we had a German speaker who translated for us otherwise the instructions were very specific.

    The location of hotel is in between two U bahn stations. Easy to commute. Also, there are a couple of supermarkets around in case you forget something.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.3
    Decent budget option in a nice neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were delayed during checkout with our train just a few minutes away, since the management was unavailable with no response on the phone. We didn't even get breakfast (that we'd paid for) that day because they weren't up yet (it being a Sunday, though we hadn't received any warning for that). The drain in our shower was clogging up all the time as well.

    The hotel isn't close to attractions but is in a good neighborhood with the subway just a minute's walk away. Lots of decent restaurants nearby. Room was quite large.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was small. Internet signal was not always good.

    Location was good. Very close to U-bahn station. Value for money. Breakfast was basic but good. Quite area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Very good localization
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was ok, but there should be some vegetables...

    Very good localization, near to U-bahn station. Shops also very close. Old-fashioned furnitures but matched to the style of building where the pension is situated. Very nice and helpful staff. Adequate quality to the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    The Underground connection is pretty close to the hotel and...
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast did not have too much variety.

    The Underground connection is pretty close to the hotel and that makes transportation very convenient. The only flipside is that this station does not have an elevator and it was tough to carry the luggage and our child stroller over the stairs

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    That was a nice simple breakfast at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was clean, but there was a little dust at the ceiling. The room was small and the bathroom too. The wi-fi wasn't so good.

    That was a nice simple breakfast at the hotel. The location is good, in a quiet neighborhood and near the metro.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.7
    Decent stay from a value for money point of view but wouldn't book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although late arrival was informed since the moment of booking, there was no one at the reception desk and we had to wait in the street until someone opened, after several phone calls. Difficult communication with staff as no one speaks English. Bathrooms could have been cleaner (a lot of hair found in the sink). Very modest breakfast and served at very early hours for a tourist.

    The pension was located very close to the underground station which facilitated easy access to city center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    8.8
    Simple, but comfortable enough for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 small package of shower gel in a room, no shampoo. Breakfast was really basic. 2 days was enough of it, I'd like something else for the 3rd day. But for a short stay it's totally ok.

    Simple, basic, but that was what we expected and actually it was better than my expectations. Bed was comfortable to rest. Room number 7 was really spacious, view was good, street is quiet, so we had a good night sleep. The hotel was totally booked at our stay, but it didn't feel like that, no one disturbed our rest. There's an indian restaurant literally at the doorstep. Room number 4 was smaller but as usual hotel rooms, also quiet. U-bahn station (U Guntzelstr.) is really close to the hotel. If you arrive by train from the Zoo or Kurfurstendamm, when you step of the train move at the left exit (back of the train) not to the right, so you'll come out closer to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no hair dryer in the bathroom so I had to naturally dry my hair (not the best option in March if you wish to go out quickly).

    Location is great. Right next to U stop Guntzelstrasse. Rooms are clean, WiFi was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Fair price for a short stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - I could hear a lot of noises from the other rooms, especially from the ones at the above floor - The arrival at the hotel was an adventure, and not in a good way. I informed the staff through Booking's messaging system that I will arrive quite late, due to my flight's schedule. Even though I announced them well in advance, I didn't receive a confirmation. And when I arrived at the hotel, at around 1 AM (so in the middle of the night), there was no one at the reception and the front door was closed. Even though they have a so-called "night phone" placed outside at the entrance, nobody answered. I called them several times, sitting in front of the building, in the middle of a cold night. After 30 minutes of non stop calling and knocking at the door, someone finally came and opened me. But there was absolutely no sign of "oh, sorry for keeping you out". The host didn't speak a single word in English, I barely understood where my room was, and I didn't understand how to use the front door key. So I had the same experience next night, when I didn't know that there was a separate door to enter when the reception was closed. In conclusion, pay special attention to when you will arrive at this location, since they don't manage to coordinate that well with the guests needs.

    - The price of the room was very good for the location - The room was spacious and warm (I stayed in February, when it's quite cold in Berlin) - Relatively good Internet connection (could be better) - Quiet neighborhood and very close to a subway station (1 minute walk) - Fair breakfast, since it's already included in the room's price - Easy access to a lot of key points in Berlin

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we got it was right above an Indian restaurant and the smell was everywhere in te building. Plus the internet connection was verry poor.

    The staff changed our room with a smaller one, but with no smell and a good internet connection.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    5.4
    The shower was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was cheap, but the staff did t speak to me. I was travelling alone, I'm female and the staff didn't say morning or ask me anything. The room was satisfactory but bed uncomfortable. The radiator didn't get hot in my room but the bathroom one was hot. I was quite cold as was -8 outside.

    The shower was nice. Location was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.5
    Basic hotel, good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely squeaky wooden floor in hallway (bring earplugs) Clean towels only first day. No hairdryer in bathroom.

    Very close to Ubahn, 15min walking distance to Kudaam street. Breakfast simple - sandwiches, cereal, oatmeal, warm drinks. Staff were helpful, I booked room for 3 ppl, but had only bedding for 2, so we asked for third person and house lady arranged it immediately.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, 1 minute away from the subway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit dark and the furniture is very old and not cozy. Breakfast was too early for me (it ends at 9.30). Lots of noise. The shower wasn't very comfortable.

    Excellent location, 1 minute away from the subway. The room was very warm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.1
    very comfortable area, 1 min from U-bahn and then not far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Personnel not too friendly (we arrived 1hr late at night) to clear all hotel rules/timetables

    very comfortable area, 1 min from U-bahn and then not far from main atractions. clean enough

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    2.5
    no, absolutely not again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -that smell which is a weird mix of urine and thai food in the hotel -four days of broken heating system which causes us to sick on the december of berlin. -beds had no different than floor -wifi was barely working

    -close to ubahn station

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    - Very close to a U-Bahn station
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The rooms are located a floor above an Indian restaurant. i do love curry, but the hallway and the entrance to the room REEKED of curry smell

    - Very close to a U-Bahn station - the breakfast - the bedroom was clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    6.3
    Economic and well located spot to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floorboards under the carpet creaked in my room, the bathroom had no heating and the long wait on the street when I arrived at night.

    The location, very convenient for me and near to the city centre

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel-Pension Spree traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: