Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Germany hotel reviews
  3. Bavaria B&B and inn reviews
  4. Passau B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Pension Vicus

Reviews of Pension Vicus This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Johann- Bergler- Straße 2, 94032 Passau, Germany

#3 of 7 B&Bs and inns in Passau

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 481 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    8.3
    Nice accomodation for a one night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would of been nice to have at least a kettle in the little kitchenette, for those who dont t need breakfast in the morning. However, there was a refrigetator and some glasses, but nothing else

    Very clean, nice and quiet, near the Danube, very comfortable beds, good wi-fi, private parking

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    7.9
    brilliant
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain all was as advertised

    all in all a gosd place to be in staff very polite and the room and morning breakfast was just right i would recommend this place absolutely for the price well over expectations happy to come again

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    5.4
    This place is more like a hostel than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This property advertises washing/drying facilities (even on their room card) - but this is NOT TRUE. Towels were extremely thin and hard. Linen was not changed unless requested. B'fast was scanty - no fresh fruit (a few apples that had been there for weeks). Owner was most inhospitable - most staff the same, but they probably take their queue from the owner. Entry code didn't work - arriving after 9pm, I had to phone for help. No information on local eateries.

    View from my window, large open window, enjoyed the 25 minutes' walk to town over the bridge

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.8
    We liked being out of the city center, but within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no place to sit outside, nor a common area inside to sit with our friends.

    We liked being out of the city center, but within walking distance, about 20 minute walk. It was also quiet and more affordable. Also, there was a fridge in the room. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.5
    Affordable, clean just bit too far from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Position a bit far from where we needed to be to catch our boat for bike/ boat trip as there was no transport readily available on the Saturday. Had to walk the 5 km as taxi was going to be 3 hours and buses not much better.

    The receptionist was very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was adequate for cost. Rooms were great, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    8.3
    Good Active Holiday Base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The distanc.e from the Centre

    Location is good for people who enjoy a long walk. an excellent location for exploring area and are cyclists. A good accomodation for an active holiday in this area of southern germany.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.1
    Clean and functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was a bit out of town. OK if you have bikes but a bit of a hike without them. Room was OK with skylights. No proper window as it was on the top floor partially in the roof.

    The staff did my washing at a very reasonable price and were very helpful with my inquiries. The lodgings were simple but clean and good value for the price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    The place is clean, situated very close to the river bank...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was really basic, rather narrow and somewhat dormitory looking. Would have been great to have a kettle and at least a cup for tea/coffee - there is a cupboard, which looks like meant for a small kitchenette - so an addition of this sort will make the stay even more pleasant.

    The place is clean, situated very close to the river bank and in a quiet neighborhood - so perfect for an evening/morning walk. My room was on the first floor, at street level - surprisingly quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.8
    Good base to explore Passau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some confusion at the end of our trip when we were told we'd been charged 80% before the trip and then they wanted the rest AND city tax then before we left. Also charged two breakfasts when only one of us ate it, both days. But that's understandable. It's about 15-20 minutes walk into town but the walk is lovely.

    Friendly staff, Good breakfast, quiet and relaxing location. Clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Very tidy accomodation at the crossing of three rivers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You are not allowed to use the elevator after 8 p.m. to avoid disturbing the other guests.

    Easy late check in with the keybox system. The room was very spacious, the bathroom was very clean. The bed was convenient. There was enough parking space for each and every guest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.3
    Though we arrived after reception had closed, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We bumped out heads a few times on the low angled ceiling above the beds in the top-floor room. Not much they can do about that, but just a warning.

    Though we arrived after reception had closed, the room was ready and the key was in the key box outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    8.3
    Good overnight stop with self catering possibilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location hotel was in a suburb of Passau which meant it was away from the main road/noise. The room was well appointed with a sink and hob for which crockery could be requested. There was also a selection of games/magazines in the lobby. The walk into town along the cycle path took about 15-20 minutes but there was also a bus stop close by. A supermarket and a bike hire facility can be found adjacent to the hotel. There was a garage to store our bicycles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    8.8
    i greatly enjoyed my 4 day mini-break in passau and at pension vicus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed is HARD (i like firm and am used to how firm the beds tend to be in europe but this was not comf) and the pillow was a weird lumpy floppy thing no restaurants super near

    wifi is fast and reliable very attractive property and room breakfast is a great value at 7 euros per day...among the offerings: boiled eggs, deli meat and cheese, yogurt, pastries, cereal(?), fruit, juice, tea, coffee - nice! the location is about a 15-20 min walk from town and most of that can be done right along the river or the bus stop is just a few steps away - the day ticket for 4.50 euros is a great deal a grocery store is just a 1 min walk or so and there is a prepared food counter and bakery there in addition to the standard offerings with a somewhat limited selection (compared to a supermarket) but so convenient if you don't want restaurant food the whole time + beer and wine and i think spirits as well the kitchenette in the room can't be used to actually cook but i was able to boil water for tea and heat up soup from the grocery and the small fridge is such a help

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    8.8
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Easy to find. Parking is available.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.5
    Breakfast was bit poor
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was bit poor

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    Satisfied my expectations and I would book again next time when going to the city
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and comfortable as overall impression. The room was warm enough, despite it was snowing outside. Free parking for guests.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is a walkable distance to the city center and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a walkable distance to the city center and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.6
    I had a lovely time. I am happy I visited Passau. A very interesting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a little walk from town. But a nice walk along the old rail track.

    The pension was very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and perfect for our cycling holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and welcoming staff and owners.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    9.6
    Legend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    👍

    All was sparkling ! Very Colored !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.6
    A good place to start a cycle down the Danube
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking spaces were tight but not bad

    Room good, food good, staff good - all just as we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, modern, styled
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No machine for beverages or food

    Very clean, modern, styled

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative.

    Everything excellent. Clean bright and quiet, with a good breakfast. There is even a good value supermarket just around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Spacious room, good location for the Donau bike path, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spacious room, good location for the Donau bike path, very good breakfast. Perfect communication with the accomodation. Very helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    7.9
    OK place for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have appreciated a water cooker and tea/coffee in the room

    Comfy and quiet room, very good water pressure in shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    9.6
    Nice large & clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice large & clean room Comfortabel bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    10
    The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing much. we were very pleased with everything. We would stay there again and recommend the pension.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was excellent and the local bus service just a few yards away was useful to get into the town. We did not have a breakfast as we had our own kitchenette facility in the room.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    8.8
    Very helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a little small

    Very helpful reception. gave us warm water to wash off our muddy bikes. Secure underground parking for bikes. Good access to the Donau Radweg.

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was so much better than expected for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Travelling alone, not young, without a car, it was quite difficult to find but was perhaps more my fault than theirs !

    The hotel was so much better than expected for the price.

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    9.6
    This is a great little hotel-pension.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a little bit far from the city.

    This is a great little hotel-pension. The room is large with comfortable beds and your own private balcony. There is plenty of parking on the property.

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2015

    5.4
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booked via booking.com, when we arrived they were ''full'', and they had booked another hotel for us (closeby). They told us it would be for the same price,but ofcourse when paying in the morning we had to pay the (40 euros) higher price. When i complained, they told me to take it up with this booked hotel. No time for that, we were in transit..

    nothing

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2015

    7.1
    The old town is very interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Catching the bus to town is a challenge if you don't understand German. The timetables are a bit confusing.

    The old town is very interesting.Some locals were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2015

    5.8
    The room is fine, don't want to say more because the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    He gave us roomkey before check-in but refused to give wifi password till we come back. When we came back he left and leave nothing to us. We found out that night, he did not give to many guests.! Next morning, we asked for it, he refused again said we were going to leave soon! Ridiculous and stingy.

    The room is fine, don't want to say more because the owner is so stingy on wifi. We think it so stupid.

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2015

    8.8
    Location was very good ( only 10 min to city center).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you intend to book the apartment, you should arrive early, otherwise you won't have dishes or access to electric suppliers from the kitchen until the next day.

    Location was very good ( only 10 min to city center). Rooms were big and clean; pets friendly.

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2015

    7.5
    Great location, the size of the room is perfect for a family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff does not speak fluent English. The room was not warm when we arrived took several hours before the temperature was ideal to stay in.

    Great location, the size of the room is perfect for a family of 4. We left behind some personal belongings, after calling the staff they were very kind to send those by currier. Thank you so much for your support.

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2015

    4.6
    1. Booked appartment for 3 people with 2 rooms having 1...
    • Family with young children

    1. Booked appartment for 3 people with 2 rooms having 1 small child with us 2. arrived on site, receiving appartment for 4 with 1 room 3. requesting replacement of room showing picture of apartment from booking.com 4. received NO answer from staff saying that we should have booked 2 apartments ... Location is out of historical part, for the same price you can have better place even in the historical part.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    7.5
    Good quiet location, nice breakfast, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good quiet location, nice breakfast, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    9.6
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very good value for money Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    6.7
    Very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Top floor room had skylights only, no windows so fairly dark.

    Very clean. Good choice at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    8.8
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2015

    5.4
    nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not so close to the old town, cannot find the WIFI code, and the staff was duty off when I tried to find them

    nothing special

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2015

    9.2
    Quiet, clean accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too far to walk to old city

    Quiet, clean accommodation

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    8.8
    Bus stops right outside.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Kitchenette in room but with no pots, pans or cutlery.

    Bus stops right outside. Quite large room. Quiet.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: