Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension zum Lichtenberger

Emanuelstraße 4, Lichtenberg, 10317 Berlin, Germany

#67 of 107 B&Bs and Inns in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Curtains do not keep out any sunlight as they are thin and white. T.V. is rather big. No shampoo and no soap.

    The room is spacious, has a nice bathroom and a rather silent fridge. Quiet surroundings except for the traditonal German handyman in the courtyard on a Saturday morning. Staff is OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception closes early. Need to call for someone to come and check you in

    Great location 5 mins away from nearest S-bahn station, clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Can’t beat that price
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are simple, but fairly spacious, clean, and provide you with all the basics. The tram station is about a 5 minute walk away. There’s also some bars, bakeries and a grocery store nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable but too short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult. Do not accept credit card payments so had to find a bank quickly.

    Close to public transport and very quiet. The room was very spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.4
    Only cheap nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was a bit rude (Old man in late 50s or early 60s) he speaks to me as if a mother scolding a child . He was telling me that I did not have booking, we argued for a couple of minutes until he finally saw that I have a booking. And then, he was telling me that I arrived later than 10pm where I mentioned in the ETA 9pm-10pm, but I arrive before 11pm in which I was technically still in the time frame. And even if I arrived around 11pm, why would he be mad, I paid that day for effing sake! No shampoo, soap or whatever just a room with bed.

    The bed is comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.8
    Cheap room but nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Shampoo or even shower gel is not provided. -The staff does not speak/understand English properly, so we were arguing as to whether or not I booked a room. When he saw my booking, he again insisted that I came around almost 11pm against the time I inputted as ETA to hotel which was between 9 to 10pm. The whole argument was not fun! -WIFI is not reaching the room, useless.

    -It was the cheapest that time. -It's 5mins walk to Nöldnerplatz station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    The rooms were great (despite the long walk to the top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor welcome. Arrived at 7.30pm to an entirely locked and blank front entrance with no way to get in. Tried ringing the buzzer but got nothing. Had to ring the hotel from the app to get someone to come out, which then still took about 15mins. Not one word of English. Handed me a key and explained to put it in the box after I left, I just about understood. Then didn't see the staff again my entire stay. So far as I could see there was not a reception desk. Restaurant next door closed for refurbishment, no means of food or drink at all, no warning about this when booking. Had to ring for wifi password as well, which after a dodgy start was quite reliable.

    The rooms were great (despite the long walk to the top floor) very spacious, good facilities, nice bed, balcony view (if a couple of spiders)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.9
    the location was good very close to city centre (Alexander...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the staff was very poor not present beecause is a pension,and a little unkind. the shower was defective

    the location was good very close to city centre (Alexander Platz for example),with public transportation,the quiet of the building especially at night, the big room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    3.8
    Smokers heaven
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "smoke free" room was anything but smoke free! There was an ashtray in the room and within 5 min I felt like I had smoked a box of cigarettes! It was horrible! After 1 night everything reeked of old cigarettes. For €70 per night they could have provided soap.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    6.7
    Excellent value basic accommodation for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refrigerator makes periodic humming noises during the night. The towels were rather flimsy and no soap was offered. The check-in times are restricted to the evening, and in my case conflicted with the times of the event I was in Berlin for. Otherwise everything was as expected and remarkable value for money. But I would prefer to stay there for one night rather than a week.

    Very clean, very basic over-night accommodation. Your question about whether it has a good location is absurd, because the answer depends on where you need to be close to. This hotel is very good if you wish to be in this area of Berlin, but not if you are looking for a good location for exploring the central sights. The rooms are large and airy, and they face a courtyard which is quiet. The furnishings are basic: a wardrobe, a wooden table and two wooden chairs, wall-mounted TV, WiFi and a refrigerator. The bathroom was very clean and functional, and while not contemporary in style, was very adequate with instant very hot water. The cost is a bargain.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    6.3
    Cheap, convenient and local - but not worth the hassle - pay a bit more and have less stress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no reception and booking in takes place in a very smokey bar at the front of the accommodation. We had booked 4 nights, leaving card details. On arrival (between Christmas and New Year) there was a problem with our bank, and we asked if we could pay on departure. The staff refused, and was rude no money - no key. I offered to leave my passport/driving licence but we were still refused. We had to get money transferred from a parent, returned to pay and their card machine facilities would not work. We had to then walk to find a cash machine. No one at the site spoke good english and it was very frustrating and stressful. We were given keys and no instructions of which building to go and ended up walking 3 flights of stairs before realising we were in the wrong building. I had also, emailed prior to arrival to request a non-smoking room. we were given a room 4 flights up and it smelt of smoke. There is no access to wifi as there is no one to ask for the login

    The accommodation was clean and roomy. More like a small apartment with table chairs and a fridge.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.7
    Straight-forward basic but acceptable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't expecting as much as I got, so I have no complaints.

    Straight-forward basic but acceptable accommodation. Ideal for a short stay for comfortable overnight use.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Lack of lift
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of lift

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice quite location.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some confusion with the guest name on check-in time (I booked for other persons).

    Nice quite location. Good connection to public transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Sizeable room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap, flattest pillow I've ever seen

    Sizeable room and bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    A good pensionat with taste of DDR in the heart of East Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A spider in a bathroom, no soap or shower gel included. Everything else was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    good hotel. nice budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perfect room. Clean. Perfect staff. close to s-bahn

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An electric kettle to make tea or coffee would be a nice addition to the facilities. English speaking staff would be a bonus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    I liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!!! Everything was just great, clean and comfy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    It's the 15th time i have stayed at this property but people need to be aware if checking in after 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    n/a

    Easy to get to the main places of interest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    7.9
    The location was pretty good, since it was not far from all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location was pretty good, since it was not far from all the things you'd like to see in Berlin. The rooms were quite big and nice.We can definitely recommend this hotel, especially for this price.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    6.7
    Spacious and cozy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No WiFi even if there is indeed a wifi with the same name of the pension. No opportunity to pay with credit card. Staff do not speak English good

    Spacious and cozy room. Good Cleaning.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    5.8
    Calm and quiet location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was construction work on the top floor. They didn't speak a word of english. They refused to give the wifi password of the bar (in the bar) while trying to make me leave. You have to pay in advance.

    Calm and quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    6.3
    It was very clean, quiet, and just around the corner from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room smelt of... something. The English of the staff was so-so. If you don't have business in the area, it's located a bit off.

    It was very clean, quiet, and just around the corner from where my friends live. Very convenient. And a really nice breakfast place around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    4.6
    The location was great - very peaceful but with easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The treatment was poor. I felt like we were bothering the staff with our presence.

    The location was great - very peaceful but with easy connection to the center.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    5.8
    The woman at reception was friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very basic. Initially I was in a smokers room, having booked a non smokers one. The room of course smelled of smoke and the interior was very basic and slightly depressing- a tiny box of a TV, some plastic flowers, two sad looking single beds, cheap basic furniture. I asked and was moved to a non smoking room, which smelled better and also had nicer interior. The area wasn't great. It's an ok walking distance to the S bahn, however there wasn't anything attractive in the immediate area that I could see. You can find cheap accommodation in better areas.

    The woman at reception was friendly and helpful. Everything was clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    7.1
    The space in the room, the fact that it was authentic,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No possibility to pay by card. No reception.

    The space in the room, the fact that it was authentic, smoking allowed.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    2.5
    central, smoker rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    central, smoker rooms

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Pension zum Lichtenberger traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: