Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension TILLO

Schwanthalerstr. 63, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#38 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 159 hotel reviews

5.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.1

  • Comfort

    5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.5
    Dissapointed and would not trust Booking.com anymore to book anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in terrible condition. Overpriced for its poor state, towels are old and dirty, looking more like rugs than something customers should use. On top of that hotel Pension Tillo doesn't exist. The actual name is Atlas Residence. I can't believe that Booking.com allows such a thing to happen and offers from the UK such a misleading offer. It doesn't sound good for Booking.com.

    Nothing. This Hotel is in terrible condition. Better someone from Booking.com go there and see how customers are mislead.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.2
    Location was great and newly renovated bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was grim which for one night was fine but the bed was horrible. Torn, old sheets,pillows and mattress. The bed was ridiculously noisy and I could feel the mattress springs all night. Would not stay again.

    Location was great and newly renovated bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Hotel is a 5 min walk from Hauptbahnhof (main station).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little too warm in the evening but that is the same with most hotels in munich.

    Hotel is a 5 min walk from Hauptbahnhof (main station). 15 min walk from the Marienplatz. You get what you pay for really.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.5
    It was really disgusting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was really disgusting!!! The room smell incense. The shower plate wasn't really clean. The towels were dirty. I booked for 3 people. There were no cutlery. Only spoon and one fork. I founded cheese in the freezer from the previous people. I'm not recommend it at all!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 BR Apartment in the 4th floor - AC was not working. We told the night shift receptionist about it (not Mr. Turan), he said he was tired and will ask somebody to fix it the ff day. As it is summer, it was quite hot. We had to open the window, but since the hotel is located in a busy street, it was sooooo noisy. Double room in the 2nd floor - it is very noisy. There is no AC at the room but as mentioned earlier, it was summer so we had no choice but to open the window. It was so noisy that we couldnt sleep. We appreciate the small fan they placed in the room though.

    Location (300m from Munich HBF). We rented a 1 bedroom apartment and another 1 double room. 1 BR Apartment in the 4th floor had plenty of space. The bed room had double bed and closet. Plenty of space in the living area to fit out luggages. kitchen had utensils, pot and pan, microwave, and dishwasher. Although there are no dishwashing liquid. It has a ref and separate fridge. Toilet is big. It has a washer. 1 Double Room in the 2nd floor - it had enough space for our 2 medium size luggages but more than that, you will have difficulty moving around. The room had a closet and small dining table. Toilet is okay but there is no bidet. Mr. Turan was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    Very dingy, old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the area where the hotel is located. It is close to the main train station and did not appear to be such a great neighborhood. The rooms are old and dirty, old furniture and some things like lights and the telephone were not working. A very dingy place and also loud; you can't get any rest!

    The locations of this hotel is great since you can walk everywhere and it is also close to public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location for a group
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels are threadbare and the location is on a main street so there is a bit of traffic noise when leaving the windows open.

    Good location from the Main train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.8
    A place for people who just want to go to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very worn down, and in the bathroom there were several defects such as broken handles, leaking shower hose etc. The TV didn't receive any channels. No proper desk to work with a laptop and very poor WiFi. Furthermore, somebody had drawn a male organ on the wall with a pencil. The cleaning lady didn't close the door properly, so the door was open for anyone to enter. The street were the hotel is located is very shady. Overall a very run-down hotel, but if you just want to go to bed (at least the beds were clean and fairly comfortable) for a comparatively cheap buck in Munich, I guess this place is sufficient, but don't expect to be positively surprised about anything at all.

    The location was good and the price was fair for the quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't clean. The cupboard had some dirty clothes. Even though it says 24 hour reception, no one was at the reception when we arrived. The security, took us to a nearby hotel where someone handed over the keys to our room. Finally when we arrived to our room it was messy.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for Traveling on a Budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked a lot, the drain was clogged, the towels were washed and clean but some had old stains, the room was very warm at night even with the windows open all day and the plates and cutlery left in the cupboard were dirty. none of these things mattered much to us for the price, the location and the staff would definitely recommend to a friend on a budget but probably not for anyone a bit more picky.

    Location was perfect right around the corner from the main station and just a short walk from the city centre. The room was a perfect size with more television channels than expected, a fridge, hob and sink. The staff are lovely very friendly and for 3 students traveling around Germany on a budget it was great value and suited is perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    3.8
    Overpriced for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what it is. Yes it is not far from main station and center. But: Worn out and dusty floor, no soap or shower gel or shampoo, hair dryer didn't work, no airvent in the bathroom, shower doors broken. We booked this place 2 months before arrival and we asked for a large bed but got twin beds, and the hotel didn't seem fully booked

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    3.3
    Accommodation in a poor state
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were empty bottles and trashes on the back of the wardrobe. The blanket inside the duvet on one of the bed was tinted with dry blood , which look horrible . No glasses even plastic ones in the room even to drink water or brush

    The location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.8
    Basic Hotel nothing to write home about
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    you have to go across the road to have breakfast cost is €8 breakfast is a very poor value I suggest you bring your own kettle and Cup if staying for any length of time and have your coffee in the room

    Very basic 2 star hotel nothing special shower was nice my top tip would be if you're staying for a week bring your own kettle so you can have a coffee in the morning as there are no facilities in the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    3.8
    dodgy men hanging around in foyer in middle of night , torn sheets, broken shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower door broken. Bathroom cabinet broken. Towels old and frayed. Room had no bedside lamp. Sheets were torn. Dodgy men hanging around the foyer at 1am talking on mobile phones, clattering around the hotel into the small hours. This is not the kind of "business" I imagined on a business trip.

    Only had to stay two nights.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.8
    Highly recommended for the location and ample of nearby Halal restaurants for Muslims.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floor was a little creaky, was in the middle of a bustling street, but it was what Munich is about.

    Location was A+. We picked it because of the location. Eventhough it was a bit rundown, however the location surpassed everything else for us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    3.8
    Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This accommodation is terrible! The curtains did not close properly, there was mould on the wall, the linen did not smell fresh, the shower door was hanging off and the shower head sprayed water in all directions. I would expect this from a much cheaper pension not from one which charges €65 a night!

    Location is good for rail travel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    5.8
    A nice experience
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is not upto the mark. Bathrooms are somewhat smaller and without some facilities. And noisy and creaking floor.

    Location. I could get very easily to all places of my interest.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.8
    Stayed here for Oktoberfest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit pricey, but they probably upped the price because of Oktoberfest The neighbourhood looked a bit dodgy.

    Close to the location of Oktoberfest Staff were friendly Close to the Central Station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.3
    Good, basic and non-corporate place to stay in a central location - ideal for Oktoberfest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains that aren't broken, fag butts in the radiator and the hotel not being confusingly called Atlas not Pension Tillo. But don't worry! Pension Tillo is also there on a small piece of paper near the door. Massive renovations going on next door.

    I booked Pension Tillo for business at the very last minute, not quite realising what Oktoberfest meant for Munich! Still, it was easily walkable from the Hauptbahnhof (main station) and close to the Oktoberfest and the metro. It's a no frills-hotel and it can be a little noisy as it's on the main street to and from the Oktoberfest - a big beer festival if you don't know - but that could be a blessing if you're looking for cheap accommodation during the 15-day festivities. Rooms are basic but do come with a kitchenette. Shower was fine. There are great views to be had of all the drunk people in lederhosen and dirndls until often 6.00am while the amazing police and street sweepers try and tidy away after them. Quirky, and you wont be bored.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find, the hotel name is “at las city” just only A4 paper printed “Pension tillo” at the front door

    Not far from train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.0
    no room sevice
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no room sevice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    A very good location near to the Hauptbahnhauf and the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very basic

    A very good location near to the Hauptbahnhauf and the city center

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to park

    Lovely historic room plenty of space in the right location for Christmas markets

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    4.2
    Not good standard of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in poor condition

    Central in city

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    6.3
    Okay if you are on a tight budget and are not too fussy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it is a bit dated

    Close behind the station but not the nicest part of Munich.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    3.8
    No value at all for paying 55 eoros. I think 30 euros is enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, no light bulb in my room, no drinking water in room

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.3
    not nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby and shabby place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    4.2
    They have common room for some group of people on the first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They have common room for some group of people on the first floor next to our room ( Maybe Islamic/Muslim/Middle East/or Indian. I'm not sure which kind of them). They do their noisy activities almost all day and night. We feel no privacy!!!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    6.3
    Clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It smells arabic food everywhere, there are rooms with people that live there smoking their shishas with the doors open. At least in my room there were things that were not working properly. Very noisy

    Clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    6.7
    The staff was very nice and the reception area was very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place was hard to find because there wasn't a sign outside saying Pension Tillo. Also, the rooms had a strong smoke smell which was stronger in the bathrooms. It was also poor lighting in the rooms. The main light just gave a slight dim and when we shut it off when we went to bed it acted as a type of nightlight.

    The staff was very nice and the reception area was very well kept and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.5
    near to the centrum and U-station;
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Only one key to the hotel room, which open also the front door, so it was necessary to ask the staff for opening the door if some of us had taken the key before.

    near to the centrum and U-station; kitchen and 2 separate room in the apartament for 3 people

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    6.3
    Great location near the center and the central train station.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is not clean. From the bathroom to the bed, everything feels (and is dirty). The liquid soap in our bathroom had mold, and the last day we looked below the bed and it looked like it had never been cleaned. We could see a map, a lighter, as well as much dirt! Hire a new maid ASAP!

    Great location near the center and the central train station. Nice room with TV, outside view and desks. Although there are a lot of Muslims they are good and helpful people, so dont be afraid.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    3.8
    Does not exist, the real name is hotel atlas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Does not exist, the real name is hotel atlas. No parking available. Full of unfriendly and agressive arabs, living there permanently. they leave the door open, smoke all over the hotel, trash on corridors. arab men are extremely loud all the time. couldn't sleep the first night because of them, had even to call the police because they only lough at you asking them to be more quiet. the location is an arab quarter, its close to train station and center, but better go somewhere else! rooms are dirty and partly destroyed. in the backyard construction noise. do not go there if you are not an arab. name is misleading, its not a pension.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    7.1
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some late nights very noisy. Rooms smelled like smoke. Lots of things needed repair (doors, windows, shower, tiles and more)

    Staff was friendly. It was central plus good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    5.4
    We liked being close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building was under cinstruction and not in good repair. It was advertised as having parking but we were sent to a public parking garage. The property is rented out under a number of different names and agreements. It didn't have tbe feel of a pension. For one thing, many people rented rooms for long term living so the strong smells of cooking were almost always present. Some rooms always had the doors open to what looked like a living room for Arab men. Insence and Hooka smells reeked into the hallways. After checking in and feeling a bit uncomfortable,we consulted our travel guide which described the area of Munich as an Arab stronghold. There's nothing wrong with that except that we are white American Christians. We were uncomfortable and did not feel safe walking in the area at night.

    We liked being close to the train station. And the nice coffee shop across the street.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    4.6
    Great shower, apart from that not much to like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist wasn't very friendly, the cleaner never left toilet roll even when we asked for it, holes in bedroom wall.

    Great shower, apart from that not much to like.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    3.8
    Near to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wrong name. TV didn't work. Wifi hopeless. Asked for double bed got two singles. Very very expensive for the quality of room. Booked online with booking .com if I had seen the room before I payed for it I would never have stayed there.

    Near to station

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    3.8
    Receptionist was extremely rude and did not even there to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist was extremely rude and did not even there to check us in. When she eventually appeared she didn't even apologise. It was an effort for her to help with directions etc, get a new receptionist! Room was a state with hairdryer wires taped together which was a health and safety risk.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    5.0
    Location, value of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms not clean, in some apartments bedroom with no window with hard sweet smell in corridor and in the room. But you may ask manager change the room.

    Location, value of money. Good only for 1 night. "Lidl" from pension only 50 meters.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.5
    A double bed room upgrade to an apartment with good bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Change the name from Tillo to Atlas without notice ..So can't not find the hotel been walking and ask people around.

    A double bed room upgrade to an apartment with good bath & Shower. Big living room with sofa. Great Wifi.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.1
    No hotel name as Pension Tillo on the sigh of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No hotel name as Pension Tillo on the sigh of hotel. They put it as "Hotel Atlas" We have problem can't find the hotel at the beginning, need to ask ourselves

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.8
    Location near Railway Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TILLO name missing on the outside of the building. Bed was uncomfortable.

    Location near Railway Station

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    2.9
    Location to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price Room Staff Other guests Cleanliness

    Location to station

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.9
    Location and shower is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sound proof is poor.

    Location and shower is good.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    7.5
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The old installations. The apartment that we stayed needs a reform.

    The location is good. The apartment is big and the staff is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    5.0
    Location is closed to city with walk-able to interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    NO

    Location is closed to city with walk-able to interesting areas

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    6.3
    Quick wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was dirty, We found a lot of bubble gum next to the bed

    Quick wifi. Somehow little distance from the old towncenter

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    3.3
    Shower was leaking spreading water everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was leaking spreading water everywhere. Broken light in room.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location. It's quite noisy because the place is next to the main road.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    2.9
    there were wholes in the wall, some cave paintings and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there were wholes in the wall, some cave paintings and writing on the wall, broken shower head, etc.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    4.2
    the phone didn t work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the phone didn t work. if you need to talk with reception, you must go down. the receptionist was umpolited.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    3.8
    Quite a reliable internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was placed in a room next door to their staff kitchen and common room - very load people, making loud noice 24/7.

    Quite a reliable internet

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    7.1
    PRIX
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    PRIX

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: