Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Vicus This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Johann- Bergler- Straße 2, 94032 Passau, Germany

#16 of 31 hotels in Passau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 517 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Good Active Holiday Base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The distanc.e from the Centre

    Location is good for people who enjoy a long walk. an excellent location for exploring area and are cyclists. A good accomodation for an active holiday in this area of southern germany.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Clean and functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was a bit out of town. OK if you have bikes but a bit of a hike without them. Room was OK with skylights. No proper window as it was on the top floor partially in the roof.

    The staff did my washing at a very reasonable price and were very helpful with my inquiries. The lodgings were simple but clean and good value for the price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    The place is clean, situated very close to the river bank...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was really basic, rather narrow and somewhat dormitory looking. Would have been great to have a kettle and at least a cup for tea/coffee - there is a cupboard, which looks like meant for a small kitchenette - so an addition of this sort will make the stay even more pleasant.

    The place is clean, situated very close to the river bank and in a quiet neighborhood - so perfect for an evening/morning walk. My room was on the first floor, at street level - surprisingly quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Good base to explore Passau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some confusion at the end of our trip when we were told we'd been charged 80% before the trip and then they wanted the rest AND city tax then before we left. Also charged two breakfasts when only one of us ate it, both days. But that's understandable. It's about 15-20 minutes walk into town but the walk is lovely.

    Friendly staff, Good breakfast, quiet and relaxing location. Clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Very tidy accomodation at the crossing of three rivers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are not allowed to use the elevator after 8 p.m. to avoid disturbing the other guests.

    Easy late check in with the keybox system. The room was very spacious, the bathroom was very clean. The bed was convenient. There was enough parking space for each and every guest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Though we arrived after reception had closed, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We bumped out heads a few times on the low angled ceiling above the beds in the top-floor room. Not much they can do about that, but just a warning.

    Though we arrived after reception had closed, the room was ready and the key was in the key box outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Good overnight stop with self catering possibilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location hotel was in a suburb of Passau which meant it was away from the main road/noise. The room was well appointed with a sink and hob for which crockery could be requested. There was also a selection of games/magazines in the lobby. The walk into town along the cycle path took about 15-20 minutes but there was also a bus stop close by. A supermarket and a bike hire facility can be found adjacent to the hotel. There was a garage to store our bicycles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    i greatly enjoyed my 4 day mini-break in passau and at pension vicus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed is HARD (i like firm and am used to how firm the beds tend to be in europe but this was not comf) and the pillow was a weird lumpy floppy thing no restaurants super near

    wifi is fast and reliable very attractive property and room breakfast is a great value at 7 euros per day...among the offerings: boiled eggs, deli meat and cheese, yogurt, pastries, cereal(?), fruit, juice, tea, coffee - nice! the location is about a 15-20 min walk from town and most of that can be done right along the river or the bus stop is just a few steps away - the day ticket for 4.50 euros is a great deal a grocery store is just a 1 min walk or so and there is a prepared food counter and bakery there in addition to the standard offerings with a somewhat limited selection (compared to a supermarket) but so convenient if you don't want restaurant food the whole time + beer and wine and i think spirits as well the kitchenette in the room can't be used to actually cook but i was able to boil water for tea and heat up soup from the grocery and the small fridge is such a help

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.4
    Acceptable for an overnight stay. Avoid in summer. Skip breakfast, overpriced.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entering the building we were struck immediately by a somewhat stale smell. Unfortunately the smell was even stronger in the apartment itself. Luckily it was a rather cool day after a few sunny days so we were able to keep the windows open. While there was a fully functional kitchen installed there wasn't even a knife or spoon present, let alone a plate or a pan. Even the knobs from the stove were removed. Breakfast was underwhelming for a price of EUR 7 and served in the basement in a stuffy little breakfast room decorated in an exercise of bad taste.

    The beds were really good, firm and of good quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    Basic and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little smelly when I arrived.

    The room was perfectly clean and had everything you can expect from a basic B&B: toiletries, fridge/minibar and even a kitchenette. Breakfast was fresh and the available choices were OK. Arrived outside reception hours but everything was taken care of by the hosts.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    7.1
    Cheap but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps were very narrow and luggage a bit difficult to get up the stairs. A fair way out of town and a bit noisy in the earlier part of the evening with passing trucks.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    The size of the room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room .It was big enough for three adults. Parking a few meters from the front door.It matters when unloading your luggage in a winter night .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.7
    The location of the supermarket very near by was useful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unless you are arriving with your own car the hotel is rather too far out of town ( a good half hour walk from the station.) and the weekend bus only comes once an hour.

    The location of the supermarket very near by was useful. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and perfect for our cycling holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming staff and owners.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Legend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    👍

    All was sparkling ! Very Colored !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    A good place to start a cycle down the Danube
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking spaces were tight but not bad

    Room good, food good, staff good - all just as we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, modern, styled
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No machine for beverages or food

    Very clean, modern, styled

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative.

    Everything excellent. Clean bright and quiet, with a good breakfast. There is even a good value supermarket just around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Spacious room, good location for the Donau bike path, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, good location for the Donau bike path, very good breakfast. Perfect communication with the accomodation. Very helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    OK place for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated a water cooker and tea/coffee in the room

    Comfy and quiet room, very good water pressure in shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice large & clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice large & clean room Comfortabel bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Good place to stay in Passau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location, quiet with facilities close by

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable B&B in Passau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Good breakfast and a lift.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Excellent accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was nice place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    Cozy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, willing to help. Super clean place. Proximity to the river with a nice beach and gorgeous view on the city!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    The staff was very helpfull altough I arrived at 10 p.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very helpfull altough I arrived at 10 p.m.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    Great stop over
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly big bonus, staff very friendly, very close to shops restaurants etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was an extra 7euros but lots to choose from. the room was comfortable with a lovely big bathroom. free parking off the street

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing much. we were very pleased with everything. We would stay there again and recommend the pension.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was excellent and the local bus service just a few yards away was useful to get into the town. We did not have a breakfast as we had our own kitchenette facility in the room.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    Very helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a little small

    Very helpful reception. gave us warm water to wash off our muddy bikes. Secure underground parking for bikes. Good access to the Donau Radweg.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was so much better than expected for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Travelling alone, not young, without a car, it was quite difficult to find but was perhaps more my fault than theirs !

    The hotel was so much better than expected for the price.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    This is a great little hotel-pension.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a little bit far from the city.

    This is a great little hotel-pension. The room is large with comfortable beds and your own private balcony. There is plenty of parking on the property.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    5.4
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booked via booking.com, when we arrived they were ''full'', and they had booked another hotel for us (closeby). They told us it would be for the same price,but ofcourse when paying in the morning we had to pay the (40 euros) higher price. When i complained, they told me to take it up with this booked hotel. No time for that, we were in transit..

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.1
    The old town is very interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Catching the bus to town is a challenge if you don't understand German. The timetables are a bit confusing.

    The old town is very interesting.Some locals were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    5.8
    The room is fine, don't want to say more because the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    He gave us roomkey before check-in but refused to give wifi password till we come back. When we came back he left and leave nothing to us. We found out that night, he did not give to many guests.! Next morning, we asked for it, he refused again said we were going to leave soon! Ridiculous and stingy.

    The room is fine, don't want to say more because the owner is so stingy on wifi. We think it so stupid.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    8.8
    Location was very good ( only 10 min to city center).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you intend to book the apartment, you should arrive early, otherwise you won't have dishes or access to electric suppliers from the kitchen until the next day.

    Location was very good ( only 10 min to city center). Rooms were big and clean; pets friendly.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    7.5
    Great location, the size of the room is perfect for a family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff does not speak fluent English. The room was not warm when we arrived took several hours before the temperature was ideal to stay in.

    Great location, the size of the room is perfect for a family of 4. We left behind some personal belongings, after calling the staff they were very kind to send those by currier. Thank you so much for your support.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    4.6
    1. Booked appartment for 3 people with 2 rooms having 1...
    • Family with young children

    1. Booked appartment for 3 people with 2 rooms having 1 small child with us 2. arrived on site, receiving appartment for 4 with 1 room 3. requesting replacement of room showing picture of apartment from booking.com 4. received NO answer from staff saying that we should have booked 2 apartments ... Location is out of historical part, for the same price you can have better place even in the historical part.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.5
    Good quiet location, nice breakfast, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good quiet location, nice breakfast, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.6
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very good value for money Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.7
    Very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Top floor room had skylights only, no windows so fairly dark.

    Very clean. Good choice at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    5.4
    nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not so close to the old town, cannot find the WIFI code, and the staff was duty off when I tried to find them

    nothing special

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    9.2
    Quiet, clean accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too far to walk to old city

    Quiet, clean accommodation

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    8.8
    Bus stops right outside.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kitchenette in room but with no pots, pans or cutlery.

    Bus stops right outside. Quite large room. Quiet.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: